@hibs.net private member MacBean's Avatar

Gamertag: macbean8 PSN ID: paulmchfc

Jimmy the Tangoman

SSN reporting that Jimmy Calderwood has been offered a deal by Killie and could well be in charge by this weekend.

Tanner stating that it looks like a deal until the summer.
    Hibernian Football Club

Quote Originally Posted by HFC_1875 View Post
    SSN reporting that Jimmy Calderwood has been offered a deal by Killie and could well be in charge by this weekend.

Surprised at the quality of some of the managers associated with the Killie job - didn't think they were that attractive, as JJ has been the main reason they've been punching above their weight for years. Expect them to be in Div 1 within 2 years.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar

Would be funny if they finish above Aberdeen

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar

Would be a good appointment.

He's a far better manager than he's given credit for IMO, he's achieved more than Levein but got nowhere near as good a reputation for some reason, his ridiculous orange skin can't help of course.

Jimmy Calderwood...

Tanner

How appropriate...

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    tango man also in talks with utd[dundee]
    i no who i would pick

I thought qos had let chisolm speak to them

Big JC (Tangoman, nae Collins) is a good manager, done very well at Aberdeen apart from some of the cup exits.

Would be a good appointment by Killie.

I never really understood the criticism that he received from the Aberdeen fans. I thought he did consistently well with them, getting them into the top four in all but one of his seasons in charge and he was also statistically one of their best managers since Sir Alex.

I thought Jefferies did a good job at Kilmarnock but I think Calderwood would be a good choice for them.

Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibee View Post
    I never really understood the criticism that he received from the Aberdeen fans. I thought he did consistently well with them, getting them into the top four in all but one of his seasons in charge and he was also statistically one of their best managers since Sir Alex.

I thought Jefferies did a good job at Kilmarnock but I think Calderwood would be a good choice for them.
    I can. Although I hoped they would be stuck with him for all eternity.
    I really hope he gets the Killie job so I can welcome him back to ER when they come visiting.
    Last edited by marinello59; 13-01-2010 at 09:33 PM.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    I don't think that he will take it, even if it is offered. He has proved his ability to pull a club up from its' knees and I don't think that he would want to do that again. He walked away from Dunfermline because although he built a decent side there, the fans would not turn out in any numbers. I am not sure that Killie would be too far different from that. As soon as McGhoo was back in the SPL and got a bit of his credibility back it was nailed on that he was going to Pittodrie. Chisholm will take it, QOS will get a wee sweetie to soften the blow, then they will give their job to Billy Dodds.

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    I don't think that he will take it, even if it is offered.
    I think he will. He wouldn't have went for the interview then "submitted his wage demands" if he didn't want it. I think he's panicking about being out of the game for too long and wants to get back in a job. If he does well over the next few months/year and enhance his reputation/CV he'd probably jump ship at the 1st CCC job offered to him.

Press conference at Rugby Park for five o'clock

No luck for Killie then if it's Tango- Jim.

Quote Originally Posted by HELMIE-HIBEE View Post
    No luck for Killie then if it's Tango- Jim.
    I dont know ..he is one o the better Managers oot a job ..

If Killie get Calderwood they are VERY lucky. Most of the criticism he has gotten over the years is moronic - anybody with half a brain who's bothered to look at his managerial record can see he is a great manager. Forget his image - I reckon he is the best manager in the SPL.

Killie are probably a good bet to scrape into the top six before the end of the season - and then maybe he will get more credit.

Tango-Jim will make Killie a decent short term team, but as per his past successes?? he will wreck any youth system Killie have in place, as he did at Dons. Thats why we were delighted that our board saw sense and didn't take him to ER. (The best youth system in Scotland)

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HELMIE-HIBEE View Post
    Tango-Jim will make Killie a decent short term team, but as per his past successes?? he will wreck any youth system Killie have in place, as he did at Dons. Thats why we were delighted that our board saw sense and didn't take him to ER. (The best youth system in Scotland)
    He seems to have left Aberdeen's youth setup in reasonable shape (Fyvie, Pawlett, Paton)

Unless MJ messes up the conference Killie have a manager

@hibs.net private member GlesgaeHibby's Avatar
    Tango Man is back in the SPL at Killie. Confirmed.

Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post
    He seems to have left Aberdeen's youth setup in reasonable shape (Fyvie, Pawlett, Paton)

Seem good young players, but dont think they came through youth system-Pawlett is english, Paton from Brechin,but maybe Fyvie is the loan gem.
    Our lot have the success of raising decent players from young age not buying in or poaching teenagers.
    Anyhow thats Jim back in the game, looking forward to the sideline entertainment,,

Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibee View Post

Mixu got Hibs into the top six both years he was manager and he was slagged unmercifully.

I would have throught that Alex Smith had the edge on Tangoman statistically. A Scottish Cup, a League Cup, consistently high in the League. Pipped by Rangers on the final match of the season for the Premier Division title.

Jefferies was good for Killie but he had reached the end of his shelf life and it is to the benefit of all that he moved on.

@hibs.net private member oldbutdim's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GlesgaeHibby View Post
    Tango Man is back in the SPL at Killie. Confirmed.
    I've missed his interviews. You know?

Quote Originally Posted by oldbutdim View Post
    I've missed wearing sun glasses while watching TV.

Backward step for Killie imo, he won't take them anywhere that's for sure

Quote Originally Posted by oldbutdim View Post
    He's on BBC1 now.

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    Backward step for Killie imo, he won't take them anywhere that's for sure
    Dunno bout that.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Elsie Tanner for Killie? Who would have thought? He must have heard about the pies.

Anybody know if Jimmy Nichol is part of the deal too?

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    I think he will. He wouldn't have went for the interview then "submitted his wage demands" if he didn't want it. I think he's panicking about being out of the game for too long and wants to get back in a job.
    Another exclusive for you guys.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Dunno bout that.

They have zero money mate and to my knowledge don't have a very good under 19 team and I don't rate baw face at all

Sorry...