Yeah I think this just shows how terrible this program actually is
Printable View
I’ve completely given up on sportscene. The commentary-free highlights on YouTube are worth the wait until Monday or so when they’re posted.
And the alternate angle camera we have on the go at the moment is excellent.
Just finished watching it and they really don't like to give us any praise at all these days eh?
Stewart is a total fud these days as well. Prick.
Have to say I agree with that!
A grudging half compliment in there somewhere!
They showed the first-half handball, but no mention in the analysis of that - just on and on about how the one we did get being a liberty. And what about the other handball at the end, when their defender fell on the ball and grabbed it? Linesman standing watching it but did nowt, free-kick to Dons awarded by the ref. Nae footage of that in either thr highlights or studio analysis!!
Feel that the narrative around Hibs right now is bordering on ridiculous. 25 shots and a 3-1 victory, yet nobody can muster up a single positive thing to say about us.
We don't have an identity, our players are cheats and we have way too many strikers was about as much airtime as we got yesterday
There has been a lot of red cards against our opposition, but maybe that's also indicative of the style of play we have this season. We're creating a lot of chances and getting ourselves into dangerous positions that, if defenders don't get spot it on, will give the referee a decision to make.
For balance though, we had two(?) handball decisions missed yesterday, a penalty against Rangers and their penalty shouldn't have been awarded. Where's the analysis on that?
Showing a nil - nil before our demolition of the sheep
They cant wait to say weve got points through other teams getting red cards. Ffs its refs who give red cards, not HFC. Once VAR comes in then hopefully there crap will stop. But then again i doubt it. I used to think Stewart was a good guy but hes coming across as an effing fud !!!
B
He’s increasingly becoming aware of touting controversy in order to keep ahead of the game in Scottish football punditry. There’s no future in being Mr Honest and Sensible, especially if you have anything positive or complimentary to say about Hibs, the blacksheep target of the BBC sports team. The only real pro Hibs pundit in recent times was Pat Nevin but he didn’t last long. I don’t know if he got the bullet because of his failure to side with BBC policy or whether he saw through them and thought, ‘Sod it I’m out of here!’
Very bizzare detachment between the BBC Sports team and reality with respect to Hibs. There is a reason that teams are consistently getting players sent off against us and that we are consistently seeing 25 attempts on goal most matches - it's called pace and flair. They should be gushing with enthusiasm but all you get is embittered one sided drivel. Did Big Ron piss in their F-ing cornflakes? The shower of muppets!
Hearts and Aberdeen are overly represented in terms of ex-players/known supporters on the BBC so do tend to get more focus and an easier ride IMO, though it can go the other way.
In Hibs' case this season it's nothing orchestrated, I just think we are probably the victims of the need for the media to have a clear and settled narrative, ie Hibs are in chaos and the chair is rash and doesn't get Scottish football. And when evidence calls that narrative into question it is easier (and less work) to seek mitigating circumstances rather than acknowledge this. I guess it's just up to Hibs to prove them wrong by winning games and getting up the table.
If there was more of a focus on analysis, rather than personalities and controversy, it wouldn't be hard to see that this Hibs team is a lot more exciting and creative than anything served up under JR and Maloney. Granted, the squad is too big and some of the recruitment and results have been patchy, but the progress on the pitch is there. But that would be far too nuanced to bother with - stick to the easy narrative.
They do in my opinion and it runs much deeper that that.
Scottish fitba is full of bigots, I know a number of officals and they are blue as they come, we are not welcome at the table.
I've sat in many a dinner/function/gathering and lets just say they're not toasting the pope thats for sure and rightly or wrongly we are looked upon as the same as Celtic - fact.
Stewart has had the petted lip with Hibs ever since he was an unused sub in the 2007 LC Final and a 19-year-old laddie called Stevenson got picked in front of him.
He had a face like a smacked @rse in the post-match photos and treated the club disrespectfully. Used to think he was a lone voice of sanity and intelligence amongst a bunch of weegie-centric pygmies, but now he's reverting to the editorial line of the rest of them with their skewed "analysis" of all things Hibs.
Hibs have been up and down this season - contrast second half yesterday with first half at Livingston or both halves at St. Mirren. There have been a lot of new arrivals, not all of whom have thus far worked out. So in that sense the "identity" - what Hibs will look like, or are aiming to look like - under Johnson isn't all that clear yet. I think that's what Michael Stewart was saying last night, and I don't think it's a ridiculous thing to say. He also didn't think it should have been a penalty and, to be honest, it was pretty soft.
There's quite a lot of over-sensitivity to criticism on here about certain programmes and pundits. Stewart talks sense most times I hear him.
Can confirm I know a few former and one current prem officials and all are rangers fans, only one that I know hides it as well. One use to train on a pitch across from where my former team played/trained and would literally do it in a rangers top, well known official as well.
Edit- should say, the one that "hides it" I don't know personally but I worked with his daughter and she confirmed he was a current season ticket holder. Retired a good few years back.
He is mostly but seems to be going with the herd these days. Seems to be a lack of preperation for the show too very rushed. The dons fans agree with most on here that it was a dubious pen but the result was the right one. There was three pen shouts there was one definite one 50/50 and one not. Not stating that the punch away was a definite penalty is just so poor and gives an unbalanced portrait of the game. Biscuits i dont mind as ive spoke to him a few times and he does speaks well of us. Its just a very poor programme which i used to listen to every time it was on. How times have changed.