Agree completely! Would be a brilliant first step :agree:
Printable View
Carroll is crap IMO.
I have to say your comments are way too aggressive and not conducive to open discussion. Fair enough you don't fancy Roy Carroll for us but neither did many about Leighton when he looked bereft of confidence, so an opposing position to yourself on this matter is not only valid but justified.
If he signs and struggles, you can say 'I told you so' until then I'd suggest you disagree but try to be less brusque and confrontational with your style.
Just my opinion.....
Trapattoni? You really are about as thick as that sentence you've failed to construct. Trapattoni is manager of rep of ireland. Carroll has a fair few caps for NI under managerial greats like sanchez, worthington and recently o'neill. You base your opinion of him being a great signing on what? The clubs hes warmed the bench for?
Can we keep this thread on topic please folks.
I famously remember Carroll from the blunder against spurs. As a spurs fan I was gutted that evening!!
Think we're forgetting that the poor standard of the SPL is a fairly easy league to play well in. Goalkeepers with half the talent of most championship goalkeepers can look good here.
Wayhey Sweetheart, you're good value. Why 'absolutely zero' by the way? What's the difference between zero and absolutely zero? Perhaps Zero? Roy Carroll is the most nervous footballer you've seen play, is that right? He's NEVER been first choice has he not, not even for Hull and not for Wigan? The problem with the club over the last few years has been that we've signed players on a downward spiral is it? Please show me where I said Carroll was an exciting prospect (hint: You can't - I didn't)
What a throbber!! =) How much can you get wrong in one post?
Player's (apostrophe 's') Come on, at least give me a challenge.
All I know Double H is that we've asked and he's on good money where he is but that club he's at are skint.
As opposed to the enlightened intellect you've treated us to so far.
Who is 'ant derby fan'? You've got two mates, do they know? So two people, who hold season tickets and somehow they are qualified in their opinions about goalkeepers are they? Dearie me, it's not even sport, this.
I think you are a bit wrong, regarding Leighton,world cup performances while on the Hfc books. If my memory serves me right, he was the biggest stand out goalie in the league, at the time and yet the Scotland manager of the day, decided to opt for Andy Goram, the ex-Hfc ,Rangers goalkeeper, for the three games we played in. anyone, correct me if i'm wrong, or are we talkin aboot different world cups?
http://www.newsandstar.co.uk/carlisl...errerPath=home
Never herd of him anyone know much of the guy? Mcpake&Clancy now this guy is his plan to play hanlon lb?:dunno:
sorry if posted else where!
it says on wikipedia we have signed him on a 2 year deal?
Nice to see another fellow Hibee make an ar*e out of themselves. Don't get why some people seem to think their opinion is law then get all high & mighty when people voice a different opinion. Personally I'd sign Carroll on a 1-year rolling contract to see how he does but also sign another keeper in case it turns out he's another Malkowski :greengrin
roy carroll = experiance,fight & i recon he would give the team the wee bit extra bite!
better than stack&brown so i don't see why not?
He certainly has "pedigree" but I've always thought he's looked shaky whenever I've seen him. Presumably he'd command a fairly high wage so I'd pass unless we got him at a rock bottom price wage-wise.
I would sell Hanlon. He's pish it as he is U21 capt we may get some money.
Not got wot it takes in my opinion
Yep Booth left mid .. I've said this for over a year now
Don't you feel like maybe it's time we tried Kujabi in Left Mid ?! I've heard several people talking about it, and maybe him and Hanlon could make a good attacking/defensive wing ?!
Speedway or anyone.......
Is the RC signing real or speculation?
Would be brilliant if true
If Roy suffered from depression, does he really think coming to Hibs would be a great idea?:devil:
I'd be very pleased if we were to sign Roy Carroll.
I think you've got mixed up somehow.
Leighton signed for us in 1993 and Scotland didn't play in an international tournament while he was with us. He left in 1997 for the Sheep and was then the number 1 during France 98. It was that tournament that Andy Goram walked out of the squad beforehand, thus avoiding the need for Pa Broon to choose between them.
