Wife has bought three different items online recently and all arrived with security tags still on. I should add ordered from a proper retailer so nothing dodgy just incompetent staff.
Printable View
When you order a supper from the chippy and they don’t lift the main item up so that you get salt and sauce on the chips underneath. Criminal behaviour.
Finally found an exercise regime I loved and got into - fives, outdoor swimming and jogging. Just felt my calf go earlier and in agony.
Always struggle to keep things going and really, really pissed of at it.
When you are back to fitness start to incorporate calf raises into your routine.
I used to suffer with horrendous calf issues and after consulting a physio she showed me a few exercises, foam rolls etc to try but said the calf raise was still the gold standard. She suggested a regular runner should be able to do about 20 single leg raises and still feel comfortable. You don't run on 2 legs at the same time so the single leg raise makes sense. You can add in double leg, weighted etc if/when you feel they are needed.
Defo not an Achilles tear as was able to hobble about yesterday if not put much weight in it but done a lot of those stretches and went for a 40 minute cold water swim this morning and the distance is remarkable. Limping but at work and able to pull my weight in some capacity. Able to do a lot more stretches after that swim too - was absolutely freezing but body is acclimatised to it to last a fair bit in there.
Still know it’s tender and weakened but from being on the couch all Thursday with ice packs and agony to today is remarkable.
Thank you 👍
When Amazon sends an alert saying your package is 8 (or however many) stops away. “Click to see where on the map it is”. When you click there is no map!
Brits abroad - or at least some of them.
I was summoned this afternoon to sort out my French resident's permit (merci Brexit !). There was about 20 of us in the waiting room, all expats with more than half of retirement age.
About half the people there didn't speak a word of French. When the staff spoke to them they ploughed on in English without even attempting a "oui" or a "non". These are people that live here but mix exclusively in wee Brit cliques and make no effort to integrate.
I'd deport the lot of them if it was up to me. Ignorant tossers!
It's the same in Germany and many of those who refuse to integrate actually dislike living here and constantly moan about the Germans. There's a large ex-pat community living in Berlin, I know a few that have been here for decades who can barely speak a word of German and are proud of the fact.
People who think that talking is some kind of race to get as many words out as possible within the shortest period of time.
People who can’t be bothered to ensure they get to work on time. Pretty obvious that if your bus gets stuck in traffic nearly every day and makes you late that you need to leave the house earlier and get an earlier bus surely?
And in Switzerland. You can easily get a job in a multi national here, bank or similar, and never really have to speak a word of German, French or Italian.
Lazy ********s (although very nice in other ways as some are my mates, or usually their American wives)
I saw a thread about this elsewhere about a woman who claimed no matter what she did she was always late and things always seemed to happen to her that made her late. Absolute *****.
I had friends come to mine for a bbq over the summer, one car was here on time and the other was over an hour late, by which time the food was charcoal and 3 of the 4 that were late were vegan so they had to cook their own ****ing food before we could sit down to eat.
People who call the tomato sauce that baked beans come in “bean juice”.
It’s not.
I honestly think if I added up all the hours I have been early in my life I'd find I'd lost about a month.
I get to the airport 3 hours before a flight, I'm at work at least half an hour early every morning, I hang about outside restaurants because I'm there 15 minutes before my booking, I drink an extra pint each time I meet anyone in a pub because I've arrived 25 minutes before we agreed to meet etc etc..
I hate lateness with a passion and can't be ersed with people who think it's some positive character trait. It's just rude and if it's habitual and you make no effort to change that then that makes it worse. Like Matty says on the odd occasion I have been late I get really stressed and panicky about it.
cannot agree more with every point :agree:
my brother and his wife are always late, family meals, family get togethers, everything. It’s rude, disrespectful and selfish, and they don’t give a toss about anyone else that’s waiting on them. It’s not unusual for them to be an hour late, and there’s not ever a ‘sorry’ or anything like that.
Anybody that gets annoyed about people being late would have a great time with my family.
My Mum and Dad used to drive through to visit when my kids were still small, and would arrive at least 45 minutes after they said they were going to arrive. In fact, one time they were an hour and a half late... and the drive to our house from theirs was only 50 minutes.
My sister was 45 minutes late for my wedding, which she blamed on her three year old son.
My other sister was 30 minutes late for her own wedding.
We had a memorial for my Mum recently, ten years after she passed away, and me an the Missus were the only ones that turned up on time. The others arrived between 20 and 45 minutes late.
We then agreed to meet at My Sister's house afterward, and my Sister and Dad turned up nearly an hour after we did.
I went to the football last weekend and arranged to meet my Dad and my Nephew for a cuppa before hand. They were only 30 minutes late, which must be some kind of record for them. My Dad blamed my sister for dropping the kid off late at his house. My sister then blamed her son (yep same sister, same son, over ten years later).
You lot would have a meltdown, seriously!
I’m another for the lateness. I’m always on time, but have to constantly deal with lateness from others. The thing that gets me is it’s always another excuse as the late party turns up all flustered. It’s never their fault, but the majority of people manage to get through life without the same dramas.
Mate I’m sitting here raging on your behalf. I couldn’t cope with that - I’d definitely be in an argument every time with them - I can’t not say a comment to someone when late. Same at work - I give a couple of minutes grace and I dial off or leave the meeting room.
I was always told you’re better being 15 mins early that 5 mins late.
I’m not sure of the petrol station etiquette, but it annoys me when people use the pump and then go into the shop. It might be they haven’t paid at the pump, but I can’t help but assume it’s to buy non petrol related stuff. I always pay at the pump and then if I want anything from the shop find a parking space away from the pump.
Up there with my lateness peeve is bad manners, rudeness and downright ignorance. And those people that seem to look down their nose at you as if they’re better than you and therefore wouldn’t lower themselves to thank or even acknowledge your gesture or words of kindness. Utter morons.
The tesco I fill up at hasn't got parking spaces for the shop.
Surely paying at the pump, then finding a parking space to then go into the shop for a few bits of shopping takes more time than leaving the car at the pump and going in, buying whatever you need and paying for it all at the same time?!
The main joy of pay at pump is the need to not have to interact with anyone.
Bliss is a day without speaking to anyone except my wife.
Needless packaging in shops.
Seriously why do bananas need wrapped in a plastic bag? Nature has quite literally given them a perfect natural wrapping. Same with carrots, potatoes, cucumbers etc. There is absolutely no need for any of them to be packaged.
I always pay in the shop as I find it takes ages for the pay at the pump to come off my card.
Repeating a peeve of mine once more. Just saw erstwhile pretty, Kimberly Wyatt on the telly who has joined the plug, duck-faced brigade by having her lips stereotypically puffed up. What are these women thinking about? They look as if they all belong to one race or nationality or have a physical deformity.
When people say "rightfully" when they should use "understandably".
e.g. The player was rightfully angry that a foul wasn't awarded.
Pub toilets with a stupid symbol on the door.
That would be an instant ex-communication from my family, **** that for a laugh.
I find lateness with no prior warning another level of inconsiderate. You *know* you're going to be late before you actually are, so text ahead saying "having a mare here, going to be 30 minutes late" or whatever, then apologize when you get there. I can't stand folk being late - 5-10 minutes can happen to anyone, but any more than that and you're entering The Realm of the late Twat IMO
nah I’m with you, I hate lateness, I’m pathologically punctual/early, and get stressed when I think I might be less than 10 minutes early!
we often tell my brother a time that’s an hour ahead of when we actually want them there. Funnily enough to your point about calling or texting to say,he tried that one at the weekend, complaining of traffic etc, I’m convinced it was an attempt to imply we should all be appreciative of his heroic efforts to get there, rather than just trying to be on time like everyone else
These Checkatrade and Trusted Trader sites. We looked for a roofer off both sites and the majority of the ones we contacted never bothered to reply.
Now I know they're all particularly busy this autumn but surely it's unprofessional to just ignore calls?
The Trade sites would have you believe these firms are wonderful. Five star reviews wall to wall.
Aye right! It's a con.
Umbrella etiquette. Amount of times you’re walking down the road and nearly get one of the ****ers in the eye.
How much easier it is to come up with things for here than the “little things that give you pleasure” thread.
The TfE Bus & Tram app. When using the Plan Trip function it regularly denies all knowledge of the 22 which stops at our nearest bus stop which is a 2 min walk from the house. It either suggests other less regular buses from the same bus stop and offers an elaborate multi change journey to get you back to somewhere where the 22 would have taken direct, or sends you on a trek to another bus stop.
A tram stop is a few minutes round the corner from the same bus stop. It never offers the tram as a suggestion even where it would get you into town quicker.
Google maps gets it right more often in terms of routes but their times are often a bit iffy.
People who refer to their wife, husband etc as their 'partner in crime'.
One of my mates always calls his wife "la patronne" (female boss). In fact he calls everyone's wives the same thing.
Even in general conversation he'll say stuff like "sa patronne a parlé avec ma patronne" (his boss spoke to my boss).
I've known him about 25 years and he's always done it. I found it pretty funny at first, and it still doesn't bother me TBH.
Gregg Wallace.
I love living in a nice rural area, but the catchment area of the secondary schools is huge. 30 minutes each way to take my daughter to a pal's house for a Halloween party, then the same again tomorrow morning to pick her up - that takes a fair lump out the weekend.
The absolute roaster who's had halloween decorations on their house for a full 2 weeks prior to the 31st. Its nothing more than showing off saying look at me, look at my house, who the **** puts a giant spider on a web across the front of their house. Horrendous stuff.
Guisers anaw, they'll be told bolt if they chap my door. (1) because I hate them and (2) because I've currently got Covid 19 and I'm having to isolate in my house alone. :grr:
There’s someone in my street like that. Something new has appeared every few days. The spiders web appeared last week.
I was shocked at some of the guisers. Hardly any of them even said anything just expected stuff to be doled out to them. A wee girl actually led with “give me sweets now” and the parents seemed cool with that!
I was absolutely delighted that none of the little ****s came to my door although I live in a flat with secure entry so it was unlikely they'd get in anyway. I never have and never will entertain this halloween pish. It so commercialised now and not to mention Americanised. The bit in bold is quite ridiculous, parents should be ashamed.
Loads of people in my street had Halloween decorations up. I don't mind it really, it was good to see kids out enjoying themselves.
Kids is the key though. I've always been bemused by adults who are a bit too into it. I know a group, all in their 20s and 30s with no kids, who were dressed up and having a party on Saturday. WTF? Different even in your late teens/early 20s when it's one of the big club nights of the year but having a house party to dress up as ghosts and zombies. I don't get it.
With the amount of pampas grass in gardens in the development that I've recently moved to, I wouldn't be surprised if those sort of parties were going on!
I can't wait to see what on Earth will be put up on people's houses and in their gardens at Christmas around here given the apparent Halloween decoration wars over the past few weeks.
One house has actually taken down the Halloween decorations today and replaced them with Christmas lights!