Stanley Cup playoffs thread

I know theres a few Flames here , Calgary backed there way into the playoff round , still on a losing streak.
    Winning 3 out 11 games

while Edmonton who missed the playoff round won 13 out of 19 games ?
    figure this out ?

Left by mutual consent! PC Stamp's Avatar
    A win at Edmonton and a 7-1 routing of the Canutes at their own places suggests that we may be peaking at the right time. With so many divisional match ups towards the end of the season, the hard point gathering was done earlier on. The 6 away game win streak being a prime example. The NW Divivion was a real humdinger again. Not much between any of them.

Gonna be real hard getting past the Sharks though. They've been awesome since the trade deadline.

Quote Originally Posted by GhostofBolivar View Post
    Gonna be real hard getting past the Sharks though. They've been awesome since the trade deadline.
    Top goalie in the league v 3rd top. Should be a doozy. Hopefully the Sharks have peaked a wee bit too soon.

Quote Originally Posted by PC Stamp View Post
    Top goalie in the league v 3rd top. Should be a doozy. Hopefully the Sharks have peaked a wee bit too soon.
    Think I'd call Kiprusoff the3rd best goalie in the league. Not sure where I'd rank Nabokov. Seems to me that the Sharks have too much depth up front. I'd say SJ in 5 or 6 unlrss Kiprusoff spends a fortnight standing on his head.

The 7-1 game in Vancouver was no-hitter, must have been 3 body checks in the whole game. Jerome got his 50th goal that night which made the win more sweeter.

Flames were 3-1 against the Sharks this year all stats between this two teams are almost even, the only glaring stat Calgary took way more penalties and the key to this series is CALGARY has play 5 on 5 to win.

Games on wed and thurs nite or thurs morning and friday morning for yoo guy in the UK. Face off is aboot 3:30 am .

@hibs.net private member Hibbie_Cameron's Avatar
    Ill miss the first two games due to early starts on Thursday, Friday and Sat. Will hopefully catch 2 or 3 from there on in.

Go Flames Go!

Going well for Atlanta so far. 3-1 up heading into the 3rd. Always the danger with SJ. Too soft.

Magnificent 3-2 win in Game 1 for the Flames. That now gives them home ice advantage right at the start!

Going well for Atlanta so far. 3-1 up heading into the 3rd. Always the danger with SJ. Too soft.

I missed that! Atlanta didn't actually make the play offs.

I imagine you know as well as I do that their original team did.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calgary_Flames

I notice the Nordiques won last night too.

I imagine you know as well as I do that their original team did.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calgary_Flames

I notice the Nordiques won last night too.
    Aye, but now that the Thrashers exist we can forget the old lot now.

However, until Quebec gets another franchise ....

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Montreal are currently leading the Bruins 2-1 in the 1st interval.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Aye, but now that the Thrashers exist we can forget the old lot now.

However, until Quebec gets another franchise ....
    I think Canada could quite happily support another franchise in a city like Winnipeg, Hamilton or Quebec. The dollar exchange is pretty much 1:1 and there are a number of weak teams in the US that have poor attendences. But after what happened with the Predators last year, it's clear the NHL don't want a team to move to Canada.

Game 2 going well for the Sharks. Quiet through the 1st, but they lead 1-0 and Calgary can't stop taking penalties.

Edit: Absolutely miraculous the score's only 2-0 after 2. The Flames took 7 penalties in 12 and a half minutes and were outshot 27-3 in the 2nd. You can't win when you play that stupidly. I should know.

Dallas lead 4-0. Monster performance on the pp. I find that very suprising.
    Last edited by GhostofBolivar; 11-04-2008 at 04:00 AM.

Game 2 going well for the Sharks. Quiet through the 1st, but they lead 1-0 and Calgary can't stop taking penalties.

Edit: Absolutely miraculous the score's only 2-0 after 2. The Flames took 7 penalties in 12 and a half minutes and were outshot 27-3 in the 2nd. You can't win when you play that stupidly. I should know.

Dallas lead 4-0. Monster performance on the pp. I find that very suprising.
    I don't think the Flames were particularly happy with the standard of officiating, particularly during the 2nd period and plan to take it up with the NHL commissioners and the officials supervisors.

Complaining about dodgy decisions going to one of the top seeded American teams ... not sure that'll stand them in good stead.

Compare it to game 1 where there were only 4 penalties in the whole game.

Still ... overall a 1-1 split was a decent achievement with two games now back to back in Calgary.

Some performance indeed from Dallas.

I don't think the Flames were particularly happy with the standard of officiating, particularly during the 2nd period and plan to take it up with the NHL commissioners and the officials supervisors.

Complaining about dodgy decisions going to one of the top seeded American teams ... not sure that'll stand them in good stead.

Compare it to game 1 where there were only 4 penalties in the whole game.

