First Team Breakthrough 12AlbionPlace's Avatar

Anticipation-Disappointment

JJ's departure got me thinking.

Given the excitement pre his arrival can anyone remember if any previous signings have caused a similar sense of anticipation but ultimately ended up in disappointment.

The list might be endless

@hibs.net private member Leith Green's Avatar
    Ulises De La Cruz !!
    or
    Jimmy Boco .... !!

Alan O'brien - Ivan Sproule on a motorbike

Ulises on a cruise and his mate Nelly Hurtado were the first to my mind.
    Alan, faster than Usein Bolts little sister, O' Brien is a more recent one.

@hibs.net private member Leith Green's Avatar
    Alan Ormen, everyone thought he was coming from Man Utds feeder club Antwerp before heading to Man Utd

Mark Caughey - World Cup star chased around the globe by Kenny Waugh who was hell bent on signing him
    This is how it feels

Mark Caughey - Northern Irish superstar

@hibs.net private member wazoo1875's Avatar
    Mark Caughey

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Mark Caughey - World Cup star chased around the globe by Kenny Waugh who was hell bent on signing him
    Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    Mark Caughey - Northern Irish superstar

Quote Originally Posted by wazoo1875 View Post
    Mark Caughey
    Speed up young man
    This is how it feels

Barry Lavety
    Ricky Hill

I'm sure I'll think of more.

Terry Wilson - hotly pursued by a number of clubs as being a terrific prospect. Hibs got him and on the decision of a transfer tribunal panel paid £35,000 for him and he was awful!
    This is how it feels

Wee fat Joe?

@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar
    anticipation for every new season...disappointment for what seems to be less and less of us supporting hibs every new season!

thieving Celtic gits!! PETRIE!!

Maybe a bit of a but the return of Mickey Weir, although not a disaster and still a great player, he never got back to the heights of his first stint. Everyone was so excited he was back and is still an all time great so not in the same category as the others.

Speed up young man
    I was nightshift last night

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    This (Anticipation-Disappontment) puts me in mind of a sweetmeat that was sold when I was a lad - Fry's "Five Boys" chocolate.

"Desperation - Pacification - Expectation - Acclamation - Realisation... It's Fry's" - for those who can't make out the captions. They don't write advertising copy like THAT nowadays!

The Lanarkshire version is as follows:

Oh, and in regard to anticipation/disappointment in a new signing, it HAS to be ...

... the one and only ...

... the inimitable ...

... the unsurpassable ...

... the unremittingly and uniquely emetic ...

... THE MAN WHO WAS GOING TO WIN US THE LEAGUE TITLE ...

JOE (FAT-BOY LARDASS YELLOW-BELLY) HARPER!!!!!!!!!!!!

Who else?
    Last edited by --------; 03-09-2009 at 12:30 PM.

I was nightshift last night
    Get tae yer bed then
    This is how it feels

Stokes Never Hibs Class BOOOOOOO

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Stokes Never Hibs Class BOOOOOOO

A poor man's Alan O'Brien.

Get tae yer bed then
    I'm away for another one in a couple of hours , i'm mental me
    Night night

I'm away for another one in a couple of hours , i'm mental me
    Night night
    Sleep well and when you wake up later there will still be 500 rumours on here to catch up with
    This is how it feels

Stephen Glass -- what a let down! No bad, just no very great.

On the other hand I expected fart all from Stevie Archibald and he was terrific.

First Team Breakthrough 12AlbionPlace's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    This (Anticipation-Disappontment) puts me in mind of a sweetmeat that was sold when I was a lad - Fry's "Five Boys" chocolate.

"Desperation - Pacification - Expectation - Acclamation - Realisation... It's Fry's" - for those who can't make out the captions. They don't write advertising copy like THAT nowadays!

The Lanarkshire version is as follows:

Oh, and in regard to anticipation/disappointment in a new signing, it HAS to be ...

... the one and only ...

... the inimitable ...

... the unsurpassable ...

... the unremittingly and uniquely emetic ...

... THE MAN WHO WAS GOING TO WIN US THE LEAGUE TITLE ...

JOE (FAT-BOY LARDASS YELLOW-BELLY) HARPER!!!!!!!!!!!!

Who else?
    I get the feeling you really didnae like wee Joe

Jim Blair, we paid out an awful lot of money for him, most likely Hibs record signing at the time.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    brian kerrmothewells player of the year and thathow bad was he

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    A poor man's Alan O'Brien.
    Someone really posted that, didnt they? I thought I dreamt it.

Quote Originally Posted by Ray-in-ireland View Post
    Jim Blair, we paid out an awful lot of money for him, most likely Hibs record signing at the time.

Him too.

There'll be a special corner of the Ninth Circle in Hell for guys like Harper and Blair and Caughey.

Quote Originally Posted by 12AlbionPlace View Post
    I get the feeling you really didnae like wee Joe

What on earth gave you that idea?

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Someone really posted that, didnt they? I thought I dreamt it.
    He did.

Let's hope he was wrong.....