Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    I think Niddrie jumped ship from that league when the EBL was formed, could be wrong though.

There are quite a few greens in the town that I've never played on, and quite a few that I'm in no hurry to return to.

Over the last few years, the green that I've enjoyed playing on least is London Rd Foundry (especially rink 2 which should be condemned!) Thank god we got promoted away from them this year!

We had to play an ELBA Pairs tie at Stenhouse a few years ago and it had been cut up and down rather than diagonally.. there were dark and light stripes running in the direction you were bowling in, and it wasn't possible to throw your bowls hard enough into the grain.. but bowling with the grain it was flying. A bizzarre experience! (we still won though)

@hibs.net private member tanfield's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by sg7nil View Post
    I think Niddrie jumped ship from that league when the EBL was formed, could be wrong though.

There are quite a few greens in the town that I've never played on, and quite a few that I'm in no hurry to return to.

Over the last few years, the green that I've enjoyed playing on least is London Rd Foundry (especially rink 2 which should be condemned!) Thank god we got promoted away from them this year!

We had to play an ELBA Pairs tie at Stenhouse a few years ago and it had been cut up and down rather than diagonally.. there were dark and light stripes running in the direction you were bowling in, and it wasn't possible to throw your bowls hard enough into the grain.. but bowling with the grain it was flying. A bizzarre experience! (we still won though)
    That's another 2 clubs I've not played at and have no great desire to rush to play there. Good to see Seafield are doing ok and remember when I first started playing in the old Port of Leith leagues that Seafield was always immaculate (great pace etc..). Last played there in the top ten semi in 2002

We had a wee problem at Seafield a few years ago when we played the invitation pairs there. It hadn't rained for a while and it had been cut short in the morning.... the sun baked down all day and by mid afternoon it was getting difficult to keep your bowls on the green.... one end I saw had a pair getting 5 shots with the only woods still on the green (all the participants had played before for many years and no bowls were driven off the green!)...that was too fast for me!

it hasn't been half as fast since... thank god!

I used to play at one of the greens you've never been on every year in their invitation triples... Ardmillan... it's a funny wee green and it isn't square.. They strung 5 rinks for the round robin part of the comps (rink 1 is a nightmare!), then reverted to 4 rinks for the knockout all the rinks are ok if they only have 4 on... the place is full of jambos and one year I was there they interrupted the tournament so that the punters could go down to Gorgie to see the jambos parading the Scottish Cup! (I stayed in the bar!)... we were 5 shots up in the last round robin game one year and the opposition skip had no real "shot" on, just a hit and hope.. he scattered the whole head and when the dust settled they got a 6... their lead said to his ship.."good bowl!" he nearly got his head kicked in!

we were 5 shots up in the last round robin game one year and the opposition skip had no real "shot" on, just a hit and hope.. he scattered the whole head and when the dust settled they got a 6... their lead said to his ship.."good bowl!" he nearly got his head kicked in![/QUOTE]

Quality! Nothing like a shout of well played when you've fluked a shot

Nothing does my head in like erses who wouldn;t know a good shot if it came up and hit them in the face.

Playing in the league last year when some numpty from Lutton Place yelled with delight after my skips attempt at a drive missed the head. Thanks ****** I don't have to play them this year!

Seen too much of this over the years to be honest. Have seen guys at Tanfield refuse to shake hands at the end of the game they were that wound up.

Quote Originally Posted by tanfield View Post
    That's another 2 clubs I've not played at and have no great desire to rush to play there. Good to see Seafield are doing ok and remember when I first started playing in the old Port of Leith leagues that Seafield was always immaculate (great pace etc..). Last played there in the top ten semi in 2002
    Was that the year "wee" Seafield made it to the final? Who were you playing for...? I thought we beat Wardie in the semi that year.. after disposing of a couple of Water of Leith teams (Bainfield and Slateford) in earlier rounds, could be wrong tho'.

Unfortunately we lost the final to Willowbrae on shots..lost the singles and Pairs, won the triples and rink.. after beating teams that were ranked much higher than them to get there!

