View Poll Results: Arsenal or Celtic: Who do you want to win?

193. You may not vote on this poll
  • Arsenal

129 66.84%
  • Celtic

64 33.16%
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Faxed Back to Kaunas

Arsenal or Celtic: Who do you want to win?

I'm still grateful for Tony Mowbray for what he did at Hibs, but when it comes to the Old Firm I want them beat every time, except when they play Hearts. I'll even back the gooners tonight despite being a QPR fan!

I hope Arsenal hammer them.

Testimonial Due bighairyfaeleith's Avatar
    I had to go celtic just because long term it's better for us if a scottish teams gets through, ****ing hate celtic but so did sway back and forth a bit

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    it's not even an anti old firm thing for me that wants Arsenal to win tonight, i just love watching good football. Arsenal in full flow are fab to watch and i want teams like that to win every game.

that fact that its celtic is just a nice wee bonus

Started off wanting Arsenal to pump them but listening to TalkSport and hearing the English saying best league in the world vs pub league and all the rest makes me want Celtc to do them.

I’ll probably change my mind again before k/o though.

If Celtic go through, they will get more money. I can't understand why any Hibs fan would want this.

Faxed Back to Kaunas
    Mon the Gunners! Sod this talk about the OF doing well in Europe being good for the Scottish game. It's good for nobody but them. I'd love to see Celtic hammered even if Mogga is the boss. He tarnished his reputation a bit in my eyes by returning to the crappy old SPL.
    Last edited by Mag7; 18-08-2009 at 10:05 AM.

Promising Youngster thefamousfive's Avatar
    Arsenal for me. Used to like scottish teams to do well but we need to hit an all time low with the ugly sisters getting knocked out / well beaten early so we can radicalize the game in Scotland. The whole system needs to be revamped like our cousins in france managed to do not so long ago.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve20 View Post
    If Celtic go through, they will get more money. I can't understand why any Hibs fan would want this.
    Don't give a monkey's, I'd always want a Scottish team to beat an English team, unless of course it was hearts, in which case I'd want them to get pumped.

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar
    A Scottish team over an an English one every time.
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

@hibs.net private member wazoo1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by stu in nottingham View Post

Couldn't really care but if I was pushed I would say I'd want a few Celtc goals because of the English opinion towards their league and ours.

In general, I agree, and I usually want our teams to win against whoever they are playing in Europe.

Years ago, I even used to want HOMFC to win in Europe, but I'm not so magnanimous when it comes to them anymore.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Don't give a monkey's, I'd always want a Scottish team to beat an English team, unless of course it was hearts, in which case I'd want them to get pumped.
    Fair enough. I have just never understood wanting a club team to win because they happen to be Scottish. It's not like its the national team.

Anyway, Mon the Gunners.

No really bothered about the Scottish/English thing when it comes tae club fitba and games involving the OF (or the many mob). Dinnae have a favourite English team so I'm indifferent towards Arsenal or any other English club winning, I hate the OF and I wouldnae want them tae win a game of tiddlywinks, I hope the smellies get hammered.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 18-08-2009 at 10:16 AM.

Down here, any English win over a Scottish club just fuels the fire about our 5ft rate football clubs.

Celtic all the way!

@hibs.net private member MacBean's Avatar

Gamertag: macbean8 PSN ID: paulmchfc
    toughy for me...

1. Celtic winning is good for Scottish football and our Coefficients for future qualifying. If Celtic do lose however, they will simply be demoted to the Europa League group stages, so that could further our coefficients.

2. Celtic going thru means Rangers dont get all the Tv revenue etc, taking them one step closer to oblivion. On the other hand, Celtic get more money to poach our boys

3. Arsenal are one of the most entertaining football teams in Europe just now and they are playing Celtic, one of our sworn enemies.

I will be watching Eastenders and Holby City!

Hate Sellick as they are manky lice ridden heritage stealing clartbags, however they are a Scottish team and therfor will have my full support this evening.......

@hibs.net private member MacBean's Avatar

Gamertag: macbean8 PSN ID: paulmchfc
    Quote Originally Posted by H18SVG View Post
    Celtic. Yes they'll get more money but then they have to pay over the odds for players and salaries ( apart from the freebies ). Then their midweek adventures will take its toll for the more mundane SPL matches at the weekend.

The next plus is that the OF fans and media (same thing?) genuinely start to believe they can win it. so the final right royal humping is so much better. As smokey once said when talking about the great unwashed OF fans, it's easy to trace the tracks of their tears

they will still have midweek adventures, at least 6 of them in the Europa League group stages, and even more if they get through the group!!

Celtic have raped our club since 1888.......

Come on Gunners

The only time I want the Bigot Brothers to win is when they play Hertz, pump it right up them Arsene.

A tough one but voted for Celtic as I live in London and get fed up of being patronised about how p1sh our league is. Won't be too bothered if they get beat though.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar

Cool

Celtic. So that when we toast them in a couple of weeks we can say we could live in the EPL. Acually one season would be fine with all that cash and parachute money.

An Irish team against an English team. Who gives a

A "Scottish" team whose fans booed a pipe band at Man City and launched into the"Soldiers' Song"? They can't revel in their plastic Oirishness all the time and then expect to be supported as representatives of Scotland.Hell mend the arrogant bazzas. Mon the Gunners!

Having lived in England for about 12 years I know as fact just how patronising the media (as well as many fans) are towards Scottish football. They will be going on about how it's a foregone conclusion and looking scornfully down their noses at us.
    So - got to be the "Scottish" team - even if the Smelts will get a financial boost, it will be worth it knowing that the **** that passes as journalists from the Sun etc will be eating their copy.

@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar
    doesn't really matter!

If you watched the game on Saturday, Arsenal totally humped Everton in every aspect of the game and for me, I think this is how it will be tonight unless Celtic play 11 -0 - 0!

The sectarian bile that gushes from both sides of the old firm, makes me despise them both.....

Hope that they lose every time they are in Europe, as I am opposed to everything that they stand for......

For the record, and avoidance of doubt, I also hope Hearts get pumped on Thursday too.......

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by khib70 View Post
    A "Scottish" team whose fans booed a pipe band at Man City and launched into the"Soldiers' Song"? They can't revel in their plastic Oirishness all the time and then expect to be supported as representatives of Scotland.Hell mend the arrogant bazzas. Mon the Gunners!
    I see your point entirely but I don't believe that every Celtic fan is 'Plastic Oirish'. The latter, and they are admittedly of a significant number, are just the more vocal (and ridiculous). Arsenal and the league they operate in can hardly be considered bereft of arrogance over the years either.
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown