Thread: Hibs Songs

Hibs Songs

The same old songs great trotted out each week with hardly any enthusiasm except in bigger games.

We need some more songs, not like "Anthony Stokes, he gets the ball and scores a goal", I mean proper unique club songs. This is definitely why the atmosphere is so poor - we have nothing to sing.

What we need are words and a tune on a website so that everyone can hear them and learn the words. Why can't this work? Can the older Hibees not recall some of the Chants from the 50's - 70's?

Can we create a "Club Songs" forum on this site?

We need to do something to liven up the stadium and get behind the team. "Hail Hail" and "We are Hibernian FC" is all very well, but we need more.

Get your pens out!

Quote Originally Posted by Kaiser_Sauzee View Post
    The same old songs great trotted out each week with hardly any enthusiasm except in bigger games.

We need some more songs, not like "Anthony Stokes, he gets the ball and scores a goal", I mean proper unique club songs. This is definitely why the atmosphere is so poor - we have nothing to sing.

What we need are words and a tune on a website so that everyone can hear them and learn the words. Why can't this work? Can the older Hibees not recall some of the Chants from the 50's - 70's?

We need to do something to liven up the stadium and get behind the team. "Hail Hail" and "We are Hibernian FC" is all very well, but we need more.

Get your pens out!

First thing is to s top blaring music before a game.

And it was put on when we scored. Utter garbage.

It has to be deliberate as who wants to start a song when the bloody dj is getting his in!

Songs at fitba in general is at an all time low.

Gamertag: yekim evol
    feed the stokes and he will score

:notworthy:

Why don't we sing that torres song about Deek that someone quoted on here before that would be class.

I was thinking more along the lines of brand new hibs songs.

Someone wrote "Hail Hail" using an old Scout tune and changing the words. Why don't we have new songs like that being created?

Feed the stokes and he will score is a chant, not really a song.

The creativity is there as a number of threads have demonstrated but doesn't translate to the terracing.

Is the answer X-Factor inspired Karaoke at Half-time?

Has all-seater stadium taken away the spontineity (sp)?

Well if you are a walk up customer you dont know who you are sitting beside - bothers some but not others.

Donno what the answer is - unallocated seated singing section once the new stand is in place???

PSN ID: Jellzy
    There's was a thread a few weeks back (Ain't got time to find it, supposed to be working... ) that had quite a few noteworthy chants.

Other than a few laughs in the thread, nothing really materialises (spelling/is this a word? ) from them. The one about Bamba that was up about a month or 2 ago was great, but again nothing.

Get your pens out!
    I remember they used to have one on the old rivals site.

Most of the better football songs were made up by Supporters Clubs and are based on well know pop songs from the 60/70s - usually played on the 3 or 4 hour bus trips to places like Aberdeen, Paisley etc. A decent amount of booze, a few pints on arrival, a long walk to the ground, and a new song was born by the time the ground filled at 3pm on a Saturday. If it was any good, it had another airing back at ER the following week and either died or grew.

What chance do we have now, when most fans travel in 2s or 3s (stone cold sober) in cars to away matches ? Swearing, boozing and verbal abusing is now taboo.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    To 'help!' by the Beatles

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXh4EuJa2TU

Deeks! We need somebody
    Deeks! Not just anybody
    Deeks! You know we need some goals
    Deeeeks!
    When we shoot down the slope, thats not so steep today
    We have got tony stokes and that is okay
    But when we shoot up the slope we're not so self assured
    Thats when we need you to score a cracking goal

Aye, its Nade.
    Mon the Hibs.

Under the old covered end before the seats is was "Derek Parlane ****s Alsations la la la la la la

Probably get deleted this one

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    To 'help!' by the Beatles

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXh4EuJa2TU

Deeks! We need somebody
    Deeks! Not just anybody
    Deeks! You know we need some goals
    Deeeeks!
    When we shoot down the slope, thats not so steep today
    We have got tony stokes and that is okay
    But when we shoot up the slope we're not so self assured
    Thats when we need you to score a cracking goal

Aye, its Nade.
    See this is the kind of stuff I mean. Instantly recognisable tune.

We should have a forum for this and dedicated fans should record a a video of the song (say 4 - 6 people in the video) then post it on Youtube. Then the song would get great exposure.

Is there any legs in this idea?

Faxed Back to Kaunas
    See this is the kind of stuff I mean. Instantly recognisable tune.

We should have a forum for this and dedicated fans should record a a video of the song (say 4 - 6 people in the video) then post it on Youtube. Then the song would get great exposure.

Is there any legs in this idea?
    I’ve always been intrigued how “Jones!” along to “Gold!” by Spandau Ballet came along. Who thought that up? How did they get us all goin?

I remember a mate at work (Jambo - **** obviously but somehow a mate) asking after the Brian Kerr 1-0 derby what the song was about Jones as he’d never hear that before.

I think he was quite impressed.

He’s still vermin mind.

I would like some new songs aswell. I am not good at making them up though as they don't seem right.

Capital Greens "WE OWN THE CAPITAL"

Guys.
    there was a batch of young lads from here and the bounce who ahd tried (maybe still are) to get a website up and running to communicate to hibbies new songs, chants, banner making etc.

I never had anything to do with them but offered my opinions and advice and helped them generate a mailing list where we sent out fortnightly newsletters with the new songs etc on them.

Unfortunately nothing really materialised (yep it is a real word) out of it but it had the makings of being a winner.

I honestly think these guys should get more help and backing from other supporters and the club.

step 1 would be somehow to arrange a largish amount of likeminded supporters to be seatet close to each other. this would obviously have to include the help of the club themselves.

step 2 for a website (they did actually have some space donated by the bounce which i think was fantastic) where all new lyrics, audio clips etc could be uploaded

step 3 would have to be some form of communication with the general support, a newsletter etc is the most likely way i can think of. to reffer them to the new stuff being created.

step4 you'd need a ringleader/MC to start everything, to begin with at least. then with a large enough following who are all familiar with the new songs and chants the buzz would have a ripple effect.

Would any of the Capital Greens be up for starting this off again?

Obviously for anything of this nature to take off theres have to be complete common sense with regards to songs like the wallace mercer one etc. Other supporters would lose all respect and you'd die on your errse!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by deek68 View Post
    I’ve always been intrigued how “Jones!” along to “Gold!” by Spandau Ballet came along. Who thought that up? How did they get us all goin?

I remember a mate at work (Jambo - **** obviously but somehow a mate) asking after the Brian Kerr 1-0 derby what the song was about Jones as he’d never hear that before.

I think he was quite impressed.

He’s still vermin mind.

The Jones song was a rip-off of West Ham's 'Cole' referring to Joe Cole, before his defection to Chelski.

@hibs.net private member offshorehibby's Avatar
    His names Derek Riordan the talk of the north,
    He plays for the Hibees just over the forth,
    He drinks all the whiskey and Newcastle brown
    THE HIBEES BOYS ARE IN TOWN
    NA NA NA NANANAN A NANANAN A
    TOP CASH BACK
    The easy way to make money

Gamertag: Nick T Muir
    Lets be honest, if you want a better atmosphere at all games, you don't need a singing section per say - you need a 'steaming section' !

If you have a section of the ground where you have to have consumed so many units of brew before entering, then it'll be a riot ! Singing will then become a by product of the festivities !

Why not go the full hog and allow flasks of your favourite tipple in too !

I'd certainly sign up for that.

Quote Originally Posted by Baw187 View Post
    Lets be honest, if you want a better atmosphere at all games, you don't need a singing section per say - you need a 'steaming section' !

If you have a section of the ground where you have to have consumed so many units of brew before entering, then it'll be a riot ! Singing will then become a by product of the festivities !

Why not go the full hog and allow flasks of your favourite tipple in too !

I'd certainly sign up for that.
    I have a flask of Laphroaig in my back burner every home game.

Gamertag: Nick T Muir
    I have a flask of Laphroaig in my back burner every home game.
    And you're campaigning for more songs and singers !!

I rest my case !!

Quote Originally Posted by offshorehibby View Post
    Nah that was a yams song for Robertson............

@hibs.net private member offshorehibby's Avatar
    Hibees were singing it in the 70's long before robertson day.
    TOP CASH BACK
    The easy way to make money

Quote Originally Posted by offshorehibby View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Delabooze View Post
    thats irrelevant.....it's a belter

To the tune of " McNamara`s band " :

His name is Derek Riordan, he`s the leader o` the team,
    the finest centre forward that the world has ever seen,
    and when he`s in the goalmouth, he`s sure to score a goal,
    and as for Christian Nade - he can have a sausage roll

nanananananananana, nananananananananana........

Ahh...The seventies

to the tune of - hi ho silver lining. sorry young yins ye might no ken this.

were flying up the league now, baby
    thats where were at
    the yams are going down the tubes now
    and nades still as fat.

europe is in our sights now
    yogis here to stay
    so come on the super hibees
    we want the scottish cup tae
    chorus
    and its hi ho super hibees
    everywhere you go now baby
    i see the sun is shining
    on east mains and leith
    that is obvious.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    I'm a mental Hibee baby i've got class...

HIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIBEES YA BAS

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by EasterRoad4Ever View Post
    Most of the better football songs were made up by Supporters Clubs and are based on well know pop songs from the 60/70s - usually played on the 3 or 4 hour bus trips to places like Aberdeen, Paisley etc. A decent amount of booze, a few pints on arrival, a long walk to the ground, and a new song was born by the time the ground filled at 3pm on a Saturday. If it was any good, it had another airing back at ER the following week and either died or grew.

What chance do we have now, when most fans travel in 2s or 3s (stone cold sober) in cars to away matches ? Swearing, boozing and verbal abusing is now taboo.
    I get the feeling you'd love a Hibs trip with me and my pals

How about The Proclaimers' (anyone heard of them?) ' Letter From America' for Saturday?

"Irvine no more" and all that.......................

Quote Originally Posted by Delabooze View Post
    was it not about drew busby{theres a name i never thought i would type}

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Gmack7 View Post
    was it not about drew busby{theres a name i never thought i would type}

His name is Drew Busby
    He comes from the north
    He drinks in a gay bar just over the forth
    He'll drink all your whisky
    And drink all your rum
    He likes the **** up his bum.

Na, na, na, nana..........................................
    Last edited by I'm_cabbaged; 07-01-2010 at 08:36 PM.