So basically you could be out working doing a 20 hr shift and still be ok to drive even though you've only done 10 hrs driving, good luck getting into one of those cars.
Printable View
I see what you're saying but most black cabs are double shifted by 2 drivers, day and night, even then when I had my own cab I never worked more than around 60hrs per week, pretty normal for a self employed person. Saying that some junior doctors are doing silly hours in hospitals putting people at risk due to tiredness. There's a video online somewhere where the guy is in an Uber car and the driver keeps nodding off every time he stops at a set of lights, the passenger goes nuts when he starts weaving all over the road due to nearly sleeping at wheel.
Driving from Newington to Drum Brae tonight through The Meadows, I was concerned to see how many cyclists are riding with no helmet, no bright clothing and only minimal lights on their vehicle.
The streets are so badly lit nowadays that such behaviour is tantamount to suicidal.
I'm sure if I had remonstrated with any of them I'd get the usual What's Your Problem, Pal? and yet they are the ones who'll end up worse off if there's an accident.
Cyclists on the public highway should have to wear reflective jackets and helmets. End of story.
Being stuck behind a tractor for miles and they don’t pull in to let the queuing traffic behind them overtake when it is safe to do so.
I’ve been up in Fraserburgh and Peterhead a lot with work recently and it happens all the time on the road between there and Aberdeen. It would cost the boy in the tractor about 20 seconds of his day to let us passed but by not doing so it firstly, really pisses me off, probably more seriously though causes some crazy and dangerous over taking to be done.
I drive tractors on the roads frequently and do pull over to let people pass. However if it's a busy evening rush or something I can say be stuck in a lay-by for over five minutes, that is no exaggeration.
Chances are the tractor will be pulling into a field or farm within a few miles, just chill or overtake when safe. It's not the tractor drivers fault someone overtakes them dangerously.
I saw a report in the news that bus journeys are in decline and people favouring cars and trains. Can you really blame us though? Buses are clunky, expensive, slow and generally unpleasant. I had the pleasure of following one from the start of Ferry Road to the end this morning and the only way I could describe it as torture. I don't think we ever saw the speed limit.
Is that because the other vehicles behind them also have to drive @ 20?
I'm sure I've mentioned it before here, but I have the fortune/misfortune to drive a commercial vehicle with tracker/speed limiter. If I do 10% over the limit I get a warning/disciplined. I sometimes feel sorry for those stuck behind me, at night they just overtake, not always possible in 20 zones when it's busy/during the day.
I semi-regularly get the bus back to Glenrothes and every time I do I last about 5 minutes before I swear to take the train next time. :greengrin
It's usually a coach (52 seats?) with about a dozen at most on board too - so I can't see it lasting much longer.
The intra-city Lothian buses tend to be good for what they are though. I try to favour walking ragrdless unless the weather is bad.
They do and they have. Kit is calibrated and backed up with GPS tech.
There were loads of complaints on roll-out and our union (RMT) raised very legitimate concerns over abuse from managers.
We've had colleagues sacked over repeated speeding offences where there was no Police involvement, also had a colleague disciplined for being in a head on accident whereby he was speeding prior but not the cause of the accident.
The one guy I know sacked in Wales appealed and was reinstated but I think he has since been dismissed again.
We might live in Big Brother times but there's no excuse for an individual to repeatedly get caught speeding whilst being warned numerous times (if what I hear is true).
People who do their shopping at petrol stations. While I'm sitting behind you at the pump waiting for you to get your arse in gear, you are paying a premium for that loaf of bread, twix and ***** Costa. Well done prick :aok:
I saw a sticker on the back of a van the other day which said "speed limited to 68mph". I assume that's to do with tracking, as you've mentioned, rather than a physical inability for that van to be driven at more than 68mph? The latter doesn't seem like a safe option.
As Jones28 above says, it's a physical limiter. I'm not a mechanic but would guess it monitors the digital speedo (gone are the days of disconnecting a speedo cable to save miles on your clock) and cuts fuel at a pre designated limit.
My current van is limited to a true 70 but my previous was 68, it never felt unsafe to me and can't figure out how it would be?
Saw a guy in a white Audit TT park in a disabled bay at Tesco last night, hopped out his car and into the store - no blue badge on display.
