Definitely. He has plenty of energy (something we are really lacking)
Printable View
Mueller has not long finished a full season in the MLS and was told to rest after it. It is now effectively pre-season for him and he is therefore probably still getting up to speed. We wouldn't give players just a couple of weeks of training and 60 minutes in a bounce game and expect that to be enough for them to be ready to play at Parkhead 1st game of the season.
Just look at Kyogo at Celtic, he has been playing since Feb 2021 without a break and has recently been in and out with injuries having come back, probably too early, against us in the cup final and then aggravating his hamstring injury a week later v St Johnstone. We need to carefully manage Mueller's introduction to the team so the same doesn't happen to him.
I would be very surprised if were not still in the market for more new faces. Also expecting 3-4 outgoings also.
I feel sorry for him in so much as it can’t be easy or pleasant to play through this loss of form with the glare of the public on you.
That sympathy is limited though, as I don’t think he does everything he can to help himself.
The striker role in this team is an important one. A lack of alternatives for the out of form Nisbet probably contributed as much as anything else to Jack Ross getting the bullet. The new coaching team will soon have alternatives - I’d be very surprised if Nisbet keeps his place for long if he doesn’t buck his ideas up big time.
He’s been a glaring weakness in our team for nearly a year.
I'm not getting this 'loss of form'.
It's more likely that this is his default level. A player can't simply be off from for a whole year or more.
There is no evidence whatsoever of the prediction "he will come good, only needs a goal".
That miss against Celtic seems to point some crazy idea that KN holds himself up as a gifted footballer, the way he attempted to score with the outside of his foot. I can think of no other striker who would have done anything like that.
Even a centre half would have just blasted it over the line, from what, 3 yards out?
Further back up for the default level is his continual one trick pony attempt at passing the ball into the net ala Mo Salah, but allowing the keeper to make an easy save, or missing the target completely.
Maybe we were fooled by his record in the 'we're no very good' leagues. And KN is in the 'he's no very good' class.
St Johnstone have made a bid for Allan Forrest of Livingston hoping to get him in this window as his contract expires in the summer.
Away from all the Kevin Nisbet chat
Really hope we’re still actively looking to strengthen the squad with some real quality that instantly improves the starting 11.
Also hoping a couple are moved on.
An interesting one for me is Hallberg, I think Maloney could be a fan of him.
Firstly, it's only your opinion his value has plummeted. Given he became a full internationalist after the Brum bid I'm not sure it has. Secondly. KN's contract has more than 2 years to run. A return to goalscoring form would help us on the pitch, increase his chances of a big move & see his value increase, a win/win/win.
Shame the way Nisbet is being spoken about. Nowhere near as bad as folk are making out imo.
While I agree, he's hardly been turning in performances that you would think would lead to being in the national team.
He got in at the right time as part of a tight knit squad that now knows how to win. He got there initially on merit, but since then his performances for hibs have not been great. I want him to do well because we saw him score some great goals, but he doesn't seem capable of getting back to that level for whatever reason.
He must be great in training because Clarke likes him, Ross liked him, and Maloney hasn't dropped him yet, so he has something we arent seeing.
7 goals in 28 games isn't a great return, with a record like that in this league I don't think if he played for another team people would be falling over themselves to sign him.
It could just be that top Championship/bottom premiership is his level, he hit the ground running after getting his deal with us but since the death of his father and a couple of niggly injuries, he's regressed badly. I don't think he's a bad player but just not as good as a lot of people think he is, similar to Shankland and McNulty who struggled moving up to a higher level (McNulty's best form came playing in English Div1+2, good cameo for us but then struggled again)
Hope Kevin Nisbet does not read these pages. If he does I expect he will understand that most of the posters talk a load of sh*te.
He's a striker at Hibs. Aye, he missed a sitter the other night and has not been anywhere near the form he was when he first signed but this is why he is at Hibs. If he was banging in over 20 goals every season, playing consistently well he would not be here.
It's just his turn to be the one who is getting targeted for abuse. Over the last few months it's been a choice of Hanlon, Porteous, Wright, Newell to name a few.