In his pre-Hibs days, Leighton was the number 1 at the 86 and 90 World Cups with Goram in both squads - the latter as a Hibs player. Ironically, in 90, it was Goram who had a very decent claim to be number 1 as Leighton had just had an almighty clanger in the FA Cup Final and was dropped for the replay.
Edit - somehow I'd forgotten about Euro 96!! As per the post below.
In addition, I'm pretty sure (though I may be wrong) that Andy Goram was set to be first choice for the 1990 World Cup until Jimmy Greaves slaughtered Leighton on a TV programme just before the tournament started - Roxburgh decided to be defiant and play Leighton. Of course, he was at fault for the crucial Brazil goal that knocked us out of the tournament.
(BTW we did play in Euro 1996 when Leighton was with us)
I think the point the guy you quoted was making about leighton is at the time of signing him he had been binned by Man United and was at Dundee and not even getting a game, sure he was playing in the reserves. Coming to hibs resurrected his career, but when we signed him from not even getting a game at dundee people weren't exactly shouting from the rooftops about the signings.
Leighton was a great keeper but also made his fair share of clangers too, a specific 4-0 new years derby when he couldnt deal with a passback comes to mind. Back then when a keeper made a clanger he wasn't hounded out of the club by internet tough guys though.
If memory serves right the only two players in the squad that never got selected during the two weeks in 1990 were Goram and Collins both at the time playing for us. Both got summer moves and hey presto became virtual Internationl ever presents. Funny that.:rolleyes:
I think Hanlon's development has taken a battering this past 2-3 years due to the pressure put upon him with crap managers and equally bad signings, Fenlon's probably looking to get an experienced pair at the back and then allowing Hanlon to be introduced once the defense has settled into a more solid unit. There's no doubting Hanlon has talent but too much on young shoulders hasn't helped, taking a wee step back might be what he needs.
@TheTransferLad on twitter seems to think Wotherspoon is off to Sheffield United, couple of tweets on it (not a new signing but still transfer activity).
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/ar...d-hopeful.html
Petrie....sign her up! :greengrin
Agree and I think Fenlon has said previously that he likes smaller squad but with players who can play a number of positions if required.
I'm looking forward to the next few weeks, I love a signing and I always think new players are going to be the business, and they usually are for the first few weeks!
Has Kujabi ever gone on a mazy dribble like his debut again?
Not that I can remember, was saying that a few weeks back - against Killie on his debut he handled a tricky winger in Dayton extremely well, whilst turning their RB in knots on several occasions. Very quickly became a different player, though even when in poorer form, he did always offer the best balance to our back four of any of the LBs we played last year IMO.
Sadly the cup final will probably haunt him for the rest of his Hibs career.
Let's hope so!
Hopefully Fenlon can also sign some strong characters that will help lift the team through periods of adversity. Fergie always looks to sign players for Manchester United who have the mentality that he believes is required to play for them. Whilst we are obviously a world away from Man U, there's no reason why Fenlon cannot try and sign strong characters, certainly stronger than those who we have had in recent years - McPake signing would be hugely beneficial on that front.
Overall, the team needs a real injection of pace in all 3 areas, some creativity both out wide and in central midfield, and some solid defenders, as well as some real leaders on the park. Ideally, after being in the job for half an SPL season, I would hope that Fenlon knows what kind of formation that he wants to play in the majority of our games, and will hopefully sign players accordingly.
Pat Stanton spoke to me in Jan of new players arriving who look great at first. You think "wow we've got a good one here..." But then a few weeks later you see why on their cv they have gone from club to club and played very few games...
Whoever we sign this summer I hope they were established players for a reasonable period of time before.
I wouldn't. The guy is an absolute bombscare who specialises in having zero goalkeeping qualities whatsoever.
