Obviously a completely hypothetical question.......
Scotland are in the World Cup final against England, and on the same day, at the same time, Hibs play hearts in the Scottish cup final.
What game do you watch???
Printable View
Obviously a completely hypothetical question.......
Scotland are in the World Cup final against England, and on the same day, at the same time, Hibs play hearts in the Scottish cup final.
What game do you watch???
Prior to 2014 it would've been a difficult choice for me, however I still can't get over the cringe of watching unionists stand to sing the line "and be the nation again" when they collectively shat it in 2014.
If they would have the balls to stand by their convictions and belt our God Save the Queen then maybe I'd have a decision to make, but as long as they continue to embarrass the rest of us it's a no brainer.
Hibs. Nae contest.
hibs every time. scotland winning would be a bonus, but i would be expecting them to loose TBH.
Hibs. Record it then watch it again straight after.
Hibs
Rather see Hibs win a corner than Scotland or Ireland qualify for the World Cup. International football provides me with no excitement at all.
Hibs without a shadow of a doubt.
Club before country every single time. No doubt whatsoever.
Hibs every time. With how I feel about international football these days, if it was a choice between Scotland qualifying for a World Cup and Hibs qualifying for the Europa League group stages, I would choose the latter.
100% Hibs. That same scenario, except Hibs playing Spartans in the League Cup: still Hibs 🇳🇬💚
Scotland playing in a World Cup Final would be a once in a lifetime event. Would have to be that I’m afraid.
Depends. Is it the ****ty cowardly 2012 team or the one we have now?
Hibs of coarse
This thread lol
Scotland for me!
Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk
Oh great, yet another chance for folk to give the national team a collective boot in the balls. Post the same thread on The TAMB for a bit of balance.
Hibs every time.
Hibs.
Hibs!
Don't get me wrong, I'm looking forward to the WC kicking off and if Scotland were there I'd be a wee bit keener, still Hibs tho :agree:
What idiot scheduled these games for the same day as , obviously, much of the Scottish team would be made up of Hibs players!
I would rather attend the Hibs game then (if we win) come home and watch the re-run of the full Hibs game again than watch any part of the Scotland game.
Hibs. I’d take a Hibs win in a league game rather than Scotland winning the WC, as nice as that would be.
No brainer, Hibs.
Both for me :agree:
It’s club before country for me but the folk saying they would rather Hibs win a normal league game than Scotland winning the World Cup are either at it or English
Cant answer that, as a patriotic Scot and a born and bred Hibby, its something i hope happens once in my lifetime. :greengrin
Hibs. Not even a contest.
Would watch Hibs against lower league opposition in the early stages of s cup competition before any conceivable Scotland game.
Id be at the Hibs game, although it's a lot closer a call since 2016.
Anything other than a cup final then I'd probably be watching Scotland. I'm not even a big follower of international football, but Scotland in a WC final would be an incredible scene.
Oh look another one of them threads where you can prove, how much of a uber hibs fan you are over you country :confused:
You dont have to pick guys, u can support both at the same time.:greengrin
As a Scot I want the national team to win, but couldn't concentrate on them even in the World Cup Final for worrying about Hibs were getting on.
So I'd watch Hibs play, and then the Scotland game "as live".
What a lot of bollocks, the only reason those people wouldn't go to the world cup final is cause they wouldn't get tickets 😂😂😂😂. How the hell could u possibly pick a Hibs game over a bloody world cup final against . England. You must be taking the piss 😂.
Scotland. Most of us were there to see Hibs lift the cup in the greatest game in our history. Imagine the scenes across Scotland going on such a run over a World Cup? Everywhere would be mad/buzzing and if we won, wow.
We've been to a cup final against hearts before, infact we've been to a couple of cup finals and we will be at more again in the future. A world cup final against England would be absolutely life changing, it would generate attention from all over the world, I don't think you understand how big it would be probably cause it will never ever happen ��.
Any way Scotland beating England at cricket will do for just now, which looks likely atm.
