Immune? :dunno:
Printable View
The ever increasing posts on social media saying " my friends Dad is a clinical director/scientist/surgeon/consultant/disease specialist etc etc etc" every man and his dog seems to be in contact with an expert of some form that predicts we are all doomed!
If the main topic in the world was something happening in outer space all of these clowns would claim to know an astronaut, ****wits the lot of them
The phrase ' rocking up ' somewhere.
As if you have tumbled down a mountain and landed somewhere fortuitously. Utter nonsense.
**** stories on the news, that are in no way "news" or important to the public interest.
Basically utter nonsense filler.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
There seems to be a determination by the BBC, along with others, to 'cheer us up' by devoting time to self professed 'characters'.
There was a woman sitting on a toy elephant playing a xylophone the other day and then another family singing a song they wrote from their living room. Not only that they now have a full interview with them. The Dad genuinely sees to think he is a superstar.
All that ***** makes me want to do is go outside so I don't have to watch it.
BBC Breakfast is horrendous. This morning after the latest coronavirus update it was "Now let's see what Justin Beiber is up to, hee hee hee". Then these idiots expect to be taken seriously when interviewing politicians and science/medical experts. Naga Munchetty....don't get me started :fuming:
Words you can’t spell. “Bureau”, is one if mine. I tie myself in knots second and third guessing myself whenever I now try to type it.
Probably already been mentioned, but insurance/breakdown renewal quotes should be investigated, how many people just agree with their figures and renew? Got my renewal from Green Flag for my breakdown cover, their quote was £119 for the year. Did a comparison quote and was able to get the exact same cover for as cheap as £28, ended up going for one that was £35, purely because it was a company I had heard of before.
It should be illegal what these companies are doing.
People wearing disposable vinyl gloves in supermarkets and so on. The clue is in the name - disposable. In a medical setting a nurse or doctor uses gloves to attend to a patient, removes them when the task is complete, washes their hands then regloves to deal with the next patient.
The other day I watched a couple get out their car in blue gloves, repeatedly touch their phones whilst waiting outside the supermarket to get in, handle various goods whilst inside, use the self checkout and then get back in their car still wearing the gloves. What purpose did the gloves serve? In what way was that better than not wearing gloves and washing your hands as soon as you get home? If anything it probably encourages a false sense of security.
Agree but there are circumstances where wearing one glove can make sense. Effectively operating a 'dirty' hand/clean hand system. Nip in to supermarket for a pint of milk, lift it with gloved hand, press touchscreen buttons with gloved hand, take credit card out of pocket with ungloved hand and pay contactless, open car door with ungloved hand, place milk in cardboard box in car, dispose of glove, drive to the Peak District with clean hands for some exercise.
Been out walking round and about Redford and Colinton Road for my hours walk most nights. Amazed at how many drivers are tearing about driving well above the speed limit because the roads are so quiet. Seen a couple in particular on Redford Road going onto Dreghorn Link, obviously going for a 'spin' on the Bypass. Mental.
As someone who lives close to the bypass these petrol heads are fair cashing in on the quiet traffic.
Typically, they involve small neat little motors with extended exhaust kit making the most noise possible.
They are generally not bad drivers and can handle their aircraft well. Just selfish children.
All the adults on my time line who have signed up for tik tok and think they are being wacky and fun, unfriend
People that read a couple of articles about the coronavirus and then act on social media as if they are qualified to be on the board of the WHO.
Spending a week trimming a 25m long hedge (Leyland Cypress) from 5m down to 2.5m using a hedge trimmer and hand saw, then tidying up your shed afterwards and finding a chainsaw you'd completely forgotten about. :doh:
When cameras cut to the audience when showing comedy acts on stage. Why do we need to see them laughing? Just don't get it.
LinkedIn, specifically the dullards who follow and continually quote that <swear word> richard branson. As if they're being insightful and at cutting edge of business by quoting a man who would happily extract their internal organs and sell them if he could.
Two LinkedIn quotes that get right on my tits currently,
"Create your personal brand"
"Post insightful original content"
And the latest fad,
"So far during lockdown I've learned Japanese, gained 200 new clients, lost 10 stone in weight, gained a black belt in Brazilian jiu-jitsu, and taught myself how to play the piano and harp, what skills are you coming out of lockdown with?!"
