Presumably against us or Hearts, still being negotiated according to the Daily Mail.
Thoughts?
Printable View
Presumably against us or Hearts, still being negotiated according to the Daily Mail.
Thoughts?
Hearts if Murrayfield. They'll then sell 60k "away tickets" to Liverpool fans and claim a higher average crowd than Hibs for next season. They have previous.
It’s against Napoli
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.e...-1-4937904/amp
was in the papers that they were playing Napoli.
Spurs ground was the 1st choice before they both made the champions league final .
Napoli were mentioned. Rangers fan in my work told me that Napoli had pulled out and Liverpool were now playing Rangers. So far he's given me 3 rangers transfers per day with zero happening so far
It won’t be Hearts. It’ll likely be like the International Champions Cup where elite clubs meet each other in various cities around the world.
Would be good to go see the 6 time European cup winners play in Edinburgh.
I hope it’s an amazing spectacle to be honest. A sell out with Murrayfield putting on an incredible show.
Good for Edinburgh and show the rest of the country look at the midden the national stadium is.
Thanks for letting us know. Will avoid the West end like the plague that day.
They'd have got a bigger crowd if they played one of us.
Wonder why they’ve gone to Murrayfield rather than Hampden, would be better keeping football money with football
Stick this up your arse. Embarrassing having a capital city with two top flight clubs playing host to this money making exercise. I wouldn't attend if you paid me.
Unless its against an Edinburgh club they can take their friendly and stick it straight up their arse.
Its bad enough our kids, and too many adults, being seduced by the bloody EPL without them playing matches ( even friendly ones ) on our doorstep. Let them stick to money making tours of China and Asia to pander to their EPL fanboy tourists over there and leave us bloody well alone !!!
No offence to Scouse Hibby BTW ….. It wouldn't matter which EPL team it was.
I was in Ireland when Celtic played Barcelona at The Aviva in the International Champions Cup, and I was attracted enough to travel to Dublin primarily to see the fabled Barcelona side. Would have preferred if it wasn't Celtic in opposition, but was an enjoyable occasion none the less. Getting the opportunity to watch live clubs you wouldn't normally get the chance to see on your doorstep makes these games quite attractive events, and if we have one in Edinburgh then can only see positives myself.
Cant get the negativity over this. 2nd in the EPL v 2nd in the Serie A in our fine City.
As a football fan I will be attending.
So potentially, it might not be Liverpool v Napoli but Liverpool v Stenhousemuir, or Liverpool v the Scottish Ambulance Service Sunday League team, or Liverpool v the boys who work at Western Saab and play fives every Thursday evening, or Liverpool v Scott Wilson?
That's one way to look at it. The other way is to look at it as the EPL promoting their product in our fine city … one of the kids who has gone to ER with us for years is already losing interest in Hibs in favour of Liverpool and that's without them having promotional events right under his nose.
I remember years ago Newcastle advertising their games in the EEN and that pissed me off too. Its one thing the EPL seducing fanboys in Thailand or the USA or Outer *****lia … its quite another in my opinion doing it in a city which is a relatively short car or train journey from Newcastle or even Liverpool, so no matter how unlikely it is to do so I don't want them drawing future supporters away from Scottish football and especially Hibs by playing glamour friendlies in our back yard.
So as a football fan who would genuinely watch absolutely anybody play anybody with very little prompting I would rather watch Hearts play Hamilton than go to this … in fact there's more chance of that happening.
Edit …. The swear filter …. really :faf:
It's Napoli. Can't use anfield cause of a concert. It'll probably be at Spurs new ground... 👍
Fair enough mate. Each to their own. That thought hadn't even crossed my mind to be honest.
I see it as it an opportunity to see the recently crowned European Champions, without the EPL ticket costs, travel, hotels, etc. Can walk to Murrayfield too.
Would rather stay in than watch Hearts v Hamilton
Don't understand all the negativity, it sounds like a good idea to me. A good stadium with good transport links to the city centre and 2 quality teams playing. Unless the pricing is stupid I'll be looking to go along to this one I think.
It'll be £40-£50 I reckon. Full of roasters who have never been to a fitba game in their puff walking along dressed like a full kit ******. After the game talking about how good Liverpool and the EPL is and how ***** Scottish fitba is without even a slight hint of irony. With no Fergie at the helm and Utd utter pish a chance for Liverpool to expand their fanbase up here with the next generation of youth.
The Barca game at Murrayfield was bad enough and that featured Hibs - think i lasted 35 minutes before heading. Not for me this - fill your boots though.
A friendly against Liverpool at Murrayfield doesn't float my boat. In my eyes they're less appealing than Barca were and even then i wasn't too interested. Certainly wouldn't pay 30+ quid to see it. Genuinely more interested in getting off to a good start in the league cup.
Hope it never happens. A "glamour friendly" against Liverpool at Murrayfield sounds a bit cringey and desperate for me. Was bad enough against Barca. I'd rather we just aspired to play them in Europe and left glamour friendlies to others. Our city neighbours managed it not so long ago.
Even before becoming European Champions again, it was virtually impossible to get tickets for Anfield, even if you belong to a regional supporters club somewhere else in the UK most of these guys are on a waiting list for tickets.
If it happens it's brilliant news for me, I'll definitely be taking Bollah Jr, who is a Liverpool fan and a Hibs fan. The closest he's ever got to seeing them live is the Anfield stadium tour. I am really sorry if this reality, that a boy can support two teams equally and passionately, offends those purer and more exalted fans out there.
How much to watch 2 clubs stroll around not laying a glove on each other?
Rather watch Corrie or Eastenders.
