Someone needs to start one :agree:
Printable View
I'm in the mood :dancer:for change on a seismic scale, and I'll feel cheated if we end up with a cobbled-together version of the status-quo.
If 8 (The Sun, I think) clubs are on the brink of collapse without Rangers presence in the SPL, then so be it. And I would say that even if we're one of the '8'. It's not the job of the SPL / SFL / SFA to be manipulating the league to accommodate teams who refuse to manage their affairs sensibly. If they go bust, they should sort out their affairs, and start again at the bottom, allowing teams who have run their businesses honestly to take their places. It's not Doncaster's place to be favouring the feckless over clubs which have lived within their means.
Could we please stop posting pictures of Neil Doncaster up on this thread. My monitor is in danger of being smashed to smithereens.
Thanks.
Why is Petrie to blame? As far as I can see he has come out and stated that Hibs are ready to vote now and will vote no. If the other 11 clubs decide to delay the vote there is nothing he can do about it.
I think the meaning in the statement last week is clear now that the proposed delay has come out into the open. Someone within the SPL is driving an agenda to delay the vote and lobbying other clubs over it. Hibs have stated they will vote now. I would put money on it being one of the clubs which hasn't declared their vote yet, Celtic would be the most obvious candidate.
There has been one report that Petrie briefed Green on the document released by the SFL, but until we have proof that Rod has been complicit in delaying the vote and trying to push the proposed stitch up we can't blame him surely. Hibs have been consistent in their public pronouncements about sporting integrity and voting no, and they have stated it is up to others to decide once the SPL vote is out of the way.
If the vote is delayed today I would expect and hope that Hibs will issue a statement to re-iterate what they said last week and clarifying that the delay was not their idea or what they wanted.
I drink with a few Celtic supporters and have been critical of their lack of leadership in this saga. Today I sent them this in response to their comments re a delayed vote.
There was always going to be one final big push to keep Rangers in the SPL, lead by Doncaster and the Glasgow based media. Last week I was critical of Hibs for their mealy-mouthed statement. Reading it in the context of the pressure Petrie has been put under I now feel that it was a very good statement.
"the vote should proceed without further delay and that Hibernian FC will vote against the share transfer"
I wish Celtic and Lawell had put out a similar statement. I understand you would all feel that Celtic would be painted as the baddies but you will anyway. You had nothing to lose but chose to have no balls for fear of upsetting your sister club.
I am convinced the vote will take place today. Clubs that have made their statements have too much to lose by doing otherwise. I hope it is a public vote and Celtic have voted for Rangers demotion.
I fear otherwise though with a secret ballot and Celtic's board protecting their interests (dual sponsorships, 2 home Old Firm games, the media interest, attraction to foreign players, league not being over by Christmas and profile that comes with it.) Lawell will vote for Rangers to stay in with penalties. It is likely he is behind this late push to SFL1. If it transpires this is the case I hope all Celtic supporters contact each member of the board- starting with Lawell- and force them to resign.
Rangers have created this mess but Celtic's lack of leadership has exacerbated the situation.
I'd like to believe that Petrie is the good guy, fighting the good fight in the face of intense pressure from all the bad guys around the table. I just don't believe it at this stage though. I think he's in on it as much as the rest of them.
Enough clubs have confirmed their positions as no voters for the vote to take place today. If it doesn't take place, then the stitch up is on.
I liked watching 'Sykes' when I was a kid, even if the set was literally made of cardboard. My favourite one was when a neighbour slammed the front door so hard the whole wall of the set wobbled and Sykesy smiled and gave the camera a sideways glance. Classic! It's an unfair world when corrupt no-morals cretins like Dungcaster are still alive & kicking and a comedy classic like Eric Sykes slip this mortal coil.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TQy_ceTBtjs
At least 7 clubs have said they'll vote no but Hibs are the ones standing up for integrity by not wanting the vote delayed now? Rodders is now briefing on documents that have nothing to do with him? Common sense and the balance of probabilities tells you that the likely answer to both are 'no'.
Either way, Doncaster works for Rodders and the rest of the clubs. There's a danger of him becoming a Fred Goodwin-style magnet for all the flak whilst everyone else avoids it. If Hibs come out and say that they didn't want the delay, fine. I suspect that they won't [be able to].
A more prescient post I have never seen, of course we wee diddy clubs only consider our role as an apperitif for the mighty Rangers and why not. I'm sure hundreds if not thousands of like minded fans all across Scotland will be disgusted at being prevented or at least being threatened with exclusion fron next years WWF spectacular Hun love in. After all at least we ken oor place and thats right at the feet of the mighty 'Gers!:na na:
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...rred-1-2391579
A DECISION on whether Rangers will be allowed back into the SPL may be postponed, it emerged today.
