:agree: When they start making out like they were "fishing" all along when a debate gets a bit heated and they're incorrect.
Printable View
It must have been mentioned already, but I saw a couple more examples this week of something which always annoys me. When music videos show the singers in the studio with headphones on, why do they always feel the need to hold on to one or both earcups? Why not just get a pair of headphones that fit? :grr:
It's not about the them fitting. When you sing your jaw moves a lot more than when your talking and this can break the 'seal' allowing noise in. Although it's minimal it can be destabilising.
Sometimes you'll see people putting on headphones so they only use one ear. They're less likely to cup the headphone as, with one ear exposed, a wee bit of extra external sound in the other is less noticeable.
Recording with headphones is a necessary evil as, like listening to a recording of your own voice, everything sounds bizarre.
People who post those annoying "live every day like it's your last" pictures on Facebook.
Really aye? One last day and you've got yersel posting ***** on social media ?
Another Hibs.net one
the term “intelligent player with good movement”.
In most cases it’s just a nonsense phrase that means nothing and is completely unmeasurable and, imo, is only used so people can pretend that they know more about football by being able to ‘see’ something that others can’t see.
It’s usually reserved exclusively for strikers who either don’t score enough or haven’t scored yet as some sort of pat on the back for at least trying. Strikers that actually score goals never seem to get this type of praise however.
James Collins, Dagnall, Dja Djedje, Grant Holt, Brian Graham all low scoring strikers who were regularly praised for being “intelligent players with good movement”.
Oli Shaw, Martin Boyle, James Keatings all praised for the same thing as they searched for their first goals too but it stopped after they started scoring (although in Keating case it would pop up now an again during his long barren spells).
Jamie MacLaren is the latest of our intelligent players with good movement apparently.
"Networking is crucial to getting a promotion"
Corporate speak for
"Don't bother turning on your computer and doing actual work, carry your laptop in one hand, carry an overpriced "mocha latte" from Starbucks in the other, and stalk management and kiss arse all day long"
People who post "date night" on FB when tbey are out with their wife.
I don't remember anyone saying anything like that for Dja Djedje...
However, while I can appreciate it being a peeve, I think it's a fair observation for some players. Some strikers dinnae score enough goals, and it's no there fault completely, they're doing a lot right but the service is *****.
It’s not always incorrect right enough but it’s definitely the default defence for strikers who don’t score enough.
The peeve is more the fact that it generally means nothing and it’s just a phrase that’s thrown about as a one size fits all excuse for strikers who don’t score, similar to ‘unseen work’ for crap midfielders, ‘good communicators’ for crap defenders and ‘good distribution’ for crap keepers.
In some cases it’s actually true but even a stopped clock is right twice a day etc
I’ll have a quick go on the search facility for Djedje
limp handshakes - it feels to horrible, Why do people do this?
Absolutely brutal on the continent. Most folks don't have a clue how to shake hands properly, with the exception of the odd German here and there.
My one that's I've been reminded of recently is the ****ing Superbowl and more specifically, folk turning into passionate fans for 2 days a year and spraffing ***** on Facebook and staying up until 5am or whatever.
I'll confess the sport itself is entirely lost on me, all this stop-start pish, but the Superbowl as an event is NFL on Crack. Not a fan.
Folk ( invariably English ) who pronounce tattoos as ‘ta-oos’ . Drives me nuts.
Ha. on the flip side, I'm a huge fan of American Football and have been for years. I hate the superbowl (unless the Giants play in it). I cannot stand the people you talk about but I also hate the half time show, which is generally utter crap. I hate the whole charade. I feel it cheapens a fantastic sporting event.
The instructions on packets of spaghetti etc. Boil for ten to twelve minutes ???
More like twenty for even al dente pasta
People who look at you like you’ve got 2 heads when you tell them you don’t drink. Usually followed by this typical exchange:
- no, really, what you having?
- Just a coke
- naw, what drink are you having?
- a coke
- you cannae just have a coke
- I can, and I will
- but surely you must drink something
- yeah. A coke!