Fair bit of inverse snobbery on this thread. :greengrin
I have nothing against these things, if folk want to go and get a chance to see teams they might otherwise not get to, then that's a good thing, surely?
Nobody is putting a gun to anyone's head and saying they have to go.
It's not for me but it's not like the EPL is some mysterious unknown entity in Scotland. Both the league and Liverpool have a huge fanbase up here anyway so it's not like a one off game is going to have people burning their STs for ER, Tynecastle, Fir Park et al because they have discovered this new and exciting product.
There were an incredible amount of "Liverpool" supporters on Facebook and Twitter over the last week who live in Scotland and probably haven't even set foot in the city in their life never mind anfield. Referring to Liverpool as "we" and "us". If only they put as much effort into supporting Scottish football as they do pretending to support these English sides then maybe Scottish football would be more attractive to outside investment. No problem in people following an English side and watching their games but this "we" and "us" ***** does my head in.
Understandable for a kid but completely weird when its adults. IMO you can't passionately support a team when you havn't seen them play or visited the city. It's also double-standards. "Look at all those old firm fans, gloryhunters all over the place wearing their strips and giving them their cash" then you have fans of Scottish clubs giving money to a billion pound company a few miles down the road.
Not got an urge to watch Liverpool anywhere or on any medium. Have seen Napoli before and they were gash...we put 5 passed them at ER😉
Just seen it’s confirmed. July 28th.
It will be Pizza 1926 on Dalry Rd for that authentic Neapolitan scran first of all. Wee Limoncello or two. Stroll round to Murrayfield. decent!
I don't have an English team but will absolutely be looking to get tickets to see the Champions League winners in my home city.
Can't really understand the outrage from some on this.
Does anyone know if there was a designated away end when this fixture was played in Dublin last year?
Guessing not, but would cost depending, make me go.
I honestly don't see how this game is gong to affect Hibs or Hearts in any way.
I hope all those that do go enjoy themselves... though I doubt it'll be particularly exciting.
A corporate snoozefest for the FIFA generation so they can take selfies in their half and half scarves and tell Instagram all about how they are die hard Liverpool fans who never miss a Liverpool game when it’s held in Edinburgh. Meanwhile the product on the pitch will be played with all the pace, passion and intensity as a game of travel scrabble and any player that is worth watching will be wrapped in cotton wool and subbed off at half time anyway.
To me, it's almost like a different sport.
All my life I've had folk mocking me for going to watch Hibs. F them, I enjoy it.
Those same people will happily pay a fortune to watch 2 disinterested squads of megastars have a meaningless kickabout. It's not my thing, but fair play to them, they can do what they want in their spare time.
I bet you half the folk at the Spice girls concert haven’t even seen them live let alone been to the places where they come from 😂
I'm wondering if the 'GTF and support your local team' logic also applies to visitors to our fair city who choose to follow Hibs while they're here? Should they be barred from ER and ostracised on the basis they are from California or Poland or London? Weird logic if you ask me.
Thats why these huge EPL grounds are filled with "fans" filming the opposition "fans" celebrating goals and trying to get selfies with the other teams millionaire playes. Their supports are diluted with fanboy tourists. If Liverpool were playing Napoli in my back garden I'd go shopping with the wife.
I've seen plenty people taking selfies at Easter Road and filming opposition fans.
Also, presumably the instances of fan behavior at Premier League games you dislike have come to your attention from watching their games on TV. I'd suggest TV audiences have done more to create a divide between the Premier league and our game than any glamour friendlies in Edinburgh have seeing as they typically occur about once a decade.
It would be interesting to know how many of the people moaning about modern football and the impact of the Premier league will watch their games on TV or down the pub. Or those moaning about the influence of the league on their kids will spend £50 on the new Fifa game every year which is very EPL-centric.
Won’t be going to this - got me worked up slightly about the Edinburgh festival people being able to go - how about going to a real football game at Easter Road!
The point is though, do you consider the Californian Hibs fan as less of a true fan than a local who's lived here all his life? The Californian might have a season ticket, be working at Edinburgh Uni, and 'get the club' in every conceivable way, the boy from Lochend might just go out of habit and forgot why he even started following Hibs in the first place. Im not willing to make a judgement on that, or whether a Malaysian Man U fan is less of a 'real fan' than a Mancunian, its going into uncomfortable territory if you ask me. Its a global world.
Just enjoy what you're watching and avoid being judgemental I reckon.
Murrayfield is a venue that hosts entertainment, whether that be sport, music or anything else. I really don’t see why folk are so concerned about this. Liverpool are a global brand and this game gives their Scottish fans a much easier chance of seeing them live than they would normally have.
Football is a great game that brings people together.
I love being able to blether with Liverpool fans, Barcelona fans, whoever and whatever, and it doesn't matter what their uberfan credentials are.
It's funny how animated folk get about this.
Football supporting habits have changed and evolved. My nephew loves Hibs. He also loves Messi and Barcelona, he loves being Arsenal when he's playing FIFA and likes Dunfemline because that's his grandad's team. We should be grateful for his Hibs part (the strongest by far btw) instead of pushing him away because he might have other interests in other teams, for whatever reason. I'm happy enough to let a 9 year old grow his love of football.
Exactly. If people are that upset I presume they are not watching the EPL on Sky at the home or at the pub or the Champions League?
I love football. Hibs are the only team I support (I'm not even that fussed about Scotland these days) but I've been watch games in Barcelona, Madrid, Lisbon, Paris, Milan, Manchester and others over the last few years and loved every moment.
How many times are the European Champions playing in your back yard when you actually have a chance at getting a ticket!