• SPL clubs could decide to wait until SFL clubs vote on whether Rangers are allowed into the First Division
Scottish Premier League chief executive Neil Doncaster has given a strong hint that today’s scheduled vote on a newco Rangers admission will be deferred.
Most SPL clubs have confirmed they plan to reject the application from Charles Green’s Sevco consortium amid strong pressure from their own supporters.
But Doncaster has been trying to persuade Scottish Football League clubs to accept the Ibrox club in the Irn-Bru First Division and it appears the SPL clubs will put off a decision until their lower-league colleagues can make things clearer.
Doncaster told Sky Sports News ahead of the meeting: “There may be a decision, there may not be.
“There was a good meeting yesterday with the Scottish Football League, in which the possibility of Rangers going into the second tier of Scottish football was discussed.
“And ultimately, if that option remains in play, that may be a reason to defer the vote today.”
Dungcaster you morally corrupt sack of ****ing **** ******* stinking filth!!!:grr: :fuming: :grr:
:rules:
Hibs have already re-iterated their view: "The Chairman made the point that the vote should proceed without any further delay and that Hibernian FC will vote against the share transfer."
The "breifing" is a strange one, but it is as yet unconfirmed.
I agree with you in general that Doncaster is becoming a scapegoat and others are avoiding flak, but I don't think Petrie is as much to blame as some on here do. The statement issued last week which I have quoted seemed a bit strange at the time, but in light of the news that people are wanting to delay the vote I think that the meaning of the statement issued last week is clear and Hibs intentions are clear.
I may however be totally wrong in all that though.... ;)
The only reason to defer the vote is because they know that there are no rules to let the newco into div 1, so they would need an SFL vote to allow that. It looks like this isn't going to happen, but the SPL clubs want the newco in div 1, so may to allow the share transfer to the then immediately relegate the newco as one of the sanctions, there is nothing the SFL can do about it.
I have not seen the answer to this question but apologies if it has been dealt with in previous posts.
Have Celtic supporters come out and confirmed that they will boycott games at Darkhead if their board vote yes to der huns being allowed back into te SPL. They are going to do it to other clubs who vote yes so will they be doing similar to their own club. I doubt it very much.
Why dont the non Infirm Clubs resign from the SPL and join the SFL?Leave the Ugly Sisters in a league of their own as they seem to think its their league anyway.They can play each other every week for all i care,Im sure Strathclydes finest and the Monks down in Devon would love that :rolleyes:
If as expected the SPL decide to put off any decision until after the SFL have met next Thursday,how can the SFL vote when they won't have a vacancy.
Sevco will still be in the SPL and Dundee in the 1st division.
I thought the SFA said yesterday (about 40 pages ago) that newco wouldn't be allowed in the SPL next season.
From BBC Sport sportsday
1153:
FOOTBALL FIFA threatens Oman with suspension from playing World Cup 2014 qualifying matches for breaching football rules on taking disputes to ordinary courts.
Three clubs in Oman sought a ruling to invalidate allegedly flawed elections for the Oman Football Association ruling board.
Oman, managed by former Rangers manager Paul Le Guen, are scheduled to play their next World Cup qualifier at home to Jordan on 16 October.
I wish they would take an interest in events in Scotland.
So its official - Doncaster is a cheerleader for the Huns.
Yesterday Regan said unequivocally that newhun wouldne be allowed into the SPL, so there can be no reason whatsoever to delay the vote.
This is now sickening, sad, pathetic and seems almost calculatedly designed to sicken football fans.
My new theory is that Doncaster is in fact a secret agent of the Juniors and this is all a plot to get teams to support their local clubs instead of the SPL.
There can be other reason for him actively seeking to destroy the game.
Also - wtf right has he to comment on anything other than SPL. Thats his remit. Get him tae ****
IMHO, the newco won't be in the SPL next season, but the matter is whether they'll be in SFL1 with the SFL's agreement or without the SFL's agreement. If the SFL say yes, the SPL clubs can vote no to the newco, if the SFL clubs say no, then the SPL will vote yes to the newco and then immediately relegate the newco as one of the sanctions against them.
what a bunch of *****bags that run out league :rolleyes:
Ian Black to sign if there's a "positive outcome" in the talks
Ian Black has reached an agreement to sign for #Rangers newco IF there's a positive outcome on league status-link here: http://t.co/1ffG3K8e