Thought they might. I think it's a decent offer, but would guess they are looking for around £5 million. It will be interesting to see if West Brom bid again.
Printable View
The Rangers have already denied any 'mystery benefactor' with 'significant funds'.
Good news for Sevco supporters. They can keep up their boycott of Sports Direct by buying their kit at House of Fraser.
Mike Ashley has upset the Sevco masses by buying House of Fraser. With Sports Direct, and shares in Tesco and Debenhams in his portfolio, they’re fast running out of stores to shop in. :greengrin
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/201...53c94fd837.png
Does anyone else get a wee lift every time this thread jumps to the top of the board with a post from Ozyhibby?
(It's normally followed by CWG bursting the bubble, but it's normally good fun in between.)
Personally I don't think DK ever intends to make the offer so the Rand plummeting against the GBP is not relevant, but it is good to see another obstacle in place to stop the huns operating properly. Given the amount of money they seem to have magicked out nowhere I would imagine a new owner is in the pipeline and the lying king will exit Sevco completely.
I can’t see how DK can walk away easily. He’s been ordered to make the offer, personally, so a change in ownership makes no odds. What the courts can do if he stays abroad won’t amount to much, I suppose. And he must be running out of time to spin things out - the usual period for making an offer is one month. All very pleasing.
Yup - if you'd told me 10 years ago there was going to be a 'Bad news for the Hun' thread that ran continously, I'd have PMSL !. All the years spent wondering just how the xxxx the **** got away with murder and wondering if they'd ever be caught - these days they're as much laughed at as hated ! long may it continue !
Their problems rarely come at this time of year, as they are normally flush with ST cash. This year they have the extra benefit of the European money (I suspect that a huge part of their meltdown post cup-final was due to the realisation that they'd have to do without this for another year).
Have they budgeted to last the season? With so many season tickets sold and problems with selling strips, what income streams do they have throughout the season? Can they deal with early cup exits? What if they don't reach the Europa League group stages? How do they handle going 3 or 4 games without a win? Where are they when they realise that this isn't the year that "55" is going to happen and that Celtic are a step closer to 10 in a row?
I haven't seen too much evidence of cash splashing that they didn't do before. Each manager has been backed to an extent, and they have had to seek emergency funding to see them through every season so far.
I'm happy to see them spending money, I'm not so happy seeing them "Progres" in Europe and earn money to pay for the signings.
https://rangers.co.uk/news/headlines...neral-meeting/
New share issue?
https://rangers.co.uk/club/investor-...sion-document/
Looks like Dave is going to comply with Tap?
OK come on CWG, tell us what nonsense Sir Glibness is up to now - I want to see his sorry erchie in jail.......
Trying to get my head around this bit:-
Shareholders should note that, if this resolution were passed, it could affect Mr King’s mandatory offer
obligation and substantially increase the number of acceptances from existing shareholders needed for such
an offer to become unconditional. Because shareholders subscribing at 20p per share are unlikely to accept
an offer at the same price, the passing of the resolution may make Mr King’s offer less likely to succeed.
Is that a suggestion that King's offer shouldn't be accepted?
I'm looking at the list of people to whom shares would be issued:-
7,645,000 Barry Scott
5,250,000 John Bennett
2,500,000 Andrew Ross
5,000,000 Club 1872 Shares CIC
7,500,000 Borita Investments Limited
7,500,000 New Trace Limited
2,500,000 Andrew Hawkyard
2,500,000 Neil Hosie
1,250,000 Paul Redbourn
9,199,089 New Oasis Asset Limited
3,875,094 Douglas Park
2,557,186 George Letham
5,870,768 George Taylor
Total number of shares to be issued 63,147,137
At 20p per share, that's £12.6m.
However, I'm guessing that about 75% of those are current "soft loans"which will be converted to shares. That will help the FFP situation, but isn't a very good fundraiser.
Still no prospectus which he needs to comply with TOP. It’s only the ‘advertisement’ with the announcements so I don’t think he will have time to comply with TOP before share issue.
I noticed TOP have given permission to avoid some regulation. I wonder if he’s told them he’s using the cash raised to comply with the TOP.
All of it is very dodgy.
Seems strange that the company can issue new shares prior to the offer from King....particularly when Rangers themselves note that the share issue may impact the ‘success’ of the offer.
I appreciate that they may not be in a formal offer period in the normal sense but surely as the ToP has ruled that an offer must be made they are in a de facto offer period and thus the dealings in an offer period rules would apply.
As ever it appears King is just doing what he wants regardless.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/amp/foot...mpression=true
I can’t see how he could be allowed to do this?
King's argument was that nobody would accept a 20p offer. Coz the shares were worth at least 27p. Now it seems they'll be worth 20p, and he'll offer for the whole lot, including the new ones. I'm guessing the hope is that none of the big shareholders getting new shares will accept, having just "paid" 20p. King reduces the risk of his offer going unconditional and him having to buy everyone out. Seems an odd approach though, as he'd surely end up paying more to underwrite his offer. Is the delay worth it?
Will he even be in Scotland on the 31st? Will he not be in contempt of court on the 16th by not placing an offer for everyone's shares? Would be nice to see the coppers tap him on the shoulder right enough.......:greengrin
Oh I know he will - and the Sevco supporting bams still won't see anything wrong in their chairman being absent for such a major occasion. I still have my doubts as to whether it will go ahead or not though - is this some kind of diversion/deflection ahead of being in contempt on the 16th?
