For those who liked the French version of Call My Agent, the same team have made Standing Up, about a bunch of stand-ups in Paris. On Netflix.
Printable View
For those who liked the French version of Call My Agent, the same team have made Standing Up, about a bunch of stand-ups in Paris. On Netflix.
2 Doors Down, Elaine C Smith just makes that show 🤣
Aye I love those bits Metallica in the recent episode was great but see that noise that’s just constantly played as there talking it grinds my gears as you say it’s a difficult enough follow just let us concentrate on what’s being said.
Absolutely brilliant tv though maybe get your thoughts once the season finishes save any spoilers
Yeah I needed a YouTube recap after first episode….still only half sure I have an idea 😂 it’s something like 7 years after season 3’s events so a lot has happened inbetween that they only sort of slide in here n there, this season certainly a bit more like the first 2 rather than the 3rd
Breeders, it's not the sort of thing I'd normally watch, but for some reason I think it's a great programme. The wee girl that plays Ava is a great wee actress.
Also, on a side note, my friends SIL is in We Own This City.
Resident Evil on Netflix is decent so far
I've taken to watching the youtube videos after each episode. Episode 4 was up there with some of the highs of seasons 1 and 2 though. It wouldn't surprise me if some of season 4 story arcs were drafted out before season 3 and season 3 serves mainly as a set-up to allow the events of season 4 to be explained.
Watching and enjoying "Suits" on Netflix just now. Mega late to party on that one but a decent watch
Episode last night involved a very raunchy scene with a certain duchess. Lovely stuff
Sarah rafferty easy on the eye too. Acting it great at times too, Louis for example is equally hilarious and infuriating
This won’t come as a surprise to anyone but Better Call Saul is outstanding imo.
Mentioned this on the Depression and Anxiety thread.
Watching a really intriguing series on Netflix called How to Change Your Mind. It's about the use of psychedelics in the treatment of mental health issues.
I've just watched the latest Better Call Saul episode.
I'm now obsessed with knowing what Kim Wexler was doing throughout the Breaking Bad years (I'm making the assumption she survives).
Was there not talk of her having her own spin-off series? I was a little disappointed by the last episode, albeit by the incredibly high bar they set themselves. Just felt like all the story lines concluded the previous episode and we essentially ended up in the Breaking Bad world now. Still a few episodes to go though so hopefully a few more twists and turns to come and it’s not essentially just a few episodes left to drag out. Which would be unlike the show.
I think they'll tie up Gus getting the lab finished, Walt and Jesse appear in at least one episode wo we have that introduction and then I think all the focus will be on tidying up the flash forward scenes with Saul thinking he has been rumbled as Gene. That's just been left hanging for an entire series and I'm not sure it's going to be a simple or happy ending.
Thought the last episode was superb. Kim leaving Jimmy was powerful and the last step in him fully becoming Saul.
Wouldn't be surprised if the last episode is a full episode on Gene -maybe even in colour. Hoping we get to see Kim again, either in BB world or in flash forwards to Gene.
See Margot Robbie, Guy Pearce, Kylie and Jason Donovan are coming back for the final episode of Neighbours on Friday.
Hink I might give resident evil a bash the trailer looks decent
I know they are probably actual characters in the marvel comics, but is the next phase in Marvel to essentially just re-make an existing character with a female version. We’ve had new series/films recently about a female Hawkeye, a female Thor and now a female Hulk. Surely there are more unique characters out there to introduce, male or female.
Bit of a lame take - they are all established characters. Hardly remakes.
It’s just an expansion into lesser known material. And things like Hawkeye and Kate Bishop is more about setting up the next generation of Avengers.
Surely the only point that’s relevant is whether the show or film is any good?
I’m pretty certain that Kim’s home state is where Gene is now based. Obviously it was a location selected by the Robert Forster character but seems unlikely to be a coincidence…..
Kinda hoping we don’t see too much of Walt and Jesse as it seems too big a risk that it doesn’t work well and detracts from BB slightly. From last weeks episode there were still 3 years until Walt walks into Saul’s office, maybe more to see during that period.
My point is that everything you list is based on existing well loved comic characters. Someone out there is totally buzzing that they got round to making a Ms Marvel or Moon Knight etc.
I agree on the hit rate though. No longer essential viewing as it seemed in the build up to Infinity Wars.
Wakanda Forever is probably the next one that I’m really buzzing for
Every single series i start watching ends up getting cancelled. I'm not a big TV watcher and it's mainly science fiction stuff which has a track record of never seeing a full run but it just puts me off starting to watch anything.
