First Team Breakthrough Seany HFC 7-0's Avatar

Favourite Hibs song

We have a few anyone got one in particular they enjoy belting out? Even personal ones that are made up. One that springs to mind recently was at the celtic game. "Gary hows the wife! Gary! Gary! Hows the wife!"

"There is a bonny footba team at Easter Road they play" always gets my toe taping

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    A rendition of "Sunshine on Leith" hits the spot after a win against the Heart's, but "Glory, Glory to the Hibees" is my all time favourite

I always liked singing "The Merry Ploughboy" which was a favourite of mine in the seventies, usually reserved for games against the Currant Buns. Those games had a lot of tensions and much anti-orange sentiment was in evidence, with songs like Die, Die ya Hun (to the tune of Mary Hopkin's "Those were the Days") etc.. to the fore.

I remember liking the Colin Stein song (the infancy of my going to games era) but cannae really recall the words, other than it was about running somewhere and calling for Colin Stein, Colin Stein (does anyone know the song?).

Singing eh, mostly a thing of the past at the games. A shame that many younger fans will never know how awesome an atmosphere could be created at the big games at ER before the introduction of all seated stadia. The terracing sang loads, as did the North Stand and standing enclosure below it. Some noise!

@hibs.net private member MacBean's Avatar

Gamertag: macbean8 PSN ID: paulmchfc
    Quote Originally Posted by Seany HFC 7-0 View Post
    We have a few anyone got one in particular they enjoy belting out? Even personal ones that are made up. One that springs to mind recently was at the celtic game. "Gary hows the wife! Gary! Gary! Hows the wife!"

sorry for the ignorance, but what was the meaning behind this song?
    i sang along anyway
    Hibernian Football Club

Gamertag: gringotodd
    Am I the only one who enjoys Hibs Heros?

Quote Originally Posted by HFC_1875 View Post
    sorry for the ignorance, but what was the meaning behind this song?
    i sang along anyway
    Pretty sure his wife left gary after he was caught giving it to some hun cheer leader or something.

"we're Turnbulls Tornadoes,yes thats who we are.."

Gets me every time

I was walking down gorgie swingin ma chain,
    along came a hearts fan and asked me ma name,
    a kicked him in the balls and a kicked him in the head,
    and now that hearts fan is dead

with a nananannanana nananananananana nananannanana we are the mental hibees.

Thats my favorite, although we dont here it a lot these days.

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    Cant beat a good redition of Hail Hail when we all stand up and belt it out. Espeically when the hands point and the opposition fans ''AND IF, YOU KNOW, YOUR HISTORY''

Testimonial Due Billychaotic182's Avatar

Gamertag: Billy Chaotic PSN ID: BillyChaotic
    Quote Originally Posted by HailHail1875 View Post
    Cant beat a good redition of Hail Hail when we all stand up and belt it out. Espeically when the hands point and the opposition fans ''AND IF, YOU KNOW, YOUR HISTORY''
    Hail Hail for me

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    A rendition of "Sunshine on Leith" hits the spot after a win against the Heart's, but "Glory, Glory to the Hibees" is my all time favourite

I always liked singing "The Merry Ploughboy" which was a favourite of mine in the seventies, usually reserved for games against the Currant Buns. Those games had a lot of tensions and much anti-orange sentiment was in evidence, with songs like Die, Die ya Hun (to the tune of Mary Hopkin's "Those were the Days") etc.. to the fore.

!
    Sunshine on Leith one of my favourites and I would love to see the Merry Ploughboy/Off to Dublin in the Green back at ER (over 20 years since I have heard it though). Wrap the Green Flag Round Me (originally an American Civil War song) is also one that would be good to have back at ER.

Die, Die you Hun is certainly a song that we can do with out, sadly it still surfaces very occasionally. Cannot help thinking same people who sung it were those who became hyper-sensitive at OF/Hearts singing songs like the Sash that far less offensive lyrics!

