• 2006-07

5 33.33%
  • 2007-08

0 0%
  • 2008-09

0 0%
    @hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar

Best team / season / whatever of the decade (merged)

Shamelessly plagiarised from a Celtc board...

• Achievement of the Decade
    • Low Point of the Decade
    • Game of the Decade
    • Player of the Decade
    • Goal of the Decade
    • Cult Hero
    • Villain of the Decade
    • Best Signing
    • Worst Signing
    • Best Kit of the Decade

My answers:

• 18/03/07
    • 02/04/06
    • second 3-0 at Ibrox
    • Deek
    • Deek v Hearts, 03/04
    • Konte
    • Willie McKay
    • Ivan
    • Zibi
    • home kit, 06/07

Gamertag: gringotodd
    Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post

• Game of the Decade
    • Player of the Decade
    • Goal of the Decade
    • Cult Hero
    • Villain of the Decade
    • Best Signing
    • Worst Signing
    • Best Kit of the Decade
    • 1st trophy in 18 years
    • SC Semi v Yams
    • 81% - 19%
    • Derek Riordan
    • Sproule v Huns @ Greyskull
    • Ivan Sproule (or HKT? )
    • Katie "Ah dinnae get paid enough to look after my ma" ThomsHun
    • Riordan re-signing
    • Zibi
    • This season's home

Achievement of the Decade - CIS Cup final. 18/03/07

Low Point of the Decade - Semi final against the ****. 02/04/06

Game of the Decade - 6-2 game. 22/10/00

Player of the Decade - Mentions to Latapy and Sauzee for the start of the decade, but Deek because of the amount of years he has been scoring goals.

Goal of the Decade - The 6th v Hearts. Latapy. 22/10/00

Cult Hero - Konte

Villain of the Decade - Hartley

Best Signing - Murphy

Worst Signing - Zibi

Best Kit of the Decade - This season's. The home and away ones.

@hibs.net private member BigKev's Avatar
    [*]Achievement of the Decade - League Cup win
    [*]Low Point of the Decade - That semi
    [*]Game of the Decade - First 3-0 @ Ibrox - unheard of and unseen of prior to Ivan's hat-trick.
    [*]Player of the Decade - Tough one between Deeks & Ian Murray in my book but I'll plump for Deek.
    [*]Goal of the Decade - For sheer importance Rob Jones' opener in the CIS Cup final
    [*]Cult Hero - Craig Rocastle
    [*]Villain of the Decade - Katie
    [*]Best Signing - David Murphy
    [*]Worst Signing - Zarabi
    [*]Best Kit of the Decade - 2005/6 with the turn up collar

• Game of the Decade
    • Player of the Decade
    • Goal of the Decade
    • Cult Hero
    • Villain of the Decade
    • Best Signing
    • Worst Signing
    • Best Kit of the Decade
    My answers:

2007 League Cup
    2006 Semi
    2000 6-2 Game
    Riordan
    O'Connor vs Hearts in the 'unbeatable' game. Just for the sheer bedlam in the East when he scored.
    Ivan Sproule
    Paul Hartley
    Ivan Sproule
    Zibi
    2000-2001 Kit
    Last edited by Part/Time Supporter; 08-12-2009 at 10:12 AM.

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    • Achievement of the Decade - CIS cup win
    • Low Point of the Decade - THAT semi final
    • Game of the Decade - AEK Athens @ Easter Road
    • Player of the Decade - Riordan
    • Goal of the Decade - Sproule's 3rd @ Ibrox
    • Cult Hero - Ivan
    • Villain of the Decade - Greetin faced Thomson or Hartley
    • Best Signing - Tony Mowbray
    • Worst Signing - Amadou Konte
    • Best Kit of the Decade - this seasons

Gamertag: Japhakayk
    Definitely the league cup final though beating AEK at ER at getting SO CLOSE to putting them out must rank up there

The obvious 4-0 semi and the 5-1 league match against them.. but personal low points came at Hampden. League cup semi v Ayr United followed closely by 180 goalless minutes against a Bamba-inspired Dunfermline. Such a waste of time and money in **** weather...

