I agree but I'd say it's more an issue with men who have the requirement to wear a tie regularly, such as an office job etc, but don't learn how to do it properly. it smacks of a lack of standards.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
Printable View
Pubs taking the piss with prices post lockdown. A mate of mine was in the Haymarket bar and was charged £5.80 for a pint of tennents. Thats horrendous.
Double parking, boxed in when ready to go to work, having to wait for the selfish nonchalant gits to return to their vehicles.
I hate the Haymarket Bar with a passion.
I've been in about 4 or 5 times in my life and every time there is a problem and the service is generally crap.
I was in on Friday. Went to the bar and ordered 2 Tennents. Guy pouring them made a mess of it, foam spilling everywhere, kept trying to top it up, had the nozzle right in the beer, poured some out and repeat and repeat. Took about 5 minutes to pour 2 pints. Got to a table, took a sip and it was warm and completely flat. Took it back to the bar and said we wanted fresh ones. He mumbled something about just having changed the keg. Said just give us Peroni instead and he tried to charge us an extra £2.20 because we had to have something we didn't want because of their problem. We refused and just left.
Shambles of a pub.
The £2.20 extra was for the 2 pints. Which still makes it £6.50+ a pint and that's still scandalous.
Peroni is overrated as well as overpriced. It comes in a fancy glass and it's deemed more acceptable than ordering Tennents by some people so they will happily be ripped off when drinking it.
Dressing inappropriately. I might just be a dinosaur now, or too judgemental, or both. However was at East Links Family Park today and the amount of children, and I’m talking about 7-10 year olds, in yoga legging things and tops that in essence are little more than bras, with less of their torso covered than visible.
Maybe it’s the fact I’ve got a daughter coming up to 3 that I’m more aware of these things but I’d not want her to dress like that when she was 30 never mind as a child!
People who put an R into the word Chicago. It’s to the best of my knowledge never had an R in its title. I’m watching the mls game and I’m sure the commentator is doing it.
**** cover songs, specifically taking a great tune and covering it in the style of a busker. That god awful one of Robyn’s ‘Dancing On My Own’ is a prime example. Original was a banger, cover was absolutely dire and charmless.
to have achieved that would have required said foot to have been removed from his mouth so debatable.
this is a joke, for all the raging snpers. I have no issue with him.
most politicians now look like scruffy barstewards.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
Greed, that's it, greed!
Just heard an acquaintance of mines lost their family pet.
This guy has a massive house, multiple cars, a successful business but still wanted to make a bit more coin by jumping on the (currently) massive puppy market trend.
With zero experience, he got his bitch pedigree forcibly pregnant (apparently the dogs were manually stimulated before throwing in to a small cage) but due to his dog being relatively young (had only been through a couple of seasons), there was complications, the puppies died in the dog and the bitch itself succumbed.
Kids are devastated, and all for money that they don't need!
Absolute manks who leave rubbish in their shopping trolleys. Went to Asda tonight and treated to a used tissue in one, 2 milkshake bottles in another and a receipt, a shopping list and a crushed fag packet in the 3rd.
Use a ****ing bin.
I'm a real ale enthusiast. Its just not true that supermarket beer is cheap. Far from it. Its very expensive these days to buy real ale the real ale from anywhere.
If pubs are charging 6.50 a pint please don't blame supermarkets as its a completely different market altogether.
I don't think you've any idea of this issue to be frank.
Can try that post again without the needlessly aggressive tone
Bye.
Ahh the dangers of real ale [emoji1787][emoji1787]
How does one say that the other doesn't have a clue about the subject other than sounding that wee bit condescending or cruel. Its not easy? Probably banned for saying the truth. I wasn't abusive but nae worries. The clique is the main thing not free speech. Bye/
Well this thread took an interesting turn overnight!
Looks like someone can't tell difference between lager and real ale! [emoji1787][emoji1787]
Which relates to a pet peeve to get this back ontrack,
Folks that spout off about real this, real ale that and look down on others that drink lager.
When I come across it they've normally 'had a few' so I'm assuming they actually can't handle their drink of choice!
I've a work colleague down south who is on the CAMRA board and he's not anything like that at all, we've even had lager together when in some less salubrious establishments.
Restaurants and pubs/bars that keep different hours to those stated on their websites.
That’s a few times over the past couple of weeks where we’ve turned up somewhere having checked the opening hours/food serving hours on their website only to find it shut or turned away because they are closed or told they stop serving food at a different time as what’s stated on their website.
Tennents provokes a real reaction.
Whenever it is mentioned online there is a queue of people desperate to tell you how much they hate it. It's like they are terrified that if they don't get their comment in they will be tainted by some kind of association.
I like good beer and other good alcohol and will happily pay more where I think it is merited. If I go to a shop that has Augusteiner Helles I'll stock up regardless of the price as one example. The generic, mass produced lagers most 'mainstream' pubs sell all taste broadly the same though. You get the odd one that has something like Pilsner Urquell on that stands out but most of the usual suspects are all about perception. If I'm in a boozer that has 4 or 5 of said lagers on then I'll order Tennents. Primarily because a well poured, well kept pint of Tennents is nice and I like it. Secondly because I'm not paying x amount more for a pint of Stella that tastes similar and at the end of the day leads to the exact same outcome.
A well kept pint of Tennents is fantastic. But the canned stuff is rank these days, no snobbery from me, just hate the taste of it.
I know it’s meant to be funny and wind up rangers fans, but it’s getting a bit tiresome reading posts along the lines of …’there’s no such club as rangers, they died years ago, etc etc’, or the extended equivalent…’stop saying old firm, they don’t exist since rangers died’
aye, we all know, and I doubt there’s many rangers fans likely to be reading our threads, please stop spamming us 😊
People who play loud music in their gardens and aren't able to occasionally enjoy the peace.
There's a couple who live near us who can't be in their garden without blasting out god awful music out of their living room window and it spoils anyone elses opportunity to enjoy a bit of peace and quiet. It really annoys me.
I get this. I'd add comedians. The number of folk who go out their way to post 'they don't see whats funny about...". Music, comedy, books is all personal taste. We've all got our own filters, the stuff we like, the stuff we don't and the stuff in the middle. If you don't like it, its probably not for you.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
The daytime 'Soccer Saturday' type show being called Sportscene as well as the nighttime highlights show, meaning I end up with 2 recordings every Saturday instead of just one!
I read this post about 4 days ago and had to search up the original version as I really didn’t know how it sounded - which was in itself quite embarrassing considering the line of work that I used to be in.
All I’ll say is thanks. It’s been on a continuous loop in my head since then! 🙄
I'm sure I already posted about this on this thread as it really does my head in.
What's worse are radio stations who then act as if the originals don't exist as they're no longer played.
I still remember my daughters commenting on Tears for Fears "cover" of Mad World the first time they heard it.
Way behind on all of this interesting discussion. The dropping of ABV has always been a regular tactic for brewers normally to make it cheaper to manufacture (less duty to HMRC) whilst keeping the rate charged to On or Off Trade customers the same i.e. better margins.
Doing it to Premium brands (normally 5% plus) is difficult and can end up damaging the long term premiumisation of the Brand, short term gains long term effect not so good.
Interestingly note to this trend was Heineken, way back the UK was the single market in the world where a lower ABV was brewed, rational in the 70's was the British session drinker could not handle sessions on the 5% job lol. About 15/20 years ago they completely withdrew the low ABV from the UK then reintroduced back as the global 5%.
I would like to add, on the whole lager v real ale debate, I can't handle the gaseousnes of lager, it's a health thing, so prefer the 'flat' real ale, that doesn't release co2 into the atmosphere 😉
Thinking you can get away with a basket at the supermarket then staggering around trying to carry the thing with 3 heavy items still to get.
This is probably a generational thing, but the tendency of people generally aged between 20 and 30 who go on a two week holiday and then define themselves as "globe trotters".
No one of that generation can simply just go on a holiday anymore, oh no, everything has to be conveyed as some sort of Indiana Jones styled adventure.
I think it can be summed up with the type of knobends who posts the "inspirational" quotes on Instagram to show just how "inspirational" their trip is, usually accompanied by a photo with them looking "inspired" with their back to the camera as if no one has the faintest idea of just how set up the entire scene is.
I had the misfortune to find myself in a group of young backpackers in Khaosan road, Bangkok. The conversation was pretty much "so have you been to Koh Samui"...YES
Oh, "so have you done pacific coast highway"...Yes
Oh "so have you done Morocco"...YES
Oh "so have you done Machu Pichu"...No
Oh you havent lived unless you've done Machu Pichu...assholes!
People who moan endlessly about anything and everything on HibDotNet.
Damnit, I've just criticised myself there....
Andrew Castle. How does being a **** tennis player qualify you to present programmes about politics and the world around us?
Answer: it doesn’t. He’s an arrogant, ignorant thick as pig**** sub tabloid bore.
My girlfriend always insists on taking a basket rather than a trolley - or in the case of a really big shop - two baskets. Annoys the hell out of me.
She always wants to walk there rather than take the car then moans at the bags cutting into her hand on the way back!
Completely agree. They leave their trolleys in the middle of the aisles without any care or consideration. Best thing to do is bash into their trolley while looking sideways at the items, then going on to apologise for not seeing their trolley which shouldn't be there in the first place. Give it a good hit and they soon get the idea.
Final moan of the day… online recipe website where you have to scroll past screeds of photos and text before you actually get to the recipe!
People who enter your business make an unreasonable request and when you tell them no they reply with “I will give you a bad review then”
Every second work call I’m on people seem to confuse the word Pacific with specific. Now I’ve noticed it it’s driving me mad!
Toothache. Finally got my tooth fixed today but the pain for the last few days was unbearable.
When you try to help someone and they don't make any effort to help themselves.
A mate of mine shared a post on Facebook the other week from his cousin, just a young lad. Post said he had lost his job, was desperate for work, had a girlfriend and 2 year old to support and would do anything. My work has a warehouse job going, we pay well, plenty overtime if you want it and it's a good bunch of guys in there. Messaged the guy and asked him to email me a CV and I'd speak to the boss. I couldn't guarantee him the job but there would definitely have been an interview. 2, 3, 4 days pass and no CV, I've already had a word with the boss and he asks me about it. Chase the guy up, he reads the message but no response, chase him again, nothing. I thought he might have sorted himself with something, in which case not replying is a bit rude but no harm done. Then last night he's back again. Really desperate now, no one is willing to help me, will do anything etc etc.
If he had sent me that CV nearly 2 weeks ago there is a good chance he would have been working by now with a weeks pay at £11 an hour under his belt......
We have glazed double doors that look on to the garden. Currently the right hand one is wide open and the other is shut.
There's a very noisy fly that keeps buzzing about my head and and around the room. Every 2-3 minutes I hear it battering off the closed left hand door then it comes back to buzz around my head, etc. before yet again battering off the left hand door, and so on...
WTF is that all about?
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...5ca843fae7.jpg
Curry's PC World. I had a few dealings with PC World and never had a problem - since the merger, I've had a couple of bad experiences but the latest took the biscuit.
Took my laptop in for repair under a repair policy. The policy is supposed to guarantee a 7-day fix and return. Upon handing the laptop over, I'm told I'll get it back in 11 days. I explain the policy guarantees 7 days. After some computer-staring, the employee tells me that was the PC World policy, not the Currys PC World policy.
As it happens, I had to dance this dance with them last time I had a device in for repair, so I summarise that experience and provide the reference for the employee to check the notes on the system. After about ten mins of reading, she informs me that, even if it's a 7-day policy, Covid means they won't be able to guarantee that. I ask what she means by that and she says the logistics are different. I ask what she means by that and she can't explain it. I give in and sign the docs (noting on them that I'll be making a complaint). She refuses to accept it due to my note. I ask to see a manager. She tells me she's a supervisor. I ask to see a manager. She disappears and returns alone. Without a word she accepts the paperwork, takes the laptop and hands me a docket/receipt.
On Day 10 of 11, I get a text update to advise that "Covid-19 measures have caused delay to your order" and it'll take a further three days. When I pick it up on Day 14, I ask what caused the additional delay. They tell me it was Covid. I bite my tongue from making the anti-virus joke I though of after leaving last time and have waited 14 days to crack. I ask what specifically caused the delay. The response is a blank stare.
After some verbal nudging, I get a vague, rambling explanation which includes mind-blowing revelations about a pandemic which has apparently been going on for a while, social distancing and sanitising work surfaces. I ask why none of this was forseeable when my original 7-days was extended to 11-days. The employee checks the system. We dance the old policy/new policy dance again. The exchange draws to a close when he tells me they aren't advising customers of specific Covid-delays at drop-off time. Again, I give up. He tells me he'll review what repairs were carried out. I watch him read three to four paragraphs of info before summarising for my benefit "yeah, it's fixed!"
Kids football games 100km away from home with an 8am kick-off on a Sunday morning.
Tinpot clubs like Motherwell playing ned tunes after they score a goal, 2:23 of the following video for an example : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EZKGllnKLnE
People involved in Formula 1 and Formula 1 fans calling Qualifying "quali", especially Scottish people which I put in the same bracket as someone north of the border using the word "worldie", absolutely horrific.:agree:
Describing competitors as tinpot. Up there with "famous" and "wee team".
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
People that don't have the balls to quote a post when taking a pot shot.
Checkout operators who comment on nearly every single item of your shopping. Just scan the ****** things and let me pack them quickly.
Neighbour who comes out and wants to chat every time I go out to do something to the car, garden or anything!! I’m polite I’ll say hello to you, help you if you have a problem but I’m not your best mate. So just stay inside your own home and let me get on with my task!!!
We had a guy in our football team who compulsively said everything he was about to do just before he did it. "Walking to car, putting the key in the lock, turning the key, opening the door and getting in the car". Apparently it started when his therapist told him to do it as a way of combating his stutter, but it became compulsive. We didn't let him take penalties.
Overuse of the words 'disgrace' and 'shambles' to describe situations which are in any way imperfect.
Clicking on an interesting looking article link on the BBC Sport football page only to find out it's about women's football.