For the small sharehder it actually makes DK's offer more attractive. The new shares make their shares worth less (they're pretty much worthless anyway, who would buy them? ).It's a bit odd all shareholders aren't getting the chance to buy more shares at 20p, or am I missing something?
DK could argue that converting debt into shares is neutral for other shareholders. But it's like his failure to make the offer, it's denying them the choice. Does the TOP have an interest in that, or will it just want the offer at 20p made? No doubt we will find out soon.
I am wondering if this is not the full-scale rights issue that we were promised, but merely a Debt for Equity swap. I don't know the identity of all of the soft lenders, but that list includes some of them.
At the last count, they totalled 16m. So this would put a big dent in that, but would mean no money for SG.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
Here's another take on it. Guy on Twitter who seems to know what he's talking about reckons it could be a master stroke by DK:-
16/8 = King will make mandatory offer. Must be open for 21 days to 6/9
31/8 = New shares all come into effect.
6/9 = 23m shares needed to accept mandatory offer compared to 13m previously
Easdale and non voting block have 14m.
Mandatory offer fails as 50% not hit.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
He’ll need to put up more dosh first I would have thought and even if he doesn’t he has shown no sign of providing the cash for the current offer.
I’ve no doubt that is the plan, it pretty much says it in the offer.
But why would the TOP allow it? If I was a small shareholder, I can’t take part in this offer and Dave King is diluting the value of my shares after failing to obey they law and offer to buy my shares?
If the TOP allow this then what’s to stop anyone who wants control of a company just buying enough to control boardroom and the issuing new shares for complete control rather than buy out existing shareholders?
I’m sure the TOP will be in court this week to stop this. Then again maybe not.
I think this is the share placement to chosen individuals that is now possible following the special resolution at the last agm. If it had been a rights issue there would have been public announcements, documents for public scrutiny and discussion on Rangers' fans' forums and in the media generally before now.
The new shares for Club1872 will be fresh money. How much of the remainder is that rather than debt for equity will be seen in due course.
If he can get away with this then either the legislation has to be changed or the TOP can shut up shop.
I'm not so sure as diluting shareholdings in this scenario looks too dodgy for him to be able to get away with it.
I'm not sure of the arithmetic in terms of how many of those in this share issue are required to hit the 50% but how about this sequence of events:
- This announcement today lists existing shareholders who are either prepared to buy or 'debt for equity' an amount of new shares at 20p equal to their existing shareholding such that there is a commitment to 'invest' more than the equivalent of 50% of pre issue total shares at TOP ordered offer price.
- TOP blocks it and says he needs to make the offer they've ordered first
- Glib and shameless says aye but that offer has no chance of succeeding cos look I've got over 50% of shareholders who have just committed to 'buy' at 20p so they're not going to sell at 20p. So gonnae no make me spend a fortune on a prospectus that's never going to succeed
- TOP reluctantly accepts the logic and he's off the hook
I think the theory is tosh.
1 to make the mandatory offer he has to put up the cash-he hasn't.
2 the mandatory offer is only made for those shares issued at the time of the offer
3 the 50% acceptance can only be of those shares for which the offer is made and not for shares subsequently issued and for which no offer has been made.
Bought would suggest the shares already exist...this move is creating new shares which are more likely to be ‘issued’ rather than ‘bought’
I do wonder if the rules actually address the concept of such a huge dilution happening prior to a takeover offer..it is after all a unique set of circumstance here!
In the Twitter guy's scenario, the shares can be issued and bought in that 6 day window. If the prospective purchasers are clued-up as to DK's intention, that would work.
On your second point, no scooby. It may be that DK has invested a lot of time and money in coming up with this plan... hence the constant delaying tactics.
IMO, that's the point of this exercise (other than out-flanking the TP, if that is his game). Most of those who are intending to subscribe for these shares are lenders. Those loans will, as you say, be converted into shares.
Ballengeich reckons that the Club 1872 mob will be putting new money in, but there won't be much else.
Phil Mac has posted this - does this mean Sir Glib is being hounded?
https://philmacgiollabhain.ie/2018/0...t-on-thursday/
There are a few names in the list of new shares that I don't recognise. The new money might come from them.
The issue itself is worth £12.6m. So, if he's to raise £6m for SG, only half are debt-for-equity swaps.
At the last count, they had £16m of soft loans, so that DFE would reduce those to £10m. Still pretty high IMO.
https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/company/SC525940
James Blair is one of five directors of Club 1872, and he is the holder of the one and only share in the Company.
I think the members of Club 1872 are mugs.
Seems to me like the lying King is being allowed to run rings around the TOP here.
How on Earth is he allowed to proceed with a share issue while facing potential contempt of court proceedings?
Yet again, the wealthy and unscrupulous seem able to write their own rules.
I don't think you can make a mandatory offer "conditional" on achieving a certain % of the share count. And the the instruction to offer to buy shares that he doesn't already own at 20p and any placing / rights issue are independent events. I would assume further court action if he doesn't adhere to TOP legal requirements as the credibility of the TOP is in shreds if he doesn't.
The old saying's true - You get what you pay for. He's obviously paid top dollar for his legal team to crawl over the wording of TOP's rules and regulations if indeed it plays out in this way.
If it is the case then TOP will have to put forward an opposing argument that any proposed new share issuing would be contrary to Lord Bannatyne's original ruling unless they themselves are not opposed to it.
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/new...mpression=true
I smell corruption.
Hopefully I will be proved entirely wrong, but it appears that King is running rings around the TOP.......
I hope they get pumped out of Europe tonight, stuff the coefficient (sorry Ozy), but just a horrible vile club