Always found it weird that Jewel don't play in the Edinburgh leagues. There's Niddrie which is further out yet they play in the EBL.

Never played at Jewel which after 22 years playing is some feat (mind you I never played at a few clubs to date - Colinton Mains, Ardmillan, Craigmillar Park, Brunstane).

Don't know the history but did Jewel not play in the same league as Niddrie before? You both play District 11 but different leagues! Remember we beat a triple from Jewel in the 1998 District 11 triples final when I played for Tanfield. The Jewel triple was pretty decent but were on a tricky rink at the Berry. One of the Jewel triples was sporting a classic porn star tash!!
    Ah, the one & only James Cropley.......James is a classy player & if it wasnt for his attitude would imo get into most teams in Edinburgh ..

As for the Jewel not playing in other leagues...as we are "predominently" a sub section in a Miners club it was an old agreement from the mining days that Jewel along with others such as Danderhall, Easthouses, Loanhead, Arniston etc play on a Friday..perhaps most miners finished early on a Friday & a few pints & a game of bowls would be deemed good competition ....

That said, we are in the main a "social" section as are others ive mentioned & whilst there is a degree of seriousness involved, most if not all the teams ive played against treat it as just that..a social night out...

I am sure though that if the Jewel ever moved to a wed night or so then we would attract more of the serious bowlers as it would be far more competitive...

Was that the year "wee" Seafield made it to the final? Who were you playing for...? I thought we beat Wardie in the semi that year.. after disposing of a couple of Water of Leith teams (Bainfield and Slateford) in earlier rounds, could be wrong tho'.

Unfortunately we lost the final to Willowbrae on shots..lost the singles and Pairs, won the triples and rink.. after beating teams that were ranked much higher than them to get there!
    Played in the singles for Tanfield. Big Al beat me 21-19 and if I remember correctly it was 4-4 tied on shots so it went to the singles

Ah, the one & only James Cropley.......James is a classy player & if it wasnt for his attitude would imo get into most teams in Edinburgh ..

Thats the guy!!!

On a separate note I mind Burnsie07 had mooted the idea of getting a .Net side together to play against his club. I know he was a tad busy last year but if something could get arranged it could be a good laugh

Found out recently that for all the supposed strength of the Fife leagues.. the clubs over there only field one team a week too..and a 12 man team at that!

Some EBL clubs do field up 48 players a week, but the third teams are 8 a side, so they put out 1st and 2nd 16's then a third 8 (and 4th 8 if necessary).

The EBL quoted a figure last year I can't remember exactly the figure but it was something along the lines of 1400 players participating competitively every Wednesday night!
    We have two teams at the Jewel..a seniors which plays on a tues morning...8 players 2 rinks....& the main team 12 players 3 rinks on a friday night ...up until the meeting i mentioned earlier on this thread we were going to put another team into the friday night leagues but despite all the mumping & moaning about there being cliques etc no-one put their names down....funny that..they moan because they cant get into the friday night team & when the offer was there to set up another team no-one was interested ....ah well ...

Thats the guy!!!
    Pos played with his father & brother in that triple..David snr & Jnr...all good players who have won many club championships at the Jewel ...in fact..James lost to his dad in last years championship final ..

Thats the guy!!!

On a separate note I mind Burnsie07 had mooted the idea of getting a .Net side together to play against his club. I know he was a tad busy last year but if something could get arranged it could be a good laugh
    Yeah i remember that, i would be interested i that, sounds good fun ...a hibs.net rink ...... ..

Played in the singles for Tanfield. Big Al beat me 21-19 and if I remember correctly it was 4-4 tied on shots so it went to the singles
    Did Ally smile when he won?? If he did, we'll note the date ... 2002 you say!?

I remember playing against Tanfield in the Edinburgh cup a few years ago, the three rinks we had at home did OK .. I played third on rink 5 that night and we won.. all our rinks got beat at Tanfield tho'

It was funny watching the Tanfield crew coming through the gate that night cos we had the green running the wrong way (deliberately).. wee Storrier wasnae impressed!

