@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar

End in sight for a new stand??

With all the speculation surrounding the price of Stokes (800k) and the bids put in place for Barr/Arfield (300k / 750k - yes all in nearly £2million pounds)...methinks this might signal the end for a new stand being built!

Why would hibs spend so much on players and wages unless they had decided to cancel building the stand??

Only asking and assuming a lot!

Coaching Staff scott7_0(Prague)'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MrSmith View Post
    With all the speculation surrounding the price of Stokes (800k) and the bids put in place for Barr/Arfield (300k / 750k - yes all in nearly £2million pounds)...methinks this might signal the end for a new stand being built!

Why would hibs spend so much on players and wages unless they had decided to cancel building the stand??

Maybe Stokes is only in the shop window, pay 500k for him and sell hi m on in a year for 3m then build the stand, good business I say

I'd be very surprised if the new stand isn't announced at the upcoming AGM.

@hibs.net private member Sean1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by scott7_0(Prague) View Post
    Maybe Stokes is only in the shop window, pay 500k for him and sell hi m on in a year for 3m then build the stand, good business I say
    Planning permission runs out at the end of this year.

Quote Originally Posted by 1875-Sean-1875 View Post
    Planning permission runs out at the end of this year.
    February 2010

@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar

I sincerely hope so

Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post

I sincerely hope so!

Think it will have to be started next year or they will be unlikely to get planning permission again.

No doubt we will find out soon.

I thought the board had planned to get the £ needed to get the stand built then any other money that comes in will be for players. Or maybe the board have realised that with the squad we had last year / before we would not have nearly filled the new stand and some £ had to be put into the squad.

Build a good team worth watching challenging for cups / euro spots and get the people of the new plastic seats.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?

First Team Breakthrough .SeventyFive's Avatar
    When is that exactly?

Surely spending a wee bit of money is a sign that the finances are all in order and that a new stand will be in the offing soon?

Quote Originally Posted by .SeventyFive View Post
    When is that exactly?
    There's no date set yet but it's likely to be the end of September or the beginning of October. The accounts haven't been received yet. Expect the accounts around mid September.

the mild mannered janitor Last Minute's Avatar
    Have been told that we have already started work on it by diging up a few holes at the back of the east which means we have started and keeps the council happy with the planing permision

Quote Originally Posted by Last Minute View Post
    Have been told that we have already started work on it by diging up a few holes at the back of the east which means we have started and keeps the council happy with the planing permision
    Is that the new toilets then.

the mild mannered janitor Last Minute's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by YehButNo But View Post
    Is that the new toilets then.

Quote Originally Posted by MrSmith View Post

I think you're assuming wrongly if you think Stokes was 800k. I doubt very much if fee came close to half that amount. Regardless, it was a great piece of work, with the added bonus of p-'ing off the Yams right royally!!

Still think they will build it this season.

Apart from the £400,000 or less spent on Stokes we havnt spent any money and that is near enough what we got for Jones.

My mate and his wee boy have got STs for the east this year and the poor guy has to spend most of the match with the kid on his shoulders so he can see the game.

His tickets cost the same as the FF so why should he have to put up with crap seats, crap bogs and pillars which block the view of the pitch ?

If you have never sat in the east you can get the same affect by buying 100 years of Hibs and ripping three pages out of every chapter before you read it.

And I quote "Get it sorted Petrie"

Quote Originally Posted by BOVRIL View Post

Apart from the £400,000 or less spent on Stokes we havnt spent any money and that is near enough what we got for Jones.

My mate and his wee boy have got STs for the east this year and the poor guy has to spend most of the match with the kid on his shoulders so he can see the game.

His tickets cost the same as the FF so why should he have to put up with crap seats, crap bogs and pillars which block the view of the pitch ?

If you have never sat in the east you can get the same affect by buying 100 years of Hibs and ripping three pages out of every chapter before you read it.

Yes, the east is minging and has had its day.

Quick question of all you's east end fans, why do you persist in standing during the game

@hibs.net private member wazoo1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BOVRIL View Post

Don't get me wrong here mate but why on earth is he/are you moaning about it , they could have sat anywhere else and had a better view . I sit/stand in there with my son because i want to. I want a new stand too , i just don't see the logic in complaining about the state of the current stand as everyone knows it's a tip.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Brando7 View Post
    Quick question of all you's east end fans, why do you persist in standing during the game
    Because it's how football should be watched

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Because watching football standing up is better

(no sure why right enough, it just is )

@hibs.net private member wazoo1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Because watching football standing up is better

(no sure why right enough, it just is )
    It's also much easier to pish on the people in front of you when your'e standing

Because i prefer to stand, and standing areas at football grounds should never have been done away with.
    It was a knee-jerk reaction to what happened at Hillsborough, a disaster that would never have happened but for the appalling decisions taken by the police that day.
    Rant Over.

Because:-

A) Thats how football should be watched

&

B) Because its better.

The East has stood for years and years, decades infact.

Thats my biggest worry for when the East goes, having sit.

Gamertag: gringotodd
    Just as you don't understand us standing up, I don't understand those who enjoy sitting down.

I love standing, singing, bouncing... It's part of the entertainment for me. Trying to sing when you're sat down is rubbish.

I hope the stewards in the new east will be as leniant as they are now when it comes to standing.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Antifa Hibs View Post
    Because:-

A) Thats how football should be watched

&

B) Because its better.

The East has stood for years and years, decades infact.

Thats my biggest worry for when the East goes, having sit.

Terrified of the sit doon brigade coming over from the west because they want to sit in the new stand and completely ruin the atmosphere by insisting everyone sits down the whole game, it's what happens whenever we go to hampden and it happened when we played St Johnstone at tynecastle a few seasons ago.

When it's built there should be some sort of drive by the club to ensure that the current east standers get first option to 'sit' there

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar

Terrified of the sit doon brigade coming over from the west because they want to sit in the new stand and completely ruin the atmosphere by insisting everyone sits down the whole game, it's what happens whenever we go to hampden and it happened when we played St Johnstone at tynecastle a few seasons ago.

When it's built there should be some sort of drive by the club to ensure that the current east standers get first option to 'sit' there

Did the club not say last year though that we would get first dibs at the new stand when it was built or was that just talk on here?

Yes, people should understand that it isn't the west and there's plenty of space for moaners about chants/standing etc over there.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Todd View Post
    Just as you don't understand us standing up, I don't understand those who enjoy sitting down.

I love standing, singing, bouncing... It's part of the entertainment for me. Trying to sing when you're sat down is rubbish.

I hope the stewards in the new east will be as leniant as they are now when it comes to standing.
    Personally, I don't understand either point of view. What's wrong with lying down or kneeling?! Bring back crouching areas, I say.