What was worse, is that there were tons of non-disabled spaces he could have taken just behind where he actually parked. Lazy, entitled bawbag.
Drivers at Asda livingst on who park on the double yellow lines while there passengers do the shopping.It only costs 50p which you get back on your shopping.
Does my tits in. ASDA at Newhaven late at night is apparently a hotspot for people with disabilities judging by the amount of people in they spaces compared to the amount in the standard spaces..
I saw a woman with no blue badge park in the last available disabled bay (and also the furthest from the shop) while the non-disabled bays right beside it lay empty. No badge on display and when a guy questioned her she just went on an x rated rant about how she’ll park wherever the **** she wants and said something along the lines of “it’s no like a disabled person is going to be here at this time” :confused:
Last year a guy parked his car in Castle St on the disabled space behind the taxi rank, some nights the wardens come round in their wee white van to check and gave him a ticket for parking there, I spoke with the wardens and they said disabled spaces are 24hr spaces. The guy came back and moaned about getting a ticket, I said to him that being disabled is a lifetime condition not just until 6.30pm like other parking spaces, he didn't get the humour and went away in a right mood.
When there is a filter lane for turning right, but folk put their right indicator on and don’t move into the filter lane, ignoring that there is a separate lane for them, and block the road :brickwall
Parked my new Audi at tescos when i popped in for some scran.
Love those Tesco car parks - parking is dead handy and theres always a local about taking pictures of the cars, and standing watching them for you while you shop. Maybe they cant afford a car.
i was going to give him a fiver for watching the new motor, but he was gone. Maybe his missus had called him home.
This does my head in.
I can't remember if I've mentioned this before but at the bottom of my street is a cross road (the one at Comely Bank beside Waitrose). For whatever reason peoples ability to drive goes out the window and folk seem to think it's a case of whoever was there first gets to go and nothing to do with what direction you're going. The amount of times I've nearly been hit by people turning right when I'm either going left or straight on is astonishing. Literally about 1/3rd of the time I come to that junction it happens and it only doesn't materialise because I know to watch out for it.
Coming up the slip road from the park and ride westbound towards m and s garage...nice folk form a nice queue to join the main flow of traffic and all the ****ers that boot up the inside and try to merge in last minute creating all sorts of mayhem - **** jockeys.
**Mistaken, dangerous & aggressive drivers**
As above, drivers that have no clue then drive dangerously then become aggressive!
I was leaving Hermiston Gait last night, heading towards A71 so drive up the filtered lane that bypasses the light controlled roundabout. Going up the hill an articulated truck, coming from the M8 direction, sped up and pulled in behind me, crossing the solid white line and came within 1 metre (genuinely) of my car as I was doing around 40mph.
Driver started to flash his lights, I ignored and got up to near 50 before I had to stop at the Calder roundabout.
The driver gets out the truck and starts getting verbal and I very nearly got out but the lights were starting to change and I just wanted to get on.
Turns out, the driver was Dutch, delivering for Gist, he wasn't aware I was in a filtered lane, he thought I'd came up a hard shoulder,,,, that never did explain why he threatened my life with his artic!?!
Must be the area. Had an incident with an angry UPS driver steaming out of the industrial estate onto the same road but into Edinbugh. He wasn't for giving way then assumed I knew the same signal for coming on meant he was also coming into the lane I'd had to swerve into and I was still in his way. While no altercation ensued I assumed this was only because he's timed on deliveries.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
The prick who gave me a parking ticket up at lauriston yesterday.
Appealed.
Ex-wives who still have access to your car and leave the car in an absolute state:
- snorterry tissues strewn all over the car
- sweetie wrappers strewn all over the car
- a green wig left sitting on the passenger seat
- chocolate smeared all over the inside of the car
- chocolate smeared all over a glasses case
- chocolate smeared all over glasses
- glasses broken even though they are in the case
- incapable of putting air in the tyres
- getting the car so dirty just after it’s been washed that the rear parking camera that she insisted on getting is useless as the dirt is covering it.
To the woman sat in her car at the lights on Milton rd with her 2 young children in car seats in the back, sitting texting on her phone and continued to look down and text whilst pulling away when traffic started moving when the lights changed, absolutely horrendous behaviour from a mother with young kids. I hope you get caught.