Cove Rangers have announced the signing of former Aberdeen, Motherwell, Sheffield Wednesday and Dundee United defender Mark Reynolds.
The 23-year-old has agreed an 18-month contract and – subject to clearance – will be in the squad for tomorrow night’s Scottish Cup fourth round tie with Hibernian at Easter Road.
Wonder if we're looking at Charles-Cook, I've been impressed with him for a while now and that's another 2 goals and created the other one. Seems to be involved in a lot of goals and assists for them.
I don't watch them enough to know much about his weaknesses but must be attracting at least some interest.
I wonder if other teams are looking at him too
In the wake of all the focus and attention on Martin boyle and the life changing money supposedly on offer, I wonder if that’s partly the reason Nisbet can’t find the back of the net.
Maybe he thinks his big money move might not happen for him now,whilst I can’t stand a player who hands in a transfer request I still believe Kevin Nisbet has a lot to offer hibs.
He’s an international striker playing on the biggest stages,that is progress he made at Hibernian.
Birmingham whilst probably more money on offer than hibs don’t look like a side vying for glory.
My advice would be this to Kev.
Knuckle down give your all and start playing with a smile on your face.earn the respect of the supporters in the stand.and take a leaf out of boyles book and show your committed to our club.
Was Nisbet no offered or discussing a new deal?
I would like to see that signed and try and bring out the talent he obviously has again.
No chance I'd be offering him an improved deal again. If indeed he has rejected one then he's made his bed and he can lie in it.
If he knuckles down and improves his attitude on the park then the rest should follow and maybe he'll deserve an improved deal then. Or even the move out of Hibs that he was so desperate for before.
I'd not be offering him a penny more, players need to be playing well to get a conttact extention with an increase.
He's been out of form way too long to even think about any increase, and it is looking like a bad move now by Hibs, when we rejected that bid by Birmingham.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...ker-3534179?jj
Another coach just not seeing what many on here are seeing. Despite having so much data at his hands.
I agree with you and Brightside.
I think if he was being lazy, it would show up in his stats and he wouldn’t play. That said, Maloney has to back his player publicly, especially when he’s so new into the job, doesn’t really mean anything.
I just think the guys confidence is shot to pieces and would benefit from a spell out the team. I don’t think he’s not trying.
I'm pretty sure if you go back, you will see me and plenty others back him to the hilt. I'd love him to get back to the form he had, but at this moment and for quite a long time, in fact way too long, he's been pish.
He's been pish for months, lets not kid ourselves here, it's been way too long bar the odd glimpse. I've no idea if he's short of confidence, although the way he tried to score that tap in the other night would suggest otherwise.
I agree with you about him that he shouldnt be in the team right now, and we do seem to have more alternatives.
If that gets him back to form, great, but we need better now and he's not capable of that now.
We've had nobody else, Doidge was injured, Mueller and Mekelson had not been signed, it was him or nobody.
You are right, the club do know more about the players than we will ever do, we only have our eyes, i suppose some folk's sight is better than others.:greengrin
The not trying stuff is ridiculous. That undermines everything else any poster trotting it out has to say about Nisbet. Even if he was Messi, if a manager and teammates thought a player couldn’t be bothered, he just wouldn’t be playing.
I totally accept Nisbet has had a serious loss of form. I do also wonder if his first half season was a bit of a flash in the pan. It’s clear his confidence is shot and he’s out of sorts, a bit like the rest of the team tbh.
As a lone striker, Nisbet’s main opportunity to influence the game is crucial to the team’s fortunes, yet he also has less chance to bring that influence to bear in terms of frequency and opportunity on the ball. Your average striker is going have fewer touches as other players in the side.
The question for me is whether Nisbet’s initial goalscoring form was a freak and the past year is a true reflection of his standard? For a guy half through what is only his second season in top flight football, his record is very much one of two extremes.
I believe he is better than his current form, but his confidence has gone. The team itself have been misfiring for many months now too. Part of his issue lies in the wider malaise within the side.
Hopefully, with Doidge back and regaining fitness, after returning early from serious injury, and Melkersson and Mueller on board, we will see an upturn in Nisbet’s fortunes.
Either way, some of the stuff on here, it’s truly pathetic. No one is beyond criticism, but the not trying stuff, it’s nonsense.