Anyway, Night Sky, the Amazon Prime show, was great TV and unlike anything I've ever watched before. 8 hours of really stellar cinematography and acting but it's been pulled after 1 series. The search continues......
Really enjoying the Last Kingdom
Keep breathing on Netflix , Dinnae bother , Dug*****
I've watched the first 7 eps of From, still not too sure what it's about yet. Same writers as Lost so happy to persevere.
"7 seconds" on Netflix. It's got "The Wire" feeling about it but playing in a lower division.
Watched the first episode of From. Hooked already felling some Lost vibes on this.
Latest Better Call Saul episode was outstanding.
Just watched The Control Room. What a load of absolute *****.
I especially liked the fact there was a phone box in the forest so he could make a call during one of the flashbacks to the 90s.
3 episodes, 90% of which seemed to be the main character acting like droopy the dog.
Just avoid.
Just started watching La Brea, bit of a Lost vibe to it, some pretty ropey acting though.
Natural World-The Super Squirrels on BBC 2 a couple of nights ago This was a repeat but it's well worth a watch , excellent documentary on these brilliant wee things , their agility and intelligence is amazing . It'll still be available on the I-Player I'd imagine
Similar thoughts to Keep Breathing on Netflix. Spun as a survival series after a plane crash but ends up descending into a never ending montage of flashbacks as the main protagonist makes peace with her upbringing and parents….last two episodes were absolutely brutal.
Did anyone watch the Newsreader on BBC?
I enjoyed it, especially using real events from the 1980s which I remembered.
I just finished the Woodstock 99 documentary on Netflix. It was really good, it was a flashback to a great era for music with some of the bad from that era summed up in one festival. I can't believe how bad they wrecked the place :hilarious
The sandman!!!!
Just watched the first episode. Oh yeah!!
Black Bird , a six part series on Apple TV.
A great watch.
I just finished watching it too. I've always found it really distasteful that Limp Bizkit bore a lot of the blame for what happened at Woodstock and the documentary puts a lot of that blame where it belongs - on the organisers. A total ****show of a festival and I'm truly surprised criminal charges were never brought against the organisers for negligence and a lack of actual preparedness.
Agreed. The crowd during break stuff looked insane, I went onto YouTube and watched a few sets and their one was mental. I don't think you can blame them for giving the crowd a proper show. The damage was already done.
It wasn't until after I watched it I read someone died during Metallicas set. Weird it wasn't mentioned during the documentary given everything else that was discussed.
Better Call Saul, does it again, one left to go, what a show it's been
i felt the same - i think rotten luck with having to re-cast jeff has pulled some of the air out of it, which is such a shame, because up until that the show had been pretty much flawless.
this week's episode is definitely back on track, absolutely my favourite tv show of all time.
Scotland at Birmingham 2022 on BBC1 Scotland 🥇🥈🥉
Just started watching Anatomy of a scandal on Netflix. Very good story and acting, especially Sienna Miller.
I watched the Woodstock 99 documentary and it was a car crash. The whole thing was doomed to fail from the beginning.
Firstly every attempt to recreate Woodstock has failed to live up to the original. The original was a moment in time. 99 was arguably the worst though. If the original Woodstock was a gathering of idealistic hippies promoting peace and love then 99 was a collection of the worst kind of faux hard man nu metal dickheads and rapey frat boys. The whole 'let's be really misogynistic because it's so cool and shocking' was a pretty low point for popular culture. Secondly the organisers took this collection of people playing really angry characters, loaded them full of drugs and tried to extort them. How was it ever going to end well?
It’s a good while back now but on the theme of the Woodstock documentary, if no one has seen Fyre on Netflix I’d urge you to watch it.
An absolute disaster of a supposed luxury festival gone completely tits up.
Halfway through The Bain Family Murders, if I stayed in that house I think I would've got rid of most of them too!
Started watching the new Halo series on Paramount+ at the weekend. Really good so far but I have only watched the first two episodes. Great CG effects especially in the intro to the first episode. I have not played the game so I cannot compare it that way but if you're into your Sci-Fi this should satisfy.
Great last episode of Better Call Saul.
A re-watch of Breaking Bad is needed.
I read someone on Twitter describe Better Call Saul as both a prequel and sequel to Breaking Bad and also a prequel and sequel to Better Call Saul.
Quite gutted that the whole BB universe is being left behind albeit I know there isn't much more they could do with it. I saw a back story for Gus suggested but large parts of that have already been covered and I'm not sure it would really add much.
Watched the first couple of episodes of Red Rose on iplayer, quite enjoyable so far.
Oh boy! Just seen the teaser for Wednesday on Netflix. Looks good, just up my street. Tim Burton produced. 👍😁