http://fishheadsclub.com/2013/07/02/...at-tynecastle/
No doubt this will be a topical gesture from the big man! :greengrin
Printable View
http://fishheadsclub.com/2013/07/02/...at-tynecastle/
No doubt this will be a topical gesture from the big man! :greengrin
Can you get cakes on the night?
I'm a big Fish fan but think I'll give this gig a miss!
Wonder if the plaice will be soled out? Prawn crackers if any yam misses this one.
splitter
Will Alex Salmon be there?
Even gets in a mcraes battalion mention, what an absolute arse licker. No longer a hibee as far as im concerned
I can't understand why he would do such a thing
Fish is very much a Hibby . He is of an age where football rivalry does not mean hatred and vitriol has to be the norm and I fully understand that. His mention of the Mcraes thing is respectful and dignified. He won't be the only Hibs fan who would mourn the loss of the Derby fixture. Just because that's not a popular view on here doesn't make him any less of a Hibs fan.
It's a classy gesture from the big guy. I hope it raises very little cash though.:greengrin
See where you're coming from a bit but id miss the derby yet wouldnt donate a penny to them. If they die their absolute ******** fans deserve it. Cant see why any hibs fan would want to help that lot after the arrogance and delusion weve heard from their fans, and still do
I wonder if he asked Rod if he could do a fundraiser for Hibs?
I think it's nice gesture from somebody who doesn't hate Hearts like I (and I suspect you) do. Fair enough but I hope the night's flop. Also suspect there may be an alternative motive, he's going to get a lot of publicity and he's about to release a new album. Just saying :wink:
That had crossed my mind. Just as well the shoes not on the other foot, just imagine Cicero in BTG!
It's not like he's just doing a charity gig for Hearts - he's done charity gigs for Hibs, Somalia, and the local Masonic Lodge in the past so not a big issue IMHO.
Im glad to hear that an 'emminent' Hibee is willing to offer a gesture to the Yams. Fish has got a good balance between - they deserve what they get/we're fed up with their nonsense and the Ill miss the derby/I know how crap it feels to lose our club.
I wont lose sleep if they wake up in the third division, but would hate to see them wiped from the map.
Fish.Do something for Hibs.
Ok I decided to come up here and post this myself before the roar.
I'm doing a gig for the Jambos to help raise funds to keep them in the game. (pause for chorus of jeering to subside from many)
I'm a Hibby, always have been, always will be. Been through it all seen it all like most of us on here over the years, cried buckets and sang loud. I've been green since around 67. I'm 55. My grandad supported both teams and had 2 season tickets, one for each club. I never, I was , like my dad always on the green. I followed the "Tornadoes" after years of waiting for it to be, I was at Tynie on the great 7-0 and saw many more derbies of joy and of deep grief. I swallowed the 5-1 after years of gloating and nose being ground in the *****. They cheated, I know, for years. Now they pay the price as Tik Tok came and is! They're in danger of disappearing. TBH I don't want that myself.
They lorded over us for years with money they didn't have, were arrogant, loud and brash. Now they are humbled and staring at years of recovery, a vastly diminished team and relegation a near certainty. What do you want? Our neighbours in the city disappearing and left to look forward to derbies against East Fife which with no disrespect to East Fife isn't exactly bragging rights! Those 4 games (+) a season getting wound up tighter and tighter before another explosion ( or not) of nerve shredding adrenalin over 90 ,mins that leaves you in the Royal, singing pissed on a lamppost in Easter Road or mumbling in your 10th pint in your local? I chose to play a gig for them to raise funds.
I, like many of you have Jambo buddies who are all feeling what we felt like in 90. A lot of them were against Mercer and the takeover and said so. There's always a minority who feel the other way and i know I won't be turning some opinions on this forum whatever I type here. It's not going to recompense the small businesses and the staff who lost out through all this Gorgie fallout but if the club survives then maybe the jobs come back and the businesses get something. I don't feel guilty, I'm not gloating, they deserve what they are taking just now. I'd like to think we have more class than to drive it deep and keen and take a more benevolent approach to this mess they are in.
I don't expect any of you to come along. I'm doing this for my own reasons, I won't be taking a season ticket to Tynie and never will. I'm doing it, I just wanted you to know from me direct before the media grabs hold of it
Fish
This is the press release-
" Rock legend Fish is to play a benefit gig for Hearts next month. Although a huge Hibs man, the former front man of Marillion is keen to see the Gorgie club survive so he can continue to enjoy the cut and thrust of the Edinburgh derby. He has agreed to play an acoustic set in the Gorgie Suite on Wednesday, August 7, with all funds raised going towards Heart of Midlothian FC.
