Ron is on a mission to take the club to the next level...
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1441427464580841476?s=20
Printable View
Ron is on a mission to take the club to the next level...
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1441427464580841476?s=20
Is he, aye? I'm not coming back until we have a 100% record across all competitions and beat Hearts 50-0.
Seriously though, good news.
Don’t think you’ll find many Approved electricians, plumbers or “skilled” handymen willing to work for £24k a year though.
From what I’ve seen and am hearing Saul, the model is very much on brand growth and as much investment in the team as possible. Admittedly - and it’s a concern for some - other areas are not going to be as invested in as per previous levels. He’s very focused on building the global Hibs brand (and Scottish football) which is great. I was a wee bit concerned at hearing recently about not investing as much in the pitch/playing surface. He’s already made changes to stadium staff and infrastructure.
That said, I’m excited that money is going to JR and it looks like Ron is fully focused on the first team and developing talent - I think we’ll see more players from untapped markets in the Americas too. It’s a no nonsense, high enthusiasm approach.
That video content role sounds like three or four entirely different jobs merged into one, I can't imagine anyone experienced going for it at the rate they're offering...
Yeah, I have to say I wouldn't be getting out of bed in the morning for the salaries they're offering for any of those roles - and I wouldn't consider myself to be especially highly paid.
In particular, given how in demand tradespeople are at present, you'd wonder how much interest they'll have for the tradespeople roles they're advertising. Maybe they're hoping that supporters will sacrifice a percentage of their potential earnings in return for the opportunity to work for the club.
If those roles are full time the salaries are dreadful. Looks like it is trying to run the club on the cheap rather than it growing.
As I posted, I think the full focus is the first team and really pushing that. That’s where the money lies in football, from sales and transfers. Build the brand, develop and sell players, more for transfers and salaries - money will trickle down to non football roles if the model works. Covid aside, since he took over, you can’t argue the football side of things is working - highest league position, most away wins, finals and semi finals, players with value and interest from down south - the ‘cuts’ are in non football areas so the product on the pitch is better. Ultimately that’s what fans care about, not an electrician salary - exploitative ? Maybe - but sport and football are fickle.
I’m nervous and excited in equal proportions- but his intentions are good and to make a really really good side.
I think mixing the club's community outlook & the salaries it pays is pushing it a bit - we're not talking about minimum wage here.
If people don't want to apply for the jobs they don't have to. If the club don't get the standard of candidates that it's looking for then they'll have to review the offers.
Seriously confused at those salaries.
Absolutely. The negativity on this thread is incredible versus what Ron Gordon actually says. I’m an auld git but I love the positivity Gordon is bringing to the club and the proof of the pudding is in the signings, the improved contracts and the stadium improvements. Long may it continue.
I’m not negative, love the outlook, just very conscious that you can’t ignore the infrastructure of any business. That’s my only worry about Ron. He’s come from an American focused outlook which is fine - all for growing Hibs and income. But proper investment is also required in non football areas. That’s what moves the whole machine forward.
Ron's wanting plumbers, electricians, skilled tradesmen ?? That screams Flats to me, those pesky maroon balloons were right all along!! Muppets
I don't think it is pushing it. In fact it feels like they are hoping to get Hibees to work on the cheap just for the kudos of working for the club they love. There is leaning on the community and also trying to take advantage. Ron is an American businessman so perhaps it is to do with how they recruit there.
The going rate for a spark looks to be around £30K and that comes with a van etc in most cases. We are offering 20% less.
Without wishing to appear negative, the poster has a point re salaries being offered for non football activities. A decent spark will easily earn at least double what is on offer. Surely as a club we are wanting to entice the best whether that’s football or non football.
it’s the same with getting fans to volunteer to work at the club. Why not pay a salary for people to do the job? Maybe the people you pay will then buy tickets for the game. How can the club afford big screens but need volunteers to carry out work at the stadium?
A young lad starting out on his own getting £24k is fantastic. Nobody is expecting someone with 30+ years experience to be going for it. They’ll stick with their higher paid jobs.
