102. You may not vote on this poll
  • I'd be cool about it, its his/her life

7 6.86%
  • I'd be a bit disappointed but move on

25 24.51%
  • I'd be broken hearted and never get over it

32 31.37%
  • Pretend to be cool but leave a toalie in his/her santa stocking write him/her out of the will

42 41.18%
Multiple Choice Poll.

Thread: Yam offspring

Yam offspring

How would you react if your kids (real or imagined) started supporting Hertz? Or indeed has it happened to you?

@hibs.net private member MacBean's Avatar

Gamertag: macbean8 PSN ID: paulmchfc
    happened with my wee brother and i was gutted. Gave him years of abuse for it as the whole family are all hibs fans from great great granny to the youngest born and he sticks out like Nade at a salad bar
    Hibernian Football Club

Happened to me too. My ex conspired to get my kids to support Hearts to spite me but only managed to indoctrinate my son. Got pictures of him in a Hearts strip and had to buy stuff out the Hearts shop (but refused to take him to a game).

Anyway, he has moved on (he actually came back to supporting Hibs for a while) and now lives in Dundee and supports the Arabs.

Where's the option to kill yourself for failing completely as a Father?

Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    Or passing it up for adoption?

Testimonial Due bighairyfaeleith's Avatar
    has to be the toalie option, I know you should love your kids regardless but a yam for ****sake, thats pushing it a bit

My son is a Yam and is always good for a laugh at Christmas time (in fact all the year round ) especially when my father, Uncle & Big sister get tore into him.......
    My daughter is a current bun (she can afford the bus fare) so she gets also

Quote Originally Posted by WhosYourDaddy View Post
    My son is a Yam and is always good for a laugh at Christmas time (in fact all the year round ) especially when my father, Uncle & Big sister get tore into him.......
    My daughter is a current bun (she can afford the bus fare) so she gets also
    Please accept my sincere condolences...

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    At the age of four my son told me that he'd prefer to support Hearts. I told him that was OK, packed a case and wished him all the best.

He soon saw the light.

Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post

Says it all for me.

It's not just about putting food in their mouths or a roof over their heads.

It's about quality of life. Football played the way it should be played - the beautiful game performed with class and style.

A family club with family values giving something back to the community.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    All kids from the earliest possible age should be taken down Gorgie way when the North British Distillery is letting off steam/fumes.
    To your average adult this is a rather pleasant smell of something soon to become drinkable, but to kids it is a foul odour.

Tell the kids this what all Jambos smell of!

It would flucking never happen...full stop

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Wasn't an option for any of my 3 sons.

Born Hibs, Live Hibs, Die Hibs

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post

Shirley they'll regret those names in later life?

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Where's the option of divorcing the wife (no Jambo could possibly be any child of mine), then taking the misbegotten sprog out into the wilderness and making an (in)human sacrifice of him/her/it?

I'd consider myself a failed parent, this type of thing shouldn't be allowed to happen full stop.

I'd also plant a size 12 steel toe cap boot up the son's arse.

@hibs.net private member Kojock's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post

Had to draw the line somewhere (so my wife says) so no Hibby names. My cousin (sadly passed away) gave one of his sons Reilly Ormond for Christian names though! I'm sure some on here must have given their offspring Hibs related names?

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    How would you react if your kids (real or imagined) started supporting Hertz? Or indeed has it happened to you?
    kick the living ***** out of him/her and get 12 years

unlike their sister, MONA ...

Quote Originally Posted by greenginger View Post
    All kids from the earliest possible age should be taken down Gorgie way when the North British Distillery is letting off steam/fumes.
    To your average adult this is a rather pleasant smell of something soon to become drinkable, but to kids it is a foul odour.

Tell the kids this what all Jambos smell of!
    LOL. Thats exactly what my uncle done to me and my cousins.

They'd be disowned.

Luckily, the kids are coming along great - oldest is absolutely mental on the Hibs at the moment, and my middle one will be at her second game on Saturday.

I literally got woken up on the morning of the derby with the pair of them belting out "Sunshine on Leith" followed by "ooh to be a ...Hibee!".

Oldest has a few favourites in the team - Chris Hogg (because he signed a programme for him for his birthday *thanks to Billy on here*), Kurtis Byrne because he met him playing for the 19s last season, and Fergus Bell who shook his hand twice this season

Bairns are great!!!!

Faxed Back to Kaunas
    This would never happen now. Hearts now hold zero attraction for any 'floating' fans looking for a club to support.

Promising Youngster MeAndMyBoys's Avatar

Talking

This happened to me - Oldest son was poisoned by his grandfather (mothers side!!!) to start to support the JT's...
    Stayed cool - only ever took him to one game 0-4 reverse to arabs couple of years ago (free tickets) - he's never asked to go back again and is part way through conversion...

he wears his Hibs strip with pride (despite a number of his palls being JT's) and is a Hibs Kid.

Younger brother never had any doubts - he's a hibee through and through.
    Last edited by MeAndMyBoys; 24-11-2009 at 07:58 PM.

Gamertag: Naw PSN ID: Naw Wii Code: Naw
    Threaten to drown them down the loo

Always, encourage your sibling's youngsters, and take them to games and if you can get them young at a positive game ...sorted

My boy is 11 and he couldn't care less about football! I think I turned him off the game by getting his first season ticket during the Bobby Williamson era!

I'm gonna give it one more go. He's got a half season ticket for his xmas!

:notworthy:

Wii Code: 666
    Quote Originally Posted by dangermouse View Post
    Happened to me too. My ex conspired to get my kids to support Hearts to spite me but only managed to indoctrinate my son. Got pictures of him in a Hearts strip and had to buy stuff out the Hearts shop (but refused to take him to a game).

Anyway, he has moved on (he actually came back to supporting Hibs for a while) and now lives in Dundee and supports the Arabs.

Good lad!

Quote Originally Posted by dangermouse View Post

****** me, did she dress him in pink as well?

I met a guy earlier in the year (the husband of a friend of my wife) - Hibs daft but all 3 of his boys are Jambos. He worked away a bit when they were bairns and his brother (or his wifes) brother took them to Tiny and they liked it. All he was trying to do was provide for them and they repay him like that? They should be ashamed of themselves.

Testimonial Due David@EasterRoad's Avatar
    I remember being in p1 (1986) and loads of boys who are now Hibs daft tried to convert me to Jambo. I just said no way my dad would kill me. I've always been impressed that he made this so obvious from a young age without actually saying it. Excellent parenting skills!

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by matty_fairnie View Post
    Kurtis Byrne because he met him playing for the 19s last season
    Your son plays for the 19s?!

Good old Fairnie genes.