Thread: Well done Maka

Well done Maka

Successive clean sheets at premier grounds, not many SPL clubs can lay claim to this. For the first time he looks like a confident goalkeeper. Incidentally Yam Marshall is taking us to a tribunal for unfair dismissal

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Maka was outstanding in both games.

PSN ID: shamo9
    I think both Bamba and Maka are two of the best we have currently on the books. Unfortunately they are prone to the odd gaff. I seem to remember Maka dropping the ball at a corner today. I don't want to get on his back, but all it takes is one mistake to ruin 90 minutes of good play.

That's the curse of the goalkeeper.

Quote Originally Posted by shamo9 View Post
    I think both Bamba and Maka are two of the best we have currently on the books. Unfortunately they are prone to the odd gaff. I seem to remember Maka dropping the ball at a corner today. I don't want to get on his back, but all it takes is one mistake to ruin 90 minutes of good play.

That's the curse of the goalkeeper.
    Well .. Dropping a ball at a corner? ONCE? How many goalies in the top four teams of every division of every league in the world would be castigated for doing that??

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    I've only seen him on the tellybox so far this season and he looked braw

I hope Calumbye keeps his new name
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Spain View Post
    Well .. Dropping a ball at a corner? ONCE? How many goalies in the top four teams of every division of every league in the world would be castigated for doing that??

Is this really you sticking up for calumbye?
    Or have i got you mixed up with another poster ?

Edit : Twas McNeil that you hated with a vengance :
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    Is this really you sticking up for calumbye?
    Or have i got you mixed up with another poster ?

Edit : Twas McNeil that you hated with a vengance :
    Moi? Sticking up for the best goalie around? And you're right I hated McNeil with a vengance+

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    Looked good enough today, didn't see the Blackburn match but I believe he had a really good game on Wednesday. Two clean sheets away to EPL opponents, cannae complain about that.

More than happy to continue with him as no.1 and have Stack as back up. Having read the comments about Stack, I don't think he wants to come here just to sit on the bench, should keep Maka on his toes.

First Team Breakthrough mikethehibee69's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by crash View Post
    Successive clean sheets at premier grounds, not many SPL clubs can lay claim to this. For the first time he looks like a confident goalkeeper. Incidentally Yam Marshall is taking us to a tribunal for unfair dismissal
    well done maka, keep up the good work, tribunal aye right unfair dismissal my ho..!!!!!!!!!!, trading standards should be quizzing him on his blatant con of posing as a goalkeeping coach

PSN ID: shamo9

IF it costs their team a goal then they will, which could have easily happened. It only needs to happen ONCE to cost us a goal. Closest example being the last game of last season. Maka played well and saved a penalty, yet he won't be remembered for that. I like Maka, but I don't think he has the composure and focus to play week in, week out - yet.

He's got time on his side.

As much as I liked Jones, it has always appeared that Maka plays better without him. Less confusion about who is going for the ball.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    As much as I liked Jones, it has always appeared that Maka plays better without him. Less confusion about who is going for the ball.
    Noticed that myself quite a few times, including one occasion yesterday where big Maka powered through a host of bodies and punched the ball away to safety from around 15 yards out.

That would never have happened had big Jonesy been there.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post

Yup.

That, and Jones' bad habit of dropping deeper and deeper so that the whole back line ended up playing on the 6-yard line.

Jones is a good 'backs-to-the-wall' centre-half, but his positional sense is poor - which is why IMO our backs were to the wall so often last year.

That, and the invisible midfield that Mixu played.

Thought the big guy did really well, came for a lot more balls and commanded his area well, wonder if this is due to Jones not being there any more?
    Made one fumble when he came for a cross but managed to recover it, big and brave when needed, all in all 8/10.

Gamertag: Leith Sansiro
    Moi? Sticking up for the best goalie around? And you're right I hated McNeil with a vengance+
    "Hate" is a strong word .

Quote Originally Posted by Mikeystewart View Post
    "Hate" is a strong word .

So is 'vengeance'.

Andy wasn't anything like my idea of a top-league keeper but 'hate with a vengeance' is way OTT.