This seems to come up again every couple of weeks. Anyway, same answer i give every time, Hibs. Absolutely zero interest in international football - and if i had my way Hibs would refuse permission for our players to take part.
Actually i do caveat that slightly... If the team includes any celtc, sevco or Hearts players, then, although i still don't really care, I'd probably take a bit of pleasure in them getting beaten if i saw their greetin faces on the news afterwards. Wouldn't go looking for it, but it would probably brighten my day if i stumbled across it.
If Hibs were playing any competitive match they would be my first choice by quite a margin. However, if Scotland did get to a World Cup final then my enthusiasm for the National side may have grown. I doubt it would be enough to stop me choosing Hibs though.
I sure do love when people bring political matters into any conversation they can :rolleyes: Lighten up it's just a fun question asked by the op
Anyway before 2016 it would of been Hibs, but Scotland winning the World Cup would be a different kind of joy to experience
How's that then? Obviously when Scotland play I want them to win, but if they don't then.... I'll be over it before the post match interviews!
For me internationals are an unwelcome distraction. I hate not going to a Hibs game on a Saturday because Scotland are away to Malta.
I've also never been able to attend a derby, passionately despise guys like Levein, McKay, Berra etc. Then want them to do well for Scotland a few days later 😂. Might sound a bit pathetic but that's just how it is with me.
Absolutely no question! Hibernian
Scotland
Scotland.
I can't believe how many people are getting so upset by the fact that some of us would choose Hibs (v anybody) over Scotland (v anybody). I always want Scotland to win but that's about where my interest ends. Doesn't make me any more of an 'uber' Hibs supporter than it makes you an 'uber' Scotland supporter. By the same principle, I hate rugby but would still always want Scotland to win if they're playing; I just have little interest beyond that. Sorry, like 😏
Would love to see Scotland win the world cup, just don't think I could bring myself to mixing with the be-kilted Timberland boots brigade.
England. :wink:
I'd rather Hibs win our upcoming friendly Vs Berwick rangers than Scotland win a world cup. Hibs always first
One of the dafter threads I've seen, but Hibs always come first!!
I obviously want Scotland to win every game they play and want them to do well but as long as hibs win on a Saturday I couldn't care less about any other football score
I’m always normally Hibs over Scotland but if it’s a World Cup final then it would be Scotland.
I think people have forgotten the excitement of Scotland actually being in the finals. Imagine them progressing - Qtr Final, Semi final etc. By the time they got to the final the whole nation would be gripped. Even those that claim to have no interest in the national team.
Always Hibs.
Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk
Always Hibs first....
not even a choice for me...
Hibs u20's :flag:
Hibs. There's a much better common spirit than there is in Scotland. Sadly, supporting Scotland is now too political for me to get any enjoyment from.
Whichever game Lewis was playing in
Hibs first. Not close.
Easily Scotland over Hibs, though hopefully it wouldn't be at a Hampden with an athletics track. For me I'm not that hardcore a fan. I watch stuff outside of Scotland almost as much.
Also I mean, Scotland have never won the World Cup and we won the Scottish Cup fairly recently so priority seems easy. There'd also be a slight political angle and with my pro-independence leanings victory would probably taste sweeter.
Genuine question from an Englishman. Why might a Scottish victory taste better to a Scottish separatist than it would to a proud Scot who is also happy to remain part of the UK?
I ask this because I don't feel that my Englishness is in any way diluted by my country being in a partnership with other countries who we are lucky to share borders with. Sorry if this derails the thread somewhat.
Hibs game on in the front room with the Scotland game on in the bedroom.
I think what is happening in England today gives you a small indication of what might happen if Scotland ever got this far in the WC. It would be utter madness, carnage, chaos the streets would be a sea of drunken hyper bams.
I really don't think you can imagine what it would be like across the whole country.
If Hibs were in a final on the same day i am not even sure it would get a mention on radio / t v and you would struggle to book buses pubs etc for travel pre match drinks. The country would come to a stand still for a short period of time.
Club before country every time. No brainer. McGinn and McGeough in the Scotland squad has made me take more of an interest of late but mainly because i didn't want them injured!