• Game of the Decade
    Quite a few - mostly derbies and again the CIS final must get a mention. If I were to choose one I'd pick the 2-0 "We are unbeatable" match for all round family fun! It signalled the beginning of the car crash we are watching right now.

• Player of the Decade
    Very tempted to pick Scott Brown here - he grew before our eyes into the best midfielder in the country and I will never forget his display in his last game at ER, almost single-handedly tearing the unwashed (reserves) to shreds.
    • Goal of the Decade
    Again so many - Zouma rounding Gordon and leaving Pressley sitting on his bum must get a mention; Didier Agathe scoring his third v Dundee when it seemed every defender tried to hack him down; even Stewart's shin from 30 yards was unbelievable ; and I could choose any one of Riordan's screamers but I think I'm going to go for a goal that should have counted and didn't. Riordan's curled volley to complete his "hattrick" in the 4-4 game v Dundee at ER. Would have made it 5-1 I think at the time and there was no way he was offside. Quite simply the most breath-taking strike I've ever seen!
    • Cult Hero
    The one and only Mali Magician

• Villain of the Decade
    Can I say Colin Murdock? It is a toss up between Gary Caldwell, Steven Frail and Andy Wan.. Walker

• Best Signing
    Could turn out to be Liam Miller! But I would say David Murphy on a free from Middlesboro.
    • Worst Signing
    Where to start... Murdock, Malkowski, Simon Brown, Kerr, Morrow... the list of imposters is seemingly endless. For promising so much and delivering so little I'll need to plump for Alan O'Brien
    • Best Kit of the Decade

The last black top - two seasons ago maybe? Still wear it regularly.

Achievement of the Decade - League cup

Low Point of the Decade - Scottish cup semi against Hearts

Game of the Decade - 3-0 V Rangers - the first time round

Player of the Decade - Riordan

Goal of the Decade - Tam McManus V Rangers at Ibrox with a looping volley

Cult Hero - Riordan

Villain of the Decade - Thomson - again pleading poverty and publically unsettling the team through his column in the DR

Best Signing - Rob Jones - considering the price we paid for him and what he achieved with us

Worst Signing - Hurtado

Best Kit of the Decade - current home

Gamertag: Nick T Muir
    Achievement of the Decade - CIS Cup win

Low Point of the Decade - SC Semi against Hearts

Game of the Decade - 6-2 game

Player of the Decade - Deek

Goal of the Decade - The 6th v Hearts. Latapy

Cult Hero - Scott Brown

Villain of the Decade - Keith Jackson

Best Signing - Liam Miller

Worst Signing - Van Zantan

Best Kit of the Decade - This season's away

Given that I am one of those losers who reckons that the decade still has another year and a bit to run, I will say that the best is yet to come.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Given that I am one of those losers who reckons that the decade still has another year and a bit to run, I will say that the best is yet to come.

Not losers, CWG, not losers.

Pedantic perhaps - when has that ever stopped me peeing on other folks' parades? - but the Weegies are as they so often are, entirely misguided in their thinking (I use the term loosely, of course) that the decade began on 01/01/2000. It did not. It began a year later, on 01/01/2001.

So while the past 8 years, 11 months and 7 and a half days (less a few minutes) have had their ups and downs for the Cabbage - more ups than downs, I think - we still have 388 days, 12 hours and just over 20 minutes of the first decade of the 21st century to go.

And like you, I feel sure that the best is yet to come.....

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post

Pedantic perhaps - when has that ever stopped me peeing on other folks' parades? - but the Weegies are as they so often are, entirely misguided in their thinking (I use the term loosely, of course) that the decade began on 01/01/2000. It did not. It began a year later, on 01/01/2001.

So while the past 8 years, 11 months and 7 and a half days (less a few minutes) have had their ups and downs for the Cabbage - more ups than downs, I think - we still have 388 days, 12 hours and just over 20 minutes of the first decade of the 21st century to go.

