Cav and Sergey will have a better handle on that.
However, on the basis of many years experience, I can definitely say that the investment they made in Gorgie has reaped them untold riches.
:fibber:
Printable View
Must be a nightmare when you know you cannae pay your debts!
http://mobile.bloomberg.com/news/2013-02-24/lithuanian-siauliu-bankas-agrees-to-assume-insolvent-ukio-assets.html
Link from phone so may not work. The pertinent part reads....
"Bankruptcy proceedings are planned to recover remaining assets of Ukio, including property in Scotland and elsewhere, for creditors, among whom the deposit-insurance fund will be the largest, according to the Bank of Lithuania."
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-0...io-assets.html
Not sure what the bit in bold refers to ...Quote:
Lithuanian Siauliu Bankas Agrees to Assume Insolvent Ukio Assets
Siauliu Bankas AB (SAB1L), the Lithuanian lender part-owned by the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, will assume the insured deposits of insolvent Ukio Bankas AB (UKB1L) in a deal that will almost double its size.
Siauliu will take over 2.7 billion litai ($1 billion) of Ukio deposits and assets of the same value, according to a contract signed last night with Ukio’s administrator and the state deposit-insurance fund, the Siauliai, Lithuania-based lender said in an e-mailed statement. The EBRD will grant Siauliu a 20 million-euro ($26 million) 10-year subordinated loan to strengthen its capital base for the expansion, it said.
Siauliu, which had assets of 2.9 billion litai on Dec. 31, will overtake Danske Bank A/S to become Lithuania’s fifth-largest bank by assets, after local units of Nordic lenders SEB AB, Swedbank AB, DNB ASA and Nordea Bank AB. The transaction will reduce payouts from the Baltic nation’s deposit insurer to 800 million litai, which the government plans to lend the fund.
“The achieved agreement will result in new and bigger possibilities of growth for our bank’s clientele, staff and shareholders, while the entire banking system in Lithuania will become stronger and even more competitive,” Siauliu Chairman Algirdas Butkus said in the statement.
Renewing Services
The contract, which the Lithuanian government and central bank supported, obliges Siauliu “to renew banking services for the customers of Ukio Bankas in the shortest time possible,”the Bank of Lithuania said in a separate e-mailed statement.
The Bank of Lithuania suspended Ukio’s activities Feb. 12 and appointed an administrator, saying the lender was insolvent after risky lending to related companies. Just over a year after the collapse of Snoras Bankas AB, the government was eager to avoid another bankruptcy that would test the state deposit-insurance fund.
The agreement “has ensured stability in the sector,”Sylvia Gansser-Potts, the EBRD director for financial institutions, said in an e-mailed statement.
The preliminary value of the assets transferred to Siauliu, determined by auditor KPMG Baltic, may be revised in three months after a more detailed assessment, in which case the liabilities of the parties to the contract will also be revised, the central bank said.
Bankruptcy proceedings are planned to recover remaining assets of Ukio, including property in Scotland and elsewhere, for creditors, among whom the deposit-insurance fund will be the largest, according to the Bank of Lithuania.
The EBRD owns 19.6 percent of Siauliu, which after Ukio’s collapse is Lithuania’s only publicly traded bank. Siauliu shares rose 10 percent to 0.267 euro in Vilnius on Feb. 13, when the lender announced plans to negotiate for Ukio’s assets, and closed at that same level on Feb. 22.
If I was one of the scarf twirlers and was wondering when the game was up this would be the time to lamely take to the streets and start twirling in protest, they haven't done much else except send a few more quid to the dear leader under the guise of a share issue. It's now about the manner of their demise and what the consequences are.
It might be bollock freezing and snowing down here but I am going to roll about in my back back garden in my Hibs strip to celebrate before heading to the pub.
Correct. This is exactly what's happened. As Vlad effectively had (still has?) the majority stakeholding in Ukio Bankas, he could pretty much do what he wanted with whatever money came into the bank.
Vlad would have spent some of his own money to get the bank started, but for years he's been playing with other peoples money, whether in the form of small local cash deposits to leveraging the bank's 'credit' rating to secure foreign loans and finance.
Because of Vlad running the bank by himself, he was never going to get any guarantees in this country to operate, hence the Caste Street branch never got off the ground. Years ago one of the credit rating agencies put Ukio Bankas at the lowest rating they could because of the control Vlad had over every monetary aspect of its operation. 'Loan' cash to UBIG, and the trail of the money starts to get difficult to follow.
In turn of course any profits made by Ukio/UBIG could be squirrelled away to 'business' operations in various tax havens. In the initial offer document for HoMFC there were listed quite a few offshore companies in places such as the Cayman Islands. I would imagine Vlad has put quite a bit into these bolt holes over the years in case a situation like we're seeing now happening.
