I understand.
Printable View
People who pronounce the word 'particularly' as 'particuly'.
If they work on TV and are paid to speak for a living (news presenters, reporters, weather presenters) then surely there's no excuse for not knowing how to pronounce a very common word
EDIT: As I'm writing this, the weather presenter on BBC News just said it!
On the topic of pronunciation, or maybe enunciation.
There's a regular presenter on Channel 4's "A place in the sun", Jean Johannsson (wife of Jonatan) who when taking about shared pools insists on calling them "commonal" instead of "communal".
Bursts my heid every time!
People who hang bedsheets spray painted with “Happy 50th Sandra” or the like on them onto road signs and railings. Nobody cares and half the time they come loose and flap into traffic.
Anyone who goes F instead of TH, Fink, Fanks. The Beast from the Chase does it all the time.
The way Mick Jagger pronounces "Angie" in the song.
DefinATEly instead of definitely.
All the footballers do it - even our guys despite being perfect in every other way.
Bad customer service for no apparent reason.
Journey into Waverley this morning:
- Automatic ticket barriers not in operation, so one person checking tickets manually resulting in a big queue, folk grouped together and an unnecessary delay. I've arrived at the same platform four times over the past two weeks and the barriers have been out of operation each time.
- Sainsburys - massive queue at "manned" checkouts so folk being encouraged to use self-service. Red lights indicating problems on three of the self-service checkouts, but the only two staff members around are on the other checkouts.
- McDonalds - can only order on the app. Ask staff member why - says she doesn't know.
Was a great start to the day.
Folk on Facebook Marketplace. I’ve been listing bits of furniture over the past couple of weeks prior to my house move next weekend. I’ve lost count of the number of messages I’ve had where it has gone:
Potential buyer: Hi, is this still available?
Me: Yes, it is.
Then absolutely nothing after that.
On the subject of private adverts, wildly over optimistic adverts.
The first is pricing. I buy old bangers of cars as I don’t like modern cars, but the amount of times you’ll see a 100k mile Corsa or Fiesta, fifteen years old in terrible condition and they’re asking over a grand for it is amazing.
Similarly “in amazing condition with no issues” for an old high mileage car is just not honest. There will always be something and if you mention it then you’re not wasting anybodies time. Usually accompanied by “no time wasters”.
Nightingales, living in the country I'm more than used to the dawn chorus of the normal feathered friend variety, but these little *******s just don't stop. All ****ing night without a break they keep on and ****ing on. Think I've got a whole flock nesting in the trees next to my house and their call keeps changing between a 1990's mobile phone ringtone and a bin lorry reversing. Little *******s.
I’m never selling anything on that site again. Murder.
I was selling my boys old PS4. I saw there was a few on for £100-110 so I thought I’d just put his on at £90 to get rid of it quickly.
Agreed a price, guy double checked the price, called me to check the price while he was at the cash machine....
Gave me £80 and hoped I wouldn’t notice, called him out on it and he started trying to negotiate me selling it for £80. Told him to get to **** and he hung about outside my house periodically increasing his offer by a pound or so at a time.
Ended up turning into a point of principe snd argued with the boy in the street for the sake of a pound or two.
I might be the dick there but the way the guy went about it really annoyed me.
Restaurant no shows, the Italian restaurant next to us had two no shows tonight, one group of twelve and one table for two. Times are hard enough without erseholes making reservations and not turning up, all it takes is a phone call to cancel.
There's no excuse for that. I even call if we're going to be late.
Prior to things going tits up with Covid, a lot of restaurants here were starting to take deposits when you booked, especially during peak periods. Some folk were in uproar but I don't see the problem.
You were quite right. Happened to me a few times on Gumtree, won't use it again for that reason. Happened to me once with a good quality oak dining table, bloke was a landlord, tried to haggle, didn't want to deal in cash. I ended up giving it to my neighbour who had just moved o Edinburgh and was saving for a deposit for a house. I'd rather give my stuff away than have my time wasted by really obvious chancers (not all are, but too many for my liking).
“Accepting mediocrity”.
I accept the fact we lost today, that I can’t change that and am now having a lovely evening.
Some people to think that they need to be perma-angry if something doesn’t go their way and I cannot begin to understand what life with that mindset must be like.
I had a very similar experience with a guy who'd agreed to buy a drinks cabinet for £100. Turned up and offered £80 with no explanation for the drop. It was prob worth £200 so told him we'd agreed £100. He then handed me £90 without acknowledging it was £10 short.