I have to keep myself off it now, people talk about how toxic Instagram etc can be but for me it's LinkedIn, without exaggeration it just makes me hate everyone and anyone that works in an office.
I was on a conference call yesterday with a very senior director of my work and one of the participants before anyone else could speak said and I quote "before we start I don't think we should be calling these things catch-up sessions, how about a virtual coffee or virtual beer"
One of those pricks that was clearly thinking to himself I will make this director remember me, aye remember you for being a total David Brent ****
I was raging
When people generalise about an entire generation to score petty points. There is a post doing the rounds on social media with a picture of Captain Tom Moore on his, absolutely outstanding, charity walk next to a picture of Sam Smith crying about being in lockdown with a 'this is the difference between generations' type message.
It's absolute bollocks. Sam Smith is 27 years old. How many nurses, junior doctors, porters, cleaners, delivery drivers, retail workers, social workers, carers and so on are between 25 and 35? Why is a singer more representative of an entire generation than any of those people as individuals? If I posted a picture of 2 elderly people chatting in the street and said 'this is the people we are supposed to be protecting, old people are stupid' would that be acceptable?
I didn’t realise how much I get annoyed by dogs barking. Maybe it’s just a Covid Pet Peeve (no pun intended).
Really gets on my nerves.
Dog owners should be ensuring that their pets don't go anywhere near other people when they're out walking. CV19 can be on pets' fur. Not all owners are doing this.
Mine’s a shopping one, I’m not really in any mad rush when I’m shopping in a supermarket in these times but I really want to get in and out as efficiently as possible and obey social distancing guidelines. I’m also very aware that other people don’t want to come within two metres so I am very conscious of not hogging the displays, I pick what I want and move to my next item fairly quickly so someone else can then move to the same items. Today I literally stood for 2 minutes at several intervals waiting while selfish individuals lingered blocking the displays with their trolley length and staring whilst the queue of us obeying the distance rule waited for them to move off. Some people have absolutely no spatial awareness, ffs if you’re at the tinned beans take your tins and ****** move off.
Similar to yours, I was in a rage on Sunday when I last went shopping, the amount of people standing right in the middle of aisles while they look at the shelves. The whole aisle is pretty much off limits because you can’t pass them while observing social distancing. Can they not keep to the sides so people can pass?
Oh this made me laugh.
So much of that going on it’s just not funny.
Still count yourself lucky that you’ve not been invited to a Lean Coffee.
For those fortunate enough to have never had the joy these are described as follows:
Lean Coffee is a structured, but agenda-less meeting. Participants gather, build an agenda, and begin talking. Conversations are directed and productive because the agenda for the meeting was democratically generated.
I mean who the **** comes up with this stuff!!!
Similar with me but I pulled a couple up for squeezing about 7 or 8 loaves of bread before taking one. They weren't happy when I drew an assistants attention to their behaviour but **** them. The remaining loaves in that section were taken away but don't know what happened after that. Maybe a quick wipe down and back on the shelf?
Grown men on skateboards.
You don't look like Tony Hawk. You look like a 35 year old who has never had sexual intercourse.
The amount of people who are now giving Piers Morgan a free pass as he's questioning government, still the same guy that was the editor of a newspaper hacking people's phones and ruining lives, ****
I didn't previously use Twitter much but I've started to use it more in the last couple of weeks. I was pretty concerned inntially when I found myself agreeing with the vast majority of what he has to say at the moment.
I'm not sure if that counts as giving him a free pass to something. :dunno:
I think it's a balancing act.
I've found myself grudgingly impressed that he seems to be the only TV interviewer (Channel 4 excepted) not letting ministers away with half answers and deflection. He's asking the questions more serious journalists should be asking.
I balance that by still maintaining a healthy belief that he is an insufferable ****.
Why in almost every TV interview at the moment with MP'S, Reporters, Dr's etc they all have huge bookcases behind them? Is it to make us feel more confident that they are intelligent and know what they're talking about?
The royal mail depot changing their opening times but not communicating this on their card. Surely a sticker with "by the way, we shut at 9am now" could have been attached?
3 mile walk for nothing - at least it was a nice morning for it!
Maybe just a punishment for those stupid enough to miss a delivery during a lockdown period. :greengrin
The questions from the journalists after the daily briefings by the government.