All very similar to Robert Maxwell for me .
It was such a jolly good idea for the Hearts fans to chip in just before Christmas to 'save' the club from something which is going to happen anyway!
If I ever needed a new conservatory built, just before the bank came to repossess my home, I'd make a phone call to the Merchiston Hearts Supporters Club, I'm sure they'd rally round.
It amazes me how the Hearts fans are doing nothing to save their club right now. We had Hands Off Hibs they have a Sale On Scones.
Will these smelly ****s just not die .one city one clib ggtth
The yams were stupid enough to fall for his sales pitch while the rest of Scotland was raising it's collective eyebrows. There's no evidence to suggest they've grown any smarter in the interim.
As a side note, it's almost exactly 2 years since he ordered himself a wee jet plane so he could tour his empire. He's flown into a wee bit of turbulence since then :greengrin
Don't want to pour any cold water on the Thread which has a lovely cosy warmth to it today, or come over like a brokeback poster, but what will the New Bank mean by " intending to liquidate the property assets in Scotland ....... "
Could it simply mean sell them off to the highest bidder ?
Step forward some maroon cardigan wearing consortium !
Will somone please allay these groundless fears.
As they don't own Tynecastle the administrators of Ukio will first have to begin proceedings against Ubig. Once an administrator is appointed there Hearts will be deducted 18 points and sit at the foot of the SPL. As they have no cash and cannot generate a surplus, an administrator will quickly move to wind the company up as they have no way of getting their fees other than the sale of assets. Their only asset is Tynecastle which is worth more vacant than with a tennant. There is no sign that there are any bidders with enough money to outbid a property developer.
Finish the season? They'll be lucky to finish the week.
Time for them to start kicking Russian hats about outside that ramshackle stand again!
Regardless of what we Hibees think of Hearts, it would be a very daring developer that knocked down Tynecastle to build houses. How would he persuade people in that area to buy a home on the graveyard of Hearts? If Easter Rd was knocked down in similar circumstances would you buy a house on the site? I know I wouldn't.
The percentage of people who care about Hibs or Hearts that much that it would stop them buying the house they want is quite small. 450,000 people live in Edinburgh but only about 20,000 people would consider themselves regular attendees at Tynecastle. Let's face it, if the right house at the right price was available then a good few Hearts fans would tell themselves that it's not their fault the club went bust and it's time to move on, and anyway the wife really wants that flat.
A developer will want to sell homes. Hearts home support is a Shan wee percentage of the local population (3% being generous) which leaves at least 97% of the property buying public who couldn't give a stuff about hearts. Buy that land would be my advice to a developer
There are far more people in Edinburgh who don't care about football than there are those who do. These houses would sell no problem apart from the smell from the brewery and the chemical place along the road. The site of (the soon to be defunct) Hearts ground wouldn't pose any problems. Builders would queue up to buy it if permissions were granted.
There are plenty of people who would. The buyer would most likely sit on the land for a while anyway as it'll increase in value eventually.
Remember, we're pretty much at the bottom of the market now and in 5-10 years time it'll be worth more. That land is a very good investment for someone with the money to buy it right now.
A recent Council appraisal of the site suggested it would be suitable for Social Housing.
But, being in Gorgie I would thought anti-social would have been a better description. :greengrin
I can see that if there is someone who can afford to buy the land then sit on it. Emotions will be raw in the meantime though. May be loads of Jambos kicking their hats around and disturbing the peace :greengrin. Still I suppose the hats could take the place of the can in Kick the Can....(for older fans like me) :agree:
Tesco could buy it, put up some stables, and the folk from the Gorgie Farm could look after their horses :agree:
What really gets me is,why does Romanov get an easy ride in all of this?
All the fans have done is raise cash for a fruitless effort in trying to save there club.
When will the scenes become ugly down gorgie way?
On Kickback this beauty
"We also need to remember that UBIG are entitled to take what ever money they want from us.
They are after all our parent company and they can argue that we have been on the take from them for long enough"
How far do they bend over?
Just had the misfortune of meeting 2 lowlife ****bag hearts fans in shakespears. Apparently they check hibs.net regular. Must of been in their 50's and were only out to support the team who were playing hibs. Would feel sorry for them if I didn't strongly suspect them of paedophilea. Truly disgusting human beings I really hope their club die soon. Hope they enjoyed getting slaugtered in a busy pub by one man half their age. I certainly enjoyed it
Anyone notice the advert on the bottom of Kickback...
"How To Declare Bankruptcy" :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
Gave me a wee chuckle
It's ok, PishyBreeks says its all going to be fine, so that's that then.
