I think Wales will win it again this year.
Printable View
I think Wales will win it again this year.
Sorry to start with a negative one but I think this may be the end of Townsend's reign. Second bottom for us I think.
Happy for anyone who follows the sport to give me more hope though, as my rugby knowledge is very limited.
I was speaking to a 'Scottish Rugby legend' the other day through work. He was certain Townsend will be away regardless of how the tournament goes.
He hates him though so may just be wishful thinking on his part.
While I'm happy with the squad Townsend has picked, part of me fears you may be right. There's a lot of youth and energy in the squad, and he's pulled in a lot of the players from a hugely successful Edinburgh side so far, but we lack the physicality compared to France, England, Wales or Ireland. I like that Townsend has tried to continue us playing a fast and dynamic form of rugby, but there's 2 sides to the game. Also, our handling always seem to let us down when we're playing the high-speed version we try and play.
I fancy it'll finish: England, Ireland, Wales, France, Scotland, Italy, sadly. Our opening two games are truly brutal, but we're capable of beating both Italy and France (at home anyway). I have a horrible feeling we'll finish with just the 1 win though.
I've been told a few times now by people involved in the game that Hogg and Finn can't stand each other. Apparently Laidlaw kept the peace. I wonder if Laidlaw retiring and Hogg being made captain has led to this. Also Russell and Townsend had a barney at Twickenham last year. Then add in the court case with his dad and the SRU. It makes me wonder if we'll see him play for Scotland again.
Darcy Graham is injured as well by the sounds of things. A very Scottish lead in to the tournament.
I can't see past England btw. I expect France to improve with Shaun Edwards on board and the u20 world cup winners coming through for them.
something to do with drinking in the training camp, then leaving when he was told he’d not be selected for the opening game, allegedly.
that’s interesting about Hogg and Russell, you’d think playing together for years at Glasgow they wouldn’t need a peacekeeper in the Scotland squad :dunno:
I've seen Russell having almost as many pish games for Scotland than he has good ones. Hastings will be just fine at 10. He has a tendency to believe that he is the be all and end all. If he was drinking, no matter how much, during training camp then the right decision has been made. I still think that this year we can finish above Italy and Ireland
Not feeling confident at all heading into this campaign. Townsend looks out of his depth and the squad is nowhere near strong enough to worry the likes of England & Ireland..
Personally can’t see past England this year for the grand slam.
Is the Six Nations tournament shown live on the BBC or is it only available on Sky or something like that?
Wales 40 Italy 0, so a great start for the holders, I was expecting more from Italy.
Brilliant start by Wales 👍 Josh Adams en route to being top try scorer again following the World Cup.
what an incredible **** up by hogg dropping that ball forward on the try line,just astonishing
of course the usual dreadfull decision making by us as well, in the 1st half opting to take a pop at goals from out at the touchline instead of kicking it out down at the flag for a line out, the kick of course flying metres wide of the post
Wow, how did Hogg manage to drop that?
No 12 johnson gifts ireland the penalty that should see the irish see the game out
this could have been so different
lol i've never saw a country that ****s up so often at the try line, we insist on slowing it down allowing the opposition defence time to get organised.
and yet another muck up
I'm sick of saying it. It's piss poor coaching. We constantly mess up with turnovers and handling errors on the try line.
I cannot believe they chased Vern away for this charlatan.
Townsend's finished after this 6 nations. Long over due.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
Silly mistakes costing us again. Hoggs drop is a ****ing disgrace at test match level.
Just back from watching (never normally venture out for these games)...quietest i’ve heard the pub at and Ireland game and most can’t believe they won. All from Scottish errors, real shame as we played great.
Hogg dropped the ball. End of story............................
Is there another country at the top level that makes so many basic errors?
No and it's why we are one of the lowest ranked tier one nations. Some of the play was excellent but it was negated by the stupid errors and poor decision making at times. That was a real chance to beat Ireland today. They are no great shakes but they know how to win matches
:sauzee:
I don't watch much rugby but I tend to enjoy it when I do.
I'd channel-flicked past the pre-game build-up when Guscott etc were giving it the usual so I got curious and decided to watch this.
Rarely have I ever enjoyed half a game of a sport I don't really "get" as I've enjoyed this.
Can't wait for the half time analysis.
