John Collins - Hibs most successful manager in the last 19 years, can he be persuaded to return.
What would it take?
Printable View
John Collins - Hibs most successful manager in the last 19 years, can he be persuaded to return.
What would it take?
A board that matches his ambition and players who are willing to commit to being an athlete/professional sportsman ahead of other things. Both are in short supply at ER.
I couldn't compare the two of them.
I don't want to sound wise after the event but it always should have been JC's way or the highway...regardless of who got emptied.
He was an ex-player but he was a cold(as far as the club was concerned), calculated winner.
Bring JC back and let him bin the slackers to a man...whoever they are...and lets go down that road!
We might just stay up!
I'd like to see the Board invest for the long term on the playing side, Alex Miller as Director of Coaching taking control of East Mains and offering advice to the manager, his former protege John Collins.
It would be good to see both of them brought back.
JC as Manager with Alex Miller as mentor/Director of Football.
I think that this combination would put together a team that is hard working, difficult to break down and play attractive football when it matters , not rying to play the ' Barcelona ' way when they cant.
The benefit of bringing these guys back would see a better level of professionalism within the players and a greater work ethic. Married with the talent they already have and playing in a disciplined manner would easily see Hibs move up what is essentially a middle of the road league.
Has everyone forgotten exactly how pish we were playing by the time Collins left?:confused:
For me John Collins was a poor manager who made too many duff signings like morais obrien gattheusi donaldson joneleit makalambay etc
There were plenty occasions when he got his shape all wrong and you could literally see him standing looking at tommy craig saying 'what do I do here?'
Tommy Craig then went away to st mirren (courier scored with back heel in 2-1 loss iirc) and DIDN'T play with a right midfielder - one of the most shocking decisions I have ever seen someone in charge make.
both of them should stay far away from ER. hibs need an older leader, someone a bit more cynical and detached from 'the boys'
I'm probs thinking Bruce rioch Craig brown or probs someone like Lexi miller
and by "we" you mean a bunch of players that were in revolt and trying to get their manager sacked. Little wonder that the football was not the best. I would consider giving jc another shot with a new bunch of players, he had the right philosophy for the game
His signings were atrocious and we were murder by the time he left, I wouldnt take him back.
I dont believe ex Hibs players make good Hibs manager and when Yogi is moved on going back and asking JC to take charge again is not a forward moved for us.
His time has passed lets leave it that way
After the disgraceful way the board and the players treated him last time, i'd expect him to give us the finger.
He won't be back at Hibs. And who can blame him.
Surely this must be a major wind-up, JC was absolutely useless as were his signings, i don`t see any other clubs clamouring after him as a manager, as for Alex Miller if you want to drive even more fans away from over priced football then he is your man, why don`t we just go all the way and have Jim Duffy in charge of future transfers.
And bring back Chic Charnley as well!
In all seriousness, I think what JC wanted to achieve at Hibs was the right thing. He wanted to change the team to be fitter and much more professional, to want to play in an attractive manner. However, most of his signings were indeed duds but I'm not sure if that was because he wasn't a good judge of player or if he wasn't backed financially, so couldn't afford any better. :dunno:
And if we don't like Yogi's press conferences, let's not forget the most cringeworthy one I've ever seen where Collins was being prompted by Tommy Craig for his answers. Still sends shivers down my spine.
Collins got off to a good start, but when the consequences of his pathetic transfer market dealings (the worst since Duffy) and his abject lack of skill in man-management caused a collapse in performance he walked away. He also quit Charleroi so doesn't seem prepared to take on a long-term project.
The team was in roughly the same mess when he left as it is now. People who want him back seem only to remember the early part of his reign.
Would rather we went for someone with no connections to the club...
Chris Coleman, McParland, Shabby (but already found a job) (many others)
However I wouldnt mind Mowbray back (tin hat at ready). Wouldnt take Collins after what happened.
I would appointa performance director to enusure EAst Mains is getting used properly and ever player is working to improve thier game.
I dont know if you had to suffer the lexo years. Boring negative the list is endless. Use to play 6 defenders in his team.
Drove plenty punters away from ER.
Gave his sons contracts and game time when they were never going to make it.
Crunchie summed it up when he left................I was fed up getting asked to play right back.
Yes he won a cup. But its what you do week in week out counts.
JC had the right vision for us? I could manage Hibs if they gave me enough money to buy players like Barry Robson and Steven Naysmith.
Spot on BH and TBH would rather have 2 quality players then 6 pish ones. I dont know if the Naismith thing was a stunt however it creates a wee bit of positivity about the club.
At the moment we are in free fall and anyone would be better than Hughes.
Good post ! :thumbsup:
Why is it so many posters are taking the line " don't let the truth get in the way of a good story"
John Collins was as CULPABLE as any player or group of players in the way his time at ER went pear shaped.
Speak to players who were there and they will tell you - the level of man mangement skills shown by JC were unnaceptable at any level/job .
If he was/is so good why hasn't he lasted in the latest jobs he has had and why are clubs not queing up to bid for his sevices.
Great player , one of my all time favourites, nice person to be with - but !!!
:bye:
collins won a cup with mowbrays team, then lost the dressing room and ultimately the scottish cup....just my opinion though
I find it laughable that some are now seeing Collins as a saviour when there was quite a large contingent on here happy to chase him out of the job when last in charge!
Personally it still rankles with me the treatment Collins got from some people on this very messageboard with personal abuse aimed at him, his assistant and pretty much every player he signed. One thing you could be certain off if Collins had been allowed to build his vision is a lasting legacy once and for all that would banish this lazy nature and lack of work ethic that has existed at Hibs for too long imho!
The man has too much class to be subjected to the toxic support that resides at Easter Road now imho! His team gave me the best day of my Hibs supporting life and I thank him for that lasting memory.
Thing is, you have the same philosophy; so do I (and I feel quite fervent about it) - and probably quite a high percentage of the people on here, and involved in football elsewhere share his philosophy. Not much wrong with Mixu's philosophy either. Yogi has a good one too. Apparently.
The philosophy is the easy bit. The challenge is putting it into action with a group of imperfect human beings, who perhaps (at our level) don't tick all your boxes, and inspiring them to surpass themselves. If you don't have the prototypes you need for the perfect execution of your strategy, you need to be able to find a compromise that works, and make the best of the options that are available to you.
I think that John Collins may well have a great deal to offer somewhere as a youth coach, or as a Director of a youth academy, or someplace where he is able to implement his philosophy without the grim reality of life at the middling level of professional football getting in the way. I'm not sure he's cut out for that. We weren't good enough for him, and nor were Chareroi.
P.S This isn't meant to be a patronising dig at you, Stevie. You're just the first person to bring up the philosophy thing.:greengrin
John Collins would tell hibs to GTF after the disgusting treatment he got. Pushed out the club for trying to make these so called professionals into better players by simple things like eating, gym, trying to get them to be like pro athletes.
Would have him back in an instant but no chance will happen.
Aye that was some team Mowbray built right enough.
Broony, Riorden, Thommo, Whitty,Fletcher and O'Conner. They were all great Mowbray buys right enough!:bitchy:
We also had one of the worst away records under monkey heid and got a big daddy of daddy humping from the Yams on more than a few occasions.
Mowbray! Don't make me laugh.:bitchy:
John Collins made some stinking signings but he wasn't getting the backing that some of our most recent managers got from the board.
Collins was full of good bright ideas he wanted to bring to the club which would have made a big difference to the players fitness.
Unfortunately Petrie bottled it and backed the players because they don't need to get fitter, they don't need to practice more because they are all at the top of their game!:grr::bitchy:
If JC got the backing Yogi has had, then I for one think he would be brilliant for us.:thumbsup:
Correct me if I'm wrong but I'm pretty sure Hibs got O'Brien after his contract at Newcastle expired naw? We might have had to pay a few quid compensation but other than that? So I wouldn't class it as big money!
The Makalamby fee was undisclosed but I reckon if we paid anymore than five bob we were ripped off big time:wink::greengrin
No wonder there`s so many disagreements on this board, how anybody could even contemplate Collins returning is beyond me, you could`ve mentioned the fact he dropped Fletcher for Damon Gray in the Semi Final and probably cost us a real chance of winning the Scottish Cup, the only thing JC was capable of managing was his ego and keeping it intact when the going got tough.
I made the long trek to McDiarmid Park yesterday and couldn't believe the total drivel being played out on the field. I'd say about 3 or 4 Hibs players looked as if they were genuinely trying, the rest looked like they weren't sure what they were there for. A punter behind me shouted out, "yous are gettin' paid for ****** all!" and I totally agree :agree:
I went home and watched on old GAA All Ireland football final from 1982, 65000+ crown in pouring rain for a nail biting non-stop action game that turned round at the very last minute. A thrilling 70 minutes, and all by amateurs who get paid nothing and do it for pure sportsmanship and personal and county pride.
I have to say I didn't really see any or very much sportsmanship, personal or team pride yesterday and any I did was probably from the Saints players. Something far wrong somewhere with Hibs and the Board need to get to the bottom of it pronto :dunno:
Personal and team pride went out the window when we started to pay footballers 10X, and more,the average wage for a working man. They have always been higher paid than your average Joes but now it is ridiculous. The long and the short of it is now that when they come to clubs like Hibs they don't give a **** as long as they get their money.
Wouldn't see the return of JC as a step forward. He has done nothing of note managerially since leaving.
It doesn't matter who ends up at Hibs as manager. The appointment will have its fans and haters. If it was left up to the Hibs fans, we would have nobody because we can't even agree amongst ourselves who that person should be. Some people on this thread would love to see JC back, others would run the other direction.
We can't even compare and contrast prior managers as they've had different players. You can only make a direct comparison when only ONE variable changes i.e., the manager. Manager A might get terrible results with Team A but with Team B he gets great results.
Personally speaking I would like to have a man in charge who knows what he is doing, has a proven track record, will command the respect of the players and is not afraid to rock the boat and deflate some egos when necessary.
I think it's really easy to take pot shots at Yogi based on the awful record we have but some of the blame has to go to the players as these are the guys who are executing on the pitch. Yogi picks the team, Yogi comes up with the game plan, etc. but Yogi cannot make the players pass to one another. He cannot make them shoot on target. He cannot play the game for them.
Who knows? Maybe the players hate him just enough to want him to get sacked?
Back on-topic, I would not be against seeing JC getting another crack at the whip but it would have to be different this time around. Actually, whether it's JC or not, things have to be different.
a big NO for judas collins from me
Based on winning a Cup that Rangers and Celtic were already out of? Look at his WHOLE record. Winning a Cup does not make him better than Mowbray or McLeish.
I'd like us to appoint a manager who can get the best out of our (decent) squad rather tham moan and walk out cause he can't buy £2M players like Barry Robson.
Very simplistic as ever.
No doubt that O'Brien was a disaster but 500k to replace how many millions worth of talent that we lost when he (JC) was there?
When we were offered 3 million for Thomson and Brown it was Collins who stood firm and said they were worth far more. We ended up with 6.5 million for them, which was partly down to JC and you reckon 0.5 million was a huge amount?
Our wages to turnover ratio seems to have increased recently and we're currently watching the most dire under-achieving Hibs team for many a year. That's what you call a waste.
It is a simple answer to a simple question? Hughes has had little to spend compared to Collins imho. £500k plus wages is an awful lot for Hibs to spend. I'd imagine if they were successful it would be ok, but god forbid if they were useless. Oh sorry i forgot they were.
You honestly think that bearing in mind the amount of players that were sold in JC's reign, with the transfer fee's they brought in and wages they saved, that JC was given great backing?
I agree that the guys he spent money on were poor as were most of his signings, but the vast majority of them were out of the bargain bucket. I can't understand why that was the case at the time when we're currently able to get guys like Miller and Stokes and as many 1st choice goalies as the manager likes.
Money from the players who were sold largely went into dealing with historic debt. When you look at players from the bargain bucket, remember that Mowbray brought in Murphy, Shiels and Sproule for next to nothing. They did good work for us then were sold on at a profit. Collins's just wasn't good in the transfer market.
How exactly can people slate JC, he won us a cup. Yes thats not what its all about.
But he was a relatively new manager & Tommy Craig was supposed to mentor him and show him the ropes, I presume? Granted his signings weren't great but as far as I remember we weren't in that bad a position when JC was having us play this 'horrible football' etc. although if anyone has the stats I'd lvoe to hear them. JC gets far too much stick on here for what he done IMO.
Collins had some good idea, but it appears that he was a bit of a nutter, if you believe what you hear...and that press conference basically confirmed he wasn't the full shilling. Tommy Craig is simply an erse.
Collins also sold Sproule and although he tried to replace him with 'Ivan Sproule on a motorbike'...it's hard to forgive that unnecessary sale.
So, eh, no thanks to a Collins return.
Well at least our current manager comes across as totally sane and sensible at press conferences, eh?:rolleyes:
Not only is the above patently untrue, it's extremely disrespectful to someone who, whatever you think of his managerial skills, only wanted the best for Hibs.
As has been said before, some of the comments on hear about John Collins are disgraceful. And some of them are coming from the same people who get all holier-than-thou if anything rude is said about the current incumbent.
I'd gladly pay Collins' fare here, after paying Yogi's taxi money.
In a nutshell? In the context of discussing whether JC blew a fortune of Hibs cash?
I think it's accepted that in terms of signing's made JC did a poor job but on the other hand surely nobody could argue that his stubbornness over what Hibs should accept for players being sold pretty much balanced that out certainly in terms of the balance sheet?
It's all very well saying the incoming transfer fee's were used to pay historic debts but, with respect, that simply enforces what a difficult job he had.
Tony Mowbray is always used as an example of a guy who was a master of the bargain bucket deals but I think it was pretty much literally hit and miss with him (unless Konde, Konte, Rudge, Morrow, Simon Brown, Hogg, Zibi, Dalglish etc. were signed by someone else) and who knows how much luck played a part? His transfer dealings at Parkhead do not suggest he was actually a wizard wheeler and dealer. He also had the luxury of bringing new players into an environment where a young talented but maturing squad was already in place.
Does anybody know the value of Zibi Malkowski's lucrative 4 year contract extension (given days after THAT semi?) was? I do hope the transfer fee's of Shiels, Sproule etc covered it!!
So you think that showing your six-pack to the players on day 1, and then conducting a press conference getting answers from a man eating an apple whilst passing off the answers as your own is normal?
Don't get me wrong, I liked Collins in some ways, but some of his apparent behaviour was rather 'eccentric'.
And I certainly did not get holier-than-thou about anything said regarding Hughes. I thought he was a bit of an eejit before he took the Hibs job and it loosk like that's been confirmed now.
good manager, but spoke to some of hi ex players and said he just couldnt control the team.. rather someone non hibs related
IF for some mental reason we bring back another ex-player (and ex-manager anaw!) and IF forced to pick, I'd say Collins philosophy and thinking was the way forward. His implementation of that didn't work...however, he publicly got stabbed in the back by his "team" and still managed to win a cup IN SPITE of all that *****.
And lets no hear pish about how easy that cup win was...lets also remember he had the blessed yamoverload Stewart playing well (Whether you like or dislke the wee sneaky yamishbampot, Stewart played out his skin most of Collins earlier tenure, particularly against Aberdeen in the cup IIRC).
All that said...clean break time. Get a decent, proven manager. Spend some money on a key position as I Say. The manager, followed by keeper, decent midfielder and a solid scoring forward are all positions you must fill properly or regret it forever more.....