Hold on, didn't Fatty bring The Submariner on board too?Quote:
George Foulkes said at the game yesterday that things would start moving at quite a pace now. He knows some of the parties interested and believes it will work out ok in the long term.
136 guests viewing this thread - must be a few Yams. How does it feel? Sinking in at last that your crappy wee ground and club are going under in Vlad's submarine?
Got to get the truth from somewhere I suppose!
This is going to be a wonderful week. I have a feelin'
I also have the same feeling.something major is going to happen.
Slipping down the plughole.
Don't mean to burst your bubble or hopes fellas, but I think they will limp on for a we while yet! None of the major announcements re UBIG have been made therefore, until this occurs then they will continue to struggle on!
To paraphrase a recent film: when they come to Easter Road next month and are royally humped and humiliated, when they have one last total doing to take with them, when their rotten club and stadium lie in ashes, when they finally have to face their debts and the price for their unchecked arrogance of the last few years, when they leave the field at Easter Road for the last time in their history deafened by the cheering of thousands of celebrating hibees....
......then they have our permission to die.
I'm just wondering, does this League Cup final between the 2nd and 3rd bottom SPL clubs qualify for this romantic title? When was the last team two such lowly placed competed in a national final? I think even hearts and Gretna were better placed than this in the Scottish Cup final.
Saints and Scroungers Cup?
http://scotslawthoughts.wordpress.co...ect-on-hearts/
Decent read :-)
That's certainly the best case scenario that they hope for, while we hope for the worst, which is lose Tynecastle, get demoted to third and carry on with scant investment groundsharing with Livvy/Pars/Spartans.
The truth is, nobody knows. We are in the hands of Lithuanian banks re asset disposal in the first instance, and probably a long investigation into where Vlad's money came from and went to in the second instance.
I think Hearts will stagger on till the end of the season. Its not in the Scottish Football authorities interests to act in any way before then, as in the Gretna scenario, owing to the fixture chaos this produces.
However, if those Lith bank/authorities investigations are ongoing into the close season, the Scottish football authorities will be compelled to act. The funding of the salaries of Kingston et all is potentially at least as big corruption as Rangers ETB's. The money for these payments came from somewhere. It seems now inevitable, given the new Lith government's priorities, that it will be investigated.
Aye or Saints and Sinners .... don't think there's any level they haven't lowered themselves to or whored themselves for over the past decade.
Their demise can't come quick enough for me so that Scottish football can rid itself of them for a good while, preferably for ever.
Does anyone know how the league would look if Hearts went to the wall? ie 3-0 victories awarded to the other sides or just matches scrubbed?
"Club ceasing to play and be a member of the League
H5
If any Club
in the League ceases to operate or to be member of
the League for any reason, its playing record in the League may
be expunged and the number of relegation places from the
League shall be reduced accordingly."
Meanwhile, at the Wonga Dome.
Attachment 9400
News item inferring Hearts are a "bad asset" and that bankruptcy will ensue.
http://www.15min.lt/en/article/busin...tcy-527-310301
The temporary administrator told BNS later that the 'bad' part of Ūkio Bankas was valued between 400 million and 500 million litas (EUR 116-145m).
"Ūkio Bankas' bad assets are very risky. These include properties in Russia and Scotland. The recovery of these assets could be more difficult," he said at the news conference.
Of course, "properties in Scotland" doesn't just mean Hearts. It also includes those buildings in St Andrews Sq that he bought near the top of the market.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotlan...iness-16490988
I'm sure that the yaks will be included in the bad stuff. Anyone seeking to buy them will have to find:
- more cash than any property developer would be willing to pay (£3 million say?)
- a few million in working capital to keep it going (£2 million say?)
- £5 million for a new stand.
So, all they need to do is find someone with £10 million to ***** away with no hope of ever getting a return on that money. Best of luck with that.
Two points:-
1. you will be hard pushed to find any lender who would allow a business to go that far. UKIO/UBIG were a special case, as they had a business model which required that investment, and had the funds to support it. It failed.
2. it doesn't matter whether someone pays £3m or £20m for Tynie. The company (HMFC) is insolvent, and any money raised will go to its creditors.
Not sure if this is at all possible, but a Hun told me he thought it was an option. Rangers buy hearts, debt and all, sell tynecastle change the name to rangers and be back in the spl. Obviously if they bought hearts debt and all, they would need to pay the debt back, but after selling off all of hearts assets the debt would be manageable for rangers and they would be back in the spl!
Again not sure if this could happen but would be interesting
The dominoes begin to topple...
Bankruptcy to be declared on Ukio Bankas bad assets
So I'm maybe getting ahead of myself here but could hearts be made bankrupt tomorrow for example and then worry about the sale of tynecastle etc at a later date?
Is there a possibility hearts won't even see out the season or will this all take time to come to a head properly?