Eddie Jones was saying he wants to turn this team into the greatest ever team in rugby. Arrogant ****er that no-one in rugby has a good word about. Well suited as England coach. Arrogance beyond belief. Good to see them taking a pumping. Hope it continues into second half and next week as well
I would cheerfully strangle some of those dicks mugging behind Inverdale. Why is that a thing?
le french must surely be thinking back to last seasons game against the welsh and how they totally bottled it....could easily happen again here if england score next,only 10 points in it now
3 mins remaining, surely they can hold on now 😮
safe to watch leeds rhinos now😊
Shaun Edwards has worked his magic on the French defence.
The French have some very talented youngsters coming through. Definitely the dark horses to look out for.
I think Townsend is on borrowed time, but we made the same mistakes under Cotter as we are still making now. We've been doing it for 10 years and no coach has been able to sort it.
I thought that this was an interesting article, https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/51256178 I Townsend has a slightly better record as coach than Cotter seemingly, which was a surprise to me to be honest, maybe a case of rose tinted glasses when looking at Cotters record.
With England and France at home and Ireland, Wales and Italy away this year it looks likely we’ll be playing Italy for the wooden spoon. In all probability 4 defeats and hopefully 1 win.
Best of luck to Scotland today in the big Calcutta Cup clash v the Auld Enemy. I hope Stuart Hogg, (who is a big Hibby) has a good day with the boot and has wiped the soap from his hands after his embarrassing wee faux pas last week in Dublin!
It's going to be a big TV day for me today, I'm really looking forward to both our game and the Ireland v Wales clash.
Come on ENGLAND get intae them 😁
We could just about do it today. Need the pack to be really strong against what is a hugely powerful England. Stick to playing ball-in-hand rugby and we have a chance. If we resort to Townsends get-it/kick-it hoofball rugby we will be well beaten.
All Ireland so far, pressure has got to tell soon.
5-0 but Sexton duck hooks the conversion attempt. 😁
Wales ahead with converted try
Professionalism in rugby union has resulted in the players increasingly questioning the referees' decisions. They've obviously learnt from their football counterparts unfortunately.
Why do they still insist on showing princess Anne shaking the hands of all players and officials? It's hardly riveting viewing, even for a rabid royalist.
We’re really struggling with England’s power. As the game goes on that’s doing us no favours
Stop giving away stupid penalties ya fuds.
two penalties cummings has gifted, the 2nd one punished
wtf is going on with our lineouts
Line outs ffs, why do we bother?
Handing is standard pish under Townsend.
ooooh very adventurous not taking the points, of course we do what we normally do when down at the opposition try line & **** it up, no change
what a freakin embarrassment our lineouts are, absolutely ambarrassing
The wind must make it very difficult for the hookers throwing the ball in at the lineout all the same.
england don't have to be very good here
If we don't score first half it's possible we will lose this game to nil
Bored to tears
wooden spoon fixture in two weeks time, good chance for italy to avoid it this season
Not looking good, England are playing the conditions a lot better so far. The second half could be an embarrassment.
Considering we had the wind this half a 0-3 deficit is a bad return. I cant see anything else but a comfortable England win.
Hoping Scotland can be crafty against the wind second half somehow, did well receiving in dodgy conditions so maybe can get on the end of some of our own up and unders. We look pish technically when it comes down to handling and keeping the ball under contact though
Game has been a bit of a face really, averaging a kick almost once every minute.
Also, and apologies if the answer is obvious, why is there not standard pitch dimensions in rugby? There was an incident in the 1st half when Hogg kicked the ball long and the commentator said if it wasn't for the huge in goal areas at Murrayfield it would have been dead? Surely having a situation where a try could be scored at one ground but it would be a dead ball at another is a bit odd? Obviously you have the same situation in football with different pitch sizes but the actual scoring area is uniform.
You just know we never ever come away with a try in these red zone (NFL talk) situations. Just kick the points.
Ha ha, this is comically bad
Why do rugby players never wear gloves?
England ****ing up every kick, Scotland ****ing up every resulting lineout
That penalty just sums up how farcical the conditions are.
Hogg is a lucky boy there
That's that I'd imagine!
Not a massive rugby fan but enjoy watching the six nations, this has to be the worst game of rugby for errors I have ever watched.
Game over. Yet another inglorious defeat.