Not sure why there is any concern at all, seems 100% positive to me.
How can there be lack of investment in the pitch?!
Surely you pay for things when they’re needed. If it’s all good there’s nothing more to spend on?
Besides, it looks fantastic. The Hibs’ ladies goalie was saying it’s like a carpet, best she’s ever played on.
These are recurring adverts tho. Not 6 months ago the club were looking for Journalists, Maintenance assistants etc. Again a lot of people commented then about the low salaries.
The club would possibly be better and cheaper getting in tow with a Facilities provider and only pay on a consumption basis.
It’s like making sausages, I don’t really need to know how they go about their business but everything that’s happened since RG arrived has been positive to me. No reason to doubt him now.
Maybe he’s thought of all options and figured this is the best way to go?
The proposed investment in the playing surface - from what I’ve been told - is laughable. I’m only passing on what I know - for me, Ron is great, driving the club forward in areas so long neglected. But I just don’t want other areas being forgotten.
He’s no nonsense - by all accounts he’s also got rid of folk who were merely topping up their pension - which is good. as they weren’t good. I still think you can’t ignore certain areas that’s all.
Yip. Maintenance tradesmen usually earn a lot less but it’s attractive for people because it is an easier gig with regular hours, steady PAYE wage as opposed to self employed everywhere else etc. I know a tradesman who works for Heriots school for way less than he could earn elsewhere but he enjoys the job and isn’t exactly rushed of his feet there.
This is as bad as the moaning on the thread about Hibs getting volunteers in.
If you don’t like the salary…dinnae apply for the job. The salary is there. It’s quoted. A lot of jobs don’t even have a salary quoted when you apply nowadays.
Moan moan moan moan moan
There are times when a wage on offer is inarguably exploitative. £8.91 per hour, unsociable hours, zero hours contract. People will argue in that instance if you don't like the wage don't apply but a hell of a lot of people applying for a role like that are desperate and have little choice. Companies know that so get away with that kind of pish.
This situation at Hibs is far removed from that. A qualified tradesperson knows what they are worth and they know the score with a maintenance role. If they aren't willing to work for that wage they will keep on scrolling and will find something else, if they are then there is a reason why. I think Hibs will have a type of candidate in mind as well.
Electricians are currently earning roughly £20 an hour on the St James site to put it into perspective.
But an older tradesman looking for an easy number may well be happy getting less money for an easier role
An employer isn't paying someone to be disabled, a down & out, a mother of three children, a refugee or a person. The employer is paying a person to do a job, and should be paying a fair wage for the value of that job, regardless of whether the person doing it is disabled, a down & out, a mother of three children, a refugee or anyone else.
Some jobs have more "worth" than others - how many care workers' salaries could be covered by the average wage of just one player at Hibs, never mind the wages on offer in the EPL?
Fairly obvious no?
Everyone seems to have a worth according to posters on here.
Merely asking what worth those at the very bottom of society have?
Seems very little indeed unless they have a skill that can be used for personal advantage over others of some sort or other imo.
The phonecall I got through the week regarding St James was £23 an hour then £36 for a Saturday and £46 for a Sunday so that’s the kind of figures the club are competing with at the minute. I genuinely don’t know an electrician who’d work for that salary on offer. As I said maybe an older guy or someone mortgage free or someone with loads in the bank. All the salaries are poor not just the sparky offering.
Think the difference though would be the volume of work. With Hibs it would be lots of wee odd jobs and general maintenance whereas at a big site like St James it would be tight deadlines and constant hard graft. That could be way off the mark but would imagine Hibs would be far more laid back when it comes to volume of work.
Even if an electrician or other tradesperson wanted that kind of job security local Councils pay £30k to £32k a year for them on permanent 37 hour a week contracts with far better leave and pension packages that Hibs are offering. The best they're likely to get here is someone starting out who will leave for something better after a short time, but maybe they're OK with that.
Classical Hibs.net thread.
A mixture of those defending the club blindly at every opportunity, and others siezing the chance to have a go.
