Thread: Scunthorpe

Scunthorpe

Poor start for Jones, any sympathy?

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by Borders Hibby View Post
    Was he playing?

Put it this way - Scunthorpe's result isn't the first one I look for on CEEFAX when i come in on a saturday evening.....[/QUOTE]

Yep, they got beat 4 0 at Cardiff.

Aw gie the guy a break ffs ....

Not exactly sympathy but I wish him well. This will be the first of many humpings for Scunthorpe though - they're a diddy team in a big league and they'll find it very hard to stay up IMO

I think Jones will be a key player for them though and if they do survive they'll have much to thank him for.

I don't feel sympathy but I'm definitely not going to start acting like a bitter ex-boyfriend about him.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Don't wish to open up a can of worms but, whilst I realise we need a centre defender, I thought big Bamba was brilliant at the back today. A couple of Cruijff turns thrown in for good measure. Impeccable.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Not quite as bad as AOB's debut for Swindon Town. Humped 5-0 by Gillingham. Ho Hum....

i keep telling you. When they leave ER they become non persons!

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    Don't wish to open up a can of worms but, whilst I realise we need a centre defender, I thought big Bamba was brilliant at the back today. A couple of Cruijff turns thrown in for good measure. Impeccable.
    Exactly. There is more to defending that being able to power a header 30 yards down the pitch straight back to the opposition.

Jones couldnae pass water. Was about as mobile as my granny. But he will do well at industrious Scunthorpe. Fit in perfectly.

Still...he did put us on the way to the 5-1 cup final win.

I don't like Scunthorpe so no sympathy from me

wish him all the best though for the rest of the season, not exactly the start he wanted!

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    i keep telling you. When they leave ER they become non persons!
    Hahahha.... Exactly my viewpoint

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    Nowt against him, but incredibly tough league this season for him, there are a lot of big clubs in the Championship. Reckon he'll be in League One next season.

Captain of Hibernian, to play for a diddy nobody who can only pay him stupid money due to SKY.

Career or money....

I hope he gets pumped every week and hates it. Hibernian are the greatest club in the world and to swap that for Scunthorpe deserves contempt.

I'm not bitter, I've just go no time for money grabbing footballers anymore. Jones falls into that category for me.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Why does the swear filter allow Scunthorpe but not f.eckless?

No sympathy whatsoever, disnae play for the Hibees anymore so I'm no interested.

Quote Originally Posted by wee_mad_mental_hibby View Post
    Captain of Hibernian, to play for a diddy nobody who can only pay him stupid money due to SKY.

Career or money....

I hope he gets pumped every week and hates it. Hibernian are the greatest club in the world and to swap that for Scunthorpe deserves contempt.

I'm not bitter, I've just go no time for money grabbing footballers anymore. Jones falls into that category for me.
    How come you've got Newcastle stuff heavily on show ?
    Were you not a Leeds fan a while back ?

Gamertag: WormyEel
    saw the highlights, he was caught badly a couple of times

Quote Originally Posted by Big_D View Post

Just what I was about to say....

'Hibs the greatest team in the world' - except for Leeds, no, Newcastle, no... who's next?

Quote Originally Posted by RickyS View Post
    saw the highlights, he was caught badly a couple of times

He isn't as good as some folks are making out....

Quote Originally Posted by Big_D View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Just what I was about to say....

'Hibs the greatest team in the world' - except for Leeds, no, Newcastle, no... who's next?
    D- Never hidden that Newcastle are my second team, but they are just that, second. Unless you want to question my Hibs credentials as well?

Doddie - You? Really?

Anyway original point stands, Jones swapped Hibs for Scunthorpe... Trash.

D- Never hidden that Newcastle are my second team, but they are just that, second. Unless you want to question my Hibs credentials as well?

So you weren't the guy from Kennoway who had Leeds stuff of here at one time ?
    If that's the case please accept my apologies

Career or money....

He did make clear that a big factor in his departure was a desire to move his family back to England. So not all about money.

[And he was (allegedly) given verbal promises by TM that his wages at Hibs would be reviewed suitably once he took on the mantle of Captain. However (also allegedly) this never happened.

So he probably felt he had stuck by the club for a decent period despite this (alleged) misunderstanding.]

Doddie - You? Really?

Anyway original point stands, Jones swapped Hibs for Scunthorpe... Trash.

Just that you SAY Hibs are tops - but you have all the Toon stuff for your avatar and sig?

Seems odd, is all.....

Just that you SAY Hibs are tops - but you have all the Toon stuff for your avatar and sig?

Seems odd, is all.....
    and a polar bear wearing glasses is not.

Seems odd, is all.....
    No, I have Sir Bobby Robson as my Avatar.

I take it you prefer the Zoo to Hibs?

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    and a polar bear wearing glasses is not.
    So he's wearing his shades. So what? You want him to go snow-blind?

No, I have Sir Bobby Robson as my Avatar.

I take it you prefer the Zoo to Hibs?

Hey - mock ye not the bears, guys.

The bear is the noblest of animals and believed by many to possess mystical powers.

Horrible things happen to folks who mock the bears.

(....And the bear said, 'You don't really come here to hunt, do you?' )
    Last edited by --------; 09-08-2009 at 03:52 PM.

(....And the bear said, 'You don't really come here to hunt, do you?' )

If you don't believe me, ask Sarah Palin....

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Nevermind all this ursine nonsense, my question remains bafflingly unanswered:

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish® View Post
    Why does the swear filter allow Scunthorpe but not f.eckless?
    Admin! Admin!