Never seen making a great save, regularly seen performing like this...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9guiLTciHk
We tried Kujabi & he was found guilty!! Seriously, I think he'll find it hard to resurrect his Hibs career but I agree 100% re Booth. Give him licence to run at people & he could be the Scottish Gareth Bale! OK, so that's a bit OTT but I really believe Booth has had a real raw deal from Hibs in last few months.
Not really baffling. He was in dire form when he dropped out then got injured I think. His confidence was shot after a number of mistakes, one game in particular when he passed back short a couple if times and I just recall him standing with head in hands watching.
It was right to take him out and keep him out, being close to relegation was not the time to be trying to get the guy through it. We were weak at the back and making mistakes every week. That largely stopped after we changed 3 of the back 4.
The game he did come and he scored covered up how awful he had been for the rest of the game.
Completely agree he was very poor in some of his latest games including selling a penalty in a derby at New Year. He is very talented however was getting caught out defensively more and more and can only assume he hasnt impressed particularly in the meantime. Who knows if he has a good pre-season and is very sharp he will likely force himself back in.
Hardly. He was given a five year contract on the back of his promising youth career and some good performances on loan at a much lower level - he was then dropped after a succession of poor performances, before getting injured.
Now there is no doubt that he had broken into the Hibs team at a very difficult time, but he did himself no favours with his performances - add to that the fact that he doesn't seem to have a definite position to play. I agree that he may be worth a shot at LM, but sadly his weak tackling and poor aerial ability meant that he was targeted by the opposition as a weak link at LB any time he played there.
I think anyone who looks at Booth play can see there is a good football player there, but whether or not he makes it is still very much up in the air. I like him and I very much hope that he makes it as a regular first team player with Hibs - but to even mention him in the same breath as Gareth Bale is hugely disrespectful to Bale.
Do you think the way he has been treated has made him more confident?:confused: Or dropping him. Boothy is a young player with a lot to learn, but when he first came in to the frame in the first team everyone was ranting and raving about him. Big future. 10x the player Kujabi is.
If he was he would be in the team. It was the correct thing to take him out of the firing line when he was in such poor form it is up to the guy to get nearer to the level expected. It may be he could do with another loan period to build his confidence again.
Kujabi has done well, a poor spell in the final doesn't really change that. Booth was playing like that week in week out before he got dropped. He was being targetted regularly as a weak link.
He's good with ball but contributed to a defence that was basically a disgrace.
He will have a future if he toughens up, he seems like a nice lad and we have had a lot of those here that are just weak minded and losers ultimately.
If he wants to make it then he needs to work his way through this and back in the team. If he is beeter than other players we have he will be in the team.
Arnason not coming to ER: -
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18355257
Rotherham United have signed Iceland international midfielder Kari Arnason.
The 29-year-old, who can also play in defence, has agreed a two-year deal which begins after his current contract with Aberdeen expires on 30 June.
Millers manager Steve Evans told the club website: "Kari is without doubt an oustanding talent.
"The lad is technically outstanding, he is very creative in the attacking third and his all-round range of passing is top class."
Arnason has recently featured in international matches against France and Sweden and becomes the League Two club's seventh signing of the summer.
He has also played for Plymouth Argyle for two seasons before joining the Dons in July last year.
Think Kujabi was ok for the first couple of games but then he started to be targeted as the weak link just like Booth.
Both seem to be similar type players in that they like to push on up the park, maybe they could be taught to work together with one covering for the other when he is on the attack.
He also needs to be taught where to stand at set-pieces. A simple thing but the amount of times he was caught out he deserved to taken out for his own protection. Continuing playing him the way he was going would have seen all confidence disappear, probably never to return. FWIW I don't think he's a left back - left mid or wing would suit him better.
I like him but he's a log way to go before his game knowledge matches his undoubted skill levels.
From SSN: Another piece of contract news from the Football League comes down at Walsall as goalkeeper David Grof signs a new one-year deal. Grof is the first out-of-contract player to sign fresh terms and manager Dean Smith is delighted.
dont listen to Chick Young, a proven waste of space. :flag:
Do we know if Johnny Hayes has been confirmed at the sheep? I really hope not I think he would be a great signing for us and he would be a player that we could get excited about watching.
