Observation - I have noticed that the % of those opposed to Div1 for NewCo but will continue to support the game has been steadily increasing.
I'm in that camp but wondering why more recent voters are increasingly taking that option?
Printable View
Observation - I have noticed that the % of those opposed to Div1 for NewCo but will continue to support the game has been steadily increasing.
I'm in that camp but wondering why more recent voters are increasingly taking that option?
I see the ever reliable Daily Mail is claiming an exclusive
SPL to announce 16-team top-flight league to come into play by 2015
By Brian Marjoribanks
PUBLISHED: 00:48, 11 July 2012 | UPDATED: 00:49, 11 July 2012
..The SPL are set to promise to set up a 16-team top flight within three years in return for newco Rangers being parachuted into next season's First Division.
The plan, which will be discussed at an SFL board meeting at Hampden on Wednesday, represents a last-gasp bid by the league to safeguard its lucrative television deals in the wake of the Ibrox club's collapse.
Sportsmail understands the proposal would see a move from the current four divisions to three by 2015, but with no play-offs planned between the top and second tiers.
While not certain to be voted through in what promises to be a fractious meeting of all 30 SFL members on Friday, the deal is being perceived in SPL circles as a breakthrough for lower-league clubs who are seeking radical reform of the Scottish game as the price for allowing newco Rangers to drop just one league.
The proposed solution is also being seen as a bid to stave off a total implosion of the Scottish game after SFA chief executive Stewart Regan warned of 'a slow, lingering death' if the Ibrox club were banished to the Third Division - thereby threatening existing TV deals with Sky and ESPN.
Last night's development came as more lower-league clubs turned their fire on Regan and his SPL counterpart, Neil Doncaster.
Morton chairman Douglas Rae accused Doncaster of 'mammoth failure' in his handling of the crisis and of having 'lost his way' during the long-running saga.
He further alleged that Regan had lied over claims the SFA would have blocked newco Rangers gaining entry to the SPL, even if top-flight clubs had not voted 10-1 against admitting them on July 4.
Clyde, meanwhile, called on the SFL to clarify exactly what is being voted for on Friday -- amid growing fears that newco Rangers will be 'railroaded' into the First Division regardless of how the voting goes.
Describing the overall situation as an 'unholy mess', Raith Rovers chairman Turnbull Hutton last night claimed Doncaster and Regan were now living on borrowed time.
He told Sportsmail: 'Their positions are becoming untenable. I don't know who will wield the axe or whether they will choose to fall on their swords, but the pair of them have presided over an unholy mess.
Under fire: SPL chief Neil Doncaster has been criticised for his handling of the situation
'Rangers went into administration in February -- it's July and people are still asking what is going to happen. The honest answer ahead of Friday's SFL meeting is I haven't a bloody clue -- and neither does anyone else.
It's an almighty shambles.' Morton counterpart Rae had earlier accused the SPL and SFA of 'bullying' and 'deceiving' SFL clubs during a meeting last week, warning of dire consequences if they did not vote Rangers into the First Division.
'Doncaster was totally unable to get his (SPL) clubs to accept the decision going forward that he wanted,' said Rae.
'Following that mammoth failure, he now expects the SFL clubs to bail him out, which would mean ignoring the views of our supporters.
'Quite frankly, Neil Doncaster seemed to many to be a man who had lost his way and is unable to get back on the right road.
'The most concerning point about Regan's presentation was he departed from truth as he became increasingly desperate to get his viewpoints accepted.
Red card: Rangers will have to play their football in the First Division
'When asked what would have happened if SPL clubs had voted newco Rangers entry to the Premier League, he stated that the SFA would block it.
'The following day, Stewart countermanded in the press what he had told the SFL meeting the previous day.
'It is extremely disappointing the chief executive of the SFA was unable to give a truthful response to SFL chairmen.'
Now Clyde are seeking changes to Friday's resolutions after claiming the clubs no longer seem to have a clear choice between sending the newco to the First or Third divisions.
The club said in a statement: 'We are being asked to make one of the most important decisions for Scottish football in a vacuum devoid of factual information, that vacuum having been filled with unhelpful rhetoric and scaremongering by the chief executives of the SFA and SPL.'
As Scottish football's civil war raged on, former SFA president George Peat last night insisted the game had 'hit a brick wall' and that he was now glad to be on the outside looking in.
Peat, who stepped down from his Hampden post last summer after four years in the job -- and having commissioned Henry McLeish's Review of Scottish Football -- said: 'I am happy to be outside of it all now. It is sad what has happened at Rangers.
'After the McLeish report came out, we were all working together on the way forward . When I left the SFA, the relationship between the SPL and the SFL was very good.
'People were looking at things from the same point of view. Nobody could foresee what was going to happen.
'I hope that what has happened at Rangers hasn't blown it all apart but, from an administration point of view, Scottish football has hit a brick wall.'
Peat admitted he had sympathy for Regan, who he insisted had a responsibility to act for the greater good of the game. 'I believe Stewart has been unfairly criticised,' he said.
'Someone has to take the lead and that's what he did. He is not going to please everybody.
'All he has done is to spell out the road the game could go down and what will happen.
'Perhaps it didn't make good reading for some but, in all of it, somebody has to explain the facts of the situation, whether they are pretty or not.
'He might have gone too far in some people's eyes but this is a situation that has far-reaching consequences.
'SFL clubs have been put in an invidious position. It is SFL clubs who are suffering and they feel they have had the problem dumped on them.
'The clubs are never all going to agree but what is important right now is that people look at what is right for the long-term future of the game.'
Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz20Iyd09lB
look at the coupon oan sally McCoist, like he's done sommit in his union jack boxer shorts and he can't get off the ground for the weight of it
NewHunCo / Sevco5088 actually play a match shockerooni!
'All the bitter orange in one glass...'
http://www.followfollow.com/news/tmn...89/index.shtml
And Stefan Winiarski is donating some of his testimonial money to the Huns fighting fund :faf: Bunch a pricks! Hope it pishes doon for the full 90 ya Hun fuds!
So many issues with that article and such poor journalism, yet again based around their agenda to get Rangers into Division 1. Firstly, how can the SPL board promise anything without clearing it with their member clubs? And why do we need Rangers in the 1st Division for a 16 team league? And why do we have to wait until 2015?
DTS it's a good question. I remember when those who would be walking away numbered 75% and now it is down to 62%.
To be honest I think it shows the honesty of the voters. If it still said 75% (or higher) were walking away then it would cast a wee but of doubt on people's honesty with themselves if nothing else but the fact that it has slowly fallen, currently 62.62% to be precise, suggests it is an accurate reflection of feeling.
Most of us are outraged at the goings on, first with the Huns and now the SPL and SFA. But for those who have voted that they will be walking away unless the Huns get kicked down to SFL3, it is a BIG commitment to make. To say 'I will walk away from the team I support'. I am one of the 62.62%. Simply because now we all know what a corrupt cesspit and pro Old Firm fix up the SPL is I do not want to spend hours of my life watching a lie. A lie that there are 12 teams competing fairly in a football league. Okay so the Huns are now out of the SPL but corruption still rules as Dungcaster and Regan try and twist and bend and break every rule in the book to ensure that the money cart called 'Rangers' gets back into the SPL as soon as possible, aka season 2013/14. So therefore the lie lives on.
I don't blame any Hibby for voting to stay with Scottish football. It will be a huge huge wrench to make the break, but as one of the 62% I couldn't watch a rigged one horse (or in reality two horse) race that the SFL is, or perhaps they should cut the crap and rename it the Scottish Old Firm Circus With Side Shows Provided By The Hick Clubs?
SOFCWSSPBTHC for short.
Thanks for not blaming any of us who will continue to go along and support our club. The fear of being cast as a social pariah by the much more principled and honest majority has given me several sleepless nights. :greengrin
Past caring now where they stick Rangers. Hibs are making some OK signings and Rangers won't be in the SPL when the new season kicks off. GGTTH
I admire your trust, but how many rules have already been bent/ignored in this whole saga.
Yesterday we were told that the SFA membership had been transfered to Sevco. despite it being against the rules.
There were so many lies by the SFA/SPL at the last SFL meeting that a minor obstacle, such as a "rule" is clearly not going to stop them trying to do whatever they want.
I think it was either Longmuir or Regan that said there was actually nothing in the rules that stated a new club had to start in Division 3, it was simply that this had been the historical norm. i.e. tell us you want them in and we'll do the rest. Resolution (i) is the majority vote needed for them to do exactly that.
Some mind boggling figures in there.
Scottish Legal Costs £ 520,000
English Legal Costs £ 1,650,000 to date.
Also 8.3 Action against Collyer Bristow due to restart in October 2012 has been vacated. Expected to restart Summer/Autumn 2013.
Media Consultancies £ 144,000 to date.
This is the SFL, though. If sufficient clubs are voting against Resolution 2, in the belief that thay are voting against D1 entry, and the SFL Board ignore that... then I am confident that the Clubs will vote the Board out. As for what Longmuir/Regan are reported to have said, that is clearly wrong. They know that, and the Clubs know that.
Now... shhhh on this. We clearly disagree.... do you want yer accounts done or no? :greengrin
Checking in from sunny Switzerland. Just realised the last time I was here they went into admin. :-) Still think the arithmetic looks bad for the New Huns on Friday. Time to email Hibs our opposition to SPL2!
I wonder whats changed, a 16 team league was deemed not profitable enough only a few months ago?
I read in some article the other day on the voting rites for all clubs if the SPL & SFL joined forces again. It stated the SPL would hold 16 'A' shares in the set up and lower clubs old 'B' shares with A&B having different voting rites.
Strange that the SPL were to have 16 shares, makes you wander. As somebody said a couple of weeks back a 16 club SPL wouldn't work.
I think a lot of us are going to be disappointed come Friday, I have heard they are going to be in Division one and this is from a source within Ibrox.
Ian Black thinks they are going to be in Division One and I wouldn't be surprised if this is where Dean Shiels ends up.
I sincerely hope I'm wrong.
It's the Assets Realisations that boggle my mind:
Goodwill (i.e. the 'Rangers' name, brand and business) £1.
Stock (valued at £2,000 in the CVA document) £1.
Player registrations (Valued at £7.9m int the CVA doc and they were offered £2m for Naismith alone) £2.75m.
Heritable properties (Ibrox and Murray Park? - mibbes aye, mibbes naw) £1.5m.
I think they have managed to pish off enough SFL clubs to get a NO vote for entry into SFL.
Come Monday they will be catapulted back into SPL, hold onto your season tickets....preferably near a lighter.
With the issue of the 'Interim' Report by D&P, how close are we to the arrival of BDO and the start of the blood on the carpets ?
CWG/ CG - any views ?
I have only skimmed the Report, but it does say that there are a few items to be dealt with before that happens. If I were a cynic, I might think that meant shr*dding of st*ff...... but I'm not, so I won't.
I would guess a few weeks away yet. That said, if it goes on long enough, BDO might lose patience and just walk in.