The thing is with Stats is they are sometimes subjective... for example, Nisbet may do a lot of running about, but that doesn't tell you if he sprinted for a pass or ran into the right positions.... there is something in his play in the past few months that shows a real lack of urgency, and this is what i think a lot of fans are noticing.... he doesn't bust a gut to get into the box at times, he tries too many fancy first time passes (which if they come off would be brilliant) and more often than not he makes a poor choice in his finishing, like trying to side foot it when he should be putting his laces through it or curling it round a keeper....
Personally i think its all in his head, once he gets a wee streak maybe we will see the Nisbet of old. I dont think we have seen quite the same lad since his dad passed away.
Strikers are streaky. When Sam Cosgrove went to Dons I think he played about 15-20 games without scoring. Suddenly he was unstoppable. Last night, Greenwood, Rashford and Tonev all scored for 1st time in many games, that doesn't make them bad players. If Nisbet had scored with his early chance against Celtc, & he certainly should have, then that would have been 2 in 2. Coincidentally, Hibs TV are currently advertising Cove game by showing highlights of previous game. Have a look and spot Christian hitting the bar with a free header to an empty goal from a yard. These things happen to the best of players. One things for sure, no player gets better by being booed and encouragement can often help.
He's not lazy, but I think maybe this is his level. Hopefully the new team can improve him, he must offer something in training that we do not see since he's still in the Scotland squad and basically undroppable at hibs despite putting in some seriously poor performances in the last year.
Occasionally he holds the ball up well and makes a fantastic pass, but there is little consistency, as most of the time when under pressure from a defender he will lose the ball even after taking a good first touch. He seems to have relied on this side foot placement shot a lot in the past and it feels like he is always looking for it, which is frustrating to watch sometimes, ironically if he had just side-footed the chance against Celtic he would have scored.
I am not a coach so don't know how to fix this, but what I see watching him once a week for the last year is someone who is mediocre at best in this league.
The only other option was Gullan and Ross deemed not good enough except the odd 10 mins here and there. We went into the new season knowing we were a striker short, didn't even look at a loan signing to cover, instead we got an unfit winger and a no good CH on loan.
Can we please start a new thread for Nisbet instead of filling his thread with chat about him.
I keep asking, what other options? Doidge was available at start of season, Nisbet was 1st choice. Gullan and Scott were also available, they weren't considered. The young Norwegian is only new option we have & he's not available. I would be astonished if Nisbet doesn't remain #1 choice.
Not so sure. If Hibs drop him his sale value might plummet and that's going to be a part of any decision-making. There's also the case of playing a player until form is recaptured/not denting confidence further by dropping him. It's a really difficult situation.
The pro-longed dip in form will now have impacted his value and I suspect Doidge will now be given his chance (unless Maloney doesn't fancy him).
Whether its effort, form or confidence something isn't right and the central striker in a 3-4-3 is pivotal for the whole team.
There is no doubt that the effort of players is a variable and its a myth that every player gives 100% every game.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Kevin Nisbet on the whole has been off form for a considerable amount of time and his performances do merit constructive criticism, we've been waiting a while for him to get back to doing well for Hibs, hopefully that will be soon.
Doidge had a very bad covid case which meant he missed the majority of pre season, he came on and scored at Motherwell and then started against Ross County in the 2nd game played 90 mins and scored. He then got injured prior to the next game which was reijka away. The new options people will be referring to are a hopefully fit doidge who has hardly been available post injury due to a red card on his 2nd game back, melkersen & I assume mueller who can play across the front 3. Nisbet is out of form but still a good striker and if all were firing I’d expect to be No1. That being said the squad as it is rn if everyone’s available it’s perfectly conceivable that you could start a front 3 without nisbet.
Melkerson isn't available though and Mueller isn't a centre forward, so we right now we have Doidge, who didn't get on the park on Monday and the lamentable James Scott.
It is conceivable that we could have a front three without Nisbet, but I reckon he will start tonight, and hopefully score.
Nisbet will get a couple of goals tonight and kick on from there.
If Boyle goes this week can we blame Jack Ross?
[emoji6]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk