Chris Mason? How so?
Printable View
wee shame for Elon Mexican Billionaire Carlos Slim Cuts Ties with Elon Musk’s Starlink, Costing Musk $7 Billion After Controversial Tweet hopefully more do the same
Something for any American Jews that support the Republicans to reflect on? Or indeed just decent human beings to think about.
In June of 1941, Hitler's Army began a rampage through Ukraine, razing towns, unleashing death squads, and massacring Jews by the hundreds of thousands. In one village, four Jewish brothers enlisted in the military, said goodbye to their parents, and walked off to fight the Nazis.
By the war's end in 1945, only one of the brothers, named Semyon, was still alive. He returned to find that the Nazis had torched his entire village, burning his parents to death. Semyon's family was dead, and his beloved Ukraine was in ruins. The Nazis had murdered between 1.2 and 1.6 million Ukrainian Jews.
Semyon married a fellow Ukrainian Jew who had survived the war by fleeing her city, in which the Nazis had killed 5,000 Jews. Two years later, in that same city, they had a son, Oleksandr, keeping alive the family line that the Nazis had brought a razor's width from extinction. Thirty-one years after that, Oleksandr had his own little boy.
That boy was Volodymyr Zelensky, who grew up to become the President of independent, democratic Ukraine. Today, he leads his outmanned, outgunned, ferociously defiant nation against the onslaught of Russia. As Russia dashes itself against the will of his people, Zelensky, the survivor of survivors, summons the resilience of his ancestors. He does not bend.
Copied from Laura Hillenbrand
Saturday Night Live Saturday Night Live - SNL on X: "Zelenskyy’s White House meeting with Trump and Vance https://t.co/l7T2GCvVJW" / X :greengrin
Trump 2016 advisor, she really didn't like being questioned, the next one is just as dippit https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSsV7xyDyfY
London Underground
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.n...qw&oe=67CACFCF
Vlad: "Hey Donny, remember that wee party we had in Moscow back in 2013"?
Donny: "Aye, that was some night ya bam lolz".
Vlad: "Ah've got some photies, think ah might dig them oot".
Donny: "Awe ffs naw, just naw, yeh dinnae want tae dae that".
Vlad: "What's it worth tae yeh"?
Rumours he’s pulling out of NATO tomorrow. Seen a few things from Trump today which looks like it could be laying the groundwork to do it.
Scary times ahead.
One view:-
In 2023, Sens. Tim Kaine (D-Va.) and Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) authored legislation requiring that any presidential decision to exit NATO must have either two-thirds Senate approval or be authorized through an act of Congress. Lawmakers passed the measure as part of the fiscal 2024 National Defense Authorization Act, which President Joe Biden signed into law.
But
Legal experts warn that Trump could try to sidestep Congress’s NATO guardrail, citing presidential authority over foreign policy — an approach he used before to bypass congressional restrictions on treaty withdrawal.
wow
Tariffs from midnight
Canada - 25%
Mexico - 25%
China - 20%
i just wish he would get the price of those damn Eggs down
those talented dudes at Led By Donkeys :agree: Led By Donkeys: "If Trump was President in 1940" — Bluesky
Hopefully Starmer will return to reality now and stop trying to convince us the US will provide any kind of back stop to his fantasy peacekeeping force plans and start getting serious about funding Ukraine in the here and now.[emoji35]
I genuinely despair about the current situation. I fully support Ukraine 100% but unfortunately the lunatics have taken over the asylum.
They seemed convinced Zelensky is a dictator and the Ukrainians get the stick whilst Putin gets the carrots.
We are where we are and unfortunately we need the US to engage for Ukraine to prosper.
I had an idea and whilst controversial, in this situation you need solutions.
Could Zelensky agree to elections but in order to do so it requires a 3 month ceasefire from Putin (gives Trump and Putin what they want), it will require European boots on the ground to monitor the elections along with the relevant western election monitoring bodies (try to stop Russian interfering), annexed areas can’t vote (why would they, they are part of ‘Russia’).
Everyone wins. Putin and Trump get their election, there is a ceasefire with European boots on the ground (UK & France proposal) and in the event of a fair and free election, Zelensky wins according to the all the polls.