Still ... overall a 1-1 split was a decent achievement with two games now back to back in Calgary.

Some performance indeed from Dallas.
    You're always happy with a split on the road to open a series.

Didn't see the game, but I listened to a Calgary-biased radio feed on nhl.com and the commentators felt that the Flames let things unravel somewhat. I'm not sure I'd trust anything Mike Keenan said anyway.

And considering the Wild have just gone into OT cos the officials blew a call that led to a pp equaliser for the Nordiques, it's not like the Flames are being singled out.

Edit: But the Wild just won.

Still, as long as Ottawa keep losing, it's all good.

Alfie, Alfie, How's yer heid?
    Last edited by GhostofBolivar; 12-04-2008 at 03:48 AM.

You're always happy with a split on the road to open a series.

Didn't see the game, but I listened to a Calgary-biased radio feed on nhl.com and the commentators felt that the Flames let things unravel somewhat. I'm not sure I'd trust anything Mike Keenan said anyway.

And considering the Wild have just gone into OT cos the officials blew a call that led to a pp equaliser for the Nordiques, it's not like the Flames are being singled out.

Edit: But the Wild just won.

Still, as long as Ottawa keep losing, it's all good.

Alfie, Alfie, How's yer heid?

I don't think they're being singled out. As usual, all the smaller and unfancied franchises will be singled out.
    Wild had to win that one or it would possibly have been a 4-0 sweep. Still have to have the "Nordiques" as favourites.

I don't think they're being singled out. As usual, all the smaller and unfancied franchises will be singled out.
    Wild had to win that one or it would possibly have been a 4-0 sweep. Still have to have the "Nordiques" as favourites.
    I'm not sure I agree. I think that series is too close to call. I like what the Avs did at the deadline, but there are still questions about Theodore and no one knows how Forsberg will hold up in a drawn-out series.

The Wild are a very well coached, very smart two-way team. Marian Gaborik aside, they're low on star power, but they get balanced and timely scoring. They've also been much better on the pp and pk. I see it going the full 7.

In the end, I'd feel wrong taking the maroon team over the green team. I'm rooting for the Wild (along with the Capitals, who appear to be the official Maple Leaf fan bandwagon team).

In other news: owwww :yikes!:

And how good was Ovechkin's gwg? Awesome play

In other news: owwww :yikes!:

And how good was Ovechkin's gwg? Awesome play
    Sair yin!

As was another tonking for the reigning champs at home from the Stars. That series looks over already.

Sair yin!

As was another tonking for the reigning champs at home from the Stars. That series looks over already.
    ======
    The Ducks are in trouble now , once again a parade to the penalty box killed them. The Ducks topped the league with the most penalties this year and they think there gona win this way? no chance!!

Flames are home for two , me i'll very happy with one win at home.

Note: i never see PC Stamp over on the Hibs chat board anymore.

Quote Originally Posted by CalgaryHibs View Post
    ======
    The Ducks are in trouble now , once again a parade to the penalty box killed them. The Ducks topped the league with the most penalties this year and they think there gona win this way? no chance!!

Flames are home for two , me i'll very happy with one win at home.

Note: i never see PC Stamp over on the Hibs chat board anymore.
    Too much time chatting to my new North American buddies!

Flames should be capable of taking both games at the 'Dome. That would really crank up the pressure on the Sharks.

Flames win 4-3 after being 3 down in the first. Cujo replacing Kipper and saving 22 shots and inspire the flames comeback

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbie_Cameron View Post
    Flames win 4-3 after being 3 down in the first. Cujo replacing Kipper and saving 22 shots and inspire the flames comeback
    Aye ... 3 down in the first three and a half minutes!!!!

That must give them a huge boost and was a real kick in the stanes for the Sharks, if Sharks have stanes!

Aye ... 3 down in the first three and a half minutes!!!!

That must give them a huge boost and was a real kick in the stanes for the Sharks, if Sharks have stanes!
    Aye great stuff and momentum must be at all time high leading into wednesday night.

Wonder if Cujo will start or if Kipper will retain?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbie_Cameron View Post
    Aye great stuff and momentum must be at all time high leading into wednesday night.

Wonder if Cujo will start or if Kipper will retain?
    Coach was tight lipped on that one at post game press conference. I'll go Kipper. He usually bounces back superbly from such set backs.

What a hit BTW from Cory Sarich on Patrick Marleau!! Bang - Ouch!

Coach was tight lipped on that one at post game press conference. I'll go Kipper. He usually bounces back superbly from such set backs.

What a hit BTW from Cory Sarich on Patrick Marleau!! Bang - Ouch!
    Yeah was some hit, certainly got the crowd going too

The Sharks are usually strong during the regular season, but come the play offs their bottle seems to crash Think last nights game could be the one that gives the Flames the series