- just have a drink
- yeah. A coke!
insert occasional head shake here
Then some of them have the brass neck later in the evening to sidle up and quietly ask, “ehh, since you’ve not had a drink, any chance of a lift home?”
People who refer to other posters as "sir". Generally it's in a negative way (i.e. You sir, are an idiot).
However, even if it's used in a nice way (i.e. You sir, are a gentleman) it still annoys me.
Yes sir, it sure does. :wink:
ATM's being shut down, just watching bbc news, up to 4000 cash points getting removed over the next few years....:rolleyes: All this because the banks don't want to pay 25p per transaction to the machine operator.
Dartboards in people's houses/garages that are not fixed at the regulation hight of 5' 8".
The imbalance of everything in society.
e.g. The differential in wages from a nurse to a pro-footballer, the leniency afforded to big corporations re. taxes on millions of pounds while some poor Joe on minimum wage gets hounded for a couple of quid, closing banks while millions spent on bonuses & sponsorship, closing hospitals while millions spent on Trident/high speed trains and the like, etc. etc.
That's caught me out a few times over the years. Used to play in a pub that didn't have a straight line in the building and I couldn't hit a thing on the dartboard until we measured it out properly. Turned out the bull had to be about 2 inches lower to match the height of the oche. All the locals moaned but decent players noticed right away.
Another .net peeve...
"Okay, I'll bite."
Butter in the marmalade jar.
This post has slipped by without much attention, I feel it deserves some. Totally agree. The saddest thing is that it's becomming so commonplace that we barely even notice it anymore. Banks get billions of taxpayers money and go on to make obscene profits. US President can openly mock disabled people and barely a mention. The The rangers go spending other peoples money again and the weegia turn a blind eye. So many examples of the decline of basic human decency, but no, here's another 5 f***ing hours of Kardashians or cooking shows or DIY shows or the ******' royal family on TV.
Non Scots calling Scott Brown "Browny" rather than "Broony". Tom English, Brendan Rodgers and Neil Lennon have all fell foul of this in recent weeks.
Once a year fans. Never more relevant than around this time of year.
Woman in my work is having a big party on Saturday for the Scotland game. Conversation from the other day:
'ooh we love the rugby, never miss it'
'Not that fussed myself, I'll watch it if it's on'
'My boys are really into it, having all their friends over on Saturday for it'
'Do you ever take them to Myreside for the Edinburgh games?'
'Oh no, why would I want to do that? we like the proper rugby'
Conversation with the same woman from last year:
'Any plans for the weekend?'
'Going to the Hibs game'
'Football? Again?'
'Yes, I go every week'
'Every week?'
'Yes'
'But, like, every single week?'
Then you have the Superbowl. A guy who has never discussed American football with me ever invited me over for a party on Sunday night. Conversation:
'Coming over for the game? Doing hot dogs and getting the brewskis in'
'Na, staying in. Working on the Monday'
'I've taken the Monday off, got to be prepared for the superbowl'
'Do you like American football?'
'Yeah, Patriots rule mate. Brady greatest of all time'
'Aye he's a great quarterback, who else do you like on the team?'
Silence.
Not forgetting Cheltenham and the Grand National are on the horizon. Guys who never talk about racing the rest of the year suddenly start throwing jargon about and become experts on the subtle differences between French and Irish bred horses, start talking about 'dour stayers', 'fleet turns of foot' and 'staying on for pressure' all because they heard someone on TV say it. I was at Musselburgh on a weekday afternoon a few weeks back and your lucky if the attendance was in 4 figures. Come Ladies day the price shoots up to nearly £50 a ticket and 7000 bellends in cheap Topman suits swagger about like they own the place pretending they are infinitely wealthy whilst not handling their drink and harassing women.
Now I get that showpiece events always attract more fans and in the case of racing the big days are what allows the course to keep bidding for fixtures the rest of the year and so on and so forth but it's still annoying.
And to make it worse you get folk like me pestering you for Cheltenham tips on Hibs.net :greengrin
I agree though, I used to work beside a guy like this. Used to do my head in until I challenged him to a racing quiz I asked him what jockey won the 86 Derby and his reply was "errmmmm Scudamore wasn't it?".
