I thought it would be nice to have a thread about the positive things that happen in the world for a change.
Post your heartwarming stories in here.
First up - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-24170670 :thumbsup:
Printable View
I thought it would be nice to have a thread about the positive things that happen in the world for a change.
Post your heartwarming stories in here.
First up - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-24170670 :thumbsup:
http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-24173494
Not really a story as such but i always enjoy the 'your pictures' section on the BBC.
Aaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, cute. Can I have one, Mum? Please! Please!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotlan...-fife-24162850
Great idea Hibbyradge...sure is hard to find them though.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-n...wales-24380627
Not so much a news story per se, but I defy you not to smile at this:
http://www.utrend.tv/v/bball-baby/
Im sorry to hijack this thread guys I know the world likes the good news articles but im afraid ive got some bad news. The hogmanay street party tonight in Edinburgh will no doubt be a slight disaster as im predicting rain for this evening.
There was a story on the news on Monday night about a wee two year old down south that managed to phone 999 and tell them that his mum had passed out on the floor and they were able to get to her on time.
Cannae post the link on my phone, but, It brought a smile to my cynical face! :-)
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=845092225610874
If that doesn't tug at the old heartstrings, you've got a heart of stone.
http://youtu.be/5NsncrD6Q8c
Guaranteed tears.
Not stories but some good quotes here:-
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/books/wha...r-an-optimist/
I liked Maya Angelou's one. Must try and remember it.
Read that the other day.
Whilst it's sad an elderly man is in such a lonely position it's uplifiting that a phone call had such a positive effect.
We are so often bombarded with bad news stories and tales of aggression, selfishness etc that it's all too easy to forget the majority of people in the world are good.
Here's another
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2015...6pLid%3D395302
Good thread. Pity the world wasn't full of people like the ones in the links.
The thing is, it absolutely is. 99% of people on the earth are decent human beings, probably doing little things for loved ones or strangers every single day.
It just doesn't make good news (as defined by the media) to say "millions of act of kindness happened today - again" as the front page headline or lead news story on telly.
Brilliant as usual from John Lewis, love it ! :top marks
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wuz2ILq4UeA
Me too :agree: Nice version of the Oasis song that was used as the theme music for the Royle Family :thumbsup:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1SIKouwu9Co
I know, I know, but still..there's hope.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotlan...ntral-34860277
Well done, young man :agree:
http://travel.aol.co.uk/2015/11/18/c...6pLid%3D403541
Nice one Santa! :boo hoo:
Next time you see someone railing on Facebook about the lack of respect young people have these days, post this on their timeline.
Not quite family, but http://www.bistotogetherproject.com/
Liked this one
http://travel.aol.co.uk/2015/12/09/b...tmas-surprise/
My wife has gone to London for two weeks. :greengrin
A bit like former Montreal Canadiennes NHL player P K Subban donating $10m to the Montreal Children's Hospital.
With all the OTT payments top sportsmen/women get these days, it's nice to see someone giving some of his wealth towards the good of his community. Well done P. K.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england...shire-37499091
Well done that man - hope he doesn't have to foot the repair bill too!
I think it is really good news for all people in the world http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk...-a7341801.html
Not a good news story as such but it made me laugh
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england...yside-37734883
Good news : Clinton didn't win
Bad news : Trump did
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=sr6lr_VRsEo
The John Lewis Christmas advert is out. Not the usual tearjerker but all the better for it imo.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.co...lats-1-4284475
Lorne street tenants win their fight to remain.:aok:
Well done Rochdale
http://www.rochdaleafc.co.uk/news/ar...k-3411868.aspx
Here's the BBC link in case anyone doesn't want to click a Mirror Group website:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-cornwall-37955748
A sad, but touching, story. Also, a great name for a whippet.
Could somebody post a link to "Santa Claus caught on camera!" from Youtube, the wee boys reaction is brilliant.
I'm a grandad for the first time!
It's a mixed "marriage" my daughter is obviously a Hibby but he's of sevcovian persuasion :-(. I know, I know but arranged marriages are frowned upon!
They agreed prior to The cup final the child would be a glory hunter and brought up in the winners colours.
A most wonderful by product of our cup final victory Yvie is a proud and beautiful Hibby. Or should that be a proud Hibby and beautiful baby?
I wonder if I could get a photo of her IN The cup?
This can only be a good thing for expectant mothers. Baby boxes to give yer new bairn a guid start.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotlan...ntral-38470905