There are more than 2 bigot clubs in Scotland but you're right there are 2 clubs that have made plenty money by being bigot clubs.
Printable View
Although I think we're all agreed that Lennon is a grade A roaster, I have to give him some grudging credit for coming out with what he has about Celtc's fans and their chanting.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2...eptable-chants
Unique my arse. Celtic's birthplace was in Leith not Ireland.
"open inclusive and welcoming"? What a load of pish.
If Celtic felt that this was wrong why have they been so silent for the last century? They are now under pressure and they have become strong whilst feeding the baying mob, the baying mob are now out of control and have taken them over.
Did anybody see the article about the chants at tynie being about the iRA in the times of the easter rising and nothing to do with the more recent version during the troubles. ******s the lot of them.
I welcome any condemnation of that sort of garbage by anybody in authority at either of the Old Form clubs.
We see plenty of posts on here asking why the clubs themselves don't condemn such behaviour yet when they do their motivation is questioned. I really don't care what the motivation is, Lennon has done a good thing and deserves credit for it.
I dont disagree with your point but I do question their motivation. It so happens they are under a bit of scrutiny because the Yam masses have made a number of video's available to the media of the Celtic fan's behaviour last week. Questions are being asked that may impinge on their stated desire to play in England. Ever.
Had that not happened then I may not have been so cynical.
Thats correct, lemon has said a little of what we all want to hear. Yet again though he mentions the small minority a few times in the interview. If he was serious he'd say what it really was, and that was the majority virtually the full stand at tynecastle.
Celtic and Rangers love the sectarianism, just as long as its a wee bit. As someone else said, they have fed off it for years, now its taken over big style, and they know it, but dont know which way to turn.
Fair play for that, shame it doesn't seem to be widely-reported.
"In recent times, unfortunately there has been a re-emergence, from a small minority, of some of the singing and chanting which is simply not acceptable around our club."
Credit where credit is due.....
At least the behaviour has been acknoweldged and deemed as unacceptable rather than completely ignored.
I did however have a little chuckle about the mention of the "small minority" above; didn't look like a minority chanting "IRA, IRA, IRA" to me .
I agree that Lennon deserves credit for this statement BUT it is still couched in a typical OF head burried up their own erse (pun?) kind of fashion.
"However small the minority of people involved, this behaviour has no place at Celtic"
The second part of this statement should be heartily applauded. However, the first is a lamentable continuation of the denial which still exists at all levels of the OF hierachies.
Both Celtic and Rangers have a MASSIVE problem with sectarianism and other historical bagage which is irrelevant to football and Scotland in general, and the sooner they face up to it the better. The hardcore of offenders MAY be a minority but it is certainly NOT a SMALL minority and there is a reason for that - these people and attitudes have been welcomed and encouraged by both clubs for the majority of their history.
Credit where credit's due, and a statement to be welcomed, but somewhat too little far too late from an individual & football club who effectively ruined last season for everyone else following & participating in the SPL with endless whinging/conspiracy theorioes about officials, the SPL/SFA, other clubs etc. Perhaps if this had been said nearer the start of the season this would have more weight to it, rather than spending his time winding up/slandering officials, other clubs, the SPL/SFA...
Agree with basehibby - both clubs have a very sizeable minority actively involved in sectarianism and violence that will not cease until the clubs actively root out the problem and the perpetrators and publicly cut themselves off from the warped historical nonsense that they have stood by and watched, or even in some cases in the past encouraged, but until then we will still have this embarrassing problem dragging the sport we love and our society back to the feudalism of the middle ages.
Still, at last Neil Lennon says something very sensable and commendable. Good on him. But a little late in the day.
G
The Old Firm has NO problem with sectarianism-it's what pays the wages bill and will continue to do so.UEFA only has jurisdiction in matches played in its competitions.Anyone that thinks the football or government authorities in Scotland will tackle it may be interested in financing my scheme to sell ice to the Eskimoes.
I would bet theres more than a few Celtic fans who are pissed off about saying "we are all Neil Lennon" after he criticised some of the entries on their songsheet though!
Walter Smith?
He's made a couple of statements over the last few months in which he's said that it has to stop.
http://www.scotsman.com/rangersfc/Wa...ang.6748693.jp
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...an-chants.html
http://news.stv.tv/scotland/west-cen...-rangers-fans/