People being weird about the fact that me and my wife do not want children. Both of us are in our early 30's but have never wanted them. People are weird about it, surely like everything else its a life choice or infact not a choice for some people.
Some people’s obsession with other people breeding really is bizarre. My daughter is just over 5 months and already we are constantly getting told ‘you can’t have just one’ and ‘oh soon be time for another.’ Actually we’d quite like to enjoy this one first and we’ll see what the future holds when we’re ready not when you decide. I know people don’t mean any harm but still.
It’s also potentially quite insensitive as some couples could be in the position of can’t as opposed to don’t want to.
People with little or no understanding or empathy towards disabled people. It really grips my **** that in the 21st century some folks can't adapt their behaviour to assist people with disabilities integrate or even play down their disability and treat them with contempt, worse still is when they make comments along the lines of "you're not trying hard enough" or "you need to up your game".
My wife is almost completely deaf due to nerve damage after a typical childhood disease. She's otherwise a very capable woman with a doctorate in mathematics, she works amongst other academics but somehow they are simply not capable of registering the fact that talking to her with their backs turned or covering their mouths when talking means she hasn't a clue what they've just tried to communicate to her. She's explained to them many times how they can help her but are either too lazy, thick or just blatant rude to make any effort to assist. This is a never ending source of misery for her, I just don't get that thete are so many people ignorant to what disability means and how it effects them. Maybe they're just not clever enough to join the dots on what effects disabilities that you can't see have on those people with them.
I agree with what you're saying, but could it not be that your wife's colleagues' "lapses" are a sign that they sometimes forget her disability due to her competence/ability?
I've made similar errors in the past and it honestly hasn't been through ignorance or any lack of empathy, simply my mind being occupied and momentary forgetfulness.
There is a certain amount of that Peevemor and I too sometimes forget, but then the natural reaction to that would be to say "yeah ****, sorry I forgot" like I'm sure you will have done. This is more folks seeing it as her fault and it being a problem she has to deal with instead of taking a few simple measures to assist her. Luckily her boss knows she's one of her most productive employees.
I understand what you mean mate, my wife also has a disability, significantly different to your wife’s, but one that also affects her life profoundly.
Some people, such as my parents, and some of her direct work colleagues, have adapted seamlessly to her needs, whilst others, including other direct work colleagues don’t just ignore it, but make comments about it when she needs to put measures in place, or tut and sigh, and in some cases, I firmly believe they have made it very awkward for her out of spite.
Being a size 9.5 feet. Sorry sir we don’t do half sizes would you like an insole. No mate I want a pair of shoes that actually fit me.
People who run a marathon and think they are Jesus resurrected.
I get it, the training required, the happiness of doing it etc, but **** me, you haven't cured cancer.
The essay length social media posts following a marathon that reek of smugness are unbearable.
I tend to agree, and I say that as someone who's run one. Why peers feel the need to use running apps to update everyone on social media as to how well their training is going I have no idea. Well, I do; inflated ego.
If you do your training properly and you're lucky with injuries 42k at a steady pace is surprisingly easy (and I'm complaining about other people being smug!). Muscle memory does à lot of the work.
Ach chill man. I’ve been on both sides of the fence. I’ve been going down to Cheltenham for god knows how many years. I remember when I first went down, I was addicted to the horse racing, I used to buy the timeform annual and study it. I used to arrive down there thinking I had a chance based on what I knew. Nowadays I turn up without a clue and tend to do better.
Saying that I’m with you on the people who pretend to have knowledge rather than just admitting that they enjoy the event. I will watch the super bowl, but I couldn’t tel you one player from each side.
another for the growing list of .net peeves.
Threads where people start a new song for a player/manager/board member or whatever.
Now the actual thread isn't a peeve. I don't mind them at all, especially because they are usually hilarious and there's no telling whether the poster is having a laugh or genuinely doesn't realise their song is ****.
