Hibs v Dundee utd at East Mains...

... this afternoon finished 2-2, Byrne got the 2nd dont know who got the first.

Team was:

Maka
    Mccann
    Thicot
    McCormack
    Welsh
    Currie
    Cregg
    Rankin
    Stevenson
    Galbraith
    Byrne

A good indication that our squad is reasonably strong. Their isn't a huddy amongst that team, IMHO.

Good to see young Byrne getting a goal. Was Thicot playing in centre of defence?

PSN ID: maxsharktooth
    Quote Originally Posted by jakedance View Post
    A good indication that our squad is reasonably strong. Their isn't a huddy amongst that team, IMHO.
    It is a good strong team. Why isn't there a reserve league?

Based on the assumption obviously that Dundee's first team was playing against us.

Which may, or may not have been the case.

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Based on the assumption obviously that Dundee's first team was playing against us.

Nah. No assumptions. Based on my belief that none of them are huddys. The score or opposition on a training pitch is pretty irrelevant.

If you consider some of the numpties that have played regularly in recent years the only conclusion, I can draw, is that this is the strongest squad in terms of strength of depth I can remember.

I'll admit to a pretty pish memory and a generally optimistic view of things though.

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post

I don't think the result was anything to do with it, surely it was just a look down the names for what is a reserve team and the conclusion that they were all decent players?

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    I don't think the result was anything to do with it, surely it was just a look down the names for what is a reserve team and the conclusion that they were all decent players?
    I took the statement that it 'was a good indication that our squad is reasonably strong' as being based on the result.

The 'indication' being the result, that is, hence my comment.

And yes, I mistaklenly omitted the word 'United" too...

Quote Originally Posted by 1875godsgift View Post
    It is a good strong team. Why isn't there a reserve league?
    cause the old firm said they didnt want to play reserve football this season so the spl made it optional for teams. since only 8 teams opted for the reserve league it was scrapped. so all teams are now arranging "bounce" games on a tuesday, just like having a league but nothing to play for in the end.

Quote Originally Posted by oconnors_strip View Post
    cause the old firm said they didnt want to play reserve football this season so the spl made it optional for teams. since only 8 teams opted for the reserve league it was scrapped. so all teams are now arranging "bounce" games on a tuesday, just like having a league but nothing to play for in the end.
    Why did the OF no want to play reserve fitba? Are they resting up the players for their SPL games after the "big team" bugger off down to england?

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalHibs View Post
    Why did the OF no want to play reserve fitba? Are they resting up the players for their SPL games after the "big team" bugger off down to england?
    cause they are trying to reduce their wage bill they are letting alot of the fringe players go so they say they cant field a reserve team. there had also been talks about the OF putting a team into the scottish 3rd division....they ****in rule scottish football these days

PSN ID: maxsharktooth
    cause they are trying to reduce their wage bill they are letting alot of the fringe players go so they say they cant field a reserve team. there had also been talks about the OF putting a team into the scottish 3rd division....they ****in rule scottish football these days
    Ah! So when/if they go to play with the big boys they still have a presence in Scotland! Hope nobody's stupid enough to fall for that one....

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    I'm not one to stick up for the old firm but are you sure about this?

I was under the impression that it was the smaller teams that couldn't afford to have a reserve team so this was why they scrapped the reserve league.

I thought it was one of the measures thought up by that 'think tank' that Jim Jeffries went daft about no being invited onto (quite rightly so as well)

First Team Breakthrough Cracker's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by EskbankHibby View Post
    Good to see young Byrne getting a goal. Was Thicot playing in centre of defence?
    Yes, and a full strength Dundee team.

Quote Originally Posted by Cracker View Post

Well, if our "backup team" can get a draw with our main rivals for third place, perhaps Hibs should be moving to the EPL and letting the backups play on in Scotland

OFGTF

Quote Originally Posted by Cracker View Post
    I thought it was the Arabs we were playing?

Why would Dundee Utd send their full first team to play a Hibs second string in a bounce game at the Hibs training ground?

Quote Originally Posted by The_Quiet_Man View Post
    Sheer laziness, annoys me as well

Quote Originally Posted by Antwerphibs View Post

Antwer,

Dont thi the guy mea t offen!

Quote Originally Posted by Antwerphibs View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Petrie's Tache View Post
    Antwer,

Dont thi the guy mea t offen!

Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibee View Post
    Why would Dundee Utd send their full first team to play a Hibs second string in a bounce game at the Hibs training ground?
    They didn't - Dixon and Robertson are out - and a trialist played at LB.

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/output/2009/10/13/sportstory13937707t0.asp

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    I'm not one to stick up for the old firm but are you sure about this?

I was under the impression that it was the smaller teams that couldn't afford to have a reserve team so this was why they scrapped the reserve league.

I thought it was one of the measures thought up by that 'think tank' that Jim Jeffries went daft about no being invited onto (quite rightly so as well)

Rangers were the first to pull out of the reserve league due to cutting back on wages and could not afford to have a 2nd team. I think the same goes for Motherwell, not sure who else pulled out...

In reference to the guy not writing out the full words. My sentence would have read.

Antwerp, I dont think the guy means to offend.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    I can see at least two, but agree that our squad is reasonably strong.

First Team Breakthrough Cracker's Avatar
    Sorry about that ,may well have been,was unaware bounce game taking place untill my daughter told me and her friend who was playing for the hibs team just said it was a near full strength Dundee team when i asked him, I apologise.
    Last edited by Cracker; 14-10-2009 at 04:41 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Brooster View Post
    ... this afternoon finished 2-2, Byrne got the 2nd dont know who got the first.

Team was:

Maka
    Mccann
    Thicot
    McCormack
    Welsh
    Currie
    Cregg
    Rankin
    Stevenson
    Galbraith
    Byrne