Thread: Gary Smith

First Team Regular holyrood hibbie's Avatar

Gary Smith

I was walkign to school this morning and me n mate walked by this guy walking by with his bike. Me and my mate were arguing about his ex using him lol. We turned around to move for a cyclist and saw Gary Smith. I turned around and said thats Gary smith, he went awrite lad. I was shocked as he's a hero and he was an idol to me playing at RB, same posistion as me. TBH he looked fit as ever and hasn't aged at all. Just to lets use all know the good news on Smith.

Quote Originally Posted by holyrood hibbie View Post
    I was walkign to school this morning and me n mate walked by this guy walking by with his bike. Me and my mate were arguing about his ex using him lol. We turned around to move for a cyclist and saw Gary Smith. I turned around and said thats Gary smith, he went awrite lad. I was shocked as he's a hero and he was an idol to me playing at RB, same posistion as me. TBH he looked fit as ever and hasn't aged at all. Just to lets use all know the good news on Smith.
    Who was the manager that told Gary to get on his bike?

That certainly was good news.

Quote Originally Posted by jae View Post
    Who was the manager that told Gary to get on his bike?

That certainly was good news.
    Must have been the same manager who played him in the wrong position, I thought GS was a centre half?

Gary Smith at right back??? There's a scary thought

He played predominately in a back 3 with Sauzee and Fenwick. Ergo not at right back??

Sure you don't mean Tom Smith??

First Team Regular holyrood hibbie's Avatar
    I always thought he played on the right but anyway still huge insperation

Has to be fit in the Fire Brigade

He played right back alot during the Williamson era with Doumbe and Murdock at centre half

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Storar View Post
    Murdock at centre half
    Thanks for that.

I'll not sleep tonight.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Heard he was playing in goal at the weekend for this porty festival thingy-me-bob?!?

Smith was a good solid player for us. Always liked him.

Could maybe have asked him quite why he saw fit to round off the most disastrous 15 minute spell in the history of football by getting himself sent off at Tynecastle....

... apart from that, perfectly good Hibs servant

baptie

i went on holiday with him to florida not that long ago, he coahces my wee brothers football team, and he is now a fireman

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Has to be fit in the Fire Brigade

Yup, he works beside my mate, saving wee kittens from trees!

I remember not being overly impressed wi him at Hibs until i got a ticket for ER where i was sat looking right along our back line. His movement and positioning was tremendous.

Great lad too

Quote Originally Posted by Delboy* View Post
    Yup, he works beside my mate, saving wee kittens from trees!

I remember not being overly impressed wi him at Hibs until i got a ticket for ER where i was sat looking right along our back line. His movement and positioning was tremendous.

Great lad too
    wait till him theres a forum on hibs.net about him

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    I like Gary Smith.H e was a good solid player for Hibs and despite coming from the West and playing for a few clubs brings his boys up as Hibees!
    Last edited by givescotlandfreedom; 08-09-2009 at 11:32 PM.

Testimonial Due Billychaotic182's Avatar

Gamertag: Billy Chaotic PSN ID: BillyChaotic
    Quote Originally Posted by givescotlandfreedom View Post
    I like Gary Smith.H e was a good solid player for Hibs and despite coming from the West and playing for a few clubs brings his boys up as Hibees!
    Yeah my sister met him at butlins a few month back and got him to sign her hibs top. She said his little boy had the full kit on with Smith 2 on the back. She also said that he told her his little boy is a right back lol

His son was at Towerbank School with my Cammy and he was a weel kent face about Porty.

Very well liked and as big a football fan as he was a player now coach

Think he was involved with Keith Wright in the Fitba school at the Pitz

That is great news!!

Thanks!

@hibs.net private member aljo7-0's Avatar
    Always found it very funny that his wee boy insisted on having Colgan on the back of his Hibs top as Nick Colgan was his favourite player even when Gary was still playing himself!

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Gary Smith would feature in my best hibs 11 (of my lifetime)

he was always solid and IMO undervalued during his time at hibs.

100% leg-end

He was a decent player for us. Some of his not so good games could be put down to Bobby Williamsons (nice man though) poor tactics.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar

Cool

Under AMcL all our attacks started with Colgan rolling out the ball to Smith, and then us building slowly from the back. In terms of value, one of Hibs best signings in recent years.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GC View Post

And much maligned by many for reasons I never quite understood.

Quote Originally Posted by GC View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by finhq031 View Post

And much maligned by many for reasons I never quite understood.
    I'm surprised no-one's has mentioned that he was always one of the coolest, most focused players on the pitch.

There was one match at Ibrox where an aggravated hun player (can't remember who) grabbed his face an jerked it to one side. Smith didn't react at all but didn't back down either, he just eyeballed the guy.

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ritchie View Post
    Gary Smith would feature in my best hibs 11 (of my lifetime)

he was always solid and IMO undervalued during his time at hibs.

100% leg-end

Yep, adopted Hibby is oor Smudger!