Interesting. Should be quite widely available in the pubs they own I take it? I quite like the current ipa they do, pretty similar to deuchers and a decent option in some places where beer choice is otherwise limited to lager.
Printable View
It's never appealed to me GH, got a few mates who have produced some cracking beers (ones a professional so only to be expected) but I've never fancied the hassle tbh. I'd drink it way faster if I had loads sat in the house and also for the same reason I'm not too interested in learning to cook really well- I don't want to lose the mystery of not knowing how the professionals produce something I enjoy. Could save a fair bit of cash though...
Had friends round yesterday and we sampled.......
London Porter, 5.5%
St Peter's Mild, 3.7%
Einstock Icelandic Toasted Porter, 6.0%
Pearl Necklace Oyster Stout, 5.5%
Profanity Stout, 7.0%
They were all pretty good and I would have them again.
Tempest Chipotle Porter, 5.6% - Too spicy for me. Spicy food aye, spicy beer naw!!
Tempest Red Eye Flight Mocha Porter, 7.4% - OK, but a bit strong for my liking. You could taste the strength in it and that's not always good.
Greenwich Smoked Bock Beer, 6.0% - Dreadful stuff :greengrin
And a bottle or two of Anchor Steam which is one of my favourites.
And I don't have a sore head :greengrin
Didn't really enjoy the red eye mocha porter either actually whereas their paler efforts like long white cloud and face with no name have always been much more enjoyable. There was a 2.8% tempest in growler last time I was in that was pretty good too. Ball park perhaps?
A colleague does home brew ..a novice he admits but kits nowadays are far more simpler ..as in measure your water ..make sure everything is steralised ..add the ingredients ...wait ..then syphon ..5 weeks later ..yer brew ..:party: ..most things are pre measured & pre packed nowadays ..all it needs is a bit TLC ..:agree:
My work colleague a (novice) is buying kits that produce 40 pints for the eqv of 25p a pint ..once you have the kit then the world is yer oyster ..:agree:
Yeah I've been very impressed by some beers that friends have made from kits, a lot of them I would never have guessed were home brewed if I hadn't known. And it's undoubtedly cost effective but I can't keep beer in the house and not drink it every night so it'd be pretty disastrous for my liver if I brewed my own:greengrin
Taken a wee shine to Peroni, but actually can't believe the price, how come it's so expensive? Is it handmade it someone's kitchen in Italy?!! An Italian buddy of mine has mentioned a few times that a lager called Moretti (sp?) is a helluva lot more popular in Italy than Peroni is, although I've never heard of it, more of an ale drinker really!
Will need another wee shed..however that has been passed wi the Wife :greengrin..the brew shop you mention has had rave reviews ..the first one I ever remember was the wee shop nearby the Corrie Inn ..put it simply ..why spend £sssss in a boozer when ye can spend & enjoy pretty much the same stuff doing it yersel at a fraction o the price ..:wink:
Moretti is far more popular in Italy, have seen it in Sainsburys but never tried it.
Peroni was introduced with a high price tag and it worked. Sometimes a great marketing ploy to introduce a new product to the market and price it much higher than it's competitors, it's target market accepted it so it was a winner.
Cairngorm Wildcat for me tonight. Pretty decent stuff.
Also had a pint of Williams Joker IPA on keg rather than cask. I'll admit to being a bit of a keg sceptic but this was definitely better from the keg.
Will try Moretti, apparently you can get a 660ml bottle in Tesco for £1.60 something, may buy 6 bottles just to be sure!!
a mate told me about this
www.thefreelibrary.com
www.bitterwallet.com/italians-drink-like-scottish-tramps
quite staggering that tennents super is viewed rather differently in italy. Quality headline too.
Nice one, all the best with it :aok: I've tried a home brew that was made with a black jelly bean in each bottle instead of the sugar lozenge that come as part of some kits. Gave the beer a slight aniseed flavour. No doubt there are other wee tweaks and alterations to be found on brewing forums to customise the beer.
Just sampling " Birds & Bees 4.3 % brewed by Williams in Alloa
A lovely ale
Had a Stronzo MacLovin last night which was superb.
Just polished off a Beavertown Bloody 'Ell which I'll certainly look to get more of.
Was in a pub in London last night and had a pint of Robinson's Trooper and a pint of Allsop Ale, both lovely.
Moretti is nicer than Peroni IMO - father in law drinks it whenever we go out for dinner at their local Italian in Lanark.
You'll get birra moretti in most supermarkets. It's usually £4 for four bottles. I prefer it to the peroni nastro azurro, I do however quite like the standard peroni with the red label.
I had a few bottles of cerveza pacifico Clara the other night, made by the same mob that make corona but this one actually had a taste. Quite malty but not too bad.
Tonight's choices are, cause the fridge is running empty are warsteiner or pilsner urquell.