Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Bowls....nearly there..

The season is almost upon us, cannae wait....whens yer green opening..whats yer expectations for the season ahead ?

The Jewel is opening the green on the 12th April this year & straight into league business on the 25th..

After winning the Esk league 5th, runners up in the 4th, & winning the 3rd in consecutive seasons we ground to a halt finishing 3rd in the 2nd division last year.

With the recruitment of 3 very experienced bowlers (all club champions)hopefully we will make a good push for the 2nd division title this year.

Local competitions were hit & a miss for me last season with the scant consilation of a runners up trophy in the hope pairs.

Cant wait for the season to begin ..thats when my wife becomes a bowling widow & i become a drunken bum ...

I now play at Goldenacre, think the opening day is 3rd of may but with the new clubhouse being delayed, i dunno what is going to be happening. My main goal will be to win the district pairs but with my pairs partner colin hutchison playing in the u25's ive had to draft in another mate.

Quote Originally Posted by Sunny Leith View Post
    I now play at Goldenacre, think the opening day is 3rd of may but with the new clubhouse being delayed, i dunno what is going to be happening. My main goal will be to win the district pairs but with my pairs partner colin hutchison playing in the u25's ive had to draft in another mate.
    Thats a late opening ..i take it you play into mid October then ?...we usually have our last club final in mid September ..

Quote Originally Posted by HNA6 View Post
    Thats a late opening ..i take it you play into mid October then ?...we usually have our last club final in mid September ..
    We do yeh, normally we would start in mid april but because our new club house is still under construction, they moved back the opening day. Forgot to say before hopefully edinburgh u25's can win the Scottish title again, we did well do win it last year!

Good stuff mate & good luck ...whilst no-where near your standard i like the game & of course the social side...we do take our bowls seriously as we do the socialising before /during & after a game ......
    haha cheers mate, hope you have a good season

and enjoy a pint or 2

I retired from football at 30, from cricket at 50 and an under pressure to take up bowls by Mrs Jack and all her family. Still dont feel I'm old enough for bowls though

I've been offered coaching by a couple of folk, one I think is some sort of Scottish champion, but dont tell the wife I want to be at least good before I let her know I'm wanting to try it out
    Space to let

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    I retired from football at 30, from cricket at 50 and an under pressure to take up bowls by Mrs Jack and all her family. Still dont feel I'm old enough for bowls though

I've been offered coaching by a couple of folk, one I think is some sort of Scottish champion, but dont tell the wife I want to be at least good before I let her know I'm wanting to try it out
    I practised for two full seasons with my father in law from 2001 till 2003 season, an established bowler with many trophy laden seasons behind him ...he reckoned i was up to competition standard (not winning standard) but capable of giving an average player a run for his money ...

I wasnt drawn against an average player though...i was drawn against a damn good young bowler ...he beat me 21-0....

It toughened me up though & it certainly improved my game..last year i beat the same player in the same competition 21-15.....

as you may have read my club has one last year so i'll enjoy it whilst it lasts, looking for a new club next season though.

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/to...-as.3719895.jp

Quote Originally Posted by Fat Stu View Post
    as you may have read my club has one last year so i'll enjoy it whilst it lasts, looking for a new club next season though.

Aye thats crap Stu..i know the club well, cracking green in superb surroundings ...perhaps the only option left would be to use the cooncil facilities down the road & apply for an alcohol licence..big ask & more unlikely though knowing this council ..

Don't think the council greens will let us use the name and such like. The greens central and the members from all over. TBH the area and the people are what make the club and with the amount likly to jump next season I cannot see us being anymore. yer right it's crap.

Its not just finding a club though Stu, its also finding a club that - A - is reasonably priced & - B - that you will get your quota of games, my dad was a member of Willowbrae he paid a whopping £150 & he barely played 8 games..

We have just bumped ours up from £12 to £20 across the board, you have to be a full club member to be allowed to join the bowling section...

Other than public greens i dont think there are many if any that can touch our price ...

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    I'm taking up the outdoor game this year.

Played indoors quite a few times over the window and really enjoyed it, so I'm going to become a serious player.

Quote Originally Posted by Calvino View Post
    I'm taking up the outdoor game this year.

