Numpty on Superscoreboard said it was one of us. Aye okay pal. Just like when they tried to blame us when one of their own spray painted 'Levein Out' on their plaza badge.
Printable View
Probably already posted, but I see Budge has finally got round to acknowledging Stendel's departure.
'Daniel made a big impact' she says. Well I guess steering them to bottom spot and getting relegated qualfies as a big impact.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53140085
Usual nonsense. What has Covid got to do with him leaving? If he was a decent manager then let him get on with it.
They’ve confused themselves now with what impact Covid did or did not have on them. Pretty desperate stuff to try an get some mileage from something that has killed thousands.
I have missed statements that directly relate to the football from
budge. She really doesn’t have a clue, not one iota. Her bigging up Stendal is comedy in itself. The guy reluctantly came here, couldn’t wait to pop back to Germany (remember Xmas), tried a different style of football and failed on every level. Brought in high paid players and they failed as well. He was 99% heading towards relegation. Even the fans had turned on him.
I’m sure the day he was appointed St Johnstone were bottom of the league, they ended up finishing 7th(promoted to 6th) that’s what making an impact is all about, not taking your team further behind than when you started. Still I suppose he was up for a pint in the diggers.
Hearts position in the league became worse after Daniel took over. Levein would never had used the high press which cost Stendel so many games. Levein would have ground out results and brought some fight to the team. It would not have been pretty but probably would have saved them.
Dundee United chairman saying it's a sideways step for Neilson and that he thought he would move on to a bigger club than Dundee United when he eventually left. Ouch.
Does he not know Hearts fans call themselves the third biggest, hugest, bigliest club in world football?
Is it Wednesday Spfl must respond to the Court on the Hearts case
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
The Sun
MORE FOOTBALL
SILENCE BROKEN Stendel reveals Hearts apologised after he found out he was axed when Neilson news broke
Mark Walker
23 Jun 2020, 9:09Updated: 23 Jun 2020, 9:24
Comment now
DANIEL STENDEL has revealed he was stunned to find out he was getting the axe from Hearts when he discovered Robbie Neilson had taken his job on Sunday night.
And the German boss quipped that his decision to waive his wages at Tynecastle helped pay for Hearts' compensation to Dundee United to land his own successor.
Daniel Stendel is no longer Hearts boss
Daniel Stendel is no longer Hearts bossCredit: Andrew Barr - The Sun Glasgow
Stendel was eased out of the relegated Premiership club to make way for the return of former United boss Neilson and Tynecastle owner Ann Budge later paid tribute to Stendel's time at the club, which lasted just six months.
But although Stendel admitted he loved his time in Edinburgh, he admitted he was surprised when he heard about Neilson's appointment and revealed Hearts had to apologise for him discovering his own fate elsewhere.
He said: "I found out about the appointment of a new manager on Sunday night.
"Communication was certainly not the best in this case, but since then several people have apologised to me. This does not damage the positive image I have of the club."
Robbie Neilson made a stunning return to the Tynecastle hotseat on Sunday night
Robbie Neilson made a stunning return to the Tynecastle hotseat on Sunday nightCredit: Michael Schofield - The Sun Glasgow
And Stendel, in an interview in a German newspaper, was asked if he was angry to find out that Hearts had paid compensation to United despite him not accepting his wages since March.
He stated: "Then I even paid for my successor!
"Seriously, I'm not going to look back. I made this decision with full conviction to support my club. I have no regrets about that. I am at peace with myself and the club."
Former Barnsley boss Stendel had a clause in his contract allowing either him or the club to terminate the agreement in the event of relegation, which is still pending with a legal challenge due.
And he explained: "When I signed the contract, I had already decided not to go into the Championship if the worst came to the worst.
Stendel waived his wages to help the club through the Covid-19 cash crisisCredit: Alamy Live News
"But since our relegation wasn't under regular circumstances and especially because I got to know Hearts as a really great club, I then offered, under certain conditions in terms of staff and philosophy, to stay anyway.
"However, this became increasingly unlikely lately, the things mentioned could not be fulfilled and there were simply too many question marks. For example, nobody knows when games can start again. Maybe in October, but you definitely don't want to start without fans.
"I started at Hearts in December which certainly wasn't a good time to begin. We had four defeats from the first five games.
"But we changed the style, improved the points deficit and saw a positive trend. I was convinced we would stay up after the split.
"There were 24 points left to play for and we were only four points behind.
FLYING HIGH Ex-Rangers and Hearts star Danny Wilson hails Robbie Neilson as ‘perfect appointment’
"I'm sure we could have done it, but unfortunately we will never know now."
And Stendel will take plenty of happy memories back to Germany after revealing he will return to Scotland to pick up his belongings soon.
He said: "We beat Rangers twice, but our problem was the games against the smaller teams.
"The success against Steven Gerrard were absolute highlights, as was the 3-1 derby win at Hibs.
"It's a great rivalry - purely sporting, without riots and police operations. It was simply a great experience. In general, I was very positively surprised by Scottish football. Not necessarily the level, but the mentality, the fans, the whole atmosphere.
"I returned to Germany in March and intended to come back to Scotland in early April. As a result, I took hardly anything with me.
MOST READ
GERS NEWSMerson had chance to join Gers, McLean on Ibrox interest, Dykes dyes hair blue
NEW BLUE 'DORangers target Lyndon Dykes reveals new look as Livi striker dyes hair BLUE
"But I have sold my flat in Scotland and need to clear it out. I have to stay in quarantine for 14 days, so I'll sit in my flat for two weeks and fly back with my things.
"I paid for my flat for five months and lived in it for about one month....my landlord will also have a very pleasant memory of me!
"For the future, I see myself at a club that is enthusiastic, has fan potential and sports ambitions. There are enough of these in Germany too, but I remain open to everything.
"One thing is clear, my previous experience abroad has been a benefit for me in many ways."
Keep up to date with ALL the latest news and transfers at the Scottish Sun football page
Burnley's Ben Mee responds to an offensive banner flown over the Etihad Stadium
TOPICS
Hearts
Ad
Nae luck for Desperate Dan, but it's the Hearts way, again.
Pity he'd never heard of them or he would have known what to expect.
At least he got another relegation.
I like this bit: "But we changed the style, improved the points deficit and saw a positive trend. I was convinced we would stay up after the split."
After their draw with Aberdeen they were 5 points adrift. 9 games later they were only 4 points adrift. At that rate they might have caught Hamilton a little more than half way through next season.
Still, Hearts' ultimate treatment of him was unprofessional and disrespectful which is at least consistent of them.