The peeve is that on every single one of those threads somebody will without fail make the same ***** joke that has been made thousands of times before. When somebody replies to the thread (that obviously is just a comment and not a song) there is always one that says something like "what's tune is that to", "it doesn't ryhme" or "it's not very catchy".
I mean, that might have been mildly amusing the first time but the fact that somebody comes out with it on every song thread is cringy as hell.
Also a mention for 'Funniest thing you've seen at the football' threads and the inevitable Steve Fulton booked for being ugly story being told as if nobody has ever heard it before and that the whole East Stand was rolling about the floor howling with laughter and wiping the tears from their eyes. Always ends with "even Fulton had a smile on his face".
Lazy journalism (e.g. in the Beeb web news) where a generic photo of the back of a couple of policemen is used time and again to cover any police related story. Why bother?
Both true imo. A surprisingly large number of people do not make any effort at all with deaf people, including some professionals who you might guess had, or should have, been trained to deal with deafness (eg some district nurses visiting the very elderly). Another proportion of people make a great effort but lapse in proportion to how smart the deaf person seems to be (the smarter they seem, the easier it is to lapse). Perhaps the smallest number, people who never, ever lapse with anyone, are to be simply admired.
People who make no effort to work something out for themselves and then make no effort to retain the information when you show them how to do it. Woman in my work is always at it.
'What formula do I use on Excel for this?'
'How do I edit a PDF?'
'How do I work out a margin from cost price?'
'What supplier does that range come from?'
Every single ****ing day. She's been in the job almost twice as long as me but seems to enjoy playing the class clown and having allowances made for her because of that.
I don't know if that's laziness, rather than pointlessness...but you've probably covered it with the "why bother?" at the end. :greengrin
I guess most BBC articles have a standard format and, if a particularly relevant photo isn't available, a stock one is the option.
I agree with the lazy journalism part though. I accept, as others have mentioned on other threads, that resources are squeezed and journos perhaps don't have the time they once did to thoroughly research and write articles. What particularly annoys me is the use of social media quotes of random members of the public to beef up a story. A recent example is the very insightful two-word quote about halfway down this article.
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknew...ers/ar-BBINXOi
And the pricks at work who splatter stock photos over every Powerpoint presentation.
I know what a meeting looks like.
I'm sitting in one just now and I don't need you to show a photo of 6 diverse characters sitting round a desk smiling at each other.
Did you notice that there are 6 white men at this table?
Just give us an idea of what you want us to do to make you look good to your boss.
Absolutely.
Horse racing seems to be particularly bad for this, but maybe that's just because it's one of the more obscure of my interests for a 20 something. People telling me they "fancy" a horse having looked at the name and the price of it... one of my favourites recently was my mate (who has bet on horses longer than me but never taken the time to learn anything about them) told me he thinks a horse will win as long as it doesn't fall... I looked at the race in question and the first thing I noticed was it was a bumper.
I've said it before on here but similarly the way people become on first name terms with Andy Murray at Wimbledon but have no interest in tennis any other time of the year. I get that they're entitled, and it's the nature of top-level sport... doesn't stop it being a pet peeve though :greengrin
Super bowl, I have zero interest in it but have never claimed to. Last week my facebook feed was full of "oh its super bowl Sunday" lets party and all that crap, posted by folk who never mention it ay other time of the year. Now that its over, Facebook is back to the usual crap from the Super Bowl posters like, just made soup or look how cute my baby is etc....:rolleyes:
Parents who don't teach their kids manners. Just watched three 6 year olds weave in and out their way to the front of the ski lift. Their parents shouting after them to wait at the top for them. Eh ****ing no, you'll get back to your place in the queue and wait like everyone else.
People wheeling small cases that could easily be carried, get the **** out of my way and carry it like a normal person
Don't worry, last weekends Super Bowl aficionados will be dusting off the Barbour jackets and chinos to get into full 6 Nations Rugby mode for next few weeks - that'll keep them busy sharing their musings on the sport that is of absolute no interest to them the other 11 months of the year.
Part time/amateur drinkers pretending to be drinkers come Friday - "It's wine/beer o'clock"
The phrase "broke the internet".