Played indoors quite a few times over the window and really enjoyed it, so I'm going to become a serious player.
    Good on ye....i could never adjust ...i went indoors & i was playing through ..went back out doors & i was playing short !!! ...

Where do you play ?

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    Good on ye....i could never adjust ...i went indoors & i was playing through ..went back out doors & i was playing short !!! ...

Where do you play ?
    Meadowmill indoors and I'm joining up with Longniddry outdoors (I think), as I know the youth coach there.

Quote Originally Posted by Calvino View Post
    Meadowmill indoors and I'm joining up with Longniddry outdoors (I think), as I know the youth coach there.
    Nae bother ..stick in ...

Started playing last year but I was a bit green misses told me to jack it in or she would ditch me

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    Started playing last year but I was a bit green misses told me to jack it in or she would ditch me
    Thats the measure of a good marriage, respect for her indoors, she aint a door mat...

Testimonial Due Little Miss Perfect's Avatar

Gamertag: maybe no
    The season is almost upon us, cannae wait....whens yer green opening..whats yer expectations for the season ahead ?

The Jewel is opening the green on the 12th April this year & straight into league business on the 25th..

Quote Originally Posted by Little Miss Perfect View Post
    We also have just installed a very expensive electrified fence, this to stop steaming drunk women running across the green wi high heeled shoes on !!!...

Hey Fiolex..are you still playing at Loanhead Bc ?..we play you at the Jewel on 25th April in the league ..just wondering if you are still with them..maybe get a pint up ..

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar

Aye, it's a sin mate. Played there many a time but since packing in the bowls I've been to many a party there.
    Was speaking to Norrie and he doesn't know where he's going to join.
    Good luck in finding another club and as you said it's the members that make the club so I hope you find one that suits you.

Most clubs in the town are keen to welcome new members.

Seafield is no different, especially as we lost a lot of members over the last few years due to uncertainty about our future....

However our latest news from the owners of our site is all good and our future is more assured than many clubs in the town, all we need to do now is build up numbers (our membership has actually grown for the last couple of years) and we could become a force to be reckoned with again.

Last season our first 16 got promoted to EBL division 2 (heady heights for us), although our second 16 could do with climbing up their league ladder a bit. Our seniors are in the first division of their league too (if you're one of the more aged boolers).

We're a pretty friendly club, with less airs and graces than many other clubs in the town and our green is usually pretty good too.

There's various invitation and Open competitions throughout the year and the "Links Rinks" - in conjunction with the Leith Festival - should be hosted by us again this year. This is a competition that has had entries from all levels of bowlers since it started a couple of years ago, and even complete novices have come along and enjoyed their first taste of the game on our green... It's a round robin format, so everyone should get a minimum of three games over the day.

So anyone whose club has just shut or is threatened with imminent shutting could do worse than consider coming down to Seafield BC...

P.S. we are cheaper to join than Willowbrae (if the figures above are correct).. although not nearly as cheap as HNA6's club.

Edit - we open on 12th April and if anyone is interested in joining, PM me (unlikely I know)
    Last edited by sg7nil; 10-03-2008 at 02:49 PM. Reason: addded

Quote Originally Posted by sg7nil View Post
    Most clubs in the town are keen to welcome new members.

Seafield is no different, especially as we lost a lot of members over the last few years due to uncertainty about our future....

However our latest news from the owners of our site is all good and our future is more assured than many clubs in the town, all we need to do now is build up numbers (our membership has actually grown for the last couple of years) and we could become a force to be reckoned with again.

Last season our first 16 got promoted to EBL division 2 (heady heights for us), although our second 16 could do with climbing up their league ladder a bit. Our seniors are in the first division of their league too (if you're one of the more aged boolers).

We're a pretty friendly club, with less airs and graces than many other clubs in the town and our green is usually pretty good too.

There's various invitation and Open competitions throughout the year and the "Links Rinks" - in conjunction with the Leith Festival - should be hosted by us again this year. This is a competition that has had entries from all levels of bowlers since it started a couple of years ago, and even complete novices have come along and enjoyed their first taste of the game on our green... It's a round robin format, so everyone should get a minimum of three games over the day.