Quote Originally Posted by HNA6 View Post
    We have two teams at the Jewel..a seniors which plays on a tues morning...8 players 2 rinks....& the main team 12 players 3 rinks on a friday night ...up until the meeting i mentioned earlier on this thread we were going to put another team into the friday night leagues but despite all the mumping & moaning about there being cliques etc no-one put their names down....funny that..they moan because they cant get into the friday night team & when the offer was there to set up another team no-one was interested ....ah well ...
    Our seniors only play league matches on Thursdays, although there is a Tuesday league as well and some clubs play in both. Our seniors only play 3 rinks a side, but we've got lots of guys that don't get a game and were moaning.. I'm match sec and said we could enquire about joining the Tuesday league.. and guess what ... they weren't interested!! I ken the feeling well!

[QUOTE=sg7nil;1547032]Did Ally smile when he won?? If he did, we'll note the date ... 2002 you say!? - Now that you come to mention it I don't think he did and has he ever by the way???

I remember playing against Tanfield in the Edinburgh cup a few years ago, the three rinks we had at home did OK .. I played third on rink 5 that night and we won.. all our rinks got beat at Tanfield tho' - Cannae mind if I played in this game or not??

It was funny watching the Tanfield crew coming through the gate that night cos we had the green running the wrong way (deliberately).. wee Storrier wasnae impressed! - SHOCK!

Our seniors only play league matches on Thursdays, although there is a Tuesday league as well and some clubs play in both. Our seniors only play 3 rinks a side, but we've got lots of guys that don't get a game and were moaning.. I'm match sec and said we could enquire about joining the Tuesday league.. and guess what ... they weren't interested!! I ken the feeling well!

Do leith Dockers play out of Seafield ?..we had one or two playing in the seniors last season & i know of two of our players went to play for them in a game at Seafield...it may have been a cup game or something like that though...
    They did play a couple of games at our green last year. A league game and a game against Rosyth Dockers I think.. Plus we played a friendly against them, so it was home from home for them.

There are one or two of them are members at Seafield anyway and a couple of ex-members (Ian & Jason Mckay)

They did play a couple of games at our green last year. A league game and a game against Rosyth Dockers I think.. Plus we played a friendly against them, so it was home from home for them.

There are one or two of them are members at Seafield anyway and a couple of ex-members (Ian & Jason Mckay)
    Ah big Jase !!! & his dad...Jason plays in the Esk wi us sound bloke (when he turns up sober)..Ian played a few games for us in the Esk when we had guys on holiday...he has found his level in the seniors though ...

Did you know Ken Monkhouse ? he was an ex treasurer of the Dockers, gravelly voiced Englishman, captained the Jewel seniors..

Ah big Jase !!! & his dad...Jason plays in the Esk wi us sound bloke (when he turns up sober)..Ian played a few games for us in the Esk when we had guys on holiday...he has found his level in the seniors though ...

Did you know Ken Monkhouse ? he was an ex treasurer of the Dockers, gravelly voiced Englishman, captained the Jewel seniors..
    Fraid not. I'm possibly too young?

Nae worries mate, funny you mentioned Jase..small world indeed...i used to play second to Jase in the Esk until they changed rinks about...was funny if he came whiskied up...i ended up effectively playing lead until he could eventually focus on the white !!!

Not that small a world. My mum and dad used to play indoor at the Jewel every Sunday night and had nights out down there as well every year, they're both getting on a bit now though so they dont go any more.

Sadly, the indoor rinks arent there anymore...its been demolished..all that remains is a small section at the entrance end, this stores the womens lockers & underneath the irrigation system for the green ...

Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar
    Been thinking about this recently Andrew and I might be able to get something going for this season. I was 'volunteered' on to the Northern Committee last season, but found it very interesting nonetheless.