Makalamby has done well in the last two games which is good news for Hibs and the supporters, i`ll judge him in the real games, a lack of concentration is his biggest problem, there`s no doubt he can stop the shots, good luck to him anyhow.

His deal runs out at the end of this season does it not?

Get Maka on a new contract NOW. This season will be the year of the Maka and I urge Hibs to snap him up.

Quote Originally Posted by Meeko View Post
    His deal runs out at the end of this season does it not?

Get Maka on a new contract NOW. This season will be the year of the Maka and I urge Hibs to snap him up.

Why on earth should he re-sign for a team where he gets such abuse regardless of how he plays?

@hibs.net private member Jamesie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by mikethehibee69 View Post
    well done maka, keep up the good work, tribunal aye right unfair dismissal my ho..!!!!!!!!!!, trading standards should be quizzing him on his blatant con of posing as a goalkeeping coach
    Just as well we've got an employment lawyer on the board then!

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Why on earth should he re-sign for a team where he gets such abuse regardless of how he plays?
    'Cos noone else wants him?

Faxed Back to Kaunas
    I thought his best games last season were when Jones was out. He seemed to be unsure when to come for the ball when he was in the team. Remember at the PBS he came fror everything.

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post

If Maka is out of contract at the end of this season you will see that he ends up at a decent European side imho. Far better than a lot of people give him credit for and now he might finally be stretched as he should have been at Hibs by the new goalie coach.

Quote Originally Posted by col02 View Post
    If Maka is out of contract at the end of this season you will see that he ends up at a decent European side imho. Far better than a lot of people give him credit for and now he might finally be stretched as he should have been at Hibs by the new goalie coach.
    Does "decent" mean better than us?

I think the context it was in, i.e; "decent European side" suggest yes.

Given that we are;

A) not playing in Europe
    B) Certainly not a decent side at that level yet.

Quote Originally Posted by wee_mad_mental_hibby View Post
    I think the context it was in, i.e; "decent European side" suggest yes.

Given that we are;

A) not playing in Europe
    B) Certainly not a decent side at that level yet.
    Cheers - I just wanted to make sure because we are;

A) european
    B) a side

I've seen so many folk make bold statements in the past that they can then sneak out of by spinning the words they used.

Cheers - I just wanted to make sure because we are;

A) european
    B) a side

I've seen so many folk make bold statements in the past that they can then sneak out of by spinning the words they used.
    Are we a decent side in the context of European club football? I would say not given the infrequent nature of our involvement in the respective European competitions for club sides. Maka is much less revered by some than the likes of Shiels or Jones but i would wager he will end up playing for slightly more higher profile clubs in his career than Doncaster or Scunthorpe. The fact he was a John Collins signing does not sit well with some people no matter how well he does as it does not fit into their agenda to make out that period was a complete failure. Hence the lack of praise for a young keeper when he does well but a large volume of criticism when he makes the odd error.

Oddly, the Belgian international side seems to want him every time they play.....

Completely agree. He'll have a number of coaches interested when his contract here finishes. He's currently Belgian number 2, and as you say, much better than many here give him credit for.

Working with Scott Thomson will help him a lot, I'm sure, and having competition from Graham Stack will be good for him too.

Are we a decent side in the context of European club football? I would say not given the infrequent nature of our involvement in the respective European competitions for club sides. Maka is much less revered by some than the likes of Shiels or Jones but i would wager he will end up playing for slightly more higher profile clubs in his career than Doncaster or Scunthorpe. The fact he was a John Collins signing does not sit well with some people no matter how well he does as it does not fit into their agenda to make out that period was a complete failure. Hence the lack of praise for a young keeper when he does well but a large volume of criticism when he makes the odd error.
    Not me mate - I've been on threads arguing that JC wasn't all bad. It's just that I've given Maka so many chances that I've lost count. His problem is that he has 2 good games then chucks in a howler. He can't help himself.

I'd go as far as to say that after 2 clean sheets in the last 2 games I'd drop him for Saturday. We know a mistake's coming it's just when it's going to happen.

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Oddly, the Belgian international side seems to want him every time they play.....
    But would they want him if they weren't only limited to picking Belgians?