[QUOTE=blackpoolhibs;3282074]Isn't that what being a Hibs fan is all about ?
Should be the motto on the badge.
Printable View
Am no qoutin any yous cause its aw tae pot:greengrin
Ill be happy with a wee tidy 4th place finish, Even that's pushin it.
If we were to aim for 2nd and finish 3rd/4th then would it really be so bad? If we aim for a top 6 and finish 6th/7th I would be disappointed.
It's a mindset thing for me, if you believe you can finish the best of the rest then you have a chance. Go in thinking top 6 then we're in danger of mediocre thinking/performances.
And I do believe it's realistic giving the budget we have compared to others.
A few decent signings and it's game on. Look at what Mowbray done and what McLeish achieved with changing the squads they inherited.
In my opinion of course! This is Hibs so we could have Spain's team and still finish 11th :greengrin
Everything below Celtic is wide open next season. Motherwell may lose a couple more players, can't see United adding many players, Hearts have lost some key players etc etc.
If we can add a couple more players of McPake type quality and generally improve the squad then i don't see why we shouldn't be aiming for 2nd place. Not saying we will finish 2nd place by any means, but it is what we should be aiming for. The rewards are there for the taking next season.
I have no problem aiming for 2nd, what i dont understand is anyone actually thinking we can make 2nd. We are pish, and have been pish for quite a while. We will sign players, we look like we have signed 3 now.
We start from so much lower than those who finished 20-30 points above us, and of course these teams wont be sitting on their erse waiting for us to catch up?
Every season we have a poll on where we will finish, and even i have put us in at 4th when we have been nowhere near 4th at the end.
At least when i said 4th it was on the back of a 4th place finish the season before. We have finished 10th and 11th, 6th place would be real progress next season, but i fear with some if we dont make 2nd, some folk will hyper ventilate at the failure?
As i said earlier, 11th to 2nd, only on here. :rolleyes:
Two from twitter...
@AgentScotland: Dean Shiels has had informal talks about a return to Easter Road with Hibernian
And
@AgentScotland: Hibs have offered Garry O'Connor a fresh one year contract, he still has options in China, Russia and Aberdeen
Serbia or Aberdeen huh, wonder which one is colder :greengrin
Seriously though, it's that time of year when Hibs fans can but hope for the new season, so why shouldn't we sometimes get a bit carried away wi ourselves :greengrin
In Clancy we seemed to have picked up a good solid RB and we've signed McPake, the one player that fans have wanted the club to sign on from last years loanees...it's a good start and I hope for many more of the same or better from the club, it's a summer of positive change :greengrin
@AgentScotland: Hibs have offered Garry O'Connor a fresh one year contract, he still has options in China, Russia and Aberdeen[/QUOTE]
I really hope this isn't true
How?
200 hours of community service would see him through most games of the season.....:na na:[/QUOTE]
Sorry to be serious here, but I just think we need less players with a screw loose, unless the screw loose is one that makes them lose their teeth in the midfield battle and scares the droppings out of yams
Garry O'Connor offered 1 year deal and Dean Shiels has had infomal talks :thumbsup:
I don't want Shiels either, it appears he's improved since he left us but i still don't really know what his best position is, he appears to be a luxury player that plays in 'the floating role' and i'm not sure we can accomodate that position just now.
I'd rather we bought a winger with some genuine pace and ability to beat a man and get a cross in.
I've no time for GoC either, guy seems like a total erse and i'm fed up of having them at our club, let's get some proper professionals in.
IF he is going back for GoC then the assumption must be that Griff isnt coming back. Bad move. Last thing the dressing room neeeds.
I don't know like, i reckon the guy has alot of wrongs he wants to put right, got to remember there was zero service to the front pair last season (and they still scored goals) however being supplied by a linking player like Shiels would probably double the amount of goals O'Connor plus one other will score.
Cairney confirmed
Hibernian FC @HibernianFCClub
BREAKING NEWS: Paul Cairney has agreed a two year deal with the club – becoming boss Pat Fenlon’s third new signing