"I’ve followed the Hibees through thick and thin, witnessed the ‘Turnbull Tornadoes’ (including the 1973 New Year’s day 7-0 win at Tynecastle) and followed them down divisions, seen cup wins and cup defeats and can’t forget the near demise of our club in 1990 after we ourselves had suffered from years of financial mismanagement," said the lead singer of The Fisheads Club. "At the time I was helpless on tour in Germany and felt the pain of nearly losing the club I’d followed since I was a boy. A lot of my Hearts supporter friends at the time were vocal in their support for saving Hibs and didn’t want to see the club disappear. The situation has now reversed.
"Throughout the years the derbies have raised my blood pressure more than any other game in the fixture calendar, no matter what the league position. I don’t want to lose the local derby!" Now a hugely popular solo artist in his own right, Fish’s latest album "A Feast of Consequences" focus strongly on the Battle of the Somme, his grandfather having fought on the opening day of battle. And he has the utmost respect for those who gave the ultimate sacrifice on the opening-day exchanges.
"My grandfather William Dick had season tickets for both Hearts and Hibs and watched the alternate home matches," he added. "I have been reading a lot about him recently after I visited the Somme battlefield in 2011 and walked the fields there. I also laid a poppy at the McCrae’s Battalion memorial in Contalmaison. "My other grandfather William Paterson was on the Somme field that day in the 18th Royal Scots. Both my grandfathers thankfully survived the war. That visit to France inspired me to write five songs on my new album "A Feast of Consequences" about the Somme battlefield in 1916. "It’s a strange coincidence that after recently rediscovering my grandfathers and their history in the Great War and with HMFC’s plight, that I should find myself in a position to help out in a small way. I’m sure my granddads would both approve." Fish appreciates he may receive some criticism from fellow-Hibees for his gesture.
However, he believes it is going to be worth it. "I know there will be a few fellow Hibs fans who disagree with me offering a gig in support of HMFC and who are still sore (as I am) from last year’s cup final defeat which they feel was "bought" and in the long term has resulted in the current situation," he said. "We had to swallow a lot of pride and take a lot of suffering over that defeat but as far as I am concerned the result is now moving into the past and losing your club is a very heavy price to pay, no matter what anyone says. "I’m sure the recovery process will be a struggle and will most probably involve a lot more anguish and pain. As far as I am concerned, that is just punishment. But I don’t want to see Heart of Midlothian disappear, although I want to see a return to a level playing field again! "I think everyone knew that the clock had to tick down and the whistle had to blow on the recent regime but the current reality is a shock to many Hearts fans. I am genuinely sorry for the players and staff who lost their jobs through no fault of their own and who are going to be struggling to find work. "The previous regime should hold their heads in shame at what they have allowed to happen."
The gig will be an acoustic show of songs from his solo career and from the Marillion catalogue and Fish added: "The Fishheads Club is a trio featuring me on vocals, Frank Usher on guitar (no football persuasion) and Foss Paterson, my long-serving keyboard player and a Jambo from Bonnyrigg with whom I have had many tense days on tour while dealing with derbies and who is agreed with me that we would like more in the future! "If you are agreed with me then please come along and support the show and be a small part of keeping Heart of Midlothian Football Club in existence." Ticketing information will be announced as soon as possible."
Will there be cakes for sale?
Ltyf.
Apparently only buns
I understand what's you're doing Fish and fair play. Some yams were there for us in '90 without question.
When you weigh up the yams predicament and our signing policy though, the one question I'm left with is...what made you use a drum machine on 'Jack and Jill'?
Amazing said the gruffalo.
I've never even heard of fish. Surely a big club like hearts can get someone better to attract the 400 000? Maybe they should get in touch with bono?
Ps. Quite optimistic if you think they'll still be there by August 7th. I'm sure cala homes will let you play your gig on their land though..
Fair play to you Derek :aok: I think you're striking the right balance between reminding them that they have brought it ALL on themselves and being the better person. Hibs class :agree:
Fair play Fish - each to their own. I think you've made a decent case why it feels right for you
Please get the Proclaimers as support act.
Fair play to you and well done for coming on here to explain it you dont have to justify yourself to anyone. The only thing I disagree with in your post is are they really humble if they are then they are hiding it well?
right then mr Fish, don't bother drinking down ER way again, find solace in Robertsons or the Diggers ya jambo lovin' dog.
I hear we're meant to be "seething" about this...
Pass me the sick bag.:rolleyes:
If you were raising money for the creditors they are shafting maybe but for god's sake man what are you thinking? Desperate stuff.
