What a goal to lose to though.

Anyone there to see it?

I was there. Haloween 1989 .

First Team Breakthrough glenn6270's Avatar
    i was there cracking trip

Promising Youngster
    was there too. crazy journey in a minivan! straight there and straight back.
    not recommended but was a lot fun

aye i was there, gutted. Lad hit it with his wrong foot too.

Yeah I was there, travelled by coach, Beastie Bus......

First Team Breakthrough glenn6270's Avatar
    i was there cracking trip

My vague recollection was that Mcginlay scored a legitimate goal that was ruled offside.

We took a great support there.

I was there with my big inflatable banana

Went with the Bonnyrigg bus that left the Unicorn at Dalkeith

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Was my first trip abroad with Hibs and possibly the funniest.

Hired a crew van from Tranent, drove to Felixstowe. Ferry to Zeebrugge then train to Brussels.

Got accomodation in Brussels then train to Liege.

Thing about the goal is the guy wouldn't have shot if Gareth Evans hadn't closed him down so quickly. Goram reckoned the player shot just to make sure he didn't lose possesion.

We were there...Four of us drove to Dover and across on the Ferry, no accommodation booked but we got a nice wee pad to crash in.

Fantastic trip made all the better by the Scotch ale on draught.

First Team Breakthrough the happy hibee's Avatar

not offside

Quote Originally Posted by judas View Post
    My vague recollection was that Mcginlay scored a legitimate goal that was ruled offside.

We took a great support there.
    your are correct it was never offside, i was there getting ready for penalties till that happened, great performance that night.:notworthy:

I was there,Liege was a dump and you had to be aware-excellent hibs support.

Quote Originally Posted by fiolex1 View Post
    I was there with my big inflatable banana

Went with the Bonnyrigg bus that left the Unicorn at Dalkeith

****in ell ive had a few scraps in that place!..do they still give out free stovies to the pool team tho

Coaching Staff scott7_0(Prague)'s Avatar
    Aye, was there. 15years old and messy,

was staying in a hotel that was circular and hollow down the middle, some guys ended up playing football in the middle of it... good trip.

a great trip indeed.

remember waking up in a park as couldnt remember where the hotel was only to realise there were about 50 other bodies wearing hibs top there too

got interviewd by a very young Jim White in the Steve Davis snooker club when i picked up my stuff from the travel agent at elm row.

if i remember correctly the boy who scored later wanted to join Hibs, also remember a few car loads of boys jumping oot and batting a few Hibbies around the centre of Brussel's.

@hibs.net private member Jamesie's Avatar
    Would love to have been there. My generation of Hibbys has grown up accustomed to being able to jump on a flight to Brussels for about £5 and barely have to show a passport, booking a hotel on the net in advance. Was no doubt a lot different 20 years ago!

Magic trip. it was freaky just how close The Herald of Free Enterprise was to the shore.

First Team Breakthrough the happy hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by the happy hibee View Post
    your are correct it was never offside, i was there getting ready for penalties till that happened, great performance that night.:notworthy:
    From happy hibee son colin! I wasni there and i still havent forgiven my dad for not taking me !

FIFA Bar right outside the ground. Swathed in green and white. Magic sing song.

I was there went wi lothians Travel fi Musselburgh. I remem......Sorry guys and gals if you don't mind I will consult my legal representative before going any further. I've just been reminded what goes on tour stays on tour.

RIP Alex Cairns and others who went on that trip, now sadly no longer with us..

Yes i was at that match. A goal fit to win any game, but we were very unlucky to lose in extra time.

Quote Originally Posted by Tory Hibby View Post
    FIFA Bar right outside the ground. Swathed in green and white. Magic sing song.
    That bar was magic. We were behind the bar serving drinks and the lassie just told us to get on with it. All beer paid for too. Guys singing on the bar

We went back after the match and when we left at the end of the evening they made a guard of honour for us as we left to great applause.

The trip back was dreadful though, up to the ferry port and through Ingurlund with a severe hangover.

Fantastic trip though

First Team Breakthrough MyresideHibby's Avatar
    Good trip but not as much fun as going to Hungary for the Videoton game!

First Team Breakthrough jarre1875's Avatar
    Quality trip. Went wi a bus fi tollcross,

I wasn't there, but remember reading a post form someone who ws there who spoke to Andy Goram after the game, and Goram said he thought he should have saved the shot.

Nobody else did, but that's what he reckoned apparently.

@hibs.net private member Green_one's Avatar
    Great trip, terrible journey, v v drunk. Recollections limited, apart from feeling awful the following day. I blame the beer.

All too limited experience. Following Hibs in Europe woudl not exactly cost a lot of money. Fortunately, I could not make the Athens trip.

Quote Originally Posted by Jamesie View Post
    Would love to have been there. My generation of Hibbys has grown up accustomed to being able to jump on a flight to Brussels for about £5 and barely have to show a passport, booking a hotel on the net in advance. Was no doubt a lot different 20 years ago!

Aye you are correct. Had taken train to Hungary in previous round so went by bus to this one, ariving morning of game and straight back after. Thinking was if we made it thru i saved some money and work holidays for the next round. Someone may correct me but i'm sure they got PSG in the next round. That would have been a great trip.

Mind might be playing tricks but did we not take just shy of 2k to Liege.

@hibs.net private member oldbutdim's Avatar
    I was there but the two trips to Belgium have sort of blurred into one.....

How many folk were their? Hibs supports looks massive! Sadly i was too young! next year though ;)