The "First Touch" list

As it is international fitba week, let's celebrate some Hibs "first touch" legends of past and present. Who did you admire for their first touch? You know the one - they could take a ball under control no matter the height or pace.... I'l start with:

David Murphy - maybe lacked a wee bit pace but his ability to control any pass was always a joy to watch.

Riordan when he takes it inside a man on his right foot.
    Sauzee probably had a not too bad either...

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Zemmama

Murphy, to me, had the best first touch of any player that I've seen.

Keith Wright.

He could trap a ball further than I could kick it!

Kevin McAllister.

Willie Hamilton

Bobby Johnstone

Pat Quinn

Pat Stanton

Gordon Smith

Kevin Thomson used to be good at bringing the ball down from any height with the inside of his foot.

Quote Originally Posted by H18SVG View Post
    Benny Brazil, Guile, craft, ingenuity, touch, balance and a cracking hair style
    That covers his bus driving -what about football?

Stevie Archibald

I remember Russell Latapy`s first game when the ball came out of the air and he trapped it stone dead - there was almost an audible gasp from the crowd as we hadn`t witnessed that level of skill for a very long time. Ever see Lee Power trap the ball, no, me neither!

Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Steve View Post
    I remember Russell Latapy`s first game when the ball came out of the air and he trapped it stone dead - there was almost an audible gasp from the crowd as we hadn`t witnessed that level of skill for a very long time. Ever see Lee Power trap the ball, no, me neither!
    Latapy ther king of ball control.

I second the vote for Kevin McAllister...wee crunchie was my absolute fave player when I first started watching. I remember getting into football thanks to a mate who took me to ER. First match was 93/94 and we lost to Rangers but it was a 4-3 game. Bought season ticket for 94/95 and the following year. I remember reading about Rangers putting in a bid of £2m for McAllister and me saying 'get tae'...not realising it was the other (less good) McAllister!

First Team Breakthrough Hamilton_Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: hibbyDC
    Always remember Sauzee bringing the ball down as the last defender, facing his own goal with two forwards bearing down on him. Sauzee managed to bring the ball down, change direction and make it through the middle of the two forwards all in one movement. Class.

Can't remember who we were playing though? Might have been one of the old firm, Im sure someone will remember the one i am talking about...
    Last edited by Hamilton_Hibs; 06-10-2009 at 09:19 PM.

First Team Breakthrough hibbykeef's Avatar
    Done it against Livy semi of the Scottish as i recall,but then again mibees no.

Liam Miller has a tremendous first touch as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Hamilton_Hibs View Post
    Always remember Sauzee bringing the ball down as the last defender, facing his own goal with two forwards bearing down on him. Sauzee managed to bring the ball down, change direction and make it through the middle of the two forwards all in one movement. Class.

Can't remember who we were playing though? Might have been one of the old firm, Im sure someone will remember the one i am talking about...
    He flicked it over his head but I can't remember who that was against either.

Murphy and Whittaker both had excellent close control in recent terms. Murphy, in particular, never seemed to have to break stride on receiving the ball.

@hibs.net private member millarco's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Milky View Post
    Zemmama
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fWf3W...rom=PL&index=6

Quote Originally Posted by h1bees1875 View Post
    Done it against Livy semi of the Scottish as i recall,but then again mibees no.

Quote Originally Posted by Hamilton_Hibs View Post

Was against Livi in the Scottish Cup semi in 2001, genius!

Quote Originally Posted by Milky View Post
    Zemmama

Great first touch here. Instead of blasting it straight away he takes a wee touch and sends Tall and Elvis flying

Always remember Willie Miller as having a pretty good first touch, particularly high balls cleared out of the opposition's defence.

Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Steve View Post
    He couldnae trap his fingers in a door never mind trap a ball

Latapy

Murphy

Stanton

Stevenson (Eric)

to name but a few
    Last edited by Jonnyboy; 06-10-2009 at 11:04 PM.
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by SpiderHibs View Post
    Always remember Willie Miller as having a pretty good first touch, particularly high balls cleared out of the opposition's defence.
    Beat me to it. A real favourite of mine.

Surprised at no mentions for John Collins. Can always mind during the warm ups when he was with us that everyone else on the park was basically ****ing about, and he was continually taking the ball at pace and pulling it completely under his control. He even timed tackles so that he was not only winning the ball but getting it under control while he was doing it. Fabulous player for us.

And almost as good as Latapy skill wise. That's about as high a compliment as I can pay anyone fwiw.

If the internet had existed 30 years ago this would have been thought of as a pretty weird thread - a decent to good first touch should be de-riguor for a pro footballer.

Saying that I was brought up in Niddrie Mill, where if you couldn't trap and kill a ball from all angles by the time you were 7 you were made to practice by "bigger boys" until you could, as it was seen to bringing the tone of the area down.

Alex Edwards BTW, sublime.

First Team Breakthrough zero-seven's Avatar
    george best
    Alex cropley
    Alec Edwards
    Mr Sauzee
    Saint Patrick of Stanton
    Russell Latapy

all great

First Team Breakthrough broonie27's Avatar
    Zemmama by a country mile. I remember one game a couple of years back he was absolutely whoooring down the wing toward the Dunbar end and a lofted ball came to him at nearly chest hight. Without hardly changing his striding rhythm he took the ball down in full flight carried on down the wing and crossed in a fantastic ball .... which nobody scored from.

Quote Originally Posted by Tomsk View Post
    Stevie Archibald
    I'll second that.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Very surprised no mention of Hurtado.

First Team Regular erin-go-bragh87's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by O'rourke3 View Post
    Very surprised no mention of Hurtado.

Has to be Latapy for me, absolute genius with the ball at his feet.

Also when Deek takes that first touch to bring him inside a defender!!