Two words, one begins with F, the other with O
**** h****s
Suggested by Gary Locke perhaps? Heard he wants to be a "recipient" of your next single Fish.
Lockey is a happy chappy just now by all accounts despite being faced with fielding a team of youngsters as he reckons he will soon have the next golden generation on his hands and has been showering them with praise.
Thought he was meant to be Hibs? ****** him.
All I see is an old rock star still wants to be in the limelight so any publicity is good publicity so they use to say but for **** sake Fish you really need to take a good ****ing look at your self and stop this ****, you ****in turncoat...
This is akin to me buying a season ticket for Tynecastle. That's how severe this is, Fish.
That's how severe this is.
Each to their own I suppose
you gonna wear our home or away top?
Will Ronnie Corbett be warming up the crowd followed by Cicero as support?
If it helps, the thought that they needed Hibs' help to survive is something that we can patronise them about for years to come in the unfortunate event of them surviving, so fair play to you, Mr Fish.
Saved by a Hibby,
Oh you were saved by a Hibby
Saved by a hiiiiibby
Etc.
Can we give you requests to play at the gig? :greengrin
more or less sums up my thoughts on this too.
they knew their club was run like **** for years, they were happy to buy into it and sing along, they're happy (delighted even) to rub their success in our face, they deserve to suffer and they're not suffering at all yet. I don't want to see them dead and gone, just on life support for a good while, where all and sundry can **** them and there's nothing they can do about it.
Sorry but a Hibs fan tries to help them and all they can say 'H1b5 fans must be seething' and 'still hurting'
They can get to **** for all I care, to start with I wasn't too bothered and felt sorry for them but they just seem to be getting more and more arrogant.
**** the Hearts. Hibs fans should be doing nothing to help those *****
Being on tour in 1990 has clouded your judgement big fella :-)
Shall I inform Hibs kicks for kids to expect half the takings ?
There were some Jambos in the away end at the ER Rally and at the Usher Hall Robbo (who I respect to this day for his actions) spoke out against Mercer. It's a pity for the Jambos folks didn't have the balls Robbo had then to speak out against Vlad before rather took the money and the gagging clause...
Fair do's tho' Fish. I won't be putting my hand in my pocket to save them but am not so sure that at the end of the day extinction is what I want it wasn't a good career move for the dodo - or was that Doddie ;)
Why don't you make it £15 a ticket.
All good. There may well be peace in our time.. :rockin:
My dads a Jambo too and I also much prefer Thin Lizzy :greengrin, although I do have one of your albums. Everyone to their own but I would have only done it for them if they were in some real hardship outwith their control. This is self inflicted arrogance and they will not wait one minute to ram it down our throats when they survive this (not that they've stopped anyway). If they had any kind of humility I may have taken a different view. Transfer embargo, sign Scotland international during it, make him captain and plaster a massive poster on Tynecastle. If thats not GIRUY and we don't care I don't know what is. As I said though, its your call but it wouldn't be me in this case.
Why would any Hibby want to help these mutants, they have rammed it down our throat for years and even now they are being so smug, 5-1 1902, **** them, and the quicker they die the better for the Capital.
**** the h*****
:yw::yw:
Mr Fish, hope you lose your voice round about the 7th August. :aok:
Personally I would rather hold a fundraising gig for Hibs, rather than doing anything to aid their recovery but whatever floats your boat, I suppose.
Considering that we're hardly flush with cash either at the moment, I would see that as the priority rather than trying to raise money for a club that wouldn't know the meaning of the word 'humility'.
I would gouge my eyes out before I would raise funds to support them.
Sorry mate but I wouldn't plsh on they ***** if they were on fire
Stinkin Hertz munts
5-:1: will never EVER beat :0:-:7: or :6:-:2: (unless in yamamathics land) good luck looking at all those mutants with unsightly pink tops on tho :lolyam:
Quote:
Aye and the specky twins are his undercard
Quote:
Might upset a few H1b5 fans
Quote:
Fair play to him, but the very little music I've heard of his made my ears bleed.
Quote:
Cue another dose of hobo seethe on .net! Great stuff.
Quote:
Who?
Quote:
Nice wee bitter dig on his shan website.
No thanks. I'll pass on that particular 'event'.
Hope you realise you're wanting to help these *****.Quote:
I've really got to laugh at this like.
He basically agrees to a bit publicity for his shan career while using the opportunity to fling another hibs myth at the general public & some Hearts fans think it's great.
Fish - GTF pal.
A long think is needed before deciding to do a gig for them.