Quote Originally Posted by The_Todd View Post
    Fantastic song And I would love to see 10,000 Hibees try to hit the extremly high note at the same time

My favourite would be our chants of "We are the people" just for the way it really really really annoys the Huns

Faxed Back to Kaunas
    Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post

I remember liking the Colin Stein song (the infancy of my going to games era) but cannae really recall the words, other than it was about running somewhere and calling for Colin Stein, Colin Stein (does anyone know the song?).
    Singing eh, mostly a thing of the past at the games. A shame that many younger fans will never know how awesome an atmosphere could be created at the big games at ER before the introduction of all seated stadia. The terracing sang loads, as did the North Stand and standing enclosure below it. Some noise!
    We used to sing (mostly Scotland games) ''We don't need Eusebio, we've got Colin Stein''.

tell all the yams you know
    that we dont give a ****** where they go
    they'll be sha*ing gail platt
    in roy croppers flat
    no we dont give a ****** where they go

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Baker II View Post
    Sunshine on Leith one of my favourites and I would love to see the Merry Ploughboy/Off to Dublin in the Green back at ER (over 20 years since I have heard it though). Wrap the Green Flag Round Me (originally an American Civil War song) is also one that would be good to have back at ER.

Die, Die you Hun is certainly a song that we can do with out, sadly it still surfaces very occasionally. Cannot help thinking same people who sung it were those who became hyper-sensitive at OF/Hearts singing songs like the Sash that far less offensive lyrics!
    I agree that the sentiments of that song are unpleasant, my mitigation is that I was a laddie at the time and have fortunately grown up (a wee bit) since.

Regarding "The Sash", I'm sure there are many who find the closing sentiments of FTP (as embellished by Rangers fans) quite offensive as well? I also reckon that those (ie; the majority of the terracing) who belted out "The Merry Ploughboy" were also very likely to give it laldy with Die, Die ya Hun and others of that ilk (The Mountbatten-No Queen of Scotland song or King Billy had an Army......etc).

I cannae believe there are those who like the "Hibs Heroes" song of the nineties. An abomination that no sane fan would even attempt to sing.

Gamertag: gringotodd
    Quote Originally Posted by Hainan Hibs View Post
    My favourite would be our chants of "We are the people" just for the way it really really really confuses the Huns
    Fixed it for you.

To Charlie Adam...

"Charlie, show us your teeth! Charlie, Charlie, show us your teeth!"

Still makes me giggle now!

Still has to be "booked for being ugly" to Steve Fulton because of the truth and integrity of the lyrics.

@hibs.net private member EH6 Hibby's Avatar
    We all dream of a team of Ivan Sproull's!

I like the South Morroco one for some reason

I was walking down gorgie swingin ma chain,
    along came a hearts fan and asked me ma name,
    a kicked him in the balls and a kicked him in the head,
    and now that hearts fan is dead

with a nananannanana nananananananana nananannanana we are the mental hibees.

Thats my favorite, although we dont here it a lot these days.
    I was singing this ditty in Dnipro G.

ones called ronald ones called frank
    one missus penalties
    the other ones a W**k

this woz funny after beating Rankers in the cup!

Cheer up, cheer up, the boys will see you through
    The boys that beat the Celtic and the Glasgow Rangers too.
    Cheer up, cheer up, the boys will see you right
    The boys that wear the colours the colours green and white.

Oh i don't know why the Rangers sing that they always hated green
    For green's the finest colour that the world has ever seen.

And

The hills are alive with the sound of John Greig's a w@****.

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Away up in gorgie he creeps round the parks,
    To look for school children that are oot after dark,
    He tempt them with mars bars, smarties and twix,
    But you better watch out -cause it's Graeme Rix!!!

Glory glory

"Green and white and white and the only team for me Iv always been a hibernian soldier"

We're the Edinburgh Hi-Bees baby,
    We've got class.
    Hi-Bees ya bas!

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Rudi Skacel is a ...........

I believe Deeks likes this one too!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor® View Post
    We're the Edinburgh Hi-Bees baby,
    We've got class.
    Hi-Bees ya bas!
    We dont carry razors we dont carry chains
    we only carry shotguns to blow out your brains.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Todd View Post
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhfPvG9pVug

Green submarine comes to mind in the mid sixties. Remember Pat Quinn scoring a hatrick at tynie and the the above song created a great atmosphere among the hibs support. The ploughboy song was very emotive in the days of yore but would we want it back. One thing i would like to say is why don't we sing like in the good old day's?.