Feel free to make your suggestions for the last decade that has passed, then...

Gamertag: Cod Flanders

• Achievement of the Decade CIS Final
    • Low Point of the Decade Scottish Semi - v Hearts
    • Game of the Decade Either second 3-0 at Ibrox or CIS Final
    • Player of the Decade Deek or Murphy
    • Goal of the Decade Zoomer against Hearts is probably my favourite
    • Cult Hero Romanov
    • Villain of the Decade Hmmmm probably Mackay for being such a pr!ck with so many of our top players
    • Best Signing Deeks re-signing
    • Worst Signing Has to be Zibby!
    • Best Kit of the Decade Black away one from a few years back

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    * Achievement of the Decade Cup Win
    * Low Point of the Decade Livi Cup final
    * Game of the Decade 6-2 or Hun Semi final
    * Player of the Decade Le God
    * Goal of the Decade Tam McManus volley at Ibrox
    * Cult Hero Ivan!
    * Villain of the Decade The Daily Record
    * Best Signing Derek Riordan
    * Worst Signing Tony Caig
    * Best Kit of the DecadeHome shirt 2000

team of the decade

boruc

whittaker sauzee jones murphy

brown latapy murray riordan

o'connor fletcher

Colgan
    Whittiker Bamba Sauzee Murphy

Zouma Brown Latapy Riordan

O'Conner Fletcher

Subs
    Stack
    Hogg
    Thomshun
    Murray
    Mixu

Went for Murphy over Murray despite voting for Murray on the other thread ! Mainly because Murphy's quality in an elite team, although I think Murray offers more in our exisiting team.

Ha. Call me a jinx, but I have this awful vision of the open-topped bus reversing back into the garage for another year.

Quote Originally Posted by villager View Post
    boruc

o'connor fletcher
    Hibs team or anyone

Cool survey - here's my view....

• Achievement of the Decade - League Cup Win under JC
    • Low Point of the Decade - the subsequent player revolt which only helped to blow our chances of a cup double
    • Game of the Decade - 6-2
    • Player of the Decade - Sauzee
    • Goal of the Decade - Latas in the 6-2
    • Cult Hero - Ivan
    • Vilain of the decade - the board when they sacked "Le God" after less than half a season in the job (although I've forgiven them now.)
    • Best Signing - Getting Deeks back
    • Worst Signing - AOB
    • Best Kit of the Decade - 6-2 strip

boruc

o'connor fletcher

Eh? Naw.

Gamertag: gringotodd
    boruc
    I think it's a bad line, caller - it almost sounded like you said "Boruc" there?

Quote Originally Posted by 65bdŽ View Post
    Hibs team or anyone
    didnt think any of our keepers have helped out as much as boruc

@hibs.net private member Sprouleflyer's Avatar
    Achievement of the Decade - SC final 2000 (although lost 3-0, we don't get to many)

Low Point of the Decade - SC semi against Dunfermline

Game of the Decade - 6-2

Player of the Decade - Deeks

Goal of the Decade - 6th in the 6-2 game

Cult Hero - Ivan Sproule

Villain of the Decade - Alex (i'll be hear for as long as you want me) McLeish

Best Signing - Ivan Sproule

Worst Signing - Zibi

Best Kit of the Decade - First black away strip.

You DO have a point there.....

I'm with you on this one, first decade of 21st century will be complete at end of next year.
    Highlight- Next May.

We still have more than a year of the 'decade' to go....

More like a few weeks?

The decade surely runs from the start of 2000 to the end of 2009?

Gamertag: Japhakayk

Whilst I agree with the sentiment, a decade is a passage of 10 years regardless of a format.

Additionally, it is common convention when talking about "the sixties" (for example) to include 1960 and discount 1970.

Were you one of the 50 odd folk in the country who sat in a huff in the hoose with the lights off when the year 2000 came around because it wasn't the "real" Millennium perchance?

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    More like a few weeks?

The decade surely runs from the start of 2000 to the end of 2009?
    Dinnae get him started, Andy....