People that overtake you on slip roads when you are trying to feed into the main carriageway and end up blocking you out.
A boy in a BMW just drove the wrong way up the one way street next to the BBQ chippy in Corstorphine and parked up then toddled off to get his supper.
You’d think that if he failed to notice the no entry signs he’d at least notice that every single car that’s parked on both sides of the street are facing the opposite way to his car. Incredible [emoji23]
Yup, worse when there's been something on at Murrayfield, People heading back West and see the chippy then practically hand-brake turn in to Craig's Avenue. Seen first hand a few close calls as pedestrians don't expect cars to pass the no-entry signs the wrong way.
MOTs. Just got absolutely rinsed to get my car through its MOT, and I strongly suspect that the issues were 'ignored' by the last garage to do the MOT prior to me getting the car a year ago.
Where do I start?!
Failed on a few things as you might have guessed.
Handbrake, parts of the front suspension, some corrosion to the back brake disks (that caused the issue with the handbrake).
Looking at the MOT history, these were issues last year where the MOT failed, then passed the next day - there's no way that the issues highlighted this time were from a year's worth of driving, it's totally been cowboyed IMHO.
I got an MOT a year or 2 back and I knew I needed to change the front lightbulb. Being in a rush I dropped the car off and asked could someone fit the bulb for me before the MOT as I knew it would fail. The guy in the garage done the classic inhale of breath and said 'Ohh a corsa? front light bulb? Thats a big job mate, need to take half the front of the car off for that' and it would cost me. I called him out on his bull**** (being a mechanic in a previous life) I knew it didnt require any of that.
In the end he wouldn't back down, so I ran out and fitted it myself within 5 minutes, told him as much as I went back in and that I was now late for an appointment.
Got a call a few hours later saying it had failed on the front light alignment, and still persisted with the 3 hours labour service to correct it. I told them to do one and I would take it elsewhere.
Took it to a small garage I know and the guy was in disbelief at my whole story, and even more stunned at the failure as it only required a few turns of the light adjustment to fix - the mechanic said he would never fail a MOT on that, and would simply just fix it as he was going alone. Didnt charge me for fixing it and now has a customer for life for simply being honest. Moral of the story, dont go near Arnold Clark
The MOT is every 2 years here and every time I go (2 cars) the guy adjusts the lights for me - often they're within the allowed tolerance but he prefers that you leave with them spot-on.
On another occasion I had a brake light that was knacked (I hadn't realised). He gave me the keys to his van to go and buy a bulb at a place about quarter of a mile away and then changed it for me when I got back.
As I said, I know the guy, but I'm sure he does the same for most folk. They offer the return test free (if there are minor faults) so it makes more sense for him to spend 5 minutes fixing wee things than wasting everyone's time on a second appointment.
The best advice you can give anyone when it comes to cars.
It's a company issue rather than an individual one. I've had a couple of mechanics who work there do jobs for me on the side and never had an issue, they are perfectly competent. My girlfriend worked for them in service and has a fair few horror stories.
I only took it there as it was a free mot from when I got the car.
Coincidentally it was Arnold Clark that I served my apprenticeship at and I am happy to admit I would never take anything there to be fixed. As you said, the mechanics themselves are sound enough, but the majority of management were utter ****s trying to fleece everyone. I genuinely got told to mark up a car as needing 4 tyres when they were fine, and they used to (not sure about now) charge about 7quid for a sachet of screen wash when doing a service (as well as other items grossly exaggerated). Literally about a 150ml sachet.
I also remember a mate getting quoted near 200 quid to replace a sensor. I got him the part at trade price, 75 quid and fitted myself in 10 minutes.
Agree with all the comments about Arnold Sharks servicing, I got a service plan thrown in with a used car I bought from them. I'm a fairly high miler so after 6 months I'd done 10000 miles and had my first service with them. Went to collect the car and was told my rear brake pads were 90% worn and needed replaced immediately. I told them to go read the pre delivery inspection I had asked them to carry out before I bought the car which clearly stated the brakes were only 10% worn. They gave me some guff about they stand by their mechanics report never got any apology and I've never been back since. Took the car to Specialist Audi for them to check and they confirmed the pads were only 50% worn. Still a lot of wear in 10k miles but I doubt their original report was accurate either.
I got massively stung on an mot from Arnold Clark a few years back. Hit me with a bill for 1600 hundred pound (me being a bit naive and utterly hopeless with cars went along with it) also needed it back same day or I was buggered for work the next day.
After being told the price, I told them I didn't have the 1600. I was told no problem we'll put right through to our finance partners. ****in con men 😡 wouldn't touch Arnold Clark with a barge pole.
Changes to the MOT rules that came in last year are making that more difficult for the home mechanic.
If you put your car in for an MOT and it fails on a major or dangerous item, that could be brakes or tyres for example, then regardless if you had any remaining time left on your old MOT that becomes invalidated and you cannot "legally" drive your car away from the garage. If you want to do the repairs yourself or take it to another garage to do the repairs, then you are required to trailer the car away as it effectively has no current MOT.
Throbbers who think that just because they are behind a tractor they have a god given right to overtake it regardless of circumstances. Twice today I had to slam the brakes on to prevent head on collisions.
Please ffs think twice and be patient.
When you park your car away from everyone else in a supermarket car park and come out to some heap of crap park 5inches from your door.
Car parking spaces in general. They’re too small for modern cars which have noticeably changed in size even over the last ten years. You feel like you can hardly open your door even though you’re parked plumb in the middle of the space.
I agree with this, though there are a few car parks which do have decent enough room.
Cars, generally, do seem wider. Obviously a lot more SUVs on the the road than in years gone by and smaller hatches and the like are broader too - I’m thinking styles like Nissan Jukes etc. In previous times, cars would have the same engine capacity, seating and boot size in a smaller overall size.
Part of me wonders whether it is to do with us, the people in the cars. If you were to track the physical stats of the population over the last couple of decades, then I bet average weight, waist size etc, has increased a lot. Are car manufacturers just responding to the fact that a lot of their customers need bigger seats (and hence bigger cars)?
They probably are, and it’s also probably something to do with the rise of individualism and the desire for more personal space.
I think that modern, newly built car parks are getting the idea and are making spaces wider.
One thing that’s quite amusing is seeing how redundant garages built any time before the 1980’s are. You aren’t getting a modern Ford Fiesta in one of those.😂
Whilst the explosion in SUV and faux 4x4 numbers might explain away the average increase in car size, I think the safety of the cage has increased a lot in the last 20 years. the A & B pillars are considerably larger in the average family car. I can still remember an Austin Metro that i used to drive, I think the pillars were made out of tinfoil and just as thin!
I had a new garage built in 1989, at the time I had a Fiat Uno (3.689x1.562m). I now have a Renault Captur (4.122x1.778m) and it wouldn't get in the door. I have spent the last 3 months insulating and converting the garage into a workshop :wink:.
The standard parking bay in a car park has been 4.8x2.4m for at least 30 years, and possibly more like 40 years. A Ford Mondeo is 4.871x1.852m so will not fit a standard parking bay.
Changing the limit on Glasgow Road to 40mph...where is the sense in that???!!
If you mean from the RBS building to Ratho Station, apparently it barely adds one minute on to your journey if the road is clear and travelling at 70mph.
At busier times of the day it makes negligible difference.
It also allows traffic to merge from Eastfield Road and the BP garage safer.
In addition, it saves the council paperwork when they have to apply for the many TRO's when there are events on at the Royal Highland Centre, as they do just now.
At least this was the reasoning given by the local MSP when challenged about it,,,,
Going to bring up the lanes on Leith Walk at the top of McDonald Road heading towards the foot of the walk. Taxis that know better in the wrong lane, same with the la fav cars etc. Every ****ing time. Nearly got hit by some ******** deciding to go straight on in his black cab today who then went on to hurl abuse at me. Helmet.
Cyclists going through red lights again. Happened at the junction where the Golden Gates pub used to be, I shouted to him that he just went through a red red light and green man, his response? Red lights don't apply to cyclists. Aye ok then you knobber...:rolleyes:
Folk that still think road tax is a thing and bang on about it.