Dot know who the right man IS for the job but lets no hear sheite aboot the blessed Tony "Im off and **** you very much for the chance..good luck against hearts in 3 days" Mowbray....if anyone can call Collins a Judas, they can fire the same pelters at St Tony of Mowbray who did NOT win a cup.
MON THE HIBS
Saw JC in the gym again this morning. He was sporting a very recent haircut and doing some of those stomach crunch things. If that's not conclusive proof that he's got an interview for the Hibs job coming up and is already preparing for his introductory meeting with the players, I don't know what is!
Mogga was blessed with an excellent squad and at times had them playing great football .... But no plan B when required, which was proved at West Brom.
Collins:
This is the guy who played Kevin McCann at CH against Aberdeen at Pittodrie against a centre forward who always gave Rob Jones problems in the air.
This is the guy who took the same team who won the league cup to Hampden a few weeks later and couldnt get them to score one goal against Dunfermline, thus losing us the chance to go up against the most rank celtic team in years as was shown in the final.
This is the guy who was so up himself that he couldnt see that the way to prove yourself as a manager is to get a load of average players to over achieve and not to ask the reputedly meanest board in football for squillions to spend and then walk in a huff when they said no.
John Collins ? ..... I would rather have Joan Collins.
Nae offence JC.
:bitchy:
Er... what I said is that the player budget Hughes had to work with was higher than the one Collins had - which obviously makes it easier to attract better players.
There are a few Hughes signings I'm unsure about, and in time we'll see how much the club wasted in paying decent wages for no good reason.
if your going by cups yes, if u go by win percentage and deilivering in the league then no.
collins could have been !! but failed to defeat dunfermline even thou he had to cracks at it. his signing were for the most part horrible and for me the game was far to patient with no direction nor bite.
Couldn't be ersed reading all 4 pages but since the Board never backed Collins over the player revolt, I canny see him coming back as long as Petrie's still in charge.
I would be happy to have John Collins or Tony mobray back as manager but my first choice would be Paul Elliot. He has experience of Scottish football, English football and Italian football. Has also played at the highest level in all three countries. I also listned attentively to his tactical side of football when he summarized on Italian football. It is also my belief that he would demand and recieve the respect of players. Im not sure if he has managerial experience but I believe he has coaching badges and excellent organisation skills.:agree:
Stevie, players weren't trying to get JC sacked. They raised their concerns with him directly and he refused to discuss them. What option did they have but to raise them with his boss? That was from one of those accused of being at the centre of it, face-to-face. And our record sale... :wink:
JC's 'my way or the highway' approach is OK on paper but not in real life where you have to deal with a load of individuals and mould them into a cohesive team. Man-management skills were sadly lacking which meant he had no chance of implementing the fitness and off-field stuff that undoubtedly would have been good long-term. The way we played under him was dross too - that early run we went on was despite playing shockingly in at least a few of those games and later on we were playing the same but not getting the results.
No, we need proven, top-level experience for the managers position. If the board are worthy of top-dollar for their positions, so is the managers job. A good manager is worth 5 good players IMHO [fb echo there!] so lets start from the top this time around eh? Instead of going down a route that's clearly not been successful for us of ex-players with little or no experience in the top seat...
Would love JC back at Hibs as Manager. I think he will have learnt a great deal from his last stint and wouldn't make the same mistakes with the players as he did previously.
However, his ambitions for Hibs are far greater than the Hibernian Board's sadly, and for that reason I can't see him being prepared to return, or the Hibs Board wanting him back for that matter.
I've now had several mates of other footballing persuasions ask me what the deal is with George Burley being in the running. Is he just one of the myriad of names that have "thrown their hat into the ring" (whatever that refers to) and been linked in some rag, or is there something more concrete behind the rumour?
I must admit, I've not seen his name mentioned in dispatches. What sort of odds would you get for Burley to become next manager, and what do people think of the - probably remote - possibility??
Does he not have a job just now?
Yep, i'm sure he's at Crystal Palace.