So anyone whose club has just shut or is threatened with imminent shutting could do worse than consider coming down to Seafield BC...

P.S. we are cheaper to join than Willowbrae (if the figures above are correct).. although not nearly as cheap as HNA6's club.

Edit - we open on 12th April and if anyone is interested in joining, PM me (unlikely I know)
    I fancy your chances for the 1st league game of the seaon, I believe your playing Goldenacre first and our green won't open till the last week of May because of the new clubhouse so were gonna struggle at the start. It's a shame Leith got promoted, would have been handy to have yous and Leith as away matches, as well as the fact I was a member of Leith for many years before the move to the acre!

Yes you're right.. it's a shame! (local rivalry and all that - we wanted them relegated to div 3 )

We have Goldenacre at home first game. Will your place be ready for then? (your 2nd 16 must be at home)

Looking forward to seeing your new place (the old one was better than ours already! - hope no other Seafield members are reading this!). If the green's not open you could always have a game of bridge instead!

Used to enjoy playing there in the old POL league.. and it was handy having the majority of the games within easy travelling distance (Seafield was actually further from my house than 5 of the teams in that old league!)

Yes you're right.. it's a shame! (local rivalry and all that - we wanted them relegated to div 3 )

We have Goldenacre at home first game. Will your place be ready for then? (your 2nd 16 must be at home)

Looking forward to seeing your new place (the old one was better than ours already! - hope no other Seafield members are reading this!). If the green's not open you could always have a game of bridge instead!

Used to enjoy playing there in the old POL league.. and it was handy having the majority of the games within easy travelling distance (Seafield was actually further from my house than 5 of the teams in that old league!)
    Think we will be playing out home matches at Trinity or Feranti(oh dear) until the clubhouse officially opens which is expected around end of May. Think ill practise at Leith beginning of May so im ready for the Fleming and Edinburgh u25 team, Prolly just go on with Grandpa Brown so no one can moan about me being on there lol. Still know the rinks like the back of my hand unlike the Acre where I don't hvae a clue!

Wheres the Seafield club ...is that the one beside where they play cricket at Leith links ...?

Actually, judging by the number of cricket balls that landed on our green last year (six times in one night that I can remember! ), you could possibly say that we are part of their outfield!

The cricket club have been asked to use the small pitch (with the short boundary to our green) as little as posible, however they were tennants for Trinity cricket club last year and had to use it a lot due to multiple duplicate fixtures... what they should have done was use the strips at the far side of the square more often to make it a bigger hit to clear the wall.

We are supposed to be extending the fence this year to make it harder to hit balls over, but we'll see if it works.

The local guys from Franklin used to have a local rule that if you hit it over our wall you got a 6 but were out, this rule does not seem to apply to visiting sides though!

Actually, judging by the number of cricket balls that landed on our green last year (six times in one night that I can remember! ), you could possibly say that we are part of their outfield!

The cricket club have been asked to use the small pitch (with the short boundary to our green) as little as posible, however they were tennants for Trinity cricket club last year and had to use it a lot due to multiple duplicate fixtures... what they should have done was use the strips at the far side of the square more often to make it a bigger hit to clear the wall.

We are supposed to be extending the fence this year to make it harder to hit balls over, but we'll see if it works.

The local guys from Franklin used to have a local rule that if you hit it over our wall you got a 6 but were out, this rule does not seem to apply to visiting sides though!
    Pretty dangerous that btw !!! ..fek having a relaxing game o bowls & getting smacked on the napper wi a friggin cricket ball !!! :yikes!:

On a side note, as rosy as things may sound at my club (Jewel) our bowling section is in turmoil...we lost over £4000 when our treasurer had sticky finger syndrome a couple o years back...there has been of late a lot of infighting due to lack of support & funds from the main commitee & due to that our bowling commitee resigned in protest..

We now have a new commitee & they recently upped membership from £12 to £20 in a bid to claw back some funds ..we thought that would resolve issues but in an act of pettyness from the main committee they have put in a protest on three of our Esk league players who are paid up members of Niddrie bowling club but represent the Jewel on a friday night.

Our arguement is if you are a fully paid up member of the main club then you are entitled to represent the club in the league , these guys pay their bowling memberships at another club though ..

What are your rules on this ?