Read from one of the journalists that Hayes is taking up the majority of Aberdeens budget for the year. Hayes is a decent player and someone I would like at Hibs, but thats crazy if true.
Although Hibs have never stated that they were signing targets for us,that's 3 decent players not coming to us,Swanson,Arnason and Hayes,assuming Hayes goes to the Dons. :confused:
Yup, you'll probably get slated for that post but I agree.
Swanson wanted to go down south but the other two were proven good SPL players. I know its still early days but the early signs to me aren't suggesting we've learned any lessons from previous windows.
I was hoping this summer could be a real statement of intent from our board but I'm not seeing any of that yet.
:agree: It's early days but I'm the same. If we were competing with Aberdeen for a player this is exactly the time to show that we're serious about sorting out the mess that we've become.
We simply can't afford to go another transfer windows with our fingers crossed that players are going to be good enough. We need to look at signing players that would have got into Motherwell's team last year, for example.
Yeah, i think normally though you'd be getting told to be patient, we can't sign everyone etc....
TBF i'd normally be one of the people saying it but this summer is different, we need action from the manager and the board so i was hoping for pre-contract agreements and the signing of players like you mentioned, not much signs of that so far though.
Hope you take this the right way Matty but if fans like you are saying that then i really hope the board fully understand how we're feeling, you're obviously one of the more positive hibs fans and generally stick up for and defend most things Hibs and if you're concerned like me i dread to think how worried the original doom and gloomers are!
Trapattoni is the manager of the Republic of Ireland. Carroll has won 20 caps for Northern Ireland under managerial greats like Sanchez, Worthington and more recently, O' Neill. What is your opinion of him being a great signing based upon? The clubs for whom he's warmed the bench?
If Swanson was as good as some people think he'd still be at United.
:greengrin I know what you mean!
I've always maintained that the theory behind the board's strategy has been sound, and I think the big decisions they've made (stand/training centre) will reap rewards long term. Where I think they've been found wanting is in managing the change at the club with the numerous managers coming and going.
They've clearly been well intentioned with trying to get funds in to the various managers to bring players in but we've been on a steady downward trajectory for some time now. I think the board need to make it known that it's not enough for us just to survive, there has to be genuine ambition and if they want Fenlon to make us a top 4 side then they have to fund the spend on bringing top 4 level players in. They did it with Yogi (Stokes, Miller) and we finished 4th almost despite Yogi it seems.
If there's not enough money at the club just now to fund that level of spend then the board have a duty to all of us and Fenlon, to work night and day to find a way to source those funds either through manageable borrowing or going after 'investment' (ok, it's not investment because nobody's making money, but there are folk with capital that would put money into the club at a reasonable level).
IMHO, the wrong choices this summer will cripple the club for years. We were staring into the abyss of first division football this season, as we were for a good part of the previous season. We were a result or two away from being a non-SPL club. That would be almost fatal for a club of our size. The margins are too narrow to take chances with, Fenlon needs enough money to practically guarantee top 6 football (and I know the arguments about money not being able to guarantee anything, but teams that spend more consistently do better than those that don't).
The fact he was given a 5 year contract at the beginning of the season does not mean he wasn't badly treated in the latter part of the season. From memory he didn't play after the St J game at home, a game in which he scored a superb goal. Remember, our back 4 that day was Hart, Stephens, Hanlon & Booth!! Directly in front of Booth was Ivan who gave him no cover whatsoever. I think he was only on the bench once more albeit he was injured part of the time. Re the part in bold above those are by far the weakest parts of Kujabi's game, I'd back Booth over him in those areas every time. Finally, re Gareth Bale, think back a couple of years. A young man with developing talent bought at a huge price & seen as a failure, booed by the Spurs fans. Played wide left one day through necessity & suddenly he's a hero & Harry's a genius. Of course it could have been worse, I could have compared Booth to Roberto Carlos, now no one would do that surely!!:wink: