Champions League winner?

Difficult to predict the winners of this years Champions league, Madrid,Barcelona,Sevilla and the usual suspects from England must all be in witha shout, i think we can rule out Rangers though unless they get a penalty in their next game.

Quote Originally Posted by churchy View Post
    Difficult to predict the winners of this years Champions league, Madrid,Barcelona,Sevilla and the usual suspects from England must all be in witha shout, i think we can rule out Rangers though unless they get a penalty in their next game.
    Hearts?

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Hearts?
    Unless they spend £500,000,000 in the near future i`d rule them out.

You cannot rule Glasgow Rangers out, with their proud history and spending power do not be surprised if they make a late charge and win the CL.

Chelsea Liverpool or Barcelona imo

still not seen RM play so not too sure about them yet.

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsdaft View Post

watched RM 3 times now, they seem to be gelling quite nicely, defo the team to beat this year.

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar

The Glasgow press informed me yesterday that Rangers had been, and I quote, "robbed" against Sevilla. Surely they didn't give a misleading impression of that match?

Unless they spend £500,000,000 in the near future i`d rule them out.
    Thats chicken feed to them don't you know.

Anyhoo...

I'll go for Real Madrid

@hibs.net private member Lmc2105's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    Thats chicken feed to them don't you know.

Anyhoo...

I'll go for Real Madrid
    Barcelona all the way

Quote Originally Posted by hwuhibby View Post
    watched RM 3 times now, they seem to be gelling quite nicely, defo the team to beat this year.
    They are doing really well. However, Barcelona are the team to beat. Still the best team in Europe.

I think it will be between Barcelona and Real Madrid with Chelsea being very close. I think Man Utd and Liverpool will just be a bit short this year.

Inter Milan could be sneeky wee dark horses

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    I'd absolutely love to see a Real Madrid vs Barcelona final, with half of the Bernabau cheering Barca to victory
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Inter Milan could be sneeky wee dark horses

Always like teams that don't start the season too strongly, much better to peak when it comes to the latter stages of the tournament. (i've no idea how this theory stacks up against previous winners?)

Faxed Back to Kaunas
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsdaft View Post

liverpool nae chance. i'd stick arsenal in there. bayern could be a good outside bet...

Anyone of Arsenal, Real Madrid, Barca or Man Utd

Its NOT going to be one of the thousands of European teams who will never get a look in at the Champions? League junket including us.

A rich mans club IMO and about as far removed from my football reality as it gets, played in a seeded league system to make sure there are no slip ups for the elite.

Benfica, Ajax, Feyenoord, St Ettienne, Malmo, Celtic, Nottingham Forest all finalists or winners in my lifetime are nowhere now and with the notable exception of Porto have not been replaced.

Its the same clubs every year now and though I will watch games coz you do get to see the great players I personally couldn'd give a rats ar*e who wins it.

@hibs.net private member wazoo1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BOVRIL View Post
    Its NOT going to be one of the thousands of European teams who will never get a look in at the Champions? League junket including us.

A rich mans club IMO and about as far removed from my football reality as it gets, played in a seeded league system to make sure there are no slip ups for the elite.

Benfica, Ajax, Feyenoord, St Ettienne, Malmo, Celtic, Nottingham Forest all finalists or winners in my lifetime are nowhere now and with the notable exception of Porto have not been replaced.

Its the same clubs every year now and though I will watch games coz you do get to see the great players I personally couldn'd give a rats ar*e who wins it.

Great post mate , so true and the gap between the elite and the rest grows each year . It's a closed shop and uefa can stick it up their @rse . I like you watch it to see great players but it's so elitist now it's getting embarrassing .

That said i think it will be between Barca , Chelsea and Man Utd again with Real in there this year

============
    I'm huge Barca fan and i'm thinking it will be a repeat from last season with both Barca and Man U in the final, probally the two best teams in europe right now.

I'll go for a Barcelona win. Can't be arsed with the Champions League these days, not like how it used to be.

I've stuck a cheeky wee E/W bet on Wolfsburg, very organised side and look like they could cause a few upsets.

Quote Originally Posted by Marty-Hibee View Post
    I've stuck a cheeky wee E/W bet on Wolfsburg, very organised side and look like they could cause a few upsets.
    agree Wolfsburg is one team nobody is watching

Have lost all interest in the CL. It is a money making excercise for the, already, richest teams in Europe. The word champions should be removed and replaced with the word greed. The percentage of actual champions in it is small compared with the number of competitors

I`d like too see Arsenal win it but i don`t think their defence is up to it, Barcelona are brilliant to watch and play the game the way it should be played but i`ve a feeling that Madrid will win it, unless of course Rangers start getting cut a bit of slack from the refs who obviously don`t know the rules in Europe.

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Have lost all interest in the CL. It is a money making excercise for the, already, richest teams in Europe. The word champions should be removed and replaced with the word greed. The percentage of actual champions in it is small compared with the number of competitors
    my only beef aboot the CL is it should the "champions" of each league, not 5 teams from each league, like England and Italy .

Quote Originally Posted by CalgaryHibs View Post
    my only beef aboot the CL is it should the "champions" of each league, not 5 teams from each league, like England and Italy .
    Agree unless Hibs finished 2nd.

Quote Originally Posted by CalgaryHibs View Post

The problem with the CL now is there is so much money that if they put all of the top teams in the competition you would destroy the smaller domestic leagues.

Can you imagine having the NI, Welsh and other small league winners in there. One team would dominate the league forever with their new found wealth.

Although the need to get away from this seeding system. Can you imagine a group with Inter, Man U, Barca and Bayern at the 1st group stage. Now that would be a CL!

Another all-english final?