Raith Rovers v Hibernian 1952 footage

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=29657

How would the modern players cope with those kind of pitch conditions and a heavy leather ball. Imagine a fair few would really struggle. Especially the ones who have to wear gloves.

The days of when men were men.

Very entertaining

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post

How would the modern players cope with those kind of pitch conditions and a heavy leather ball. Imagine a fair few would really struggle. Especially the ones who have to wear gloves.

They ba's were murder to head - especially when your napper caught the lace first!

Did we win it that year?

"And women were glad of it"

Many many thanks for that great footage !!
    Never seen that before
    Was in my second year playing senior football at that time so it was pure nostalgia for me - "PURE DEAD BRILLIANT"
    Also saw rare footage of one of the most underated right backs ever - Jock Govan who was a great guy too

Thanks again !!!!!!!!

Did we win it that year?

Naw!

Great to see this. Is there any more where this came from

Did we win it that year?
    No. Another disappointing and underachieving season. Only the league flag that year.

Quote Originally Posted by finhq031 View Post

They ba's were murder to head - especially when your napper caught the lace first!
    You better believe it !
    Remember Ledgerwood the Partick Thistle goalie getting five stitches in his knuckles when he punched the lace!!
    Cut eyebrows split heads were common yet Gordon Smith could run down the wing keeping the ball up by heading it !!
    Boots , too, were heavy as hell you could have worn them down a coal mine !!!

Quote Originally Posted by crash View Post
    Same site

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=30808
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by crash View Post
    There's Hibs v Aberdeen at ER from 1957 but we go beat 4-3.

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=32637

check oot the crowd!!!!!!!!!!!

summer fitba my erse!!!

Quote Originally Posted by finhq031 View Post

What a bunch of 50's softies with yer brothel creepers and quiffs....!

Try getting a Wembly Trophy (70's plastic ball) in yer thigh on a cold winters morning..........

Quote Originally Posted by AK86 View Post

summer fitba my erse!!!

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    shocking performance. Defence is a joke.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    This is absolutely brilliant.

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=61085

No sound but amazing footage. Tam McCourt looks like he's trying to run Gordon Smith over

Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    This is absolutely brilliant.

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=61085

No sound but amazing footage. Tam McCourt looks like he's trying to run Gordon Smith over
    That is very funny. It would be amusing to do a spoof black and white piece with today's team - Yogi chasing the young lads about the dressing room, Riordan and Stokes waiting outside the manager's office for a "carpeting" etc etc.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jdships View Post
    "And women were glad of it"

Many many thanks for that great footage !!
    Never seen that before
    Was in my second year playing senior football at that time so it was pure nostalgia for me - "PURE DEAD BRILLIANT"
    Also saw rare footage of one of the most underated right backs ever - Jock Govan who was a great guy too

Thanks again !!!!!!!!

Can i be nosey and ask who you played for Sir ?

I understand if you would rather not say as i notice you dont accept PM's !
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar

When did we stop being called Hibernians?

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by malcolm-bogie View Post
    shocking performance. Defence is a joke.
    No kidding, Younger was spilling balls that Maka would have held. Maka back in for Saturday.

Ian Murray playing at Number 2 was a bit clumsy. I lost count of the number of times that slack passing cost us possession. What did these boys used to do at East Mains all week? Final ball was lacking and it was all we could do to prevent ourselves from being turned over by a much smaller club.

The fans are clearly to blame.

Starks Park in the dead of winter. In 1947 a furniture van in front of our house was completely covered with snow. But the sheer joy of being a boy in these days cannot be hidden when every team in the First Division were in with a shout for every trophy. There is even a brief moment in one of the clips of the police telling kids to get their knees to the right side of the wall. And the crowds! It doesn't mention that at least a third of us had been lifted over.

Ahh! Happy Days

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    When did we stop being called Hibernians?

about 70 years earlier.....

Starks Park was my first away trip outside Edinburgh.Cup match 1954 or 55 we got beaten 3-1.Team travelled in the same train as the supporters so they got pelters back at the station.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbiesandtheBaddies View Post
    What a bunch of 50's softies with yer brothel creepers and quiffs....!

Try getting a Wembly Trophy (70's plastic ball) in yer thigh on a cold winters morning.......... :bitchy:
    Absolute murder.

They felt like they had a serated edge on one side. You'd go to head it and have to be rushed to casulty with a fractured skull.

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by AK86 View Post

summer fitba my erse!!!
    I think there are other distractions nowadays. At that time there was bog all else to do but put on your best suit and pop along to the match with a half bottle of Old Parr in your pocket.

Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post
    Surely to god we won it one of those years?