As ever, the truth lies somewhere in the middle. On the positive side, I do agree with the OP that RG is steadily building the club without being reckless. I feel very optimistic for the future. The days of contracting out human activities are now outdated as there is no access to cheap and readily available labour. So, in looking to bring the skills in house I think RG is spot on.
However, the salary levels advertised are completely unrealistic for qualified people at a time where there is a national shortage of labour. For example, I know from experience that cleaners in the Highlands are being paid £20 an hour right now.
Tactically, I can only think we are trying to recruit from a Hibs fan base who have emotional ties to the club. That is risky of course as you won't necessarily get the best person for the job.
So positives and negatives in this announcement for me.
I know nhs only pay qualified staff a band 4 which is only up to £25k, plenty people take these jobs and want these jobs so folk with a trade cant all be earming 40k per year
Business man trying to reduce his overheads.
Shocker...
His club, he can run it his way. If you Don't like the salaries for the permanent employment he is offering then don't apply.
Sorry I've just read that someone compared the salaries to council salaries, that's a laugh. It's a private business, the same rules do not apply...
Yup you’re probably right. Was about £20 the last time I checked and they were needing more guys so the rates will have likely went up.
I’ve been trying to employ an electrician for a few months now on a better salary than the one Hibs are offering but they all want crazy money.
The thing is, sites like St James won’t last forever and they’ll all be looking for another job when it’s finished as most are agency workers.
I know Edinburgh College have or used to have a couple of older guys (one a joiner and one a spark) that were the maintenance team. Hibs salary probably comparable with that which will suit someone as it won’t be a hard job.
I'm an unskilled banker. I earn more than the skilled positions on that list.
I just can't see how people could live on them salaries in Edinburgh.
What I’m confused about is how we are able to justify a full time electricians position? A stadium and a training centre sirely doesn’t have enough work to sustain full time roles like this?
Correct - these Hibs jobs are on a par with (for example) guys on salary with the University, Council or Edinburgh leisure etc.
There are people work for those organisations on salaries comparable with those Hibs ones.
Basically, guys who want a steady job / pension without the (sometimes) big stress of self employment etc. Wont suit the guys in their 20s chasing the money, but someone will want it.
One of the best plumbers I have ever met worked for Edinburgh Leisure - big Hibby as well :greengrin
We micro manage every goal we concede. (never do that with goals we score)
Now we are micro managing jobs outwith the team, whats next, who leaves the light on when they leave the bathroom, or who's using more than their fair amount of toilet paper?
RG is trying to grow the club on and off the park. Most are happy in the direction he’s taking the club but that does not mean that no one can be critical of him. The salaries on offer for qualified trades people look on the low side and most on here believe Hibs will struggle to fill the roles or will be constantly recruiting as people move on. Fans stating this aren’t moaning they are giving an opinion on fans web forum.
Hibs get volunteers in to help with the seats and criticism that it's slave labour and we should be paying people...
Hibs advertise for a number of paid roles and criticism it's not enough money...
Hibs put a big price on Josh Doig and it's criticism it's too much money...
Glad we don't have fan ownership like our biggliest neighbours across the city 🤣😁
Disagreeing with those criticising the club doesn't mean "defending the club blindly at every opportunity". This is something that gets trotted out fairly often but it's not the case. In this instance I would disagree with them regardless of who was advertising the jobs.
It's like saying those who disagree with anti-vaccers are pro SG/SNP.
No electrician with his 18th, PASMA, Ipaf and testing and inspection is taking a job for 24k. I know apprentices who done a lot of overtime and made 29k in their 3rd years. An approved spark is worth a lot more. Plenty of more laid back sparking jobs would pay significantly more as well, especially in Edinburgh. The SJIB rates for an approved spark is like £17 quid an hour. Hibs are 10 grand short here.
There isn't really huge pressure on those projects, though. Maybe for 2/3 of the guys who are running it, but for others its just work, you plod on, the job gets done. If its behind, weekends are offered for more cash. And then you go to the next job which could easily be a bit of jobbing for a couple of months. SJIB rates are £17 per/hour. Edinburgh domestic companies offering £18 P/H and a van. Agency offering upwards of £21. Its a poor wage from Hibs honestly. I'm a Hibby and I wouldn't take it. Not even if they actually put me through the qualifications (IPAF, PASMA etc) that they require.
Quick search online shows hourly rates from £12 - £20 available with salaried positions ranging from £24 - £45k for electricians.
Digital sales exec roles from £18k upwards.
Sports journalist £22 - £27k
We’ve not just picked numbers out the sky.
There are journalists on much worse salaries, even in Edinburgh. And they will be working all sorts of extra unsociable hours that they won't be getting paid extra for.
Trust me, there isn't an approved electrician in Edinburgh on £12 quid an hour. Hibs aren't just wanting an electrician. They are wanting an approved one, who has a valid PASMA, IPAF, 18th and testing and inspection. Basically someone at the very top of the trade. Even big companies don't have dozens of guys like that, and they certainly aren't on £12 quid.
Nice to see another thread descend in to utter nonsense once again.
I doubt that very much. If that was the case they’d have to be offering top dollar to get the best out there. Same as any business.
I think we’re looking for someone that is semi-retired, like your friendly janitor at the local school, or the groundsman that helps out around the golf club for peanuts.
Take a look online yourself for salaried positions and you’ll see the same results as me.
Do they require the same things as Hibs do, though? How often do universities need cherry pickers? As I've said, Hibs aren't just wanting a bog standard spark fresh out their time, or some old guy. Their requirements are for guys at the very top of the game. In football terms, they're wanting top 3 quality, for bottom 3 wages.
I should say that I am self employed and extrapolating my hourly into a salary would make it (significantly) higher than those Hibs are advertising.
But there is a world of diff between salaried and self emp as the year of Covid proved.
Oh, and its also worth saying that.............if Hibs cant fill the vacancies with the right people on these salaries then they will need to adjust that.
Thats how the world works and its not worth getting upset about:greengrin
I'm sure Hibs will have benchmarked the salaries and not just made numbers up. I have to say though that it does seem on the low side for electricians. The electricians in my extended team earn 10k more than that for the same hours.
the 18th edition came out in 2017. So you're needing someone who has sat that course in the last 4 years. Pasma and Ipaf need to be renewed every 5 years. An approved electrician test requires a few years as a electrician then going on different courses and sitting an approved test. Testing and inspection would need to have been done since the 18th edition came out as well. So someone with fully up to date qualifications, who will work any 5 days out of 7, for less holidays and less money than the Scottish joint industry board minimum, in the capital city.
Why do so many posters on here get their knickers in a twist at the slightest thing, if folk feel that this is a salary they will work for and can live off it then fire in and apply
I'm not sure if you're taking the piss or not. I'm not trying to argue about this or kick off. Ultimately it doesn't effect me, but its well under what someone with all those things is worth. Its not even like they're offering to put the person through those things.
They might fill the position, yes. Does that automatically mean they aren't paying less than average, though? My knickers aren't in a twist at all. Sorry, but clearly neither of you know anything about what Hibs are wanting here. Its not my opinion Hibs are wrong here, its a fact that guys and girls with those qualifications are on significantly more. It is a very poor offer. You can accuse me of getting bothered by this all you want, I'm really not. I'm just pointing out the facts. Which neither if you are responding to, but instead just saying my knickers are in a twist?
Oh bore off. Or keep it on topic. Your choice. I've not done anything like you are describing. I've posted some facts about the situation. Its pretty clear to anyone who bothers to look these things up that Hibs are well underpaying for this position. Don't know why that is so hard to accept for some.
Have to say, that is mental if true. But fair enough, I cant prove you wrong. Assume they are all older guys? Cant imagine many new sparks want to work years with a bigish company, get their time out, get all the qualifications through that company and then drop back to 4th year apprentice wages.
Good luck to anyone on here who goes for any of the jobs advertised