I know the election is just prophinada from Putin and Trump so likely they wouldn’t agree but it would put them in a very difficult position
Nice sentiment but next time people moan about cutting spending on X and Y etc then we will quickly have people rightly or wrongly say we are giving billions to Ukraine while our own people can't heat their houses. It's going to get messy. Are the people of the UK happy to pay more taxes or see spending cuts here in order to fund Ukraine? I don't know the answer, some will and some won't?
Zelensky could march up and down Red Square in his underpants singing the Russian national anthem and it wouldn't make an ounce of difference. Putin's desires are imperialist and nothing short of Ukrainian surrender will satisfy him. He also has Trump so deep in his pocket that Trump will fulfil any demands he makes.
The only hope for Ukraine is on the battlefield, they have to hold the line long enough until Putin's regime is toppled from within, even then there's no guarantees that the next Kremlin incumbent won't be just as bad or even worse.
100%. The only way to stop them is on the battlefield in Ukraine. Talk of peace talks is fantasy land stuff. Putin can’t afford peace as it would collapse Russia just as quickly as defeat. Starmer is gas lighting everyone with his chat about peace keepers. He knows it’s never going to happen. He needs to start talking seriously about how we make Ukraine win.
We are giving them a £3 billion loan and the money will be paid back from frozen Russian assets. So £3 billion of Russian money will be spent on British industry in the form of US making and sending 5000 air defense missles, jobs and tax paid to the UK exchequer.
The other aid we sent isn't actual cash it's mostly old equipment we need to pay to be stored. The freezing grannies line is written in Moscow, unless your granny is going to heat her house with a 30 year old anti tank missle
Tory MPs now openly asking if Trump is a Russian asset. I know there’s been rumours but nonetheless. Have to wonder if any UK intelligence is finding its way to Russia via the US. Strange times
Bozo's Russian connections are pretty well established, from knighting relatives of ex KGB officers, attending private parties on their property after dispensing with his security staff, playing tennis with their families in return for donations......
Jd Vance should visit the families of the over 600 British troops killed in Iraq and Afghanistan or the 10,000 injured. Afghanistan was the only time article 5 has been triggered, meaning UK, French, Polish, German troops fought shoulder to shoulder at the aid of the US.
@antoguerrera
Bad news for Starmer and Macron. Vance confirms the only US security guarantee in Ukraine will be the mineral deal. He also plays down British & French peacekeeping troops as “20k troops from some random country that hasn’t fought a war in 30 or 40 years"
Putin has congratulated Trump and welcomed his actions to create peace. So half of America and probably most of Russia are now singing from the same hymn sheet. The United States of Tyranny.
I don't see how any election can be deemed to be free and fair in the conditions a lot of Ukraine is living under.
I don't see how any result of elections could be legitimate when approximately 10% of the population are living under Russian control and can't vote.
The only way they get a legitimate election is if Russia pulls out. The grandstanding from Trump / Vance / Gubbard etc. is just noise, they know elections can't and won't happen, but their followers seem to be lapping it all up.
https://youtu.be/EC8KRd0sDGs?si=9dCoTibalM8Drt7b
A short animation made during the first trump administration.
There's a few of them.
The UK is giving £3bn in military aid every year until at least 2031, it aint from Russian assets. The extra £1.5bn this year is from interest on the held Russian assets. Starmer may actually be ableto boast about growth in the future, it's just a shame the majority of it will come from UK weapons manufacturers.
…… but is it really? They now have the USA ( by its withdrawal of aid to Ukraine ) effectively in their camp and there are also some European leaders who support Putin and Trump eg Orban and Sulyok in Hungary. With the likely ( in my opinion ) defeat of Ukraine, and control of strategic territories, the ( at best ) ‘neutrality’ of the USA and scattered support from European countries, Putin will, in the longer term, be in a position to stretch his legs and attempt to take control of Eastern Europe. Full scale European war is far from out of the question.