BTW, for anybody that is in the Broughton,Bellevue,Cannonmills,Warriston area, or from anywhere really, if you are interested in trying out the game (or if you just want to join a new club) the Northern Bowling Club is having two 'OPEN days' on Saturday/Sunday April 19th & 20th (as opposed to our opening day on April 12th).
    This is for anyone who might want to come along and try the game out for the first time, see if you fancy taking it up. You will be welcomed into the club from Around 2.00pm both days and we will provide bowls, shoes etc and a wee bit of tuition for all newcomers.
    At the very least, if you don't fancy the game, you can always have a wee refreshment.
    We are situated in Warriston Crescent, along towards Warriston Playing fields where the primary schools play their fitba.

We play the Edinburgh Club in our first league match of the season on their green and it will be the start of a sad season for their members.

On a similar note, I was told today that the public Greens at Balgreen are to be closed and the land sold off, no doubt for housing, although this has not been confirmed yet.
    Anybody in the Edinburgh City Council heard this news?
    Last edited by MB62; 26-03-2008 at 02:46 PM.

Surely not the Balgreen ones??? They're the "jewel in the crown" of Edinburghs public greens...!!!

Although maybe there are rules about building on any of the others (most of which I believe were bequeathed to the city by benefactors who wrote into the conditions that the council could not bulid on the sites - certainly they aint allowed to build on Leith or Victoria Park - not sure about Powderhall - and I can't imagine they'd be allowed to build on either end of the meadows!)

If public greens are to go, it may in the short term assist the private clubs in securing new members, but it will undoubtedly affect the grass roots of the game as folk will not have as ready access to a casual game as before to try it out.

Surely not the Balgreen ones??? They're the "jewel in the crown" of Edinburghs public greens...!!!

Although maybe there are rules about building on any of the others (most of which I believe were bequeathed to the city by benefactors who wrote into the conditions that the council could not bulid on the sites - certainly they aint allowed to build on Leith or Victoria Park - not sure about Powderhall - and I can't imagine they'd be allowed to build on either end of the meadows!)

If public greens are to go, it may in the short term assist the private clubs in securing new members, but it will undoubtedly affect the grass roots of the game as folk will not have as ready access to a casual game as before to try it out.
    Played Balgreen a few times when i lived in Stenhouse...thats where they hold a lot of big comps ..also gives folk the chance to pit their wits against the "big guns"....

Although maybe there are rules about building on any of the others (most of which I believe were bequeathed to the city by benefactors who wrote into the conditions that the council could not bulid on the sites - certainly they aint allowed to build on Leith or Victoria Park - not sure about Powderhall - !)
    Didn't know this about greens being bequeathed to the city, that's very interesting, and good news.

100%

Bowls has lost a bit of its popularity in the last 5 years or so, probably primarily because of the lack of youngsters coming into the game because of the misnomer of it being an 'auld man's game'.

Possibly a bit of good news though, from a 'friend' involved in the council's sports programmes, is that there are no plans that he knows off to close Balgreen and he would be mega surprised if this was ever the case. He has said he will keep me in touch if this ever changes so maybe my original info was wrong, hopefully.

Are the "cooncil" greens busy..do they actually bring in revenue ?....im not saying it would be right to sell off the land but i could see the point if they are going "concerns"..

Balgreen (as discussed) is a popular venue for comps...Stenhouse (where ive never played) always looked busy when i have passed by...Leith links...never seen them used...Powderhall...never seen them used...same goes for Meadows East/West & Prestonfield...

I agree though that the stigma of bowls being an "auld" mans game does us no favours whatsoever, the bowls image certainly needs boosted by means of more press & tv coverage ...

Corsie attempted to "up" that image with a new sooper dooper indoor arena at Milton Rd but in a need to claw some of his money back he included posh restaraunt & bar facilities in the place but that went tits up due to exhorbitant prices, those prices were set for "money" folk....mister average guy me couldnt afford to bowl there never mind eat or drink !!!!

Alas, the indoor arena never lasted & it is now being turned into a private housing scheme....

We at the Jewel have two youth coaches & the plan was to coach youngsters at the indoor (Corsie) & the Jewel outdoor green but we were simply priced out...Portobello wasnt an option...

Are the "cooncil" greens busy..do they actually bring in revenue ?....im not saying it would be right to sell off the land but i could see the point if they are going "concerns"..

Balgreen (as discussed) is a popular venue for comps...Stenhouse (where ive never played) always looked busy when i have passed by...Leith links...never seen them used...Powderhall...never seen them used...same goes for Meadows East/West & Prestonfield...

I agree though that the stigma of bowls being an "auld" mans game does us no favours whatsoever, the bowls image certainly needs boosted by means of more press & tv coverage ...

Corsie attempted to "up" that image with a new sooper dooper indoor arena at Milton Rd but in a need to claw some of his money back he included posh restaraunt & bar facilities in the place but that went tits up due to exhorbitant prices, those prices were set for "money" folk....mister average guy me couldnt afford to bowl there never mind eat or drink !!!!

Alas, the indoor arena never lasted & it is now being turned into a private housing scheme....

We at the Jewel have two youth coaches & the plan was to coach youngsters at the indoor (Corsie) & the Jewel outdoor green but we were simply priced out...Portobello wasnt an option...
    Apparently there was a proposal put on the table (before Milton Road was built) to cover one or maybe two of the Leith links public greens so that there would have been an indoor facility there, that's where I heard about the rules about building on the area - they aint allowed to do it, even if it will improve the local amenities! - I'm not sure if this was a Corsie idea or not though.

Wardie have proposed building an indoor facility on the spare ground beside their green (4 rinks only) and want backing from the EBL clubs to run leagues there to make it more viable.

BTW, Stenhouse isn't public.. it's now privately owned by a consortium of locals.

I agree though that the public greens are woefully underused. I've never seen more than one green in use at any of them except when they're running the odd big competition.

Powderhall & Victoria Park are where I learned to play the game when I was about 14 years old. Within a year or two I was drafted in to play for the 'Cathedral' in the catholic churches league and I must have played on every public bowling green in the city at some point or other.
    Sadly, a lot of them have now gone, being used for other activities or are just derelict land.
    Bowls is a great game for ALL ages and it is one of Scotland's most successful sports in terms of medals won over the years.
    I don't know if it is the misconception of it being an 'auld man's game', if it is the Scottish weather, or if youngsters nowadays are mostly that lazy that that they cannot tear themselves away from their xboxes, but bowling in Scotland is dying a death and we need to attract new blood into the sport.
    I believe in the last 5 years we have lost around 50,000 players to the game, which is a huge loss, but shows the general interest there used to be in bowls.

Quote Originally Posted by Burnsie07 View Post
    Powderhall & Victoria Park are where I learned to play the game when I was about 14 years old. Within a year or two I was drafted in to play for the 'Cathedral' in the catholic churches league and I must have played on every public bowling green in the city at some point or other.
    Sadly, a lot of them have now gone, being used for other activities or are just derelict land.
    Bowls is a great game for ALL ages and it is one of Scotland's most successful sports in terms of medals won over the years.
    I don't know if it is the misconception of it being an 'auld man's game', if it is the Scottish weather, or if youngsters nowadays are mostly that lazy that that they cannot tear themselves away from their xboxes, but bowling in Scotland is dying a death and we need to attract new blood into the sport.
    I believe in the last 5 years we have lost around 50,000 players to the game, which is a huge loss, but shows the general interest there used to be in bowls.
    That is a frightening statistic Burnsie...:yikes!:...we at the Jewel have absolutley no chance of attracting youth or for that matter new players...jeez..we cant even get guys to sit on a bowling commitee !!! if we cant do that then we have absolutley no chance of survival ...i fear i may be looking for a new club in the next few years if this continues...

Just seen that the top 10 has been drawn and we have got Willowbrae which should be hard enough.

About the age issue, I think were fairly lucky in Edinburgh that we have a lot of u25's playing the game but I know its a more serious problem in other districts.

At my club Goldenacre, we currently have 8 u25's which is more than most i'd imagine!