Yep! Old Rock star! Sorry to disappoint but I gave up on Scottish/ Edinburgh record sales keeping me alive a long long time ago and the publicity fix ain't what this is about.
It's the neighbours, the long term neighbours, we couldn't exist without bitching about/ slagging off/ putting down bickering with.
Like an old marriage that thrives on arguments and moaning if they die a part of us would die with them.
I don't "hate" them outside derby build ups and the games. After that it's "next time"! I'd like there to be more next times.
And as far as a "turncoat" goes! Sorry to disappoint you on that as well. I hope we gub them well and truly to the point of torture next season , rub it in good and proper. If they ain't there, we can't do that :-)
Personally I find Fish playing ''Feast Of Consequences' to the yams very amusing and high in ironic content.
That's not what I'm thinking.
Yams liquidate and bye bye another portion of tv viewers, sponsorship, league saleability, and ticket sales.
That's got to be factored in to the thinking. No point delighting in teams going bust (any team) if there's reduced interest in the product that's left standing.
A sentimental mercenary, parading a Hollywood conscience. :wink:
Fish man - what you thinking?
Not only have you left yourself open to abuse on here but they cretins will see this as an opportunity to fire 5-1's and all their other pish at you all night.
Have you thought this through? Ticket sales could be grim and you ostracize yourself from fellow Hibbies.
This is the mob who tried to kill us remember. The ones who said they backed Hibs in their hour of need? Well from memory lucky if 50 were there at Easter Road for the Hands Off Hibs rally.
They deserve no sympathy and certainty no help.
Administration is just a kick in the stanes to them. They're already giving it billy big time believing all is ok.
By all means do a gig but proceeds to that lot? Poor show big felly.
They deserve comeuppance. Liquidation would be the ideal scenario. They tried to kill us - they never succeeded. Let them find out what payback is really about.
I've no problem with Fish doing a gig for them in 2013.
If it was 1985, I'd be raging. :-)
Fair play for explaining reasons, not the decision I would have made but each to their own.
They really do like overusing the word 'seethe' over there don't they? They think this annoying Hibs fans gives them some sort of 'upper hand' on the current slagging match, despite the fact that this gig is to help save them from extinction? Deluded ****wits.
Stuff them, let the club burn to the ground.
A benefit gig to help set them up as a newco at Saughton park I could understand better. I might even chick in a pound but not now. Not till they have lost the stadium.
I'm sure he is more than capable of speaking for himself but I just wanted to say thanks to Fish for saying he'd like to get involved with Kicks for Kids :thumbsup: Hibs class indeed :agree: Watch this space for more details :wink:
Yes Edinburgh Evening News, Hibernian have run a scheme to help local children since 2002 :rolleyes:
http://i1289.photobucket.com/albums/...psc8b1c3f8.jpg
Gonnae use one of these.
You will, however , need toi stuff a right few 50p's in the meter
See if you can get the Shambos Wongadome Roof to land in Fife
Fish why not read the "remember when hibs nearly died " thread on jambos bareback and tell us you want to still help them you're a fantastic musician/singer but this is a very silly idea
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/129880-remember-when-hibs-almost-died/
I'm a lot happier reading the responses on here than I was on the original thread.
Growing up in Tollcross and going to primary school and secondary school surrounded by Yams I all but gave up any hope on their supporters. I am friends with a lot of them, but come derby day or any discussion on Scottish football they lose the plot and go on rants.
Vile creatures lurk over on Kickback, Craigieboy, Kirkwood69, I.J, iantjambo, Jezza, Le Chat and any of the other registered users, all ****ing ****. Then in person you've got *****bags like Alex Salmond, Pishy Breeks Foulkes, Ian Murray 'MP' and Carclownie all backing these mutants and their overspending habits.
I am a fan of Fish and Marillion, but this is a step way too far. I see the reasons posted, but I do not understand them. **** Hearts and **** their supporters. **** Mercer and **** Skacel and **** every single person associated with that rotten maroon mess over on the other side of the city. They made their own bed and were happy enough to sleep in it for a few years, but only know have they realised that it was a bed made full of ***** and scalpels, yet they continue to deny it. **** them.
All they care about is getting one over us and by Fish bending over to help save them then they play on that too. **** helping them. Pull the plug and let that rotten institution decay into a Sunday League team. It's what they ****ing deserve. Arrogant fannies, I wouldn't give them the stink of my next curry *****.
Fish - I've loved you since the Assassing days! Let them wallow in their own pish, and let their own musical "idols" save them!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F3TC582lvYU
The £1 fish guy?