Trump’s next step could very well be to lift sanctions on Russia, to ease their economic pressure and effectively boost their war effort, in payment for access to a share of defeated Ukraine’s mineral resources. He would have to get that through Congress but that’s not out of the question.
I was talking about yesterday's announcement of £2.3 billion for 5k air defense missles funded from Russian assets. The majority of the previous money is from old equipment, they also quote the full price of purchase. It's a bit like me giving my mate an old box tv in my attic and saying I've given him £1000 as that's what I paid for it.
Some of the money is for aid in medicine which is to be commended and some for ammunition. Some was spent on new equipment like shells but it's a fraction of our £57 billion defence budget and worth every penny destroying all the Soviet supplies and helping hold back an evil invasion.
BBC news …….. US sanctions on Canada, China and Mexico begin today. Canada has retaliated with their own tariffs. The Premier of Ontario saying that he will have no qualms about turning off energy supplies that the US depend on heavily.
It really is.
The battlefield is going very badly for them right now.
The nature of Russian War is that they don’t value human life and sacrifice many men to take land. Their sacrifice has been heavier as they’ve gambled on getting as much land as possible to use as a bargaining chip when Krasnov comes in to make his peace deal. Modern war as the Ukrainians fight it uses lots of drones and is much more efficient when it comes to loss of manpower.
With calm heads and continued progress, the Russians would have been forced out of Ukraine this year. Instead of that, we’ve got Trump.
None of what is currently happening is a surprise to the Europeans and both the Ukrainians and the Europeans have been preparing for all of these eventualities for some time.
All that remains to be seen is just how far onto Russia’s side Trump is going to jump, when, how fast the Europeans are at reacting to that developing and whether Trump keeps his own people onside as he entertains a seismic strategic shift. If they’re skint and still can’t afford eggs then he might have a job on his hands there.
Trump has taken himself out of any peace negotiations now. There is no need for either side to talk to him as he has now given up his leverage.
Russia does not want peace yet, and they won’t until they start seeing their troops pushed back. When they do want peace they are going to have to seek out Europe.
Protesting is no longer allowed.
https://cdn.bsky.app/img/feed_thumbn...k55h4nrdy@jpeg
https://i.postimg.cc/xCpSZ2pn/FB-IMG-1741009924308.jpg
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
US stock exchange lost 3.4 trillion dollars today so far after Trumps genius tariffs
At what point does our government accept the fact that he's a strategic enemy and treat him as such?
And how much damage do the American people let him do before realising that he is dismantling everything that they stand for?
It wasn't long ago that Vance was on a stage in Munich banging on about "shared common values". Those values no longer exist and imo the sooner we cotton on, the sooner we can protect ourselves from the changing situation.
If Trump only understands strength... kicking him hard when trillions are being wiped off the value of their stock exchange might be a decent place to start, rather than continuing to grovel.
Oooft.
Trudeau's not mincing his words.
From BBC:
Canadian PM Justin Trudeau has just arrived and reacts to America's new tariffs, which hours ago came into force.
"Today the United States has launched a trade war against Canada," Trudeau says. "Its closest partner and ally, its closest friend."
He says Washington is, at the same time, talking about working with Vladimir Putin - someone Trudeau calls a "murderer and a dictator".
"Make it make sense," Trudeau adds.
"Donald, even though you are a very smart guy, this is a very dumb thing to do."
Whatever you think about Trudeau, he's such a good public speaker. I think he delivered that whole address from memory.
What a contrast between him and Trump when he stops reading his notes and starts trying to speak from his brain...
Could be either.
Realistically - it sounds ridiculously far fetched.
Also realistically - his every single recent action suggests it may be true.
I'd always been part of the "conspiracy theory" crew but I'm seriously starting to question it. A month ago I wouldn't have known who "Krasnov" was, so putting a name to the asset is certainly something recent, but I'm sometimes surprised with who seems to have heard about it now so the rumour is certainly common knowledge.
Ontario just put a 25% export tariff on electricity. Hurts American consumers and not Canadians. Smart.
Trudaeu's liberals were 26 points behind in polling before Trump started their attacks on Canada they are now neck and neck. Trump who is universally disliked, attacking your country grows solidarity. Zelenskyy is polling at his highest point in Ukraine since the war started after standing tall in the Whitehouse. He's polling at 42% for if their was an presidential election tomorrow. In second place is pro fighting ex army chief Valerii Zaluzhnyi at 20%
Millions of people voted for an idiot who has been bankrupt and is looking to do the same to his nation
"Please explain to Governor Trudeau of Canada that when he imposes a retaliatory tariff on the U.S., our retaliatory tariff will immediately increase by the same amount!" — Donald Trump declared
Zelensky ready to work under Trump's 'strong leadership' after 'regrettable' showdown.
Looks like he is going to sign the deal now.
There are several books on his connections with Russia and in particular his connections, early in his career, with the Russian mafia.
Does it matter if its true or not just now? Every single move and utterance he's made since he regained the presidency has favoured Putin and a lot of those moves also subvert his own country.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
https://x.com/bbcnewsnight/status/18...c3Zglhf0Lr6VeA
I’m no fan of nuclear weapons but I was shocked by this. The U.K. ‘independent’ nuclear deterrent not so independent after all.
Apparently the minerals deal has been signed. Trump trying to play it as better than a security guarantee as Russia won't bomb near American worker's. They will just keep bombing hospitals and civilian homes though
Think of it like getting your car serviced.
You own the car, you can drive it where you want, you can take your car to war. But it’s serviced at the dealership in the US.
Let’s be honest, you only need to fire one salvo as everything after that is redundant. There is no Britain left after that.
There’s also no Russia, America or China left either.
Remember America gains by the U.K. being Nuclear armed. We spend a lot of money on those car services. We provide bases for American Submarines and we provide another independent deterrent to other Nuclear armed States.
Was on FB today and all of a sudden I was seeing posts from dafties who never ever crop up on my timeline sharing flat out Russian propaganda.
It’s like Covid all over again with the “do your research” mantra being repeated as plain bull**** YouTube videos and IG reels are being shared.
So ****ing depressing.
France does the whole shebang itself. If the U.S. under Trump continues its lurch towards isolationism then a U.K. government of any political hue must look at making its nuclear deterrent properly independent and kick U.S. troops out.
I’ve long argued that if humankind is about in a hundred years time the U.S. will be seen as having been an empire with occupying forces around the world.
Trump is insistent that Canada, Mexico and China are going to have to give America lots of money now that the tariffs are in place.
He genuinely doesn’t realise it’s the American consumer that will be paying the tariff, does he?
The man is a special type of moron.
Arrogant, ignorant and talks out his ****ing arse.
Canadian PM announces retaliatory tariffs last night, Trump said he will retaliate with further tariffs.
Meanwhile trillions of dollars has been wiped from the US economy.
I’m hoping this develops into a game of chicken with Canada and Mexico because I think they are up for it. Crucially their populations are behind their leaders. Most Americans want Trump to fail.
With a bit of luck Trump follows through and increases the tariffs again.[emoji1696][emoji1696][emoji1696]
What next ?:rolleyes:
Republican legislator, Texas Representative Brandon Gill, is likely to introduce a bill on Monday to put Trump on U.S. currency after he leaves office. According to Fox News, Gill explained that he wishes to replace Trump's face with Benjamin Franklin's on the $100 bill in recognition of his future accomplishments.
Representative Gill reiterated that instead of relaxing in retirement, President Trump could be busy taking it easy; instead, he worked hard for America. He also pointed towards Trump's initiatives to fortify the border, enhance trade alliances, reenergize the U.S. to be energy-independent once again, and put America first by reducing wasteful overseas aid.:bitchy::bitchy::bitchy:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1LzhCLzfJFg
The Canadian vibe is definitely, 'Come ahead, then...:take that'
Today's front page of Canada's 'paper of record'.
https://bsky.app/profile/drbiblioman.../3ljncazwsj22l
Canada’s response https://www.facebook.com/reel/534550...eQ9V&fs=e&fs=e
The guy who set a mob loose on the Capitol resulting in the deaths of 5 police officers has now signed a presidential decree ordering the mandatory death sentence for killing a police officer.