@hibs.net private member hibbie02's Avatar

Note to Yogi for the Derby

Can we please drop the 4 mavericks routine for the Derby and play a midfield that will compete and stick Stokes and Deek up front. The Nish/Benji headless chicken routine is not going to work against THEM. They are going to flood the midfield as that is where they are strongest. Unless we have players in the middle who can win the ball and move it forward, we are going to come second best to those thugs. 4-4-2 is the way to go for this game. Hang on, they have Fat Boy and Pittemween up front, maybe we can go 3-5-2........

I will probably get another pasting for doubting Yogi, but a good manager will adapt his tactics to win, not just carry on with a system that is familiar to everyone, even Shabby Lilo.

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    We can play the four attackers if we like. It's all about keeping the ball, and making the right choices when we have possession. It's the mentality of the players that is all important, and the discipline. Not every pass has to lead to an oppertunity, just as long as we keep possession safely. If we do that, hearts will be down to ten men within 60 minutes, and will be forced to change thier approach, and even thats if we're not already infront by one or two.

.........................Stack.
    .Wotherspoon..Hogg...Hanlon..Murray
    ..................Miller......McBride
    ........Zemmama...Nish...Riordan
    .....................Stokes

It would be a real boost if McBride was fit, because if there is one thing that he is all about, that is ball retention.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbie02 View Post
    Can we please drop the 4 mavericks routine for the Derby and play a midfield that will compete and stick Stokes and Deek up front. The Nish/Benji headless chicken routine is not going to work against THEM. They are going to flood the midfield as that is where they are strongest. Unless we have players in the middle who can win the ball and move it forward, we are going to come second best to those thugs. 4-4-2 is the way to go for this game. Hang on, they have Fat Boy and Pittemween up front, maybe we can go 3-5-2........

I will probably get another pasting for doubting Yogi, but a good manager will adapt his tactics to win, not just carry on with a system that is familiar to everyone, even Shabby Lilo.
    before the huns game yogi said he was thinking about changing the formation but the weather stopped him doing it at training and the fact murray was out,he mentioned the diamond formation we certainly need to stiffen up the midfeild and i agree riordan and stokes as a front 2

And another wee thing..........

If we score, go for a second
    If we score twice, go for a third
    If we score three, go for a fourth
    If we score four, go for a fifth
    If we score...............

Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    And another wee thing..........

If we score, go for a second
    If we score twice, go for a third
    If we score three, go for a fourth
    If we score four, go for a fifth
    If we score...............
    And if we play well the first twenty minutes, play well the next twenty, and the next twenty after that. Do the same the last twenty and the goals will take care of themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbie02 View Post

He's been missing for ages, some undisclosed strudel business

Instead they will have to rely on the young and hopeless to give them attacking power which hopefully won't be too much trouble for Hoggy and the boys

The only goal threat they have at the moment is the ginger nut, he's easy to spot so shouldn't be too hard to close down, just use the old tactic that lets him see less of the ball, the derby will hopefully go swimmingly if that works

Fingers crossed the 3rd is a good day

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by stubru59 View Post
    And if we play well the first twenty minutes, play well the next twenty, and the next twenty after that. Do the same the last twenty and the goals will take care of themselves.
    So we can play rubbish from 60-70 minute mark then?

Mon the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member 18Craig75's Avatar
    No doubt about it...theyre 3 wins in 3 and our first defeat in yonks has made it more interesting...but they're still SHEIGTH!

Right in aboot them.

Make no mistakes, lessons will have been learnt after Sundays performance!

Quote Originally Posted by 18Craig75 View Post
    No doubt about it...theyre 3 wins in 3 and our first defeat in yonks has made it more interesting...but they're still SHEIGTH!

Right in aboot them.

Make no mistakes, lessons will have been learnt after Sundays performance!
    They've tightened up at the back and they are gobbing single goal victories.

Agreed, get intae them and 2-0 Hibs will do for me.

A double from Deeks..........

First Team Breakthrough emmjayfox's Avatar
    lets hope deeks hasnt been on the drink the night before this one, it didnt work against rangers

Im sure Yogi will tighten things up for this game.He is well aware how they play and will try to make sure we are not bullied by their thugs.If we succeed in this then our superior class and playing ability should come through and give us a victory.

@hibs.net private member Sprouleflyer's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Davy Mac View Post
    They've tightened up at the back and they are gobbing single goal victories.

Agreed, get intae them and 2-0 Hibs will do for me.

A double from Deeks..........
    Thing is though, although they have not leaked many goals, they have been very lucky at the back. Cetlic missed chance after chance against them, Falrkirk could'nt score in a brothel but were all over them and Motherwell pegged them in their own half throughout the 2nd half but could not score.

Ginger bawbag must have got some of that luck he was hoping for.