The Corrie used to be a decent boozer when I frequented it in my getting bladdered days, I assume it is ****** central now ?
Printable View
Don't ask how, but a bottle of Buckfast ended up in our house last night. Thought I'd see what all the fuss was about so I had a glass.
Honestly, just no. The worst stuff I have tasted in my life. That one glass has given me a headache that lasted hours. If you want to give up the drink, just have some of that it'll put you off for life.
I had my last drink on January 4th 2020. Haven’t missed it one bit.
It's hardly a secret but the impact on the waist line is as good a reason as any to moderate the bevvy.
For the best part of the last 3 weeks I've had a near constant excuse to drink. Last day of work before my wedding, night before my wedding, wedding day, day after my wedding, still off work so may as well have a pint, night before a city break, city break, got the blues because I'm home and back to work tomorrow, don't have the bairn at the football so can walk rather than driving etc etc.
The issue is threefold really. The increased calorie intake through drinking, the bad eating that can go hand in hand with that and the decreased motivation to get out and exercise. Combine the 3 and I've managed a weight gain of 8lbs/3kg in just under 3 weeks. I feel bloated, I look like **** and you can feel that tightness in clothes that used to fit perfectly.
As others have said, non or low alcohol beers are significantly better than they once were. I actually quite like Heineken 0.0.
The best alcohol free beer, though, is good old fashioned Crabbie's ginger beer IMHO because it actually provides what others lack - a wee bit of a kick thanks to the ginger element. Served super chilled it's a great summer drink.
Yep, the brewers tapped into that and invested heavily in crafting low and no alcohol beers that are actually pleasant to drink. They'd have been mad not to.
They're also good for less youthful drinkers like myself who enjoy a beer ahead of a juice when looking for something non alcoholic.
Inpossibrew beer us pretty good. They are the company who went on Dragons Den recently.
It's alcohol free but has nootropics in it so it gives you a weird sort of buzz. I thought it would be a gimmick but I did genuinely feel quite chilled after drinking 1 or 2 of them.
I'd have ordered more but they are quite expensive.
Not giving up the Don Revie, but cutting down a bit. Have swapped out lager for Radlers (Amstel is my personal favourite but Brewdog do a good one) whilst have a few at the weekend in front of the telly. Was a god send in the hot weather recently as well
I’d never been into the alcohol free beers (I’d assumed they were all pish) but had a couple after a game of golf a few years ago and was surprised how good they were.
That’s the ideal scenario for them, really - got the car but really feel like you want a beer.
I don’t have it often but will happily do so from time to time.
When the hangovers bite that bit harder as you get older they make more sense too.
I like the Erdinger Alcohol free beer, often have it if meeting for lunch before I start work.
Yes Erdinger Alcohol free is nice. So is the Brewdog one.
I’m also cutting back on the drink, and we’ve got a new soda stream machine. Bottle up plenty of sparkling water from tap water and drinking cordial with it. Nice elderflower or ginger beer with ice. Reduces plastic waste and £ as well because you’re not buying sparkling water all the time.