We ended up arguing with him trying to give me an extra tenner and me trying to give him his £90 back as I'd decided not to sell to him. He ended up offering £120 but I still told him no on principle. It was totally cutting off my nose to spite my face and my wife was raging, but I don't regret it. Ended up selling for £60 to a really nice older couple.
Janey Godley. She’s on Have I Got News For You now. Holy **** she’s the worst.
I got rounded on by the women in my office for saying this the other day. They all love her and think her Sturgeon voice over things are comedy genius. I got called all sorts for standing by my point.
She's pish and about as funny as a boot in the baws with steel toe capped boots. That's nothing to do with her being a woman either, as was insinuated in my work. There are loads of funny women, she just isn't one of them.
Agree. The first video was funny, she's dined out on them now. I think she tried to become the spokesperson for Scotland last night to get herself trending on twitter, it's a self promotion thing.
David Mitchell on the other hand, very funny in general and good to hear him speaking out against the BBC last night, brave when they're paying your wage. His wife is brilliant when she hosts the show too.
Again going back to private advertisements, “First to see will buy”. It’s fairly over confident, this was on a Ford Fiesta I travelled twelve miles to view and turned it down within five minutes of arriving as it was rusty underneath. They wanted a reasonable amount for it too.
Nursery graduation events and proms.
WTF?
My girlfriend keeps the remote controls next to the TV… so you have to get up when you want to change the channel. She doesn’t get that the clue is in the name (granted not many people actually call it a remote control).
Nick Ferrari. LBC was on at work and I have to ask, what qualifies this guy to host a topical phone in show? Uncharismatic, never sounds like he’s done enough research, ill informed, arrogant nobody.
They covered a story where John Lewis are going to make maternity leave and paternity leave equal. Great news.
Started off with adding a “whatever that means” to the end of JL’s press release statement that said it would apply to employees “however they became a parent” (is adoption or surrogacy really difficult to summon up for that?), appeared to call it part of the “woke agenda”, then asking how they could do that when they’ve shut stores and made some people redundant ( as if not improving working conditions for existing employees is the answer).
He then brings on an expert who says that she thinks it’s a very positive move to which he mutters “here we go”. Through her piece all you hear is breathing, sighing, shuffling of papers and the like. Extremely rude.
No idea how this talentless fat blob gets air time.
She had a few good moments in the early Sturgeon videos she did but it quickly nosedived to sub par pish to put it mildly that Glaswegians would pretend to find hilariously funny because of their need to constantly pat themselves on the back about how funny they are.
When the music and the singing of the national anthems on tv broadcasts at the footy are out of sync. I understand why it happens but there must be some way in modern technology to get it to appear even remotely close, maybe not have close ups of the players etc while it’s happening.
People who don't get what it means to live in a flat. We are in an airbnb for a couple of months between house moves and I believe the flat has actually been empty for almost two years as the host only rents it out in the summer and she didn't last year due to Covid.
Just had the downstairs neighbour knock on the door and complain "I think you've just moved in as we haven't heard any movement for a while, we're used to no noise, so can you please not walk or talk during the day it is being picked up on my Teams calls".
So, we are expected not to walk around our flat? I'm expected not to speak on my own Teams calls? We aren't jumping or stomping around or anything. I'm not shouting on my calls. The floor doesn't noticeably make a noise when you walk.
Many years ago when we lived in a flat, the elderly upstairs neighbour knocked on our door to tell us she could hear our new born son crying and she was used to quiet during the day. If we could also think of wearing headphones while we watch the TV as she does it would be greatly appreciated. Oh and one last thing, I expect you will do some minor work and renovations, please remember not to make noise during the day.!
I saw a story at the weekend about a village in the cotswolds that was told they could no longer ring the church bells. Someone who had moved into the village complained to the council and that one complaint was enough for the council to issue a noise abatement notice.
Similar happened to me years ago. I lived alone, had a f/t and p/t job so spent hardly anytime in my flat what with having a social life too, never had a single house party Came home from my f/t job to get my tea before going to my evening job, knock at the door from a fairly young newish neighbour saying she could hear me walking about. I said yeah this is true, politely at this point trying not to lol in her face. She said can I suggest you wear slippers cos that's what I do. I explained I was only home for about 30mins and left it at that. A wee while passed and I was leaving really early one morning for work when she appeared at her door as I passed, mentioned again the need for me to purchase slippers, I told her I didn't have the time to listen to her as I was rushing to work and to see me later. Never heard from her for months, then she knocked my door again, this time she said she could hear my TV and what she did was use headphones and suggested I considered doing the same. She said she done it as a consideration for me and could I do the same. I told her there was no need to consider me because I was barely home and had never been bothered by the previous owners watching their TV, so I wouldn't be doing the same. I just wondered how she could have had a more ideal neighbour in a flat than a single person, working and barely spending any time in the house.
My first night in a rented flat when I was 18, there was a knock on the door about 10pm. It was an elderly lady who explained that that she lived downstairs and water was pouring into her flat from mine.
After a quick check of the bathroom and kitchen, I turned off the water and headed downstairs. Sure enough her flat was under about a foot of water. I soon found the source of the leak was under her sink. I managed to implement a temporary fix for her, but I was there til after midnight helping her clear up. I explained to her what had happened and what she needed to do to get it fixed permanently and she was very grateful.
About 6 weeks later, she posted a note through my door asking for £3k for the damage I'd caused! I spoke to her the next day and whilst she remembered loads about that night, her recollection was the leak had been from my flat. She also couldn't remember me spending more than two hours helping her clear up.
I can only assume she was at it but to this day I'm not 100% certain.
Some people have no respect for their neighbours right to peace and quiet at certain times of the day and rightly need to be called out about it. Just a couple of days ago my neighbour was banging on my door and ringing the bell at 3 o'clock in the morning, that's just a no go for me and ringing people's bells or calling them between the hours of 21:00 and 8am is completely disrespectful. Luckily I was still awake at the time practising my bagpipes.
E-scooters.
Or more specifically fully grown adults, and it always seems to be men, careering about the pavements on them with no attempt to avoid wiping out everything in their path. If you don't get out their way they aren't stopping.
Reminded me of a Christmas day episode. We lived top flat and there was a knock on the door from the couple on the bottom. My wife's bath came through to them as backwash and what were we going to do about it? There was a blockage below ground and this tipped it over. While we were sympathetic to the issue what were they expecting us to do? Grant access to a plumber to their flat? Didn't even ask us to limit water going down the pipes..
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
People that don’t realise how insurance claims work and think they have no need to contact their own insurers.
The overuse of the term "imposter syndrome" on social media to disguise a not so humble brag. I'm not arguing that it isn't an actual condition for some, but the need for a dopamine hit on social media has reduced it's meaning to "attention seeking".
"I've just been promoted to a senior management position at 28 years old and I earn 125k a year and I'm responsible for the global supply network of a multinational company and I'm suffering from imposter syndrome"
Social Media translation - "LOOK AT ME!!!!!!!!!!"
People who wheel their baskets around in Lidl tripping up everyone in sight. You’re not five years old, pick it up ffs.
Utterly dreadful songs from the 70s/80s or whatever being rebranded as classics and dominating adverts, football chants, darts walk-ons etc.
Sweet Caroline and Yes Sir I Can Boogie are the 2 most obvious examples but there are so many bad 80s songs in ads, All By Myself being another example.
I've no idea why this has just sprung to mind, but the English version of the Hokey Cokey and the rah rah rah bollocks.
Excessive security on online accounts. I had to log on to my online banking for something urgent earlier but my phone wasn’t to hand but I was on my laptop anyway. I would normally do this on my phone where the app just accepts facial recognition. However, to get in on the actual website I had to:
- Enter my user ID (had to do a reminder to get this)
- Enter my password
- Enter my security number
This wasn’t enough and was where I found out you need your phone to get in on the website because I then had to:
- Go onto the app to click a button saying that yes, I did want into my account on the website
- Wait for a text to enter a one time code.
- Enter the one time code.
What a waste of time!!
I would rather not have to go onto another medium (my phone) when I’m trying to enter via their website. What if my phone was broken?
It’s not just this example. When logging into my mobile phone account, I get a text saying that I will receive a code in around one minute. You then have to wait on the code and enter it. Then when you’re in it’s the same rigmarole when you click to go on several screens - text saying you’ll get a OTC in around a minute, etc.
There’s a balance between security and user experience. I think they’ve gone too far towards security over user experience.
Multi factor authentication is currently one of the safer options for accessing Personally Sensitive Information online. Were banks found guilty under GDPR of failing to conform with the legislation the fine could be as much as 4% of their annual turnover. Wait till Banks stop doing free banking...
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
STV News having 2 presenters and doing half sentences each.