Dark nights.
Printable View
Dark nights.
Dark days.
Places asking for a tip before you even get your food. Also had to order via QR code, what are they even doing to deserve a tip at this point :rolleyes:
The weird internet 'in the know' culture.
With stuff like football it's pretty harmless but you get other situations, particularly when people start playing the amateur detective, where it becomes really dangerous and potentially distressing.
There was an incident last night in the Cowgate, I'm sure many will now have read about it, and the circumstances haven't been made clear yet. Social media is awash with people giving it 'I'm hearing....' or 'no way is that what happened, what really happened was....'. Oh aye who are you hearing this from? The chief of Police Scotland? The Major Incidents team? Or more likely a mate on WhatsApp who 'hears a lot of this stuff'. It then gives people carte blanche to share photos that are by all accounts totally gruesome and espouse their own wild theories. The racists are out in force of course both feeding and feeding off the ghouls.
It's depressing that empathy and a bit of decorum has been totally lost in the hunt for online validation and the clout that comes with the virtual equivalent of 'I know something you don't know'.
I’d never really given it that much thought but there was a recent television programme about the Nicola Bulley case and it was deeply, deeply uncomfortable.
It’s a weird, depressing phenomenon.
Part of it is ego, the peculiar online quest for likes, views and validation. It’s done with a dismissive disregard for the fact that real people’s feelings might actually still exist and can be hurt by irresponsible online nonsense.
I actually posted about this just after ten last night but deleted it pretty much right away as although I was peeving about the unfettered reach of social media, and the erroneous information proclaimed as gospel, I realised that by posting such it might come across as "being in the know".
Within a couple of hours of the incident, folk were posting pictures and videos of the deceased, more than likely before his kin were made even aware of the incident.
I don't know how we put the genie back in the bottle but some folk have to be held responsible for posting images like that on SM.
The weather forecast...again. Full sun here apparently. But it's actually dark, gloomy and miserable with not even a hint of light cloud never mind sun. How can they get it so spectacularly wrong?
Getting served in a shop at the counter buying a few items a colleague speaks to them about unimportant random pish my server has the temerity to engage in conversation with them ignoring me
Do you want a receipt?
Goddam right I do
Blatant discrimination. We were out tonight and as the bar we were in closed at 1 we googled places open later. Found Nightcap on York Place. Turned up and bouncer said it was full.
“Full for the night or just for now”
“Just for now” the bouncer said. “Feel free to wait”.
We decided to wait. A couple that I’d say were in their 50s turned up behind us to be told the same thing. Couple in their 20s then turned up and told the same thing.
Girl who worked there then appeared at the door to say there was room and the couple in their 20s got waved in ahead of us and the other couple that appeared just after us. Got absolute abuse from the bouncer when I asked what was going on and said it looked like clear age discrimination.
Lothian buses and their phantom fleet.
I'd arranged to meet someone work related very early this morning as they were coming off a nightshift. Had access to the car but decided to take the bus, checked the times. bus due at 0534 which left plenty time. Left the house with 10 minutes to spare, get to the bus stop and the tracker on my phone shows 8 minutes. Stand for a few minutes, check again and it shows 6 mins.....4mins.......2mins.........due..........du e..........due........due.........due.......due... ........24 mins. No bus appears. Stood for another few minutes and still no bus so I ended up walking back to the house and jumping in the car.
It's not the first time that has happened to me and I daresay it won't be the last. It's a point I have made before. You can't have a policy of discouraging car use forcefully and trying to incentivise public transport use if said public transport is fundamentally unreliable. If I hadn't had access to a car this morning then I would have missed or being very late for a the meeting I had arranged and as such seriously pissed off someone who likely already just wanted to get home after a nights work. Same goes for trains. I got a train to work last week. 2 carriages during rush hour when it was supposed to be 4. Those 'lucky' enough to get on were crushed in like sardines, the unlucky were left standing on the platform to wait 40 minutes in the hope the next one had space. The train was ****ing filthy into the bargain and the stench wafting from the toilets was nauseating.
My final moan about buses is the lack of information about route changes. There is some resurfacing work going on near me currently and a couple of buses are diverted late at night because of it. I only know this because the tracker app says 'diverted' rather than a time. There is no information on bus stops either advising of the diversions or indeed telling people where to go to get the diverted bus. I was walking home at about 9.30 on Saturday night and 2 elderly ladies were at the bus stop waiting. They didn't have the app so had no idea a bus wouldn't be coming. If I hadn't told them they would have stood there in the cold for ages.
Flyers that are chancers.
I was on a flight from Spain not long ago and in front there was a guy in the middle seat and mother and son either side. She asked him to swap with her who was a few rows in front.
The flight wasn't full and she could have got a row for them. Next the kid goes off as he has problems with his ears. She asked the flight attendant for water. They said they couldn't at that time but could get a cup of ice (not sure of the physics tbh). She wasn't happy. My mate gave her an unopened bottle of water. Never even got a thank you.
I appreciate there was probably an element of stress but there's no excuse for being poorly prepared for a flight. Pretty sure the dad was cutting about on the flight on his own as saw them in the terminal.
I also feel that I've been robbed by brylcream. Bought some yesterday as I used it in late teens early 20's. Used it this morning and look as though I should be banned from being 100m range of a school or playground. £4.50 down the swanky!!
I would pull my hair out but it would slip through my hands😂
Got a black cab at the airport last night at about 1:30am. Me, the missus, the bairn, 2 suitcases and a travel buggy.
Got in the taxi and before it had even moved it was at £10.60 or £10.80, I can't remember exactly. It was split into £6 and £4.60 / £4.80. That seems steep before it's even moved, no??
I was only going to Currie, so a 10 min journey, which ended up £23ish in the end.
End of the day, I dinnae really mind spending £20odd quid on the taxi home, but £10.60 before it even moved seemed steep.
It’s genuinely disgusting that this sort of thing has ended up tolerable.
A pitiful indictment of the modern world that it is - the rinsing and outright exploitation of a captive audience.
Internet keeps dropping tonight!!
Biting into eggshell that came with my scrambled eggs.
The latest Amazon ad. Nothing worse than hearing a song you have always hated at every ad break on Sky Sports probably right up till Christmas 😩
Torn faced ****ing bus drivers, got on the bus a few days ago and struggling to walk due to a lower back injury. Firstly my bus ticket app was hangy and the driver started moaning, when I finally got my app up he didnt even look at it and then put the foot down causing me to literally run to the back end of the bus and onto someones lap !! ****ing prick !
Further along the road at a stop an old guy chapped on the doors just as they had closed and the driver just made a gesture at him and drove off. Approaching Hay Drive terminus he drove past with folk waiting at the stop and then being a total prick when he stopped to let me off he slammed the brakes and I flew the other direction and near face planted the front wind screen.
By the way this isnt a first with this driver, I have the unfortunate displeasure of him being a regular on my route and his arrogance holds no bounds 🤬
Passengers on my bus who can’t use a smartphone properly.