**** right off with that. It doesn't make any sense.
People who bang on about those who only take an interest in a specific sport once a year. You know, tennis - Wimbledon, golf - the open, rugby - six nations, curling - Winter Olympics etc etc. You don't have to be an avid fan or an expert to enjoy other sports big occasions
People - invariably women - who say the word 'chocolate' in a giggly and whispering rush.
You're absolutely right and I think I covered that in my post.
It's the people who pretend to be diehards or experts that annoy me. Sorry but if you go to 3 rugby internationals a year to get pissed and have a banter then you don't 'love rugby and never miss it' in anything like the same way I love Hibs. By all means enjoy a sport once or twice a year but don't act like you are something you're not.
Not aimed at you btw, a more general comment.
Working in an office where 80%+ of colleagues are women.
Initially this seems great... but the week in, week out chat of wedding dresses, haircuts, boyfriends, "girlie" nights out, zumba classes and non stop gossiping will slowly but surely destroy any soul you may have possessed until you reach the point of talking to yourself and then worrying you've actually reached the point that you are talking out loud with yourself.
People who don't listen to a specific instruction because they think they know it all. They then go away and mess up the task you have given them because they never listened to you.
These are the same people who read the first line of an email and totally miss the vital content of the rest of it.
Indian food that goes through you and comes straight out in the space of half an hour.
Waste of money...and I’m hungry again.
My wife cleaning the house on a Sunday.
Bar staff polishing the bar around me long before closing time.
PowerPoint presentations that have been slung together at the last minute in an effort to disguise someone's total lack of preparation for a meeting. If you haven't done the work just call me to postpone, just don't waste my time with that pish!
Local newspapers predicting travel chaos for the area due to extreme weather when the forecast is saying something completely different.
I understand it when national papers say this as there’ll probably be really bad weather somewhere but local papers getting it wrong is just lazy and probably down to them copying the story form the national papers.
People who are ungrateful and selfish pricks.
im fortunate to work for a company who give their staff some really great perks. Having worked for a really **** company in the past who treated their staff like crap, I’m really grateful and aware of how lucky we are. It drives me up the wall when I hear colleagues and other staff bitching about how hard done by they are, how **** it is that another great benefit has been provided to us but the exact layout doesn’t suit their face. Some examples:
- we the business have arranged for all/any of you to be able to get this new piece of technology for you and your family to enjoy (not a work related bit of kit in any way), you can pay for it over 4 months rather than having to pay it all out in one go - cue multiple people bitching that it’s shocking and disgusting that it’s having to be paid over 4 months rather than 12/24/any other time frame they deem fit.
- People complaining that although the company gives money per person towards a Xmas night out for teams/depts to organise, it’s not enough and should be more.
- “I wouldn’t pay for this perk if we didn’t get it given to us”. - my response is usually to tell them to give up the perk then, since you wouldn’t have it under other circumstances. Which is usually met with the righteous indignation of the perpetually complaining brigade.
- why do we only get 50% discount on this, why do we have to pay anything at all? I’m staff, I shouldn’t have to pay anything.
absolutely selfish ********s
people who tap their keyboards too loud.
People (normally the secretaries at my work, and normally a Monday morning after the cleaner has been) who proclaim that their pc isn't working when, in fact, the power cable that plugs into the underside of their screen has simply slipped down a couple of millimetres.
When newspapers/BBC post "fact check" articles that are in reality just their opinions masquerading as independent fact with a nice side of smugness.
People who seem unable to judge the width of their own vehicle. They hold up everyone because they won't drive through a gap big enough for an even a bigger car/van.
Lurpak ‘spreadable’ butter.
People who are completely incapable of figuring anything out for themselves.
Radio stations that announce a 'brand new' song by an artist that they have been playing for weeks if not months. My partner insists on having Forth 1 on in the car and they are particularly bad for this. Not only have they been playing it for weeks they also play the same song about 10 times a day.
When you need the toilet every time you're in a situation where getting to a toilet is going to be problematic.