Either the journalists are thick as **** and can't understand the information that's just been relayed to them, or they decide the question before they go in and just ask it anyway.
No matter what the subject, the place, the experience, the method, the guy that always says he has been there, done that, tried that, used that, blah blah blah.
On a similar level, folk in meetings who always think they are the smart erse by challenging a point even though the point has been proved beyond doubt in that same meeting with evidence and data to back it up.
All the bored isolators that think it’s time to pressure wash their drive...thus washing all the crap and sand onto the pavement and half way down the street before sitting back and admiring their nice clean drive while leaving all the **** for people to walk through / avoid.
From Private Eye...
Attachment 23240
TV Advert Pet Peeve -
Perf with Surf
Get that tae ****
The coverage given to the fact that Charles & Camiila and William and Kate clapped the NHS last night. Stage managed appearances for the sake of the media coverage mean nothing.
When somebody poses a question in a Facebook group/page and hundreds of people all give the same answer.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...d7d906afe0.jpg
To be honest, and I fully accept I’m probably in the vast minority, but I find the whole applause for the NHS cringeworthy. The sentiment behind it is spot on, but it’s largely a symptom of the social media age where people are more interested in doing it for reasons of vanity and self image, as opposed to because of a desire to appreciate the NHS, IMO.
My neighbour is a physical therapist for the NHS and has been pitching In over and above in various roles within the NHS during this crisis. I’ve told her how grateful folk are for the people doing as she is but I’m not going out to applaud her or random people I don’t know.
I tend to agree with your sentiments, but the 8pm Thursday evening clapping seems to have galvanised neighbourhoods and lifts people’s spirits locally so I can’t criticise it too much, it’s almost become a thing people do for themselves rather than the NHS if you get what I mean.
I like it, no matter what people’s reasons are for doing it, from my house just off the shore last night, I could hear ship horns, church bells and a piper as well as people clapping and cheering. It’s bringing everyone together for a few minutes each week, and I think that’s a good thing.
I wouldn't agree at all that you're in the vast minority. The majority of people I speak to understand the sentiment but also feel it's now become a nice but somewhat cringeworthy episode. As has been said in other comments here, if it brings communities together for 5 minutes a week that's all good but even then social media is now awash with "look at me playing the bagpipes" type posts.
Edit: Does anyone actually believe that NHS workers, tired beyond belief, scared, their faces red raw with wearing masks all day take any comfort or joy from Charles and Camilla giving them a wee clap.
I know it can happen any time but really pisses me off that several cars in my street were opened with no sign of damage so probably electronically on Wed night and ransacked looking for valuables.
When the George foreman is not wiped down whilst still hot!! 😠
Mrs decided out of nowhere that she was weeding the garden today, asked if i wanted to help, i said no because, honestly, i hate doing the garden.
Getting grief for not doing something i don’t want to do now, which is apparently different from when i have to phone for takeaway, get the door, go and see what that noise was, unblock a sink, build something, sort out insurance, stuff with the bank, go to parents nights etc, because she hates doing them.
I hate gardening. It's just a chore. And a money pit. We have quite a big garden out the back and another wee bit at the front. When I was working I spent half my leisure hours in one or the other. And because I'm the world's worse gardener it never looks any better. Wish i was back in a flat in the toon.
I feel your pain. A classic trap.
My wife has been cleaning out a spare room for the last hour or so. Just started doing it. I’m sitting in the sun. Nothing said. But it will be in a while. No point in now asking if she needs help because it will be rebuffed with a comment around “bit late now” or “no you just away and top up your tan” 😂.
I miss normal Saturdays. It is Saturday isn’t it?
Going mental here, got my daughter here and can't log onto Netflix or iplayer it's like logging onto NASSA Netflix asking me so many questions. Apparently my log on details are wrong. I pay monthly, why log me out? I he a had a Derick and Clive session sorting it out.
I'm clapping for the NHS with the exception of the receptionist at our local surgery. Her "customer service skills" need updating. There's no call for the rudeness she displays towards young and old alike.
There are many dozens of people interviewed for one reason or another on tv every week just now. The amount who answer questions with a sentence starting with the word "well" is truly amazing. If it was a written answer nobody would use this word first. So common now it seems to be ingrained in the language. We weren't taught this at school.
The unwanted abuse of the words incredible and incredibly.