Noticed on Twitter, one of the candidates running for fans rep (Macar), has started a mini campaign against current rep Frank Dougan.
Hibs class?
Printable View
Noticed on Twitter, one of the candidates running for fans rep (Macar), has started a mini campaign against current rep Frank Dougan.
Hibs class?
Always heard stories about macar being a bit of a tosser. This confirms it tbh.
And this thread will help him to promote his campaign. Well done.
Is he the blind guy from Sunderland or am i mixing him up?
Hi first post for me, hope everyone is happy with the Hecky revolution.:flag:
Is Macar the guy from Sunderland who used to to a regular caller for phone ins etc? If it is him then he's a passionate hibby alright but a bit of a slaver.
I could be wrong but I'm sure this is the same guy who's always spouting nonsense on the Facebook supporter pages, but when anyone challenges him he turns it into a witch hunt. Thinks he has a love affair with Hibs & Sunderland? very confused individual :greengrin
Should probably watch what I'm saying, it might be #anyonebutmau5 trending next :rolleyes:
I met Macar a few times when he was up for games a few years back.
He's a decent enough lad and his passion for Hibs is evident. I'm far from convinced he's cut out to be a fans rep though given what comes with the job. He can be a bit thin skinned and when you look at some of what those previously and currently in the role have had thrown at them, including a mini Twitter campaign now, that is hardly something that is going to stand him in good stead. Equally targeting another candidate in a contest that should be fairly good natured, we are all meant to be on the same side after all, is pretty poor. For any perceived faults he has Frank has worked hard in the role and is Hibs through and through, he deserves more respect than that.
i for one do not want carl macar to be a fan rep! he sprouts rubbish in my opinion
:faf::faf: What a nutjob.
Uh, what effect would excluding someone from the vote have? All you'd do is replace the (incredibly, incredibly, slim) chance of Macar winning with a ready-made, and fair, grievance that they were being unfairly excluded because of their views. Let him make an arse of it if he wants to. He's going to lose, and this isn't going to help. Let him lose in peace.
Besides "Anyone-but-X" is a reasonable campaign platform, though it helps if X is terrible enough to warrant that treatment; it's a tad silly in the current circumstances. Here, the only candidate with enough detractors to warrant an 'anyone-but-him' campaign is likely Macar himself...
My suspicions are that hes quite vulnerable.
Anyone else think the fans rep thing is a waste of time? Has the role achieved anything of note?
Macar was great when he was on here back in the golden era.
I'll be voting for Macar
I think Stevie Mallan started this thread to take .net heat off of himself....
The Slipper/Macar saga on here was the stuff of legend. I'm still no voting for him mind you :greengrin
#AnyoneButTheDodgyGuyWithTheFetishSite
Was speaking to Frank in Greece about his role and he mentioned that he represents the Club at funerals of supporters and it means so much to the family of the deceased to have an official club representative at the funeral
Frank also did a lot of visits with the Cup to housebound supporters , hospice visits etc etc
Tracy was there as well and was on hand if we had any problems in Greece with accommodation after the charter was cancelled. Tracy was very keen to help if she could.
I’ve never really needed their help as I usually sort out my own problems but they are there and very keen to help
I think we should also remember how the board have always played their cards close to their chest in all matters. I would think there is only so much the reps can do and say.
This is not a pro Frank post as I think it’s time for new blood but like him
Or not he has put some amount of effort in on matters I mentioned earlier in the post
As mentioned on the other fans' rep thread, the job only suits a certain kind of individual.
The role is a valuable addition to the board if the candidate can sensibly contribute ideas and talents that further the aims of the football club. If they can't articulate their ideas and have no discernable talents then they'll have a lonely and frustrating tenure trying to keep up with the work of the board.
Put it this way, it's an expensive way to get a free season ticket.
For those of us in the electorate, approach it like any election. Vote for the candidate that you think would best represent your views.
I don't know any of the candidates for the role but if I did or had dealings with the person on here or any other social media page I certainly wouldn't be slagging, berating and calling them roasters on Hibs.net...
I thought we were all on the same side? :rolleyes:
Guys, get a grip and leave the candidates do what they want. If the win or lose, it's up to them and fair play to them for putting their name forward hopefully trying to do something for the club!!!!
I must be getting laid back in ma auld age!
Nothing against Frank but I think its time for a change and let someone else have a turn. Fresh ideas etc..
If a fellow supporter standing for fans rep has started a smear campaign using the hash tag #anyonebutdougan then surely they should be removed from the running?
Macar on the Hibs board. :faf:
I'd pay money to see that. :greengrin
This is a wee bit disrespectful to Frank in my opinion, regardless, of who you want to vote for
100%. Frank Dougan has enjoyed a seat in the Boardroom at a fantastic time for the club and by all accounts he has done a very decent job, but it is time for him to step aside and enable another long standing Hibs supporter the opportunity to serve the club in an official capacity.
think Carl has now canned his twitter account.....
Don’t think that condidates - if that’s what they are should be slating others - leave that to the politicians.
I would have been as against an #anyonebutmacar campaign as I am against an #anyonebutdougan campaign if it's being led by another candidate.
I think this says a lot about the unsuitability of Macar.
Amazing 😂
What a circus.
naughty boy macar, naughty boy
righty, who's left to vote for
To be fair he did a lot of speaking on behalf of Hibs fans as did other incumbents like Ronnie Ferguson (yes, I’m old), Mike Riley and the late Bill Alcorn.
Good Hibbies mostly but none of them ever uttered a word on my behalf. I only went to the club (1976 juvenile) to get my bus and drink cheap Tennents. They never represented me and neither do the ‘Reps’. I’ll represent myself.
Really poor from him. I'm neither for or against Frank Dougan but I think this makes him (Macar) unsuitable as a candidate and he should be quietly withdrawn from the election process.
Please enlighten me then as I have been a member of a branch since 2013, on the committee of said branch since 2014 and my partner is the current Chairman and Frank has had no involvement in the Club in that time :aok:
Edit: In fact, I can count on one hand the number of times he has actually even been in the Club since he stepped down from an official position in the HSA.
Not Frank’s biggest fan but he’s a far superior choice to Macar. The comments on social media and the hashtag prove it. Met Macar quite a few times and he’s a pest but a harmless yin. Get an awfy feeling he’s been led astray by individuals with an agenda against the board.
There should (presumably is?) a code of conduct.
I looks forward to hearing from all the candidates about how they will improve communication between the fans and the board. And then not hear from them again.
Personally speaking, January just proved to me that these roles are pointless.
Agree. Nothing has been gained in any form. Public sway is either unrepresented, disregarded or worse still it leads to a lack of unity.
The club needs to end this unsavoury process in my opinion and keep matters to themselves, which they have always been good at. When I was younger I’d have given an organ (or maybe a limb) to be called a director of Hibs. Right now it doesn’t seem a fair swap.
It appears that macar has deactivated his twitter account. Probably the wisest thing to do atm. The anyone but dougan hashtag is pretty defunct now. Back to more pressing issues... Why is it so hard to get a box of damn oreo cereal in this country!!! 😂
The Twitter post came up in my feed, I let Macar know he was out of order, poor stuff tbh