The lack of quality and the inability to finish moves off cost us once again.
We have regressed since Townsend took over!
That's enough - get Townsend to ****. He can't make changes when they need to be changed, he can't pick a team to suit the conditions (McInally should have started IMO), and the amount of errors the players make week in, week out without punishment, is unreal.
Drop Hogg against Italy while we're at it. His mistakes are unforgivable - two horrendous handling errors with no pressure in either situation.
We didn't even LOOK like threatening a try today. Shocking rugby.
With the exception of the in goal areas, all rugby pitches are identically sized (a bit of an oxymoron I know :greengrin).
The answer to your question is essentially available space - most club pitches have stands much closer to the ends of the pitch and don’t have the space for as large an in goal area. Most international grounds have an extra metre or 2 in depth.
in theory it would be slightly harder to defend and slightly easier to score due to larger area to cover, but in reality it barely makes a difference as the vast majority of tries are scored within the first metre of the in goal area. The only scenario where it could possibly make a difference is what happened in the incident you pointed out PB, had an England player outrun Hogg to the ball then they could have possibly scored a try as it hadn't gone out of play. That is incredibly rare due to the nature of the offside law in rugby and the positioning of the defending players, particularly the full back.
that all said, I agree, there should be a uniform dimension for the in goal area (there may actually be this in the tournament regulations for all I know :greengrin)
Same old story yet again.
Fair enough the conditions were dreadful but have you ever seen a tier 1 nation make the same old countless errors like we do?
Also not sure what has happened to Hogg? The last couple of games now, he’s been extremely poor. Not long ago, he was one of the best fullbacks in the world and a certainty to be the Lions 1st choice before he got unfortunately injured in the training before the NZ tour.
It was probably the worst conditions I’ve seen an international played in. It was bonkers. Actually enjoyed watching how the teams battled the weather as much as each other. Thought it was going to finish 3-3, which would’ve been funny when you consider the draw last year. The 2 games could not have been any more different.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.the...-walk-out/amp/
Russell and Townsend come out of this badly.
Read the shortened version on the BBC website and it chimes with what I’d been told from a current squad member and first team regular at Edinburgh. I think it’s best for all if Townsend leaves at the end of this Six Nations campaign. So long as the SRU don’t take Cockerill to replace him, as he’s really got us playing some exceptional domestic rugby this year!
Obviously that is only one side of the story but it does tie in with a few of the things people had said to me about Townsend that I mentioned earlier in the thread? Has Russell got history as a troublemaker or has he had disciplinary issues?
In saying that if he was told it was decided the players should only be having 2 beers then he should have stuck to that. Whether he had travelled a long distance, played 13 games or whatever else is largely irrelevant.
When he goes, hopefully yesterday, then Cockerill is the natural choice I feel.
I'm not bothered about domestic rugby compared to how I feel about Scotland. I watch Sale down here but in all honestly, I love how international rugby is still the pinicle of the game. Something lost to football years ago.
Jonny gray out for the rest of the tournament with a hand injury, lord knows when,or even IF his brother will ever be back(injuries as well) we badly need him at lineouts, was reading at the weekend south africa are quite confident of joining the six nations in 2024,until new zealand pointed out SA are contracted to the championship until 2024,japan and even fiji want to join as well 🙄 this wouldn't be good for the likes of Argentina,if SA left they would just be challenging new zealand & Australia again, i've hoped for a few years now that Georgia should get a shot at joining the six nations, either way things WILL change with the set up,even if not until after the WC in france 2023. i just think it will get to TV saturation point....all about the money i guess.
I read an article yesterday which more or less confirms what you've said. I get the impression that Russell is not that popular with some of the members of the squad. Rules are rules and should be followed by everyone.
Toonie seems to be getting it in the neck from all and sundry but at the end of the day its been down to individual errors that have cost us dearly. Its difficult to legislate against that and it remains to be seen if for one,Hoggy retains the captaincy (and maybe even his place) for the next game in a fortnight.
His Dad had a big fall out with the SRU where he was director of domestic rugby, took them on for unfair dismissal and won. When Finn's contract with the SRU to play for Glasgow was up they said they couldn't afford to keep him, His Dad said they never even made an offer despite the SRU Chief Exec getting a doubled salary, I think it's fair to say there's a bit of bad feeling!