Good Luck Scotland

Just about to depart for Oslo and I would like to wish SCOTLAND good luck on Wednesday, as it's a match we can and need to win

Good Luck Scotland

Good luck from the West Country. We don't leave till tomorrow morning and I'll be leaving a seathing wife behind as I have been to both the Blackburn & Bolton games !
    We'll be coming...........

Good luck Scotland - will be cheering the lads on through the ether as I watch it on the telly.

PS - in response to anticipated disparaging "don't care about Scotland" posts - I don't care that you don't care and YES I am perfectly capable of giving various Hun/tim/yam fuds my full backing as long as they're pulling on a Scotland shirt

Mon' the Scotland!!!

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Are they playing?

Quote Originally Posted by basehibby View Post
    Good luck Scotland - will be cheering the lads on through the ether as I watch it on the telly.

PS - in response to anticipated disparaging "don't care about Scotland" posts - I don't care that you don't care and YES I am perfectly capable of giving various Hun/tim/yam fuds my full backing as long as they're pulling on a Scotland shirt

Mon' the Scotland!!!
    What he said, mon the Scots

@hibs.net private member Silversand's Avatar
    Good luck Scotland.

Flying out tomorrow.

All together now.

O flower of Scotland,
    When will we see, your like again,
    That fought and died for,
    Your wee bit hill, and glen,
    And stood against them,
    Proud Edward's army,
    And sent him homeward, Tae think again.

Those hills are bare now,
    And Autumn leaves, lie thick and still,
    For land that is lost now,
    But oh so dearly held,
    We stood against him,
    Proud Edward’s army,

Those days are passed now,
    And in the past they must remain,
    But we can still rise now,
    And be the nation again,
    That stood against him,
    Proud Edward's army,
    And sent him homeward, Tae think again.,

But oh so dearly held,…. .
    O flower of Scotland,
    And stood against them,
    Proud Edward's army,

john carew first goalscorer

Faxed Back to Kaunas
    Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    All together now.

O flower of Scotland,
    And stood against them,
    Proud Edward's army,

But oh so dearly held,
    We stood against him,
    Proud Edward’s army,

And be the nation again,
    That stood against him,
    Proud Edward's army,

O flower of Scotland,
    And stood against them,
    Proud Edward's army,
    Second only to God Save The Queen as the world's biggest dirge of an anthem IMHO.

Quote Originally Posted by Mag7 View Post
    Second only to God Save The Queen as the world's biggest dirge of an anthem IMHO.
    And so it starts . Whilst I think Scotland the Brave is a better anthem (even though most folk don't know the words) I still love Flower of Scotland and I think it is still a hair raising anthem when listened to at a sporting occasion.

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    All together now.

O flower of Scotland,
    And stood against them,
    Proud Edward's army,

But oh so dearly held,
    We stood against him,
    Proud Edward’s army,

And be the nation again,
    That stood against him,
    Proud Edward's army,

O flower of Scotland,
    And stood against them,
    Proud Edward's army,
    Quote Originally Posted by Mag7 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sandy View Post
    And so it starts . Whilst I think Scotland the Brave is a better anthem (even though most folk don't know the words) I still love Flower of Scotland and I think it is still a hair raising anthem when listened to at a sporting occasion.

And for the second time today already -

LET THE GAMES BEGIN....

Faxed Back to Kaunas

Flower of Scotland is certainly better than God Save The Queen but I agree it's still pretty dull. Scotland the Brave would be a far better choice. Listen to anthems like the Welsh, Irish or French (particularly when sung by rugby fans) and you'll hear anthems that are REALLY hair raising. Scotland (and England) need something far more upbeat than the anthems their lumbered with.

And here they are in all their glory.....

Scotland the Brave
    Lyrics

Hark when the night is falling
    Hear! Hear the pipes are calling,
    Loudly and proudly calling,
    Down thro' the glen.
    There where the hills are sleeping,
    Now feel the blood a-leaping,
    High as the spirits of the old Highland men.

Towering in gallant fame,
    Scotland my mountain hame,
    High may your proud standards gloriously wave,
    Land of my high endeavour,
    Land of the shining river,
    Land of my heart for ever,
    Scotland the brave.

High in the misty Highlands,
    Out by the purple islands,
    Brave are the hearts that beat
    Beneath Scottish skies.
    Wild are the winds to meet you,
    Staunch are the friends that greet you,
    Kind as the love that shines from fair maiden's eyes.

Scotland the brave.

Far off in sunlit places,
    Sad are the Scottish faces,
    Yearning to feel the kiss
    Of sweet Scottish rain
    Where tropic skies are beaming,
    Love sets the heart a-dreaming,
    Longing and dreaming for the homeland again.

Scotland the brave
    PS - re the bit in red - shurely shome mishtake

And here they are in all their glory.....

Scotland the Brave
    Lyrics

Hark when the night is falling
    Hear! Hear the pipes are calling,
    Loudly and proudly calling,
    Down thro' the glen.
    There where the hills are sleeping,
    Now feel the blood a-leaping,
    High as the spirits of the old Highland men.

Scotland the brave.

High in the misty Highlands,
    Out by the purple islands,
    Brave are the hearts that beat
    Beneath Scottish skies.
    Wild are the winds to meet you,
    Staunch are the friends that greet you,
    Kind as the love that shines from fair maiden's eyes.

Scotland the brave.

Far off in sunlit places,
    Sad are the Scottish faces,
    Yearning to feel the kiss
    Of sweet Scottish rain.
    Where tropic skies are beaming,
    Love sets the heart a-dreaming,
    Longing and dreaming for the homeland again.

Scotland the brave

PS - re the bit in red - shurely shome mishtake

Oh dear oh dear oh dear.....

My heart and blood (or is it my guts, perhaps?) are positively CHURRRRNING within me.

'mon the Scots

I'm going to go against the grain and hope Norway get a result.

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post

Why?

First Team Breakthrough hiblander's Avatar

Wink

Big up the Scots 5am Kick Off for me live streaming and loads of refreshing on the browser !

Come on Scotland

Bully for you

Here's hoping we can grind out a result over there.

It won't be pretty, but I'll be rooting for a scottish win as always.

First Team Breakthrough hiblander's Avatar

Which every National Anthem around the world does to every Nation !!!

Hope Norway get a win !

You are simp,y a disgrace - unless of course you are a Norge

C'mon Scotland

Quote Originally Posted by 65bd® View Post
    Why?
    Just to spice things up a little. Tbh I don't care one way or the other.

Fair enough, at least you're willing to admit it.

C'mon Bob - Danny the grain isnae playing. Whaur ya been - in a coma.

Mon' the Scotland!!!
    Yeah! What you said.

Boo!

I think much of the problem is that those who have seen Scotland in a finals are becoming fewer and fewer while the younger fans just cant comprehend just how exciting it really is. Its a bit like Hibs but different.
    Space to let

Anyone know what if norway have any injury problems? Or what their team is likely to be?

Ta

Quote Originally Posted by teabag View Post
    Anyone know what if norway have any injury problems? Or what their